DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 33, 46 and 52 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-39, 42-43 and 45-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US Pub. 2020/0329436) in view of Raqstegardoost (US Pub. 2020/0314913).
Regarding claims 33 and 52, Liu discloses User equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least on processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause (par.008, 010) the UE to:
Determine a first energy detection threshold for performing a channel access procedure (par.054 “estimate respective transmit power for one or more messages of the RA procedure”, par.058 “a target value of transmit power”); and performing the channel access procedure based on the first energy detection threshold (008-009).
Raqstegardoost discloses determine a first energy detection threshold associated with channel access (par.0421 “the wireless device may select the random access……on received signal strength….RSRP being below the threshold”).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Liu with the above teaching of Ragstegardoost in order to provide 2-step random access and 4-step random accessed based on received signal strength.
Regarding claim 34, the modified Liu discloses determine a first transmit power for an uplink transmission, wherein the first energy detection threshold is determined based on the first transmit power (Liu, par.068 “preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower”, “powerRampingStep”, “preambleInitialReceivedTargetPowerUrllc”).
Regarding claim 35, the modified Liu discloses the first transmit power is determined based on a first set of uplink power control parameters (Liu, par.068 “preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower”).
Regarding claims 36 and 43, the modified Liu discloses the first set of uplink power control parameters is selected from a plurality of sets of uplink power control parameters based on a traffic type of the uplink transmission (Liu, par.058, par.068 “URLCC”, “eMBB”).
Regarding claim 37, the modified Liu discloses the plurality of sets of uplink power control parameters is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) message (consideration is optional) or is predefined (Liu, par.071 “these parameters may also be predefined at the terminal device”).
Regarding claim 38, the modified Liu discloses each of the plurality of sets of uplink power control parameters is associated with a corresponding transmit power, and the first transmit power is the highest one among the corresponding transmit powers of the plurality of sets of uplink power control parameters (Liu, par.068-069 “preambleTransMaxUrllc is larger than preambleTransMax”).
Regarding claim 39, the modified Liu discloses transmit the uplink transmission using the first transmit power in response to the channel access procedure being successful (Liu, par.073 “a high probability that the gNB successfully”, par.082).
Regarding claim 42, the modified Liu discloses each of the plurality of sets of uplink power control parameters is associated with a corresponding transmit power, and the first transmit power is the lowest one among the corresponding transmit powers of the plurality of sets of uplink power control parameters (Liu, par.069, par.072 “preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower”).
Regarding claims 45 and 51, the modified Liu discloses perform the channel access procedure based on the first energy detection threshold by performing the channel access procedure using an energy detection threshold less than or equal to the first energy detection threshold (Raqstegardoost, (par.0421 “the wireless device may select the random access……on received signal strength….RSRP being below the threshold”).
Regarding claim 46, Liu discloses a base station (BS) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least on processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured cause the base station (par.013, 015), to:
determining an energy detection threshold for performing a channel access procedure, wherein the energy detection threshold is determined from a plurality of energy detection thresholds based on a traffic type of a downlink transmission; and performing the channel access procedure based on the determined energy detection threshold (par.058, par.068 “URLCC”, “eMBB”, “preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower”, “powerRampingStep”, “preambleInitialReceivedTargetPowerUrllc”).
Raqstegardoost discloses determine a first energy detection threshold associated with channel access (par.0421 “the wireless device may select the random access……on received signal strength….RSRP being below the threshold”).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Liu with the above teaching of Ragstegardoost in order to provide 2-step random access and 4-step random accessed based on received signal strength.
Regarding claim 47, the modified Liu discloses the plurality of energy detection thresholds is predefined (Liu, par.057).
Regarding claim 48, the modified Liu discloses the plurality of energy detection thresholds is determined based on a plurality of offsets with respect to a default energy detection threshold (Liu, par.043, 075).
Regarding claim 49, the modified Liu discloses the plurality of offsets is predefined (Liu, par.075).
Regarding claim 50, the modified Liu discloses the traffic type of the downlink transmission comprises enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) or Ultra-Reliable and Low Latency Communications (URLLC) (Liu, par.073-075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Pub. 2020/0329436) in view of Rastegardoost further in view of Yoshimura (US Pub. 2022/0264618).
Regarding claim 44, the modified Liu fails to teach receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the first energy detection threshold.
Yoshimura receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating the first energy detection threshold (par.0445). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Liu with the above teaching of Yoshimura in order to provide transmitting uplink transmission power based on power control value by the DCI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40-41 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Delany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/TU X NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642