DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 16, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 8, 12, 22-23, 27-28, 33-36, 42, 44, 54, 58-59 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art Hosseini.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12, 33-34, and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (CN 110351846 A, hereinafter Li, see “110351846-Desc-translated” for citation) in view of Hosseini et al. (US 20230057047 A1, hereinafter Hosseini).
Regarding claim 1 and 58 Li discloses:
determining a resource for sending CSI feedback according to a time domain offset; (Paragraph [0009], “a terminal device receives first downlink control information, the first downlink control information carries first indication information, and the first indication information is used to trigger the terminal device to report non-periodic channel state information A-CSI” and paragraph [0048], “the terminal device according to the first timing information, an offset value from the time unit for receiving the first downlink control information to the time unit for reporting A-CSI, and then determines the time unit for reporting A-CSI.”).
preparing the CSI feedback; (Paragraph [0009], “the terminal device determines a reporting time unit for the A-CSI according to the first timing information”)
and sending the CSI feedback on the resource. (Paragraph [0009], “the terminal device sends the A-CSI to a network device in the reporting time unit of the A-CSI.”)
Specifically regarding claim 58 Li discloses:
A terminal comprising a memory, a processor, a program stored on the memory and executable on the processor and a data bus (Paragraph [0060], “the terminal device includes: a transceiver, a memory, and a processor. The transceiver, the memory and the processor communicate with each other through an internal connection path, the memory is used to store instructions, and the processor is used to execute the instructions stored in the memory to control the receiver to receive signals and control the transmitter to send signals, and when the processor executes the instructions stored in the memory, the execution causes the processor to execute the method in the first aspect or any possible implementation of the first aspect.”)
Li does not fully disclose:
wherein determining the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the time domain offset comprises: determining a time domain resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the time domain offset,
wherein the time domain offset is used for indicating an offset between a time domain resource unit for sending the CSI feedback and a time domain resource unit for sending an association hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback.
Hosseini discloses:
wherein determining the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the time domain offset comprises: determining a time domain resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the time domain offset, (Paragraph [0098], “If the base station 804 indicates one set of K1 and/or PRI to the UE 802 and indicates for the UE to send the HARQ-ACK and CSI separately, the UE 802 may use the resources indicated by the K1 and/or PRI to determine transmit one message (e.g., such as the HARQ-ACK feedback at 813) and may determine second resources for the other transmission (e.g., the CSI at 815) based partly on the PRI and K1. For example, the UE 802 may apply and offset to the PRI and/or K1 to determine the resources for transmitting the other transmission.” The first resource is indicated by the set and the second is derived from the offset of the set.)
wherein the time domain offset is used for indicating an offset between a time domain resource unit for sending the CSI feedback and a time domain resource unit for sending an association hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback. (Paragraph [0098], “If the base station 804 indicates one set of K1 and/or PRI to the UE 802 and indicates for the UE to send the HARQ-ACK and CSI separately, the UE 802 may use the resources indicated by the K1 and/or PRI to determine transmit one message (e.g., such as the HARQ-ACK feedback at 813) and may determine second resources for the other transmission (e.g., the CSI at 815) based partly on the PRI and K1. For example, the UE 802 may apply and offset to the PRI and/or K1 to determine the resources for transmitting the other transmission.” Harq-ack feedback is determined by k1/pri set and csi feedback is determined based on the time domain offset applied to the pri/k1 set.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Li in view of Hosseini to set a timing offset between the HARQ-ACK transmission and CSI feedback transmission. One would have been motivated to do this to avoid collisions and prevent “the reporting of HARQ-ACK to be delayed” (Hosseini, [0085]).
Regarding claims 2 and 34 Li discloses:
determining the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to at least one of:
a priority of the CSI feedback,
a time domain resource indication in association downlink control information (DCI), (Paragraph [0032], “the seventh indication information may also indicate the time domain resource allocation information of the PDSCH scheduled by the first downlink control information”.)
a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indication in association DCI, (Paragraph [0215], “The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DC”)
a preset frequency domain offset, (Paragraph [0084], “further, the technical solutions of the embodiments of the present application can be applied to multi-carrier transmission systems using non-orthogonal multiple access technology, such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM), filter bank multi-carrier (FBMC), generalized frequency division multiplexing (GFDM), filtered orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (F-OFDM) system, etc.”)
a preset PUCCH resource indication offset, (Paragraph [0213], “The terminal device determines that the S-PUCCH resource for transmitting A-CSI in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCHResource1, and adjusts the transmission power p1” a preset PUCCH used for transmitting CSI.)
a priority of association uplink control information (UCI) or (Paragraph [0215], “The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DCI, and adjusts the PUCCH transmission power according to the TPC in the last DCI.
If PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 do not overlap in the time domain, the terminal device can send A-CSI on PUCCH Resource 1 using power p1.” Depending on the UCI the terminal adjust the resource to send CSI, HARQ, or both.)
a sending situation of the association HARQ-ACK feedback. (Paragraph [0214], “The terminal device determines the HARQ-ACK codebook transmitted in slot # (n + Y) based on the DAI_counter and DAI_total in the first DCI… Further, the terminal device determines that the PUCCH resource for transmitting HARQ-ACK in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCH Resource 2, and the transmission power is p2.” The terminal can transmit HARQ-ACK.)
Regarding claim 12 Li discloses:
determining a time domain resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the time domain resource indication in the association DCI, wherein the time domain resource indication in the association DCI is used for indicating an offset between a time domain resource unit where the association DCI is located and a time domain resource unit where the CSI feedback is located, (Paragraph [0118], “The information transmission method of the embodiment of the present application determines, by the terminal device according to the first timing information, the offset value from the time unit for receiving the first downlink control information to the time unit for reporting A-CSI, and then determines the time unit for reporting A-CSI. The feedback delay of A-CSI can be indicated by the first timing information, so that the terminal device reports A-CSI in the correct time unit, thereby improving system performance.”)
wherein the time domain resource unit comprises at least one of: a frame, a subframe, a slot, a subslot or an orthogonal frequency- division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, (Paragraph [0120], “It should be understood that the above-mentioned time unit can be a time slot or other time units, such as a mini time slot, a subframe, etc., and the embodiments of the present application are not limited to this.”)
determining the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the PUCCH resource indication in the association DCI comprises: determining an index of a PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback according to the PUCCH resource indication in the association DCI, (Paragraph [0006], “DCI triggers the terminal device to report A-CSI on S-PUCCH” And paragraph [0213], “The terminal device determines that the S-PUCCH resource for transmitting A-CSI in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCHResource1” Terminal picks the PUCCH resource according to the indication of the DCI.)
wherein in a case where the association DCI is a last DCI of an HARQ-ACK codebook where the association HARQ-ACK feedback is located, the PUCCH resource indication further indicates a PUCCH resource carrying the association HARQ-ACK feedback; (Paragraph [0214], “The terminal device determines the HARQ-ACK codebook transmitted in slot # (n + Y) based on the DAI_counter and DAI_total in the first DCI, where some DCI only triggers the terminal device to feedback A-CSI, and the DAI_counter and DAI_total remain consistent with the previous DCI. Further, the terminal device determines that the PUCCH resource for transmitting HARQ-ACK in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCH Resource 2, and the transmission power is p2.”)
the time domain offset is predefined by a system, is configured by a base station through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or is indicated in the association DCI, (Paragraph [0051], “the first downlink control information carries third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate the first timing information and/or the second timing information, wherein the second timing information is used to indicate the offset value from the time unit…”)
determining the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the preset frequency domain offset comprises: determining a frequency domain resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the preset frequency domain offset, (Paragraph [0213], “The terminal device determines that the S-PUCCH resource for transmitting A-CSI in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCHResource1” And paragraph [0214], “the terminal device determines that the PUCCH resource for transmitting HARQ-ACK in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCH Resource 2” And paragraph [0215], “if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI.” OFDM uses PRB the CSI and HARQ are in different slots of the PUCCH but is transmitted jointly. Since this is multiplex on PRB inherently the offset is assigned from the base station so that the OFDM can give the terminal the correct blocks.)
wherein the preset frequency domain offset is predefined by the system, is configured by the base station through RRC signaling, or is indicated in the association DCI, wherein the preset frequency domain offset is used for indicating an offset between a starting frequency domain resource unit for sending the CSI feedback and a starting frequency domain resource unit for sending the association HARQ-ACK feedback, wherein the frequency domain resource unit is a physical resource block (PRB), a bandwidth part (BWP) or a resource block group (RBG); (Paragraph [0084], “further, the technical solutions of the embodiments of the present application can be applied to multi-carrier transmission systems using non-orthogonal multiple access technology, such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM), filter bank multi-carrier (FBMC), generalized frequency division multiplexing (GFDM), filtered orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (F-OFDM) system, etc.” As disclosed above the OFDM utilizes PRB and since OFDM is used inherently it must come from the base station through RRC or from the DCI otherwise the OFDM would not know what blocks to distribute to the terminals.)
and determining the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the preset PUCCH resource indication offset comprises: determining a PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback according to the preset PUCCH resource indication offset, wherein the preset PUCCH resource indication offset is predefined by the system, is configured by the base station through RRC signaling, or is indicated in the association DCI, (Paragraph [0215], “The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DCI” This teaches that the terminal uses the preset PUCCH resource indication offset indicated in the last DCI to transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI reporting.)
wherein the preset PUCCH resource indication preset is used for indicating an offset between an index of the PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback and an index of a PUCCH resource carrying the association HARQ-ACK feedback. (Paragraph [0215], “The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DCI” This teaches that the terminal uses the preset PUCCH resource indication offset indicated in the last DCI to transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The PUCCH preset indicating an offset between an index of PUCCH for the CSI and HARQ-ACK is readily conceivable by a person skilled in the art.)
