Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “a granular susceptor material, the granular susceptor material comprising a ceramic material, a microwave absorbing material, and a susceptor material binder.” However, a susceptor is not recited in claim 1. Claiming a susceptor material does not make sense if a susceptor is not recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalski (US 2020/0286757) in view of Araya et al (US 2002/0139795) and Heineck et al (US 2014/0263290).
Regarding claim 1, Kowalski discloses, A microwave apparatus for thermally processing particles (See Fig 1), the microwave apparatus comprising: a metallic housing (See Paragraph [0026], metal housing); a first microwave energy source (first microwave energy source 14A. See Paragraph [0027])) positioned to direct first microwave radiation into a first waveguide (first waveguide 18A), the first waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis (See Fig 2, the waveguide comprises an axis); and a second microwave energy source (first microwave energy source 14B) positioned to direct second microwave radiation into a second waveguide (Second waveguide 18B), the second waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis (Fig 2 shows the waveguide having an axis)
Kowalski fails to discloses the first and second waveguides being slotted waveguide, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis, the second slotted waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis and a plurality of transverse slots that emit a second modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of transverse slots have a length that is perpendicular to the second major waveguide axis.
However, Araya discloses a microwave apparatus for thermally processing of particles (claim 14), comprising a metallic housing (fig. 1, 22, column 6, lines 18-27), a microwave source 4, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis (Fig 6 as annotate below shows a slotted waveguide having a major axis with the top arrow showing the portion where the slots are longitudinal and parallel to the first major axis), a microwave energy source positioned to direct second microwave radiation into a second slotted waveguide, the second slotted waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis and a plurality of transverse slots that emit a second modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of transverse slots have a length that is perpendicular to the second major waveguide axis (Fig 6, as annotated below shows the second slotted waveguide at the bottom arrow having transverse slots which would emit a second modified radiation, See fig. 1, 4, 12, fig. 6, Paragraphs [0040]-[0050). Even though the device only comprises one microwave source, the manner in which the waveguides are arranged, the device would effectively produce two microwave sources.
Heineck discloses, a microwave apparatus comprising a first microwave energy source positioned to direct first microwave radiation into a first slotted waveguide, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis (See Paragraphs [0003], [0017], [0061] fig.15)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify or combine Kowalski in view of Araya and Heineck to provide the first and second waveguides being slotted waveguide, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis, the second slotted waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis and a plurality of transverse slots that emit a second modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of transverse slots have a length that is perpendicular to the second major waveguide axis for increasing the uniformity of radiation and the quality of treatment. This arrangement allows power absorption to be maximized (See Paragraph [0002] of Araya) by the material and minimize the absorption by surroundings. Further, Heineck (See Paragraph [0004] discloses one having ordinary skill in the art would select the desired shape, size and orientation of waveguides and slots for attaining a desired distribution of microwave energy within the housing.
Regarding claim 2, Kowalski the waveguides 18a and 18b would have a first and second axis pasting through radiating surfaces, with the waveguides being parallel to each other. The radiating surface could be considered the walls of the waveguides themselves as the structure or location of the first and second radiating surface are not claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Kowalski fails to disclose the waveguide are separated by a distance greater than the half wavelength of the microwave radiation. However, it would have been obvious to separate them by this distance due to the laws of physics so each microwave radiation source would not interfere with each other and distort the desired energy distribution.
Regarding claims 4-15, Kowalski in view of Araya and Heineck fail to disclose the microwave apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first slotted waveguide has an S11 parameter value less than -20 dB and greater than -40 dB.
Wherein the first slotted waveguide has a voltage standing wave ratio parameter value less than 1.5 and greater than 1.
Wherein for the first slotted waveguide, a graph of the first modified microwave radiation in spherical coordinates at a constant value of Phi = 90 has a maximum deviation of +/- 7.5 dBV in a range from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
Wherein for the first slotted waveguide, a graph of the first modified microwave radiation in spherical coordinates at a constant value of Theta = 90 has a maximum deviation of +/- 7.5 dBV in a range from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
Wherein the second slotted waveguide has an S11 parameter value less than -20 dB and greater than -40 dB.
Wherein the second slotted waveguide has a voltage standing wave ratio parameter value less than 1.5 and greater than 1.
Wherein for the second slotted waveguide, a graph of the second modified microwave radiation in spherical coordinates at a constant value of Phi = 90 has a maximum deviation of +/- 7.5 dBV in a range from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
Wherein for the second slotted waveguide, a graph of the second modified microwave radiation in spherical coordinates at a constant value of Theta = 90 has a maximum deviation of +/- 7.5 dBV in a range from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
Wherein for a combined electric field of the first modified microwave radiation and the second modified microwave radiation, a graph in spherical coordinates at a constant value of Phi=90 has a maximum deviation of +/- 7.5 dBV in a range from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
Wherein for a combined electric field of the first modified microwave radiation and the second modified microwave radiation, a graph in spherical coordinates at a constant value of Theta=90 has a maximum deviation of +/- 7.5 dBV in a range from 30 degrees to 150 degrees.
Wherein the first slotted waveguide and the second slotted waveguide have an S21 parameter value less than -20 dB and greater than -40 dB.
Wherein the first slotted waveguide and the second slotted waveguide have an S12 parameter value less than -20 dB and greater than -40 dB.
Each of these claims depend on claim 1 and are not considered in light of each other. Each claim is claimed as a single parameter and none of them are considered together as none of these dependent claims depend on each other. Each is considered separately but the same rejection would apply to all of the claims 4-15.
