DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding first argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended claim language overcomes previous 102 rejections.
Examiner agrees and hereby withdraws previous 102 rejections.
Regarding second argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended claim language overcomes previous 103 rejections.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art of Zhe discloses that messages are transmitted from the base station to the UE, the specific message transmitted is provided by 3GPP. While applicant may disagree with the examiner’s position, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language as currently written, one of ordinary skill would be able to come to the same conclusion as the inventor given the prior art at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11, 12, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claims 7, 11, 12, and 13 read that a processor executes a propagation delay compensation, and then immediately after claim that a processor determines whether to execute the propagation delay compensation which at this point has already been executed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhe (US 20220377691 A1) hereafter Zhe in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 hereafter 3GPP.
Regarding Claim 7:
Zhe discloses:
A terminal([Abstract] a terminal device) comprising: a receiver (Fig. 13 [0210] the communication device 600 further includes a transceiver 630. The processor 610 can control the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices. Specifically, the transceiver 630 can transmit information or data to other devices, or receive information or data transmitted by other devices. [¶0211] The transceiver 630 may include a transmitter and a receiver) that receives timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal and a DLInformationTransfer message which is a radio resource control message to transfer Non-Access Stratum (NAS) dedicated information; ([¶0043] the UE obtains TA information according to a timing advance command (TAC) transmitted by the network, to perform synchronization alignment.[¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) executes a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information, and determines whether or not to execute the propagation delay compensation based on an indication related to the execution of propagation delay compensation, the indication being included in the DLInformationTransfer message. ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhe in view of 3GPP discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) executes the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information ([Abstract] The terminal device performs timing synchronization through using the TA information.) when the DLInformationTransfer message includes information indicating the execution of propagation delay compensation. ([0077] The terminal device determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation, according to an indication of a network device)
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 9:
Zhe in view of 3GPP discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) omits the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information when the DLInformationTransfer message includes information not indicating the execution of propagation delay compensation. ([0116] the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 11:
Zhe discloses:
A base station([¶0192] a network device) comprising: a transmitter ([¶0192] The network device 500 includes a transmitting unit) that transmits timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal and a DLInformationTransfer message which is a radio resource control message to transfer Non-Access Stratum (NAS) dedicated information; ([¶0192] The transmitting unit 510 is configured to transmit TA information through an RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct a terminal device to perform timing synchronization. [¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a processor ([¶0202] the network device further includes a processing unit 530) that indicates a terminal whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information by transmitting the DLlnformationTransfer message including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation to the terminal. ([¶0195] the transmitting unit 510 is further configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure upon determining that the terminal device satisfies at least one of: the terminal device being required to obtain effective TA information, the terminal device having no effective TA information, the terminal device being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the terminal device being required to perform timing synchronization. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.))
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 12:
Zhe discloses:
A radio communication system comprising: a terminal; and a base station, ([¶0225] FIG. 15 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a communication system 800 according to implementations of the disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 15, the communication system 800 includes a terminal device 810 and a network device 820.) wherein the terminal comprises: receiver that receives timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal and a DLInformationTransfer message which is a radio resource control message to transfer Non-Access Stratum (NAS) dedicated information; (Fig. 13 [0210] the communication device 600 further includes a transceiver 630. The processor 610 can control the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices. Specifically, the transceiver 630 can transmit information or data to other devices, or receive information or data transmitted by other devices. [¶0211] The transceiver 630 may include a transmitter and a receiver [¶0226] The terminal device 810 is configured to obtain TA information through an RA procedure, and perform timing synchronization through using the TA information. The network device 820 is configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct the terminal device to perform timing synchronization.) and processor that executes a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information and determines whether or not to execute the propagation delay compensation based on an indication related to the execution of propagation delay compensation, the indication being included in the DLInformationTransfer message, ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).) and the base station comprises: a transmission unit([¶0192] The network device 500 includes a transmitting unit) that transmits the timing information; ([¶0192] The transmitting unit 510 is configured to transmit TA information through an RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct a terminal device to perform timing synchronization. [¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a control unit ([¶0202] the network device further includes a processing unit 530) that indicates the terminal whether or not to execute the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information by transmitting the DLInformationTransfer message. ([¶0195] the transmitting unit 510 is further configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure upon determining that the terminal device satisfies at least one of: the terminal device being required to obtain effective TA information, the terminal device having no effective TA information, the terminal device being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the terminal device being required to perform timing synchronization. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.))
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 13:
Zhe discloses:
A radio communication method (Fig. 15 [¶0023] FIG. 15 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a communication system according to implementations of the disclosure) comprising: receiving timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal and a DLInformationTransfer message which is a radio resource control message to transfer Non-Access Stratum (NAS) dedicated information; ([¶0043] the UE obtains TA information according to a timing advance command (TAC) transmitted by the network, to perform synchronization alignment.[¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and executing a propagation delay compensation ([0077] The terminal device determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation) based on the timing information, and determining whether or not to execute the propagation delay compensation based on an indication related to the execution of propagation delay compensation, the indication being included in the DLInformationTransfer message. ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhe in view of 3GPP discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the indication related to the execution of propagation delay compensation is a 1-bit information. ([¶0073] the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device [¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation [Fig. 3] shows a 1 bit frame for an indication prior to the timing advance information frame as indicated in octet 1)
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463