DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
The amendments of claim 1 and the addition of claim 16 have been made of record. Claim 4 is cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 13-15 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-withdrawn
The rejection of claim(s) 1-10 and 13-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al1. (US Pub. No. 2018/0311315) in view of Oh et al2. (US pub. No. 20140357843 A1), Choi et al (IDS, Diabetes 2019, 68 (supplemental): 982-P) and Oh et al3 (US Pat. No. 10,400,020) necessitated by applicants’ amendments to claim 1 and the cancellation of claims 11-12 is withdrawn in view of applicants’ arguments that the references do not teach administering recited triple agonist at dose of 0.5 mg to 8 mg once a week. Applicants’ arguments are persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new ground of rejection under 35 USC 103(a) is made in view of US Pub. No. 20110166062 (DiMarchi et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al1. (US Pub. No. 2018/0311315) in view of Oh et al2. (US pub. No. 20140357843 A1), Choi et al (IDS, Diabetes 2019, 68 (supplemental): 982-P), Oh et al3 (US Pat. No. 10,400,020) and DiMarchi et al. (US Pub. No. 20110166062).
The instantly claimed invention is broadly drawn to a method of treating non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) comprising administering a composition to a subject in need thereof, wherein the composition comprises a long-acting conjugate of a triple agonist of Formula I (X-L-F) having activities to all of a GLP-1 receptor, a GIP receptor and a glucagon receptor, wherein X is selected from a SEQ ID NO: 21,22,31,32,37,42,43,50, 53, …, 101 and 102, L is a linker and F is an Fc , wherein the composition comprising triple agonist is administered once a week at dose of 2 mg to 6 mg (claim 2), wherein the administration is subcutaneous (claim 3), wherein the patient has BMI 23 kg/m2 or higher (claim 4), wherein the patient administered with the pharmaceutical composition exhibits weight loss (claim 6), wherein the pharmaceutical composition is administered to an arm, thigh, or abdomen (claim 7), wherein the F is an IgG Fc region (claim 8), wherein the polypeptide chain of the Fc dimer includes an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 123 (claim 10), wherein the L is polyethylene glycol having a molecule (claim 14), and wherein the non-alcoholic fatty liver disease is selected from the group consisting of non-alcoholic fatty liver (NAFL), non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), liver fibrosis, cirrhosis, and any combination thereof and wherein the patient has both obesity and NAFLD (claim 16).
Oh et al. teach a method of treating obesity, reducing body weight and body fat comprising a long-acting conjugate of a triple agonist of Formula I (X-L-F) having activities to all of a GLP-1 receptor, a GIP receptor and a glucagon receptor. They teach amino acid sequences of X from SEQ ID NO: 1-102 (see Table 1), wherein SEQ ID No. 1 of Table 1 is 100% identical to the instantly claimed sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. They teach administering a triple agonist to high-fat diet induce obesity mice, which were widely used obesity model [0570]. They administered 2.88 nmol/kg injection once every two days using triple agonist resulting 56-65% reduction in body weight (see [0572], Fig. 1). They teach that the administration can be 0.0001 mg to 500 mg/kg depending on disease severity [0541]. They teach that the pharmaceutical composition can be formulated to be administered parenteral route, such as intravascularly or subcutaneously [0538]. They teach that a patient having obesity has BMI is 25 or higher [0531]. They teach that the administration of triple agonist resulted in significant decrease in body fat (see Fig. 2). They teach that L is linker that which is polyethylene glycol (see claim 22). They teach that the Fc is an IgG Fc (see claim 19) and that the molecular weight of non-peptide linker can be 1-20 kDa (see [0482]).
Oh et al. do not teach a patient with NAFLD having fat content 8% or more measured by magnetic resonance imaging-derived proton density fat fraction, wherein the long-acting conjugate has the Fc region as a dimer form of two polypeptide chains and the peptide X is linked to only one of the two polypeptide chain of the Fc dimer, wherein the Fc dimer includes an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 123, wherein the X includes an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 40,43 and 50, and wherein the NAFLD is selected from the group consisting of NASH, liver fibrosis, cirrhosis, and combination thereof.
Oh et al2. teach immunoglobulin Fc variants having an increased binding affinity for FcRn and a method of increasing in vivo half-life of a physiologically active protein using the same (see [0001]).They teach an Fc of SEQ ID NO: 73 which is 100% identical to the instantly claimed Fc amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 123 (see sequence search results #1 of 55 identical sequences in PE2E).
