DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding First Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that cited prior art does not anticipate claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the DLInformationTransfer message is not explicitly or inherently disclosed in Zhe. Previously cited paragraph 82 of Zhe clearly states “if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. If the system information or the dedicated RRC does not include the indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines not to perform propagation delay compensation. If the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device does not perform propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines not to perform propagation delay compensation.” One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly see this to be a DLInformationTransfer message as defined by 3GPP TS 38.331 which is both implicitly and inextricably linked to both the instant application and the cited prior art. This is the specification standard for the RRC protocol that defines its behavior in the 5g system. Without the standard the RRC protocol does not exist, nor operate. This is the guiding documentation that one of ordinary skill would refer to in order to come to any conclusion regarding system information transfer. DLInformationTransfer contains NAS dedicated information, which is a form of system information. This is consistent with the teaching of the cited prior art. MPEP 2112 III states that a rejection under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 can be made when the composition is the prior art is the same but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference. As such, an additional rejection under 35 USC 103 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhe (US 20220377691 A1) hereafter Zhe.
Regarding Claim 7:
Zhe discloses:
A terminal([Abstract] a terminal device) comprising: a receiver (Fig. 13 [0210] the communication device 600 further includes a transceiver 630. The processor 610 can control the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices. Specifically, the transceiver 630 can transmit information or data to other devices, or receive information or data transmitted by other devices. [¶0211] The transceiver 630 may include a transmitter and a receiver) that receives timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; ([¶0043] the UE obtains TA information according to a timing advance command (TAC) transmitted by the network, to perform synchronization alignment.[¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) that determines whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information, based on a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation. ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhe discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) executes the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information ([Abstract] The terminal device performs timing synchronization through using the TA information.) when the message includes information indicating the execution of propagation delay compensation. ([0077] The terminal device determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation, according to an indication of a network device)
Regarding Claim 9:
Zhe discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) omits the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information when the message includes information not indicating the execution of propagation delay compensation. ([0116] the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Regarding Claim 11:
Zhe discloses:
A base station([¶0192] a network device) comprising: a transmitter ([¶0192] The network device 500 includes a transmitting unit) that transmits timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; ([¶0192] The transmitting unit 510 is configured to transmit TA information through an RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct a terminal device to perform timing synchronization. [¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a processor ([¶0202] the network device further includes a processing unit 530) that indicates a terminal whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information by transmitting a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation to the terminal. ([¶0195] the transmitting unit 510 is further configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure upon determining that the terminal device satisfies at least one of: the terminal device being required to obtain effective TA information, the terminal device having no effective TA information, the terminal device being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the terminal device being required to perform timing synchronization. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.))
Regarding Claim 12:
Zhe discloses:
A radio communication system comprising: a terminal; and a base station, ([¶0225] FIG. 15 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a communication system 800 according to implementations of the disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 15, the communication system 800 includes a terminal device 810 and a network device 820.) wherein the terminal comprises: receiver that receives timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; (Fig. 13 [0210] the communication device 600 further includes a transceiver 630. The processor 610 can control the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices. Specifically, the transceiver 630 can transmit information or data to other devices, or receive information or data transmitted by other devices. [¶0211] The transceiver 630 may include a transmitter and a receiver [¶0226] The terminal device 810 is configured to obtain TA information through an RA procedure, and perform timing synchronization through using the TA information. The network device 820 is configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct the terminal device to perform timing synchronization.) and processor that determines whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information, based on a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation, ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).) and the base station comprises: a transmission unit([¶0192] The network device 500 includes a transmitting unit) that transmits the timing information; ([¶0192] The transmitting unit 510 is configured to transmit TA information through an RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct a terminal device to perform timing synchronization. [¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a control unit ([¶0202] the network device further includes a processing unit 530) that indicates the terminal whether or not to execute the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information by transmitting the message. ([¶0195] the transmitting unit 510 is further configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure upon determining that the terminal device satisfies at least one of: the terminal device being required to obtain effective TA information, the terminal device having no effective TA information, the terminal device being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the terminal device being required to perform timing synchronization. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.))
Regarding Claim 13:
Zhe discloses:
A radio communication method (Fig. 15 [¶0023] FIG. 15 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a communication system according to implementations of the disclosure) comprising: receiving timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; ([¶0043] the UE obtains TA information according to a timing advance command (TAC) transmitted by the network, to perform synchronization alignment.[¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and determining whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation ([0077] The terminal device determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation) based on the timing information, based on a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation. ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhe discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the indication related to the execution of propagation delay compensation is a 1-bit information. ([¶0073] the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device [¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation [Fig. 3] shows a 1 bit frame for an indication prior to the timing advance information frame as indicated in octet 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhe (US 20220377691 A1) hereafter Zhe in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 hereafter 3GPP.
