DETAILED ACTION
Applicant Response
Applicant's response, filed 06/15/2026, has been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Status
Claims 7-8 are newly added.
Claims 1-8 are pending and under examination herein.
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
Priority
The instant application is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2021/016671 , International Filing Date: 04/26/2021, which claims the benefit of foreign priority to JP 2020-146823, filed 09/01/2020. As such, the effective filing date assigned to each of claims 1-8 is 09/01/2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 10/23/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have therefore been considered. A signed copy of the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed 02/07/2023 were accepted by the examiner in the office action mailed 04/21/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1:
protocol selection input reception unit configured to receive an input for selecting one of the plurality of protocols;
a sample position display unit configured to read, from the storage unit, information on a position of the sample disposing portion and information on the sample corresponding to the protocol input to the protocol selection input reception unit and display the information on the position and the information on the sample on the display unit;
a display item selection unit configured to receive selection of one or both of the information on the position of the sample disposing portion and the information on the sample;
a display switching unit configured to switch display of the display unit by the sample position display unit depending on selection through the display item selection unit.
With respect to the protocol selection input reception unit, sample position display unit, and display switching unit, the instant specification discloses these units are included as functional blocks in the controlling/processing unit, which is a general personal computer, and each functional block described above is embodied by a processor executing an analysis program installed beforehand (para 0026).
Applicant’s Arguments filed 06/15/2026 state on p 6, para 7 that paragraphs [0036]-[0066] of the specification and Fig. 2 as originally filed, disclose the selection of display items is provided using the selection display item selection checkboxes 653, and as such, the "display item selection unit" is incorporated as a part of the control/processing unit 4, like the other recited "units."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Arguments filed 06/15/2026, which state on page 6, para 7 that paragraphs [0036]-[0066] of the specification and Fig. 2 as originally filed, disclose the selection of display items is provided using the selection display item selection checkboxes 653, and as such, the "display item selection unit" is incorporated as a part of the control/processing unit 4, like the other recited "units" (i.e. computer implemented). This is found to be persuasive.
The rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Arguments filed 06/15/2026, which state on page 6, para 7 that paragraphs [0036]-[0066] of the specification and Fig. 2 as originally filed, disclose the selection of display items is provided using the selection display item selection checkboxes 653, and as such, the "display item selection unit" is incorporated as a part of the control/processing unit 4, like the other recited "units" (i.e. computer implemented). This is found to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-8 appear to be free from a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, as the claims recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) and the claims do not recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1:NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Analytical chemistry 2011, 83(16); hereafter referred to as Liu) are withdrawn in view of claim amendments filed 06/15/2026, as Liu does not appear to disclose displaying information of the position comprising representations of the actual positions of the sample disposing portions in the sample housing member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Analytical chemistry 2011, 83(16); previously cited; hereafter referred to as Liu), in view of Beckman Coulter(Biomek® Software Version 4.1 User’s Manual 2018; newly cited; hereafter referred to as the Biomek Software User’s Manual Version 4.1), and Beckman Coulter (Reliability in the things you can’t see: Biomek software solution 2017. Beckman Coulter Life Sciences; newly cited; hereafter referred to as the Biomek Software Solution Brochure). This rejection is newly recited and necessitated by claim amendments.
With respect to claims 1 and 6-8, Liu discloses an automated, information-dependent, iterative MS/MS acquisition (IMMA) tool for improving MS/MS efficiency, increasing proteome coverage, and shortening analysis time for high-throughput proteomics applications based on the LC–MALDI MS/MS platform (title; abstract)
Liu further discloses IMMA software supports an automated and integrated pipeline for data acquisition, processing, analysis, and storage, indicating that it is computer implemented (p 6287, col 2, para 6; fig 1).
Liu discloses with IMMA, one can customize the settings for each MS/MS run by using a library of pre-saved methods and parameters, and then save them as protocols that can be recalled and applied to newly selected targets (supplemental p 15, para 1). Liu further discloses a screen shot of the user interface (GUI) of IMMA software in figure S3, indicating there is a display unit to display the GUI. Figure S3 shows:
On the right panel is the job-tree that is connected to the Oracle Database embedded in the 4800/5800 MALDI TOF/TOF and it displays all LCMS plates available for MS/MS analysis or database search. Liu further discloses that all available MS/MS acquisition and processing methods were initially created in 4000 Series Explorer Software and saved individually in the Oracle 14 database (supplemental p 14, para 2).
On the left panel, all acquisition/processing parameters used by IMMA are displayed and subjected to change by users.
On the middle panel, selected LCMS plate(s) can be defined and queued for MS/MS acquisition, with data management, job queue parameters and job queue sections. Briefly, the “acquisition method” defines the MS/MS method and parameters, and “processing method” defines the database-searching parameters. The “AutoPopulate” button creates an MS/MS queue for a batch of LCMS plates, while the “Add one iteration” button creates one iteration at a time. A completely defined IMMA procedure can be saved as a “protocol” by using the “save” button, and recalled and applied to the currently selected plate(s) by using the “load protocol” button and the browsing capability. All items in the queue are displayed in a window and available for modification prior to execution. Pressing the “process” button will start the execution of all items in the queue. In addition, it will also execute batch processing of database search for selected MS/MS runs (the top portion of the panel).
However, Liu does not appear to disclose displaying the information on the position comprising representations of the actual positions of the sample disposing portions in the sample housing member, and displaying the information at locations of the representations of the actual positions of the sample disposing portions in the sample housing member.
However, with respect to claims 1 and 6-8, the prior art to the Biomek Software User’s Manual Version 4.1 discloses software with information about the liquid-handling system, including information specific to an instrument, including additional components installed, deck layout, and framing information and information about labware, tip, and liquid types, and pipetting techniques and templates (p xlvii, para 1-p xlviii, para 7). The Biomek Software User’s Manual Version 4.1 further discloses the GUI includes a deck editor which allows Biomek Software to select, edit and remember each deck position for each Biomek pod, and the Deck Editor is used to set the properties of each active labware positioner (ALP), microplates and position, including the names (chapter 5; chapter 15).
The prior art to the Biomek Software Solution Brochure, also in the same field of endeavor, discloses numerous software solutions that simplify the complexity of sample and data handling through intelligent processing to meet individual workflow needs, and summarizes various software add-ons, including flexible software package designed to provide complete automation and process control supporting a wide variety of applications across life sciences, such as through integration of devices and use of data at the plate and well level to make decisions (p 2, para 1-p 4, last para).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GUI of Liu with the deck editor function disclosed by the Biomek Software User’s Manual Version 4.1, because it would simplify the complexity of sample and data handling through intelligent processing to meet individual workflow needs, and provide complete automation and process control supporting a wide variety of applications across life sciences, such as through integration of devices and use of data at the plate and well level to make decisions, as disclosed by . There would be a reasonable expectation of success because including representations of the actual positions of the sample disposing portions as disclosed by the Biomek Software User’s Manual Version 4.1 and the Biomek Software Solution Brochure would not impede the steps of Liu as Liu already considers the position of the wells.
With respect to claims 2-4, Liu discloses using 5800 or 4800 MALDI TOF/TOF mass spectrometer with LCMS plates, indicating sample disposing portions would be provided in a lattice pattern. Liu further discloses the user can define a specific IMMA procedure, including setting acquisition and processing parameters, for the spot set(s) selected, suggesting that the user can select which arrangements to show as processed, and the GUI would display the spot set(s) that were used based on the parameters selected by the user (supplementary p 14, para 2-p15, para 1; Fig S3).
With respect to claim 5, Liu discloses the GUI displays text information for specifying the different samples via iTRAQ labels (p 6287, col 1, para 4; fig S3).
Therefore, the invention is prima facie obvious.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, and new art has been applied to teach the amended limitations of the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Ther rejections of claims 1-6 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US11988680B2 in view of Liu et al. (Analytical chemistry 2011, 83(16); hereafter referred to as Liu) are withdrawn in view of claim amendments filed 06/15/2026, as neither the reference Patent nor the prior art to Liu appear to disclose displaying information of the position comprising representations of the actual positions of the sample disposing portions in the sample housing member.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US11988680B2 in view of Liu et al. (Analytical chemistry 2011, 83(16); hereafter referred to as Liu), Beckman Coulter(Biomek® Software Version 4.1 User’s Manual 2018; newly cited; hereafter referred to as the Biomek Software User’s Manual Version 4.1), and Beckman Coulter (Reliability in the things you can’t see: Biomek software solution 2017. Beckman Coulter Life Sciences; newly cited; hereafter referred to as the Biomek Software Solution Brochure). This rejection is newly recited and necessitated by claim amendments.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, and new art has been applied to teach the amended limitations of the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/N.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687