Choi et al. (IDS, Diabetes, 2018: 67(supplemental) 1106-P) teach that NASH, a potential consequence of NAFLD, may lead to end stage liver disease including cirrhosis and hepatocellular carcinoma. They teach use of HM15211 a novel triple agonist (GLP-1/GIP/glucagon) for NASH. They teach that the treatment with triple agonist led to significant decrease in hepatic Triglyceride (TG) (-82% vs vehicle). They suggest that the triple agonist offers a potential for NASH and fibrosis as well as obesity.
Neither Oh et al1., Oh et al2. nor Choi et al. teach X polypeptide having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 42.
Oh et al3 . teach a triple agonist (glucagon, GLP-1 and GIP) receptors having formula I ( X-L-F), wherein X is a polypeptide, L is a linker and F is a polypeptide that increases the half-life of the composition. Oh et al3 . teach that the polypeptide X comprises amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 42 is which is 100% identical to the instantly claimed X peptide of SEQ ID NO:42 (see search result #2 of 7 identical sequences in PE2E). They teach a total of 102 polypeptide X sequence which are similar to the X peptide sequences taught in the instant application.
Neither Oh et al1., Oh et al2., Choi et al. nor Oh et al.3 teach that the dose of triple agonist is once a week.
DiMarchi et al. teach a method of administering to a patient in need thereof glucagon/GIP/GLP-1 tri-agonist [0008, 0449-0450]. They teach that the tri-agonist can be administered weekly, bi-weekly or every three weeks (see paragraph [0446]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to treat NASH or fibrosis to a subject in need thereof once weekly as taught by DiMarchi et al using a triple agonist (GLP-1/GIP/glucagon) as taught by choi et al wherein the triple agonist comprises an Fc comprises amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 123 as taught by Oh2 et al. in the Formula I (X-L-Fc) as taught by Oh1 et al. and wherein X is amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 42 as taught by Oh et al3 . Additionally, one would have been motivated to do so because DiMarchi et al teach administering tri-agonist (glucagon/GIP/GLP-1 agonist), Choi et al teach treating NASH, obesity or fibrosis using a triple agonist (GLP-1/GIP/glucagon) and Oh1 et al. teach treating obesity using a triple agonist of Formula I (X-L-F) wherein X is a triple agonist peptide and F is an Fc which is well known to stabilize any physiologically active polypeptide also taught by Oh2 et al. and Oh et al3 teach that X comprises amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:42, Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success in using a triple agonist for treating NASH, obesity or fibrosis as taught by Choe et al and administering once a week dose as tauch by DiMarchi et al., wherein the agonist comprises Formula I as taught by Oh1 et al. It is also well known in the art and as taught by Oh2 et al. to use an Fc having amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 123 because it increases the binding affinity for FcRn and increases in vivo half-life of a physiologically active protein. Therefore, the instantly claimed invention would have been obvious over the combined teachings of prior art.
“Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention, just as unexpected results are evidence of unobviousness thereof." See In re Gershon, 372 F.2d 535, 538, 152 USPQ 602, 604 (CCPA 1967) (resultant decrease of dental enamel solubility accomplished by adding an acidic buffering agent to a fluoride containing dentifrice was expected based on the teaching of the prior art); Ex parte Blanc, 13 USPQ2d 1383 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989); see also MPEP §716.02(c). Additionally, “[it] is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 2144.06.
Double Patenting-maintained
It is noted to applicants that the rejection would still be maintained even if the reference patents or patent applications do not teach administering triple-agonist once a week because it is well known and DiMarchi et al (as applied to 35 USC 103(a) rejection above) teach once a weekly dosage of the triple agonist.
a. Claims 1-8, 11-13 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 15-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,400,020 for the reasons of record at pg. 12-15 of the office action of 9/24/25.
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 15-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10,400,020 in view of Choi et al (IDS, Diabetes 2019, 68 (supplemental): 982-P) for the reasons of record at pg. 15 of the office action of 9/24/25.
Claims 1-8 and 11-13 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 9-13, 14, 17-20, 29, and 35-36 of U.S. Patent No. 10,981,967 for the reasons of record at pg. 16 of the office action of 9/24/25.
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/016,165 (reference application) for the reasons of record at pg. 16 of the office action of 9/24/25.
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-41 of copending Application No. 18/041,151 (reference application) for the reasons of record at pg. 16-17 of the office action of 9/24/25.
Claims 1-8 and 11-14 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/565,628 for the reasons of record at pg. 17-18 of the office action of 9/24/25.
Applicant traverses and requests that the rejections be held abeyance until at least one allowable claim is identified.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the Double patenting rejection is made under separate statute and therefore, they are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims is allowed.
/GYAN CHANDRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674