This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 10/31/2025. Claims 1-7, 10-17, and 20-21 are pending. The previously filed 35 USC 112(f) claim interpretation is updated, as necessitated by the amendments. Previously filed 32 USC 112(b) rejection on claim 21 has been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 11 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 1, ll. 4, consider amending to, --sensor housing, wherein the sensor housing is further adapted to house at least one sensor to be—
Claim 1, ll. 6, consider amending to, --wherein a sensor adapter resides in the sensor housing to hold the at least one sensor,--
Claim 1, ll. 8-9, consider amending to, --the sensor adapter has one or more assembly-fittings to hold each of the at least one sensor[[s]] in a monitoring position, and---
Claim 3, ll. 2, consider amending to, --of claim 1, wherein the placeholder and/or the connector are/is part of a housing—
Claim 6, ll. 3, consider amending to, --plug is integrated with the sensor housing.—
Claim 11, ll. 2, consider amending to, --claim 8, wherein the connector is placed in the sensor housing away from the—
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “the cleaning-device configured to wash clean a sensor surface of the at least one sensor” in claim 1.
Because this claim limitation(s) is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Paragraph [0066-0067] discloses the structure for “a cleaning-device” includes a cleaning spray-body directed towards the sensor surface (e.g. nozzle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "an inner side of the housing wall" in line 2 of claim 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. First, “the housing wall” has not previously been introduced in claim 1, which claim 7 depends from. Second, “an inner side” of a carrier-wall was introduced in claim 1, therefore it is unclear to the Examiner whether claim 7 is introducing a new inner side of a different wall or whether the inner side of the housing is the same inner side of the carrier-wall. For examination purposes and as best understood, an inner side of the housing (from claim 7) is the same as the inner side of the carrier-wall (--of claim 1, wherein the sensor adapter resides at [[an]]the inner side of the carrier-wall --).
Claims 11 and 12 both recite, “The housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device of claim 8” which render the claims indefinite. From the newly filed claim set, claim 8 has been cancelled and similar subject matter was amended into independent claim 1. Therefore, as best understood and for examination purposes, claims 11 and 12 are dependent on claim 1 (--The housing-integrated sensor- and cleaning-device of claim [[8]]1,--).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2017/0036647), Bretagnol (US 2019/0329737), and Maurer Geza (US 2020/0370665).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. (US 2017/0036647) discloses a housing-integrated sensor-and-cleaning device (includes items 10, controller, and vehicle; figs. 1A, 2, and 4) comprising:
a sensor housing (entire outer structure of item 100; figs. 2-4; similar to applicant’s disclosure which sensor housing is 1200, 1300, 1400 in figs. 3-6) for being assembled to a vehicle (pp. [0071-0072]; sensor housing 100 is mounted on or in a vehicle surface) and a connector (includes items 128, 130, 138, 139; fig. 4; similar to applicant’s disclosure, connector 500 includes two separate components 510, 520, fig. 3 of instant disclosure) integrated with the housing (connector is integrated, i.e. combined, with housing structure 100 during use), wherein the sensor housing is further adapted to house at least one sensor (items 124, 126; pp. [0072-0074]; figs. 2-4) to be connected to the connector and for monitoring environmental conditions of the vehicle (pp. [0072-0074]; the sensors 1124, 126 are capable of receiving images to provide drivers with enhanced visibility), wherein the sensor adapter resides in the housing to hold the at least one sensor (pp. [0072]; exterior surfaces of sensor lens extends above sensor housing 100 when sensors are mounted directly to the interior of the housing’s cover, i.e. item 106; figs. 2-4),
wherein:
a placeholder (item 152; figs. 2-3) is integrated with the housing (pp. [0072] and [0080]; placeholder 152 is integrated, i.e. molded onto, with the housing structure 100; figs. 2-3) to hold a washer-body (item 120; figs. 2-3) of a cleaning-device (washer-body 120 is a nozzle of a cleaning device; similar to applicant’s disclosure) in position as to afford cleaning of the at least one sensor (pp. [0078]; washer-body 120 is capable of and aimed to spray cleaning fluid onto both of the external surfaces of the sensors, i.e. items 102, 104, to clean the surfaces),