Heineck discloses one having ordinary skill in the art would select the desired shape, size and orientation of waveguides and slots for attaining a desired distribution of microwave energy within the housing, therefore it would have been obvious to provide the claimed S parameter values, combined electric fields and voltage standing wave ratio parameter since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. These values would be selected to produce the desired distribution of microwave energy in the chamber.
Regarding claim 16, Kowalski discloses the first and second waveguides being coupled directly to the respective microwave sources, See Fig 3.
Regarding claim 17, Kowalski fails to disclose a majority of transverse slots of the plurality of transverse slots have unique lengths relative to the second major waveguide axis of the second slotted waveguide. However, Heineck discloses using unique slot lengths and shapes (See Paragraph [0112]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Kowalski in view of Heineck to provide the majority of unique slots for altering the microwave energy distribution patterns as desired for the application.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalski (US 2020/0286757) in view of Araya et al (US 2002/0139795), Heineck et al (US 2014/0263290) and Brandon (WO 93/16571) as cited and provided by applicant.
The teachings of Kowalski have been discussed above. Kowalski fails to disclose, regarding claim 18, a granular susceptor material, the granular susceptor material comprising a ceramic material, a microwave absorbing material, and a susceptor material binder.
Brandon discloses a susceptor having a granular material comprising a ceramic, a microwave absorbing material and a binder. (See Page 15, last paragraph, page 16, first paragraph, page 20, paragraph 3- page 21, paragraph 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Kowalski in view of Brandon to provide , a granular susceptor material, the granular susceptor material comprising a ceramic material, a microwave absorbing material, and a susceptor material binder for producing a more uniform heating effect while minimizing the risk of cracking, reducing the attenuation of microwave flux, preventing microwave leakage, and reducing thermal runaway.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandon (WO 93/16571) in view of Kowalski (US 2020/0286757), Araya et al (US 2002/0139795) and Heineck et al (US 2014/0263290).
Brandon discloses, regarding claim 19, embedding the preliminary version of the part in a granular susceptor material, wherein the granular susceptor material comprising a ceramic material, a microwave absorbing material, and a susceptor material binder (page 15, last paragraph, page 20, paragraph 3- page 21, paragraph 1). The part is exposed to microwave radiation and the microwave apparatus comprises a wave guide, (See Page 11, Last Paragraph)
Brandon fails to disclose, regarding claim 19, a first slotted waveguide comprising a plurality of longitudinal slots and a second slotted waveguide comprising a plurality of transverse slots.
However, Kowalski discloses, A microwave apparatus for thermally processing particles (See Fig 1), the microwave apparatus comprising: a metallic housing (See Paragraph [0026], metal housing); a first microwave energy source (first microwave energy source 14A. See Paragraph [0027])) positioned to direct first microwave radiation into a first waveguide (first waveguide 18A), the first waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis (See Fig 2, the waveguide comprises an axis); and a second microwave energy source (first microwave energy source 14B) positioned to direct second microwave radiation into a second waveguide (Second waveguide 18B), the second waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis (Fig 2 shows the waveguide having an axis)
However, Araya discloses a microwave apparatus for thermally processing of particles (claim 14), comprising a metallic housing (fig. 1, 22, column 6, lines 18-27), a microwave source 4, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis (Fig 6 as annotate below shows a slotted waveguide having a major axis with the top arrow showing the portion where the slots are longitudinal and parallel to the first major axis), a microwave energy source positioned to direct second microwave radiation into a second slotted waveguide, the second slotted waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis and a plurality of transverse slots that emit a second modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of transverse slots have a length that is perpendicular to the second major waveguide axis (Fig 6, as annotated below shows the second slotted waveguide at the bottom arrow having transverse slots which would emit a second modified radiation, See fig. 1, 4, 12, fig. 6, Paragraphs [0040]-[0050). Even though the device only comprises one microwave source, the manner in which the waveguides are arranged, the device would effectively produce two microwave sources.
Heineck discloses, a microwave apparatus comprising a first microwave energy source positioned to direct first microwave radiation into a first slotted waveguide, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis (See Paragraphs [0003], [0017], [0061] fig.15)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify or combine Kowalski in view of Araya and Heineck to provide the first and second waveguides being slotted waveguide, the first slotted waveguide comprising a first major waveguide axis and a plurality of longitudinal slots that emit a first modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of longitudinal slots have a length that is parallel to the first major waveguide axis, the second slotted waveguide comprising a second major waveguide axis and a plurality of transverse slots that emit a second modified microwave radiation, wherein the plurality of transverse slots have a length that is perpendicular to the second major waveguide axis for increasing the uniformity of radiation and the quality of treatment. This arrangement allows power absorption to be maximized (See Paragraph [0002] of Araya) by the material and minimize the absorption by surroundings. Further, Heineck (See Paragraph [0004] discloses one having ordinary skill in the art would select the desired shape, size and orientation of waveguides and slots for attaining a desired distribution of microwave energy within the housing.
Regarding claim 20, Brandon fails to disclose a majority of transverse slots of the plurality of transverse slots have unique lengths relative to the second major waveguide axis of the second slotted waveguide. However, Heineck discloses using unique slot lengths and shapes (See Paragraph [0112]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Kowalski in view of Heineck to provide the majority of unique slots for altering the microwave energy distribution patterns as desired for the application.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 11/23/2025