Regarding Claim 7:
Zhe discloses:
A terminal([Abstract] a terminal device) comprising: a receiver (Fig. 13 [0210] the communication device 600 further includes a transceiver 630. The processor 610 can control the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices. Specifically, the transceiver 630 can transmit information or data to other devices, or receive information or data transmitted by other devices. [¶0211] The transceiver 630 may include a transmitter and a receiver) that receives timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; ([¶0043] the UE obtains TA information according to a timing advance command (TAC) transmitted by the network, to perform synchronization alignment.[¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) that determines whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information, based on a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation. ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhe in view of 3GPP discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) executes the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information ([Abstract] The terminal device performs timing synchronization through using the TA information.) when the message includes information indicating the execution of propagation delay compensation. ([0077] The terminal device determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation, according to an indication of a network device)
Regarding Claim 9:
Zhe in view of 3GPP discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the processor (Fig. 13 [¶0210] the communication device 600 further includes … processor 610) omits the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information when the message includes information not indicating the execution of propagation delay compensation. ([0116] the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Regarding Claim 11:
Zhe discloses:
A base station([¶0192] a network device) comprising: a transmitter ([¶0192] The network device 500 includes a transmitting unit) that transmits timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; ([¶0192] The transmitting unit 510 is configured to transmit TA information through an RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct a terminal device to perform timing synchronization. [¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a processor ([¶0202] the network device further includes a processing unit 530) that indicates a terminal whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information by transmitting a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation to the terminal. ([¶0195] the transmitting unit 510 is further configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure upon determining that the terminal device satisfies at least one of: the terminal device being required to obtain effective TA information, the terminal device having no effective TA information, the terminal device being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the terminal device being required to perform timing synchronization. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.))
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 12:
Zhe discloses:
A radio communication system comprising: a terminal; and a base station, ([¶0225] FIG. 15 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a communication system 800 according to implementations of the disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 15, the communication system 800 includes a terminal device 810 and a network device 820.) wherein the terminal comprises: receiver that receives timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; (Fig. 13 [0210] the communication device 600 further includes a transceiver 630. The processor 610 can control the transceiver 630 to communicate with other devices. Specifically, the transceiver 630 can transmit information or data to other devices, or receive information or data transmitted by other devices. [¶0211] The transceiver 630 may include a transmitter and a receiver [¶0226] The terminal device 810 is configured to obtain TA information through an RA procedure, and perform timing synchronization through using the TA information. The network device 820 is configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct the terminal device to perform timing synchronization.) and processor that determines whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation based on the timing information, based on a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation, ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).) and the base station comprises: a transmission unit([¶0192] The network device 500 includes a transmitting unit) that transmits the timing information; ([¶0192] The transmitting unit 510 is configured to transmit TA information through an RA procedure, where the TA information is used to instruct a terminal device to perform timing synchronization. [¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and a control unit ([¶0202] the network device further includes a processing unit 530) that indicates the terminal whether or not to execute the propagation delay compensation based on the timing information by transmitting the message. ([¶0195] the transmitting unit 510 is further configured to transmit the TA information through the RA procedure upon determining that the terminal device satisfies at least one of: the terminal device being required to obtain effective TA information, the terminal device having no effective TA information, the terminal device being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the terminal device being required to perform timing synchronization. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.))
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 13:
Zhe discloses:
A radio communication method (Fig. 15 [¶0023] FIG. 15 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a communication system according to implementations of the disclosure) comprising: receiving timing information used to adjust a timing of an uplink signal; ([¶0043] the UE obtains TA information according to a timing advance command (TAC) transmitted by the network, to perform synchronization alignment.[¶0060] a main purpose of the RA is that the terminal device obtains UL synchronization with a cell) and determining whether or not to execute a propagation delay compensation ([0077] The terminal device determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation) based on the timing information, based on a DLlnformationTransfer message, which is a radio resource control message to transfer NAS dedicated information, including an indication related to an execution of propagation delay compensation. ([¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation, the terminal device determines to perform propagation delay compensation. [¶0113] In the implementation, the UE obtains the effective TA information through the RA procedure. The UE then performs propagation delay compensation through using all effective TA information, to perform timing synchronization. The RA procedure may include a 2-step RA procedure and/or 4-step RA procedure. For example, first information can be carried in Msg3 (in the 4-step RA procedure) or MsgA (in the 2-step RA procedure) and indicates a cause for triggering the RA procedure, where the cause includes at least one of: the UE being required to obtain effective TA information, the UE having no effective TA information, the UE being required to perform propagation delay compensation, or the UE being required to perform timing synchronization. Specifically, the first information can be carried in an RRC establishment request, an RRC reestablishment request, or an RRC resume request in the Msg3 or the MsgA. The first information can be represented as a new establishment cause, a new reestablishment cause, or a new resume cause. The base station such as a gNB determines a cause for the UE to trigger the RA procedure, according to the first information. Optionally, the gNB transmits an RRC release message or an RRC resume message to the UE.) [¶0115] The UE determines whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device, a pre-configuration, or a situation of the UE. [¶0116] Specifically, the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication in system information or a dedicated RRC, e.g., an indication indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation that is indicated by a network, or a parameter indicative of that the UE performs/does not perform propagation delay compensation indicated by the network (e.g., a threshold, a PL, or the like).)
Zhe does not explicitly disclose:
DLInformationTransfer
3GPP explicitly discloses:
DLInformationTransfer ([Page 136] The DLInformationTransfer message is used for the downlink transfer of NAS dedicated information.)
Zhe and 3GPP are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhe to use the DLInformationTransfer message as taught by 3GPP in order to transmit timing advance information for timing synchronization.
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhe in view of 3GPP discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhe discloses:
wherein the indication related to the execution of propagation delay compensation is a 1-bit information. ([¶0073] the UE can determine whether to perform propagation delay compensation according to an indication of the network device [¶0082] if the system information or the dedicated RRC includes an indication indicative of that the terminal device performs propagation delay compensation [Fig. 3] shows a 1 bit frame for an indication prior to the timing advance information frame as indicated in octet 1)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463