Regarding claims 33 and 59 Li discloses:
triggering a CSI feedback; (Paragraph [0005], “supports network devices to use downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) to trigger the terminal device to report the A-CSI.”)
indicating a resource for sending the CSI feedback through a time domain offset; (Paragraph [0284], “The information transmission device of the embodiment of the present application determines the offset value from the time unit for receiving the first downlink control information to the time unit for reporting A-CSI through the terminal device according to the first timing information, and then determines the time unit for reporting A-CSI.” This indicates the time unit (resource) for sending the feedback using time domain offset).
and receiving the corresponding CSI feedback through the time domain offset. (Paragraph [0047], “the network device receives the A-CSI sent by the terminal device according to the first downlink control information and first timing information, and the first timing information is used to indicate an offset value from a time unit for receiving the first downlink control information by the terminal device to a time unit for reporting the A-CSI.”)
Specifically regarding claim 59 Li discloses:
A base station comprising a memory, a processor, a program stored on the memory and executable on the processor and a data bus (Paragraph [0061], “the network device comprising: a transceiver, a memory and a processor.
The transceiver, the memory and the processor communicate with each other through an internal connection path, the memory is used to store instructions, and the processor is used to execute the instructions stored in the memory to control the receiver to receive signals and control the transmitter to send signals, and when the processor executes the instructions stored in the memory, the execution causes the processor to execute the method in the second aspect or any possible implementation of the second aspect.” And paragraph [0086], “The network device can be a base station…”)
Li does not fully disclose:
wherein indicating the resource for sending the CSI feedback through the time domain offset comprises: indicating a time domain resource for sending the CSI feedback through the time domain offset,
wherein the time domain offset is used for indicating an offset between a time domain resource unit for sending the CSI feedback and a time domain resource unit for sending an association hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback.
Hosseini discloses:
wherein indicating the resource for sending the CSI feedback through the time domain offset comprises: indicating a time domain resource for sending the CSI feedback through the time domain offset, (Paragraph [0098], “If the base station 804 indicates one set of K1 and/or PRI to the UE 802 and indicates for the UE to send the HARQ-ACK and CSI separately, the UE 802 may use the resources indicated by the K1 and/or PRI to determine transmit one message (e.g., such as the HARQ-ACK feedback at 813) and may determine second resources for the other transmission (e.g., the CSI at 815) based partly on the PRI and K1. For example, the UE 802 may apply and offset to the PRI and/or K1 to determine the resources for transmitting the other transmission.” The first resource is indicated by the set and the second is derived from the offset of the set.)
wherein the time domain offset is used for indicating an offset between a time domain resource unit for sending the CSI feedback and a time domain resource unit for sending an association hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback. (Paragraph [0098], “If the base station 804 indicates one set of K1 and/or PRI to the UE 802 and indicates for the UE to send the HARQ-ACK and CSI separately, the UE 802 may use the resources indicated by the K1 and/or PRI to determine transmit one message (e.g., such as the HARQ-ACK feedback at 813) and may determine second resources for the other transmission (e.g., the CSI at 815) based partly on the PRI and K1. For example, the UE 802 may apply and offset to the PRI and/or K1 to determine the resources for transmitting the other transmission.” Harq-ack feedback is determined by k1/pri set and csi feedback is determined based on the time domain offset applied to the pri/k1 set.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Li in view of Hosseini to set a timing offset between the HARQ-ACK transmission and CSI feedback transmission. One would have been motivated to do this to avoid collisions and prevent “the reporting of HARQ-ACK to be delayed” (Hosseini, [0085]).
Claims 3-5, 8, 35-36, and 42, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of Li and Hosseini in view of Gordaychik (US 10880895 B2, hereinafter Gordaychik).
Regarding claims 3 and 35 Li and Hosseini does not disclose:
determining the priority of the CSI feedback according to a priority indicator field indication comprised in the received association DCI or a priority of the association HARQ- ACK feedback, wherein determining the priority of the CSI feedback according to the priority indicator field indication comprised in the received association DCI comprises: in a case where the priority indicator field indication in the association DCI is a high priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a high priority;
in a case where the priority indicator field indication in the association DCI is a low priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a low priority;
and wherein determining the priority of the CSI feedback according to the priority of the association HARQ-ACK feedback comprises: in a case where the priority of the association HARQ-ACK feedback is a high priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a high priority;
in a case where the priority of the association HARQ-ACK feedback is a low priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a low priority.
