DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanuc (JP 2011-034501) in view of Amada (JP 63-130293).
Regarding claim 1.
Fanuc discloses:
A workpiece edge position detection device comprising:
a control unit(14) configured to control, while causing a processing head(2) on which a gap sensor(6) is mounted to scan along a surface of a workpiece(W), a position of the processing head in such a way as to keep a space to the workpiece constant(See claim 1), the space being detected by the gap sensor(6); and
a workpiece edge detection unit configured to detect(14), during execution of control of keeping the space constant by the control unit(14), a position of an edge of the workpiece, based on a coordinate position of the processing head when a variation in a space between the gap sensor and the workpiece becomes a predetermined threshold value or greater (Fanuc disclosing in the abstract that the device detects based on a displacement sensor sensing a displacement of a preset reference value, and [0021])
Fanuc does not disclose:
a position of an edge of the workpiece, based on a coordinate position of the processing head when a variation in a space between the gap sensor and the workpiece becomes a predetermined threshold value or greater
In related art, Amada disclose:
a position of an edge of the workpiece, based on a coordinate position of the processing head when a variation in a space between the gap sensor and the workpiece becomes a predetermined threshold value or greater(disclosing that a shift angle of a work piece affects the processing precision of a laser processor. See Abstract).
It would have been obvious to detect the edge of the work piece of Fanuc and maintain it at less an a predetermined threshold for the obvious benefit of detecting the edge of the work piece of Fanuc. Thus, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2.
Fanuc discloses all of the features of claim 1:
Fanuc does not disclose:
The workpiece edge position detection device according to claim 1, wherein the variation is an amount acquired from an output of the gap sensor.
However, In relate art, Amada discloses:
(disclosing that a shift angle of a work piece affects the processing precision of a laser processor. See Abstract).
It would have been obvious to detect the edge of the work piece of Fanuc and maintain it at less a predetermined threshold for the obvious benefit of detecting the edge of the work piece of Fanuc. Thus, the features of claim 2 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3.
Fanuc discloses all of the features of claim 2.
Fanuc does not disclose:
The workpiece edge position detection device according to claim 2, wherein the variation is an error amount when the control unit performs control in such a way as to keep a space to the workpiece constant.
However, Fanuc discloses that the device may detect a distance to the work piece. It would have been obvious to control the device to keep the distance constant for the obvious benefit of ensuring the cuts are made the same, or that the machining head has the same access to all areas of the work piece. As such, the recited features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12.
A workpiece edge position detection method comprising:
controlling, (14) while causing a processing head (2) on which a gap sensor(6) is mounted to scan along a surface of a workpiece(W), a position of the processing head in such a way as to keep a space to the workpiece constant(See claim 1), the space being detected by the gap sensor(6) ;
acquiring a variation(14), in a space between the gap sensor and the workpiece during execution of control of keeping the space constant; and detecting a position of an edge of the workpiece, based on a coordinate position of the processing head when the acquired variation becomes a predetermined threshold value or greater.(Fanuc disclosing in the abstract that the device detects based on a displacement sensor sensing a displacement of a preset reference value, and [0021])
Fanuc does not disclose:
acquiring a variation, in a space between the gap sensor and the workpiece during execution of control of keeping the space constant; and detecting a position of an edge of the workpiece, based on a coordinate position of the processing head when the acquired variation becomes a predetermined threshold value or greater.
In related art, Amada disclose:
acquiring a variation, in a space between the gap sensor and the workpiece during execution of control of keeping the space constant; and detecting a position of an edge of the workpiece, based on a coordinate position of the processing head when the acquired variation becomes a predetermined threshold value or greater.
(disclosing that a shift angle of a work piece affects the processing precision of a laser processor. See Abstract).
It would have been obvious to detect the edge of the work piece of Fanuc and maintain it at less an a predetermined threshold for the obvious benefit of detecting the edge of the work piece of Fanuc. Thus, the features of claim 12 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fanuc (JP 2011-034501) in view of Amada (JP 63-130293) further in view of Yamamoto (U.S. Patent No. 8,957,890).
Regarding claim 6.
Fanuc discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Fanuc does not disclose:
The workpiece edge position detection device according to claim 1, wherein the variation is acquired by time-differentiating a value representing the space between the gap sensor and the workpiece.
In related art, Yamamoto discloses that time-differentiating a senses value may be used to determine a spacing. See col. 2, lines 17-26. IT would have been obvious to use the time-differentiating of Yamamoto in the device of Fanuc for the obvious benefit of determining measured values. Furthermore, Yamamoto discloses that the time-differentiated values may be used to acquire a value desired by a user see col. 6, lines 4-26. Thus, the features of claim 6 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7.
Fanuc discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Fanuc does not disclose:
The workpiece edge position detection device according to claim 6, wherein the variation is a rate of increase of an error amount when the control unit performs control in such a way as to keep a space to the workpiece constant.
In related art, Yamamoto discloses that time-differentiating a senses value may be used to determine a spacing. See col. 2, lines 17-26. IT would have been obvious to use the time-differentiating of Yamamoto in the device of Fanuc for the obvious benefit of determining measured values. It would have been obvious to use the time-differentiating calculations as an intended use, without affecting the operation of the device. See MPEP 2111. Thus, the features of claim 6 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-11 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim but would be allowed if rewritten in independent form.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
the prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
wherein the variation is an amount acquired from positional information of a motor driving the processing head, as recited in claim 4;
the variation is speed of the processing head in an axial direction perpendicular to a surface of the workpiece, as recited in claim 8;
the variation is a difference between speed of the processing head in an axial direction perpendicular to a surface of the workpiece and a rate of increase of a space to the workpiece when the control unit performs control in such a way as to keep the space constant, as recited in claim 9;
the variation is acquired by dividing, by speed of the processing head in a scanning direction of the processing head, a difference between speed of the processing head in an axial direction perpendicular to a surface of the workpiece and a rate of increase of a space to the workpiece when the control unit performs control in such a way as to keep the space constant, as recited in claim 10; and
a workpiece warping detection unit configured to detect an area including warping on the workpiece, based on the variation, wherein the control unit sets an area excluding an area including the warping on the workpiece as a processable area, as recited in claim 11.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898