DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 02/07/2023 and is a 371 of PCT/IN2021/050754 (08/06/2021) which claims foreign priority to India 202021033796 (8/07/2020). Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 11-20 are before the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu. Xu teaches nintedanib processes and intermediates on page 310 with compounds with compound 8a (for compound V) and compound 10a (for compound VIII). The difference between the process/compounds taught by Xu and the instantly claimed ones is the presence of Cl vs Br. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to change the Cl for Br with no substantive change in the reaction. Rationale: the optimization of a process is within the skill of the ordinary artisan.
Claims 3-4, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2017198202. WO teaches the ethanesulfonate crystalline forms of nintedanib. WO teaches and incorporates prior references that make nintedanib. Then WO makes ethanesulfonate (esylate) crystalline forms of nintedanib that have overlapping XRD pattern peaks as instantly claimed. The crystalline form made in the WO use the same process as instantly claimed and have many overlapping peaks. The difference is the first process of making Nintedanib using Br vs Cl. However, it would have been obvious to optimize the process using a different halogen with the expectation of getting the same or similar product due to the similarity of action between Br and Cl.
Claims 3-4, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2004013099. WO teaches the ethanesulfonate crystalline forms of nintedanib. WO teaches and incorporates prior references that make nintedanib. Then WO makes ethanesulfonate (esylate) crystalline forms of nintedanib that have overlapping XRD pattern peaks as instantly claimed. See page 10 and Table 1. The crystalline form made in the WO use the same process as instantly claimed and have many overlapping peaks. The difference is the first process of making Nintedanib using Br vs Cl. However, it would have been obvious to optimize the process using a different halogen with the expectation of getting the same or similar product due to the similarity of action between Br and Cl.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/D MARGARET M SEAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625