Gordaychik does disclose:
determining the priority of the CSI feedback according to a priority indicator field indication comprised in the received association DCI or a priority of the association HARQ- ACK feedback, (Col 11 line 60-67 and Col. 12 line 1-5, “Previous and follow up DCIs may include power parameters which may be applicable to a same transmission resource. Power parameters may include sets of power parameters each set directed to a particular transmission priority, i.e. for MTC, eMBB or URLLC traffic. Power levels and power level sets may be different for each transmission priority. Alternatively, HARQ may be multiplexed with HARQ from previous transmissions of another type, priority, or the like. For example, a HARQ ACK may be dropped in favor of a SR; a HARQ ACK may be transmitted over CSI or PUSCH or the like. HARQ for URLLC may always supersede eMBB or other traffic.” Since the HARQ-ACK is transmitted over the CSI its priority is tied with HARQ-ACK.)
wherein determining the priority of the CSI feedback according to the priority indicator field indication comprised in the received association DCI comprises:
in a case where the priority indicator field indication in the association DCI is a high priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a high priority; in a case where the priority indicator field indication in the association DCI is a low priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a low priority; and
wherein determining the priority of the CSI feedback according to the priority of the association HARQ-ACK feedback comprises: in a case where the priority of the association HARQ-ACK feedback is a high priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a high priority; in a case where the priority of the association HARQ-ACK feedback is a low priority, the priority of the CSI feedback being a low priority. (Col 11 line 60-67 and Col. 12 line 1-5, “Previous and follow up DCIs may include power parameters which may be applicable to a same transmission resource. Power parameters may include sets of power parameters each set directed to a particular transmission priority, i.e. for MTC, eMBB or URLLC traffic. Power levels and power level sets may be different for each transmission priority. Alternatively, HARQ may be multiplexed with HARQ from previous transmissions of another type, priority, or the like. For example, a HARQ ACK may be dropped in favor of a SR; a HARQ ACK may be transmitted over CSI or PUSCH or the like. HARQ for URLLC may always supersede eMBB or other traffic.” HARQ-ACK getting dropped over SR is lower priority while superseding other traffic means it had higher priority and since its tied to CSI (transmitted over CSI) their priority matches.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Li and Hosseini in view of Gordaychik by incorporating priority on the DCIs. One would have been motivated to do this so that “conflicts may be resolved” (Col 21, line 20).
(Note: claim 36 is a combination of all 3 claims 4, 5 and 8 therefore its portion is addressed alongside the 3 claims.)
Regarding claims 4 and 36 Li discloses:
The method according to claim 3, wherein the association DCI comprises at least one of: DCI for triggering the CSI feedback; (Paragraph [0005], “network devices to use downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) to trigger the terminal device to report the A-CSI.”)
DCI for scheduling a transmission channel triggering the CSI feedback, wherein the transmission channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); (Paragraph [0006], “when DCI triggers the terminal device to report A-CSI on S-PUCCH”.)
or a last DCI for scheduling a transmission channel corresponding to the association HARQ-ACK feedback. (Paragraph [0020], “the first downlink control information schedules the PDSCH, the third indication information may indicate the second timing information. The terminal device may determine the second timing information based on the third indication information, and further determine the time unit for feeding back the first HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH.”)
Regarding claims 5 and 36 Li discloses:
wherein the association HARQ-ACK feedback comprises at least one of:
an HARQ-ACK feedback of a transmission channel scheduled by the association DCI; (Paragraph [0020], “the first downlink control information schedules the PDSCH, the third indication information may indicate the second timing information. The terminal device may determine the second timing information based on the third indication information, and further determine the time unit for feeding back the first HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH.”)
an HARQ-ACK codebook comprising an HARQ-ACK feedback of a transmission channel scheduled by the association DCI; (Paragraph [0045], “the terminal device determines, according to the sixth indication information, the HARQ-ACK codebook that needs to be fed back within the reporting time unit of the A-CSI; and the terminal device generates the information bits of the second HARQ-ACK according to the HARQ-ACK codebook.”)
an HARQ-ACK feedback having a same priority as the CSI feedback; (Paragraph [0215], “if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The terminal device calculates the total uplink control information (UCI) size: the HARQ-ACK codebook size and the A-CSI load size, and the terminal device determines the last DCI for scheduling HARQ-ACK and/or A-CSI.” If the two feedback has the same priority and there is enough space, they can be multiplex and transmitted jointly.)
or an HARQ-ACK codebook comprising an HARQ-ACK feedback having a same priority as the CSI feedback. ; (Paragraph [0215], “if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The terminal device calculates the total uplink control information (UCI) size: the HARQ-ACK codebook size and the A-CSI load size, and the terminal device determines the last DCI for scheduling HARQ-ACK and/or A-CSI.” If the two feedback has the same priority and there is enough space, they can be multiplex and transmitted jointly.)
Regarding claims 8, 36, and 42 Li discloses:
in a case where multiple CSI feedbacks need to be sent to a base station, multiplexing CSI feedbacks having a same priority on a same PUCCH for sending, wherein the CSI feedback comprises at least one of an aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) feedback, a periodic CSI (P-CSI) feedback or a semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) feedback; (Paragraph [0215], “Specifically, if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The terminal device calculates the total uplink control information (UCI) size: the HARQ-ACK codebook size and the A-CSI load size, and the terminal device determines the last DCI for scheduling HARQ-ACK and/or A-CSI.” While this example is between HARQ-ACK and A-CSI, having multiple CSI feedbacks be multiplex instead is readily conceivable by those skilled in the art.)
or in a case where a priority of a CSI feedback needing to be sent to a base station is same as the priority of the association UCI, multiplexing the CSI feedback and the association UCI who have the same priority on a same PUCCH for sending, wherein the association UCI comprises at least one of an A-CSI feedback, a P-CSI feedback, an SP-CSI feedback, an association HARP-ACK feedback, a scheduling request (SR) or a channel sounding reference signal (SRS). (Paragraph [0215], “Specifically, if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The terminal device calculates the total uplink control information (UCI) size: the HARQ-ACK codebook size and the A-CSI load size, and the terminal device determines the last DCI for scheduling HARQ-ACK and/or A-CSI.” While this example is between HARQ-ACK and A-CSI, having multiplexing between the A-CSI and UCI when they have the same priority instead is readily conceivable by those skilled in the art.)
Claims 22-23, 27, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of Li and Hosseini in view of Wu et al. (US 20200178241 A1, hereinafter Wu).
(NOTE claim 54 is a combination of 2 claims 22 and 27 and thus will be addressed alongside 22 and 27.)
Regarding claims 22 and 54 Li and Hosseini does not disclose:
determining a payload of the CSI feedback according to a first configuration value, wherein the first configuration value is predefined by a system or is configured by a base station to a terminal through RRC signaling, and is used for indicating a number of CSI reports comprised in the CSI feedback or a number of bits comprised in the CSI feedback.
Wu discloses:
determining a payload of the CSI feedback according to a first configuration value, wherein the first configuration value is predefined by a system or is configured by a base station to a terminal through RRC signaling, (Paragraph [0163], “For instance, base station 105-b may designate PUCCH resources for CSI reporting and may convey an interval for reporting CSI in designated PUCCH resources to a UE.” And paragraph [0130], “the UE may determine a maximum payload size (e.g., maximum number of bits) supported by PUCCH resources allocated to the UE in a slot”)
and is used for indicating a number of CSI reports comprised in the CSI feedback or a number of bits comprised in the CSI feedback. (Paragraph [0086], “a UE may encode a CSI report as a single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may encode higher priority CSI feedback components to higher reliability bits in the single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may increase (e.g., by padding) or decrease (e.g., by codebook subsampling), the size of (or number of bits used to represent) certain CSI feedback components so that the single encoded packet is a consistent or predetermined size. In some aspects, the predetermined size is within a maximum payload size for a PUCCH resource.” )
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Li and Hosseini in view of Wu by indicating the payload of the CSI feedback through RRC or predefinition. One would have been motivated to do this to resolve “sizing restrictions” (Paragraph [0004], Wu).
Regarding claims 23 Li and Hosseini does not disclose:
in a case where a CSI feedback payload prepared according to a received CSI trigger is less than the payload determined according to the first configuration value, supplementing a specific position of the CSI feedback with a plurality of padding bits;
in a case where a CSI feedback payload prepared according to a received CSI trigger is greater than the payload determined according to the first configuration value, dropping at least one CSI report to enable the CSI feedback payload to be equal to the payload determined according to the first configuration value,
wherein in the case where the CSI feedback payload prepared according to the received CSI trigger is greater than the payload determined according to the first configuration value, dropping the at least one CSI report to enable the CSI feedback payload to be equal to the payload determined according to the first configuration value comprises: dropping the at least one CSI report according to a time order in which CSI reports are triggered; or dropping the at least one CSI report according to a priority order of CSI reports; wherein dropping the at least one CSI report according to the time order in which the CSI reports are triggered comprises: dropping a CSI report triggered earlier; wherein dropping the at least one CSI report according to the priority order of the CSI reports comprises: dropping a CSI report having a lower priority.
Wu does disclose:
in a case where a CSI feedback payload prepared according to a received CSI trigger is less than the payload determined according to the first configuration value, supplementing a specific position of the CSI feedback with a plurality of padding bits; (Paragraph [0086], “a UE may encode a CSI report as a single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may encode higher priority CSI feedback components to higher reliability bits in the single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may increase (e.g., by padding) or decrease (e.g., by codebook subsampling), the size of (or number of bits used to represent) certain CSI feedback components so that the single encoded packet is a consistent or predetermined size. In some aspects, the predetermined size is within a maximum payload size for a PUCCH resource.)
in a case where a CSI feedback payload prepared according to a received CSI trigger is greater than the payload determined according to the first configuration value, dropping at least one CSI report to enable the CSI feedback payload to be equal to the payload determined according to the first configuration value, (Paragraph [0086], “a UE may encode a CSI report as a single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may encode higher priority CSI feedback components to higher reliability bits in the single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may increase (e.g., by padding) or decrease (e.g., by codebook subsampling), the size of (or number of bits used to represent) certain CSI feedback components so that the single encoded packet is a consistent or predetermined size. In some aspects, the predetermined size is within a maximum payload size for a PUCCH resource. There is a set size for the CSI reports (consistent or predetermined size) in order to fit the UE must drop a CSI report (CSI feedback component). )
dropping the at least one CSI report according to a time order in which CSI reports are triggered; or dropping the at least one CSI report according to a priority order of CSI reports; (Paragraph [0028], “Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for prioritizing an encoding order of the plurality of CSI feedback components within the single encoded packet based at least in part on a reliability of bits associated with the encoding order.” Since there is a max size for the payload with prioritization there must be reports that get dropped because of lower priority when the feedback exceeds the size limit.)
wherein dropping the at least one CSI report according to the time order in which the CSI reports are triggered comprises: dropping a CSI report triggered earlier; ()
wherein dropping the at least one CSI report according to the priority order of the CSI reports comprises: dropping a CSI report having a lower priority. (Paragraph [0028], “Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for prioritizing an encoding order of the plurality of CSI feedback components within the single encoded packet based at least in part on a reliability of bits associated with the encoding order.” Since there is a max size for the payload with prioritization there must be reports that get dropped because of lower priority when the feedback exceeds the size limit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Li and Hosseini in view of Wu by incorporating priority rules. One would have been motivated to do this to resolve “sizing restrictions” (Paragraph [0004], Wu).
Regarding claims 27 and 54 Li and Hosseini does not disclose:
configuring the CSI feedback to comprise a plurality of CSI reports, wherein a payload of each CSI report of the plurality of CSI reports is same, a number of the plurality of CSI reports is predefined by a system or is configured by a base station through RRC signaling, and the payload of the each CSI report is predefined by the system or is configured by the base station through RRC signaling.
Wu discloses:
configuring the CSI feedback to comprise a plurality of CSI reports, wherein a payload of each CSI report of the plurality of CSI reports is same, a number of the plurality of CSI reports is predefined by a system or is configured by a base station through RRC signaling, and the payload of the each CSI report is predefined by the system or is configured by the base station through RRC signaling. (Paragraph [0086], “a UE may encode a CSI report as a single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may encode higher priority CSI feedback components to higher reliability bits in the single encoded packet. In some aspects, the UE may increase (e.g., by padding) or decrease (e.g., by codebook subsampling), the size of (or number of bits used to represent) certain CSI feedback components so that the single encoded packet is a consistent or predetermined size. In some aspects, the predetermined size is within a maximum payload size for a PUCCH resource.” Adding or decreasing the size of the CSI report to fit into the predetermined payload size must mean that the size of the CSI reports are predefined and equal.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Li and Hosseini in view of Wu by utilizing RRC signaling to adjust the size of the CSI reports. One would have been motivated to do this to help resolve “sizing restrictions” (Paragraph [0004], Wu).
Claims 28 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Li, Hosseini and Gordaychik in view of Yang et al. (US 20200274639 A1, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claims 28 Li discloses:
the sending situation of the association HARQ-ACK feedback comprises sending the association HARQ-ACK feedback and cancelling the sending of the association HARQ-ACK feedback, (Paragraph [0216], “In an embodiment of the present application, the PDSCH-to-HARQ-Timing byte in the DCI is multiplexed to jointly indicate the HARQ timing information K1 and/or the A-CSI timing information Y. Specifically, this byte has different interpretations in three cases (Only HARQ, Only A-CSI, Joint HARQ and A-CSI). In this way, the reporting timing information of A-CSI can be flexibly indicated without increasing the DCI payload size to match the CSI measurement time required by the terminal device, thereby improving system performance.” While the byte describes 3 cases of when the HARQ and CSI gets sent, it is inherent that the cancellation of the sending would also be present either because of some rules in the configuration or because of the UCI size.)
and the method further comprises: in response to cancelling the sending of the association HARQ-ACK feedback, correspondingly cancelling the sending of the CSI feedback; (Paragraph [0216], “In an embodiment of the present application, the PDSCH-to-HARQ-Timing byte in the DCI is multiplexed to jointly indicate the HARQ timing information K1 and/or the A-CSI timing information Y. Specifically, this byte has different interpretations in three cases (Only HARQ, Only A-CSI, Joint HARQ and A-CSI). In this way, the reporting timing information of A-CSI can be flexibly indicated without increasing the DCI payload size to match the CSI measurement time required by the terminal device, thereby improving system performance.” It is inherently that in the cancellation of the HARQ-ACK feedback would also lead to the cancellation of the CSI feedback as to not cause confusion for the base station when both are related to the same PDSCH.)
and in a case where a PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback at least partially overlaps a PUCCH resource carrying other UCI in a time domain, multiplexing the CSI feedback and the other UCI on a same PUCCH resource; (Paragraph [0215], “Specifically, if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The terminal device calculates the total uplink control information (UCI) size: the HARQ-ACK codebook size and the A-CSI load size, and the terminal device determines the last DCI for scheduling HARQ-ACK and/or A-CSI. The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DCI, and adjusts the PUCCH transmission power according to the TPC in the last DCI.”)
Li and Hosseini does not disclose:
in a case where a multiplexed UCI payload exceeds a carrying capability of the PUCCH resource for multiplexing, dropping part of UCI according to a priority rule;
wherein in the case where the multiplexed UCI payload exceeds the carrying capability of the PUCCH resource for multiplexing, dropping the part of the UCI according to the priority rule comprises:
the priority rule being that a priority of an HARQ-ACK feedback, a priority of an A-CSI feedback, a priority of an SP-CSI feedback and a priority of a P-CSI feedback progressively decrease;
and dropping UCI having a low priority.
Gordaychik discloses:
in a case where a multiplexed UCI payload exceeds a carrying capability of the PUCCH resource for multiplexing, dropping part of UCI according to a priority rule; (Col 7 line 39-42, “A UE may, for a periodic or an aperiodic transmission, for example a CSI transmission, when configured with another transmission of any signals herein, may be either multiplexed accordingly or dropped.” And Col 7 line 48-50, “Any remaining portion of the lower priority traffic that does not fit in the resources granted may be dropped.” And col 7 line 54-57, “Transmissions comprising URLLC and eMBB may be multiplexed along with or without uplink control information (UCI) based on an indication received in a DCI format.” If the payload exceeds the capacity and part of the UCI is of lower priority it gets dropped.)
Li, Hosseini and Gordaychik does not disclose:
the priority rule being that a priority of an HARQ-ACK feedback, a priority of an A-CSI feedback, a priority of an SP-CSI feedback and a priority of a P-CSI feedback progressively decrease; and dropping UCI having a low priority.
Yang discloses:
the priority rule being that a priority of an HARQ-ACK feedback, a priority of an A-CSI feedback, a priority of an SP-CSI feedback and a priority of a P-CSI feedback progressively decrease; and dropping UCI having a low priority. (Paragraph [0074], “In some aspects, an example priority hierarchy for the A-CSI report communication and different types of second communications may include an HARQ-Ack communication being assigned a greatest priority, an SR communication being assigned the next greatest priority relative to the priority of the HARQ-Ack communication, an A-CSI report communication being assigned the next greatest priority relative to the priority of the SR communication, and a P-CSI report communication or SP-CSI report communication being assigned the next greatest priority relative to the priority of the A-CSI report communication. However, other priority hierarchies and/or configurations may be used.” And Paragraph [0079], “UE 120 may select the multi-slot PUSCH or the multi-slot PUCCH, and drop or refrain from transmitting the non-selected communication based at least in part on a priority hierarchy, such as the example priority hierarchy described above.” Discloses all the UCIs and drops depending on the priority which can be configured in other ways.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of the combination of Li, Hosseini and Gordaychik in view of Yang by incorporating priority rules for the UCI dropping. One would have been motivated to do this so that the most important information gets sent within the restricted size limit.
Regarding claim 44 Li discloses:
Indicating the time domain resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the time domain resource indication in the association DCI, wherein the time domain resource indication in the association DCI is used for indicating an offset between a time domain resource unit where the association DCI is located and a time domain resource unit where the CSI feedback is located, (Paragraph [0118], “The information transmission method of the embodiment of the present application determines, by the terminal device according to the first timing information, the offset value from the time unit for receiving the first downlink control information to the time unit for reporting A-CSI, and then determines the time unit for reporting A-CSI. The feedback delay of A-CSI can be indicated by the first timing information, so that the terminal device reports A-CSI in the correct time unit, thereby improving system performance.”)
wherein the time domain resource unit comprises at least one of: a frame, a subframe, a slot, a subslot or an orthogonal frequency- division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, (Paragraph [0120], “It should be understood that the above-mentioned time unit can be a time slot or other time units, such as a mini time slot, a subframe, etc., and the embodiments of the present application are not limited to this.”)
indicating the resource for sending the CSI feedback through the PUCCH resource indication in the association DCI comprises: indicating an index of a PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback through the PUCCH resource indication in the association DCI, (Paragraph [0006], “DCI triggers the terminal device to report A-CSI on S-PUCCH” And paragraph [0213], “The terminal device determines that the S-PUCCH resource for transmitting A-CSI in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCHResource1” Terminal picks the PUCCH resource according to the indication of the DCI.)
wherein in a case where the association DCI is a last DCI of an HARQ-ACK codebook where the association HARQ-ACK feedback is located, the PUCCH resource indication further indicates a PUCCH resource carrying the association HARQ-ACK feedback; (Paragraph [0214], “The terminal device determines the HARQ-ACK codebook transmitted in slot # (n + Y) based on the DAI_counter and DAI_total in the first DCI, where some DCI only triggers the terminal device to feedback A-CSI, and the DAI_counter and DAI_total remain consistent with the previous DCI. Further, the terminal device determines that the PUCCH resource for transmitting HARQ-ACK in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCH Resource 2, and the transmission power is p2.”)
the time domain offset is predefined by a system, is configured by a base station to a terminal through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or is indicated in the association DCI; (Paragraph [0051], “the first downlink control information carries third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate the first timing information and/or the second timing information, wherein the second timing information is used to indicate the offset value from the time unit…”)
indicating the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the preset frequency domain offset comprises: indicating a frequency domain resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the preset frequency domain offset, (Paragraph [0213], “The terminal device determines that the S-PUCCH resource for transmitting A-CSI in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCHResource1” And paragraph [0214], “the terminal device determines that the PUCCH resource for transmitting HARQ-ACK in slot # (n+Y) is PUCCH Resource 2” And paragraph [0215], “if PUCCH Resource 1 and PUCCH Resource 2 overlap in the time domain, or do not overlap (but are located in the same time slot), the terminal device can jointly transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI.” OFDM uses PRB the CSI and HARQ are in different slots of the PUCCH but is transmitted jointly. Since this is multiplex on PRB inherently the offset is assigned from the base station so that the OFDM can give the terminal the correct blocks.)
wherein the preset frequency domain offset is predefined by the system, is configured by the base station through RRC signaling, or is indicated in the association DCI, wherein the preset frequency domain offset is used for indicating an offset between a starting frequency domain resource unit for sending the CSI feedback and a starting frequency domain resource unit for sending the association HARQ-ACK feedback, wherein the frequency domain resource unit is a physical resource block (PRB), a bandwidth part (BWP) or a resource block group (RBG); (Paragraph [0084], “further, the technical solutions of the embodiments of the present application can be applied to multi-carrier transmission systems using non-orthogonal multiple access technology, such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM), filter bank multi-carrier (FBMC), generalized frequency division multiplexing (GFDM), filtered orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (F-OFDM) system, etc.” As disclosed above the OFDM utilizes PRB and since OFDM is used inherently it must come from the base station through RRC or from the DCI otherwise the OFDM would not know what blocks to distribute to the terminals.)
indicating the resource for sending the CSI feedback according to the preset PUCCH resource indication offset comprises: indicating a PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback according to the preset PUCCH resource indication offset, wherein the preset PUCCH resource indication offset is predefined by the system, is configured by the base station through RRC signaling, or is indicated in the association DCI, (Paragraph [0215], “The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DCI” This teaches that the terminal uses the preset PUCCH resource indication offset indicated in the last DCI to transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI.)
wherein the preset PUCCH resource indication preset is used for indicating an offset between an index of the PUCCH resource carrying the CSI feedback and an index of a PUCCH resource carrying the association HARQ-ACK feedback. (Paragraph [0215], “The terminal device re-determines new PUCCH resources for carrying HARQ-ACK and A-CSI according to the total UCI size and the resource indication in the last DCI” This teaches that the terminal uses the preset PUCCH resource indication offset indicated in the last DCI to transmit HARQ-ACK and A-CSI. The PUCCH preset indicating an offset between an index of PUCCH for the CSI and HARQ-ACK is readily conceivable by a person skilled in the art.)
the sending situation of the association HARQ-ACK feedback comprises sending the association HARQ-ACK feedback and cancelling the sending of the association HARQ-ACK feedback, (Paragraph [0216], “In an embodiment of the present application, the PDSCH-to-HARQ-Timing byte in the DCI is multiplexed to jointly indicate the HARQ timing information K1 and/or the A-CSI timing information Y. Specifically, this byte has different interpretations in three cases (Only HARQ, Only A-CSI, Joint HARQ and A-CSI). In this way, the reporting timing information of A-CSI can be flexibly indicated without increasing the DCI payload size to match the CSI measurement time required by the terminal device, thereby improving system performance.” While the byte describes 3 cases of when the HARQ and CSI gets sent, it is inherent that the cancellation of the sending would also be present either because of some rules in the configuration or because of the UCI size.)
and the method further comprises: in response to cancelling the sending of the association HARQ-ACK feedback, correspondingly cancelling the sending of the CSI feedback; (Paragraph [0216], “In an embodiment of the present application, the PDSCH-to-HARQ-Timing byte in the DCI is multiplexed to jointly indicate the HARQ timing information K1 and/or the A-CSI timing information Y. Specifically, this byte has different interpretations in three cases (Only HARQ, Only A-CSI, Joint HARQ and A-CSI). In this way, the reporting timing information of A-CSI can be flexibly indicated without increasing the DCI payload size to match the CSI measurement time required by the terminal device, thereby improving system performance.” It is inherently that in the cancellation of the HARQ-ACK feedback would also lead to the cancellation of the CSI feedback as to not cause confusion for the base station when both are related to the same PDSCH.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479