DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-16 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, from which the balance of the claims depend, now contains the variables R1, R2, R3 and R4, which are not defined in the claim. Thus, it is unclear what compound applicant is trying to encompasses in formula III and it is unclear what polymer applicant is claiming.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. (USPN 4,337,329).
In col. 2, lines 30-55, Kubo et al. teach a partially hydrogenated butadiene polymer comprising up to 100% of units of 1,3-butadiene, which may be a copolymer of butadiene and isoprene (a conjugated diene with 5 carbons). The partially hydrogenated butadiene polymer is exemplified in Example 1 with a polybutadiene with a cis-1,4-content of 98% (i.e., vinyl groups and trans groups combined would be less than 2%); wherein the polymer has a hydrogenation of 52.4% (See Table 1-continued).
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. (USPN 4,384,081).
In Reference Example 2, 4,384,081 teach a partially hydrogenated butadiene polymer with a cis-1,4-content of 98% (i.e., vinyl groups and trans groups combined would be less than 2%); wherein the polymer has a hydrogenation of 30.5%.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. (USPN 4,510,293).
In Col. 2, lines 46-66, Comparative Example 1 and Examples 1 and 2, 4,510,293 teach a partially hydrogenated butadiene polymer from up to 100% butadiene, with a cis-1,4-content of 98% (i.e., vinyl groups and trans groups combined would be less than 2%); with hydrogenation ranging from 13.3 to 28.5%.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubo et al. (USPN 4,954,576).
In col. 2, lines 30-55, 4,954,576 teach partially hydrogenated butadiene polymers, which are up to 100% of units of 1,3-butadiene, and may be copolymers of butadiene with isoprene (a conjugated diene with 5 carbons). Partially hydrogenated butadiene polymers are shown in Comparative Example 1 to have a cis-1,4-content of 98% (i.e., vinyl groups and trans groups combined would be less than 2%) and a hydrogenation of 31.6% (See Table 1-continued).
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al. (USPN 4,337,329, 4,384,081, 4,510,293 or 4,954,576).
While Kubo et al. do not expressly teach the sulfur content measurement of claim 7, it is reasonable that the partially hydrogenated butadiene polymers of Kubo et al. would possess the presently claimed properties since the composition of Kubo et al.’s partially hydrogenated butadiene polymers is essentially the same as the claimed composition and the USPTO does not have at its disposal the tools or facilities deemed necessary to make physical determinations of the sort. In any event, an otherwise old composition is not patentable regardless of any new or unexpected properties. In re Fitzgerald et al , 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Even if assuming that the prior art references do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102, it would still have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the same inventive composition because the disclosure of the inventive subject matter appears within the generic disclosure of the prior art.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2015/0059605) in view of Kubo et al. (USPN 4,337,329, 4,384,081, 4,510,293 or 4,954,576).
In ¶’s 21, 23, 41 and 45-49, Hamada teaches a partially hydrogenated butadiene polymer, wherein the content of the butadiene is more than 80%, which may be a copolymer of butadiene with isoprene (a conjugated diene with 5 carbons)(See ¶ 38), and the cis isomer is more than 90% (i.e., vinyl groups and trans groups combined would be less than 10%); wherein the average molecular weight of butadiene polymer is from 5000 to 1,600,000.
Hamada differs from the claimed invention in that it does not specify the percentage of hydrogenation that is considered “partially hydrogenated butadiene”. However, it is known in the art that such “partially hydrogenated butadienes” have degrees of hydrogenation ranging from about 13.3 to 52.4%, consistent with the present claims, as seen in Kubo et al. (USPN 4,337,329, 4,384,081, 4,510,293 or 4,954,576), above. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the would recognize the prior art the “partially hydrogenated butadiene” of Hamada as being consistent with the claimed range of 0.5 to 55%.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, for the partially hydrogenated butadiene of Hamada to have a degree of hydrogenation consistent with the claimed range, as seen in Kubo et al. (USPN 4,337,329, 4,384,081, 4,510,293 or 4,954,576), motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, the Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However; the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. (sulfur content) would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. " In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990}. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
If it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position; and (2) it would be the Office's position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments against Kubo et al. (329), it is well settled that anticipatory teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding the arguments against Kubo et al. (081), it is well settled that anticipatory teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding the arguments against Kubo et al. (293), it is well settled that anticipatory teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding the arguments against Kubo et al. (576), it is well settled that anticipatory teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding the arguments against Hamada in view of Kubo et al. (USPN 4,337,329, 4,384,081, 4,510,293 or 4,954,576), again, the prior art teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the combination of references cited. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE