DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 04 December 2025), Claims 28-47 are pending.
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 04 December 2025), Claims 28, 38, and 47 are amended and said amendments are supported by the originally-filed Specification (Specification, 07 February 2023, ¶7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of Claims 28, 38, and 47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 28, 38, and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “wherein the second indication information indicates a total downlink assignment index (DAI) in the DCI”. Here, “the DCI” does not appear to be supported by antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 38, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US 20210105750 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Khoshnevisan”) in view of He et al. (US 20160219557 A1; hereinafter referred to as “He”) in further view of Ahn et al. (US 20190268123 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Ahn”).
Regarding Claim 28, Khoshnevisan discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (¶190-200 & Fig. 8, Khoshnevisan discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising memory 830); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE (¶190-200 & Fig. 8, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE further comprising a processor 840 coupled to the memory 830 via a bus 845) to:
receive a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) (¶183 & Fig. 6 (615), Khoshnevisan discloses receiving, by the UE from a base station, one or more DCI messages) formats (¶151, Khoshnevisan discloses that the one or more DCI messages each have a format of a plurality of formats where the plurality of formats may include at least DCI Format 1_0 and DCI Format 1_1) for scheduling physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions on a plurality of serving cells (¶183 & Fig. 6 (615), Khoshnevisan discloses that the one or more DCI messages may schedule at least one downlink data message on a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and at least one downlink data message on a second TRP. Examiner correlates each TRP to "a serving cell". Examiner correlates the combination of the TRPs to "a plurality of serving cells". Examiner correlates a downlink data transmission to a PDSCH transmission),
wherein each DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats includes a first indication information (¶168, Khoshnevisan discloses that each DCI, received by the UE, may include a counter downlink assignment index (cDAI)) and a second indication information (¶168, Khoshnevisan discloses that each DCI, received by the UE, may include a total downlink assignment index (tDAI)) related to hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information for a PDSCH transmission (¶142, Khoshnevisan discloses that the cDAI and the tDAI are related to dynamic hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) codebook) scheduled by a corresponding DCI format (¶183 & Fig. 6 (615), Khoshnevisan discloses that the one or more DCI messages may schedule at least one downlink data message on a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and at least one downlink data message on a second TRP), and
wherein the second indication information indicates a total downlink assignment index (DAI) in the DCI (¶142, Khoshnevisan discloses that the tDAI indicates a total number of DCI messages in a PDCCH monitoring occasion across component carriers (CCs) and transmit/receive points (TRPs));
receive PDSCH transmission based on the plurality of DCI formats (¶183 & Fig. 6 (620), Khoshnevisan discloses receiving, by the UE from each TRP of the plurality of TRPs, downlink data messages based upon each DCI received from each TRP);
generate a HARQ-ACK codebook based on the first indication information and the second indication information in the plurality of DCI formats (¶184 & Fig. 6 (625), Khoshnevisan discloses generating, by the UE according to a set of sub-codebooks for a dynamic feedback codebook, one or more feedback messages relating to the downlink data messages scheduled by the one or more DCI messages); and
transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook (¶184 & Fig. 6 (625), Khoshnevisan discloses transmitting, by the UE, one or more feedback messages including the dynamic feedback codebook).
However, Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein at least one DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats schedules multiple PDSCH transmissions for multiple serving cells of the plurality of serving cells.
He, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats schedules multiple PDSCH transmissions for multiple serving cells of the plurality of serving cells (¶47, He discloses a DCI format capable of scheduling multiple PDSCH for multiple serving cells of a group of cells. ¶41 & ¶65, He discloses a plurality of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan by requiring that at least one DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats schedules multiple PDSCH transmissions for multiple serving cells of the plurality of serving cells as taught by He because carrier aggregation is improved by maintaining bitrate in situations where the opportunistic nature of the unlicensed spectrum may limit transmission and reception of the control (and corresponding data) signals on the unlicensed spectrum (He, ¶3-4).
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He does not disclose wherein the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of PDSCH receptions.
Ahn, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of PDSCH receptions (Abstract, Ahn discloses that the counter downlink assignment index (cDAI) indicates an accumulative number of PDSCHs received by the wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He by requiring that the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of PDSCH receptions as taught by Ahn because transmission of uplink control information is improved by enabling the UE to select and use a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) format (Ahn, ¶6-10).
Regarding Claim 38, Khoshnevisan discloses a base station (BS), comprising:
at least one memory (¶201-212 & Fig. 9, Khoshnevisan discloses a base station (BS) comprising memory 930); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS (¶201-212 & Fig. 9, Khoshnevisan discloses the BS further comprising a processor 940 coupled to the memory 930 via a bus 950) to:
transmit a plurality of downlink control information (DCI) (¶183 & Fig. 6 (615), Khoshnevisan discloses transmitting, by the BS to a user equipment (UE), one or more DCI messages) formats (¶151, Khoshnevisan discloses that the one or more DCI messages each have a format of a plurality of formats where the plurality of formats may include at least DCI Format 1_0 and DCI Format 1_1) for scheduling physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions on a plurality of serving cells (¶183 & Fig. 6 (615), Khoshnevisan discloses that the one or more DCI messages may schedule at least one downlink data message on a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and at least one downlink data message on a second TRP. Examiner correlates each TRP to "a serving cell". Examiner correlates the combination of the TRPs to "a plurality of serving cells"),
wherein each DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats includes a first indication information (¶168, Khoshnevisan discloses that each DCI, received by the UE, may include a counter downlink assignment index (cDAI)) and a second indication information (¶168, Khoshnevisan discloses that each DCI, received by the UE, may include a total downlink assignment index (tDAI)) related to hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ- ACK) information of a corresponding PDSCH transmission (¶142, Khoshnevisan discloses that the cDAI and the tDAI are related to dynamic hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) codebook),
wherein the second indication information indicates a total downlink assignment index (DAI) in the DCI (¶142, Khoshnevisan discloses that the tDAI indicates a total number of DCI messages in a PDCCH monitoring occasion across component carriers (CCs) and transmit/receive points (TRPs));
transmit the PDSCH transmissions based on the plurality of DCI formats (¶183 & Fig. 6 (620), Khoshnevisan discloses transmitting, by each TRP to the UE, downlink data messages based upon each DCI received from each TRP); and
receive a HARQ-ACK codebook for the PDSCH transmissions (¶184 & Fig. 6 (625), Khoshnevisan discloses receiving, from the UE, one or more feedback messages including the dynamic feedback codebook).
However, Khoshnevisan does not disclose wherein at least one DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats schedules multiple PDSCH transmissions for multiple serving cells of the plurality of serving cells.
He, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein at least one DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats schedules multiple PDSCH transmissions for multiple serving cells of the plurality of serving cells (¶47, He discloses a DCI format capable of scheduling multiple PDSCH for multiple serving cells of a group of cells. ¶41 & ¶65, He discloses a plurality of DCI formats).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan by requiring that at least one DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats schedules multiple PDSCH transmissions for multiple serving cells of the plurality of serving cells as taught by He because carrier aggregation is improved by maintaining bitrate in situations where the opportunistic nature of the unlicensed spectrum may limit transmission and reception of the control (and corresponding data) signals on the unlicensed spectrum (He, ¶3-4).
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He does not disclose wherein the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of PDSCH receptions.
Ahn, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of PDSCH receptions (Abstract, Ahn discloses that the counter downlink assignment index (cDAI) indicates an accumulative number of PDSCHs received by the wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He by requiring that the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of PDSCH receptions as taught by Ahn because transmission of uplink control information is improved by enabling the UE to select and use a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) format (Ahn, ¶6-10).
Regarding Claim 47, Claim 47 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 28.
Claims 29, 31, 39, 41-42, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Wu et al. (US 20220217756 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wu”).
Regarding Claim 29, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 28.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) receptions, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Wu, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) receptions, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶175, Wu discloses that the counter DAI (c-DAI) indicates the information on the number of PDCCHs sent up to the current PDCCH within the HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback binding window).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) receptions, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Wu because a wireless communication network is improved by enabling a method for transmitting/receiving data in a high-frequency communication system where the high-frequency communication provides improved transmission performance (Wu, ¶1 & ¶446).
Regarding Claim 31, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 28.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the first indication information indicates an ordering of HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the scheduled PDSCH transmissions.
Wu, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first indication information indicates an ordering of HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the scheduled PDSCH transmissions (¶212 & Fig. 2, Wu discloses that the c-DAI indicates an order of bits in the HARQ-ACK/NACK codebook).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information indicates an ordering of HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the scheduled PDSCH transmissions as taught by Wu because a wireless communication network is improved by enabling a method for transmitting/receiving data in a high-frequency communication system where the high-frequency communication provides improved transmission performance (Wu, ¶1 & ¶446).
Regarding Claim 39, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 38.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Wu, a prior art reference in the same filed of endeavor, teaches the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶175, Wu discloses that the counter DAI (c-DAI) indicates the information on the number of PDCCHs sent up to the current PDCCH within the HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback binding window).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Wu because a wireless communication network is improved by enabling a method for transmitting/receiving data in a high-frequency communication system where the high-frequency communication provides improved transmission performance (Wu, ¶1 & ¶446).
Regarding Claim 41, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 38.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the first indication information indicates an ordering of HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the scheduled PDSCH transmissions.
Wu, a prior art refence in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first indication information indicates an ordering of HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the scheduled PDSCH transmissions (¶212 & Fig. 2, Wu discloses that the c-DAI indicates an order of bits in the HARQ-ACK/NACK codebook where the HARQ-ACK/NACK codebook includes feedback for received PDSCH transmissions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information indicates an ordering of HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the scheduled PDSCH transmissions as taught by Wu because a wireless communication network is improved by enabling a method for transmitting/receiving data in a high-frequency communication system where the high-frequency communication provides improved transmission performance (Wu, ¶1 & ¶446).
Regarding Claim 42, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 41.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling more the multiple PDSCH transmissions, the first indication information in the DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats indicates an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook for a first scheduled PDSCH transmission of the multiple PDSCH transmissions.
Wu, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling more the multiple PDSCH transmissions, the first indication information in the DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats indicates an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook for a first scheduled PDSCH transmission of the multiple PDSCH transmissions (¶212 & Fig. 2, Wu discloses that the c-DAI indicates an order of bits in the HARQ-ACK/NACK codebook. Examiner correlates the counter DAI (c-DAI) to "first indication information").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information in the DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats indicates an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook for a first scheduled PDSCH transmission of the multiple PDSCH transmissions in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling more the multiple PDSCH transmissions as taught by Wu because a wireless communication network is improved by enabling a method for transmitting/receiving data in a high-frequency communication system where the high-frequency communication provides improved transmission performance (Wu, ¶1 & ¶446).
Regarding Claim 45, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 38.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, the HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH transmissions.
Wu, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, the HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH transmissions (¶212 & Fig. 2, Wu discloses that the c-DAI indicates an order of bits in the HARQ-ACK/NACK codebook using a counter DAI (C-DAI) and a total DAI (T-DAI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH transmissions in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions as taught by Wu because a wireless communication network is improved by enabling a method for transmitting/receiving data in a high-frequency communication system where the high-frequency communication provides improved transmission performance (Wu, ¶1 & ¶446).
Claims 30, 32, 34, 40, 43, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Yuan et al. (US 20230030642 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Yuan”).
Regarding Claim 30, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 28.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of dynamic PDSCH receptions or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion for downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of dynamic PDSCH receptions or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion for downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶61, Yuan discloses that a counter downlink assignment indicator (C-DAI) indicates the accumulative number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) or SPS PDSCH release is present, up to the current serving cell and current PDCCH monitoring occasion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of dynamic PDSCH receptions or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion for downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Yuan because efficiency in cross-carrier scheduling scenarios, e.g., carrier aggregation, as well as in dynamic spectrum sharing scenarios is improved (Yuan, ¶26).
Regarding Claim 32, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 29.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the second indication information indicates a total number of dynamic PDSCH receptions or PDCCH monitoring occasion for a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second indication information indicates a total number of dynamic PDSCH receptions or PDCCH monitoring occasion for a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶61, Yuan discloses that a total downlink assignment indicator (T-DAI) indicates the total number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) or SPS PDSCH release is present, up to the current PDCCH monitoring occasion and is updated from PDCCH monitoring occasion to the PDCCH monitoring occasion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the second indication information indicates a total number of dynamic PDSCH receptions or PDCCH monitoring occasion for a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Yuan because efficiency in cross-carrier scheduling scenarios, e.g., carrier aggregation, as well as in dynamic spectrum sharing scenarios is improved (Yuan, ¶26).
Regarding Claim 34, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 29.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the second indication information indicates a total number of PDSCH receptions or PDCCH monitoring occasion for a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second indication information indicates a total number of PDSCH receptions or PDCCH monitoring occasion for a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶61, Yuan discloses that a total downlink assignment indicator (T-DAI) indicates the total number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) or SPS PDSCH release is present, up to the current PDCCH monitoring occasion and is updated from PDCCH monitoring occasion to the PDCCH monitoring occasion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the second indication information indicates a total number of PDSCH receptions or PDCCH monitoring occasion for a downlink semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Yuan because efficiency in cross-carrier scheduling scenarios, e.g., carrier aggregation, as well as in dynamic spectrum sharing scenarios is improved (Yuan, ¶26).
Regarding Claim 40, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 38.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of dynamic PDSCH transmissions or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of dynamic PDSCH transmissions or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶61, Yuan discloses that a counter downlink assignment indicator (C-DAI) indicates the accumulative number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) or SPS PDSCH release is present, up to the current serving cell and current PDCCH monitoring occasion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the first indication information indicates an accumulative number of dynamic PDSCH transmissions or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, up to a current serving cell and a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Yuan because efficiency in cross-carrier scheduling scenarios, e.g., carrier aggregation, as well as in dynamic spectrum sharing scenarios is improved (Yuan, ¶26).
Regarding Claim 43, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 39.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the second indication information indicates a total number of dynamic PDSCH transmissions or PDCCH transmission for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second indication information indicates a total number of dynamic PDSCH transmissions or PDCCH transmission for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶61, Yuan discloses that a total downlink assignment indicator (T-DAI) indicates the total number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) or SPS PDSCH release is present, up to the current PDCCH monitoring occasion and is updated from PDCCH monitoring occasion to the PDCCH monitoring occasion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the second indication information indicates a total number of dynamic PDSCH transmissions or PDCCH transmission for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release, up to a current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Yuan because efficiency in cross-carrier scheduling scenarios, e.g., carrier aggregation, as well as in dynamic spectrum sharing scenarios is improved (Yuan, ¶26).
Regarding Claim 44, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the BS of claim 39.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the second indication information indicates a total number of PDSCH transmissions or PDCCH transmission for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, up to current PDCCH monitoring occasion.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second indication information indicates a total number of PDSCH transmissions or PDCCH transmission for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, up to current PDCCH monitoring occasion (¶61, Yuan discloses that a total downlink assignment indicator (T-DAI) indicates the total number of {serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) or SPS PDSCH release is present, up to the current PDCCH monitoring occasion and is updated from PDCCH monitoring occasion to the PDCCH monitoring occasion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring that the second indication information indicates a total number of PDSCH transmissions or PDCCH transmission for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release, up to current PDCCH monitoring occasion as taught by Yuan because efficiency in cross-carrier scheduling scenarios, e.g., carrier aggregation, as well as in dynamic spectrum sharing scenarios is improved (Yuan, ¶26).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in view of Yuan in further view of Hamss et al. (US 20210328728 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Hamss”).
Regarding Claim 33, Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Yuan discloses the UE of claim 32.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Yuan does not disclose the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determining whether a DCI format is missed; and in response to at least one DCI format being missed, determining HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the at least one DCI format based on the first indication information and the second indication information in the plurality of DCI formats.
Hamss, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether a DCI format is missed (¶98, Hamss discloses detecting a missing downlink control information (DCI)); and
in response to the DCI format being missed, determine HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the at least one DCI format based on the first indication information and the second indication information in the plurality of DCI formats (¶98, Hamss discloses determining a sequence of acknowledgment/non-acknowledgment (A/N) bits in a HARQ-ACK codebook based upon the configured counter DAI and the configured total DAI in response detecting a missing downlink control information (DCI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Yuan by determining whether a DCI format is missed and further determining HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the at least one DCI format based on the first indication information and the second indication information in the plurality of DCI formats in response to the DCI format being missed as taught by Hamss because transmission of HARQ feedback is improved by allowing the wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) to transmit said HARQ feedback without performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure upon an occurrence of a condition (Hamss, ¶84-85).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Hamss.
Regarding Claim 35, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 28.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine whether a DCI format is missed; and in response to no DCI format being missed and in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, performing HARQ-ACK bundling among HARQ-ACK information bits for the multiple PDSCH transmissions to generate a bundled HARQ-ACK information bit for the multiple PDSCH transmissions; and including the bundled HARQ-ACK information bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook.
Hamss, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether a DCI format is missed (¶98, Hamss discloses detecting a missing downlink control information (DCI)); and
in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, performing HARQ-ACK bundling among HARQ-ACK information bits for the multiple PDSCH transmissions to generate a bundled HARQ-ACK information bit for the multiple PDSCH transmissions (¶98, Hamss discloses determining a sequence of acknowledgment/non-acknowledgment (A/N) bits in a HARQ-ACK codebook based upon the configured counter DAI and the configured total DAI in response to not detecting a missing downlink control information (DCI)); and
include the bundled HARQ-ACK information bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook (¶98, Hamss discloses bundling at least one acknowledgment/non-acknowledgment (A/N) bits in a HARQ-ACK codebook).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by determining whether a DCI format is missed, performing HARQ-ACK bundling among HARQ-ACK information bits for the multiple PDSCH transmissions to generate a bundled HARQ-ACK information bit for the multiple PDSCH transmissions in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, and further including the bundled HARQ-ACK information bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook as taught by Hamss because transmission of HARQ feedback is improved by allowing the wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) to transmit said HARQ feedback without performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure upon an occurrence of a condition (Hamss, ¶84-85).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Takeda et al. (US 20230083414 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Takeda”).
Regarding Claim 36, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 28.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine whether a DCI format is missed; and in response to at least one DCI format being missed, generate a negative acknowledgement (NACK) bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the at least one DCI format.
Takeda, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine whether a DCI format is missed (¶128, Takeda discloses determining, by the UE, that a downlink control information (DCI) message is missing by comparing the counter DAI and the count of received DCIs maintained by the UE); and
in response to at least one DCI format being missed, generate a negative acknowledgement (NACK) bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the at least one DCI format (¶128 & ¶139, Takeda discloses generating, by the UE, a negative acknowledgment (NACK) when generating bits for the HARQ codebook for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the control signaling).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by determining whether a DCI format is missed and further generating a negative acknowledgement (NACK) bit in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the PDSCH transmissions scheduled by the at least one DCI format in response to at least one DCI format being missed as taught by Takeda because feedback for single-downlink control information (DCI) to multi-cell scheduling is improved (Takeda, ¶5).
Claims 37 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of He in view of Ahn in further view of Shen et al. (US 20180241510 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Shen”).
Regarding Claim 37, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn discloses the UE of claim 28.
However, Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn does not disclose in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the multiple PDSCH transmissions is based on the indexes of the serving cells where the multiple PDSCH transmissions is transmitted.
Shen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the multiple PDSCH transmissions is based on the indexes of the serving cells where the multiple PDSCH transmissions is transmitted (¶146 & ¶139 & ¶106, Shen discloses an ordering of bits of a HARQ-ACK codebook for at least one PDSCH reception based upon ordering the bits corresponding to a lowest cell index to a highest cell index in response to reception of a downlink control information (DCI) having a particular format).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoshnevisan in view of He in further view of Ahn by requiring in response to a DCI format of the plurality of DCI formats scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions, an ordering of the HARQ-ACK information bits in the HARQ-ACK codebook for the multiple PDSCH transmissions is based on the indexes of the serving cells where the multiple PDSCH transmissions is transmitted as taught by Shen because transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback is improved by enabling both the evolved node B (eNB) and a user equipment (UE) to have the same understanding on the HARQ-ACK codebook size (Shen, ¶42).
Regarding Claim 46, Claim 46 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 37.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474