the sensor housing and the cleaning-device connectable to a hydraulic flow path (pp. [0072], [0077] and [0081]; defined as controlled fluid washer spray which connects to connector 138; fig. 4) of a cleaning-device system (includes items 110, 120, 138, 139, and washer spray flow path; similar to applicant’s disclosure in which cleaning device system provides a cleaning device with a cleaning spray body, pp. [0066] of instant disclosure),
wherein:
the sensor housing has a carrier-wall (item 106; figs. 2-6), wherein the placeholder and the sensor are arranged on opposite sides of the carrier-wall (pp. [0072] and [0080]; sensors are mounted directly to the interior of the carrier-wall 106, while placeholder 152 is secured to upper surface of carrier-wall 106, i.e. outer side), wherein the carrier-wall is adapted to hold the placeholder at an outer side (pp. [0080]; carrier wall 106 secures placeholder 152 on outer side, i.e. upper surface of carrier-wall, in order for washer-body to spray cleaning fluid on the sensor(s)) , and the carrier-wall is adapted to hold the sensor at an inner side (pp. [0072]; in order for external outer surface of sensor to extend above the upper surface of the housing cover, the sensor are mounted directly to the interior of the carrier-wall 106, i.e. inner side),
the cleaning-device configured to wash clean of a sensor surface of the at least one sensor (pp. [0072]; cleaning-device is capable of spraying cleaning fluid to clean the exterior surface of at least one sensor(s) 102, 104 that extend above upper surface of carrier-wall, i.e. lens surface).
Though Zhao suggests the sensor housing and inner side of carrier-wall include a sensor adapter to mount the at least one sensor to the interior side of the sensor housing (pp. [0072]), Zhao does not explicitly disclose the details of a sensor adapter, such as wherein the sensor adapter resides in the housing to hold the at least one sensor and has one or more assembly fittings to hold each of the at least one sensor(s) in a monitoring position.
However, Bretagnol (US 2019/0329737) teaches a sensor housing (item 1; fig. 2a) configured to be mounted to a vehicle (item 100; fig. 1), wherein a sensor adapter (item 46; figs. 2a-2b) resides in the housing to hold at least one sensor (item 13; fig. 2a), wherein the sensor adapter has one assembly fitting (item 47; figs. 2a-2b) to hold the at least one sensor (pp. [0121]; fig. 2a) in a monitoring position (figs. 1 and 2a; defined as position when sensor 13 is sensor in place against item 41, i.e. carrier wall), the sensor housing has a carrier wall (item 41; figs. 2a-4), wherein the sensor adapter is arranged on an inner side of the carrier-wall (inner side defined as side facing interior of vehicle in which sensor adapter 46 mounts to; figs. 2a-2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor housing, as disclosed in Zhao, to include a sensor adapter comprising an assembly fitting, as disclosed in Bretagnol, in order to secure and protect the at least one sensor in place during use, while still allowing the sensor to retain a wide viewing angle (pp. [0010] and [0015] in Bretagnol). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor adapter, as disclosed in Bretagnol, to include a second assembly fitting (items 47; fig. 2a-2b) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI-B) and Bretagnol discloses the assembly fitting allows the connection of the sensor(s), corresponding to the two sensors in Zhao, to cables or wires to be protected in a sealed manner so as to limit contaminants into the housing (pp. [0121] in Bretagnol).
Lastly, Zhao does not explicitly disclose the sensor housing and the cleaning device connectable to a valve assembly by a pneumatic and hydraulic flow path of the cleaning device system, wherein the valve assembly is adapted for control of selectively supplying liquid fluid from a liquid reservoir to a liquid fluid inlet and selectively supplying pressurized air fluid from a pressurized air reservoir to a pressurized air inlet.
However, Maurer Geza (US 2020/0370665) teaches a housing integrated sensor and cleaning device (fig. 1) for being assembled on a vehicle (pp. [0007]), wherein the housing integrated sensor and cleaning device comprises a sensor housing and sensor (item 300 and outer body structure; pp. [0042]; fig. 1) and a cleaning device (includes items 230, 240; fig. 2), wherein the sensor housing and the cleaning device are connectable to a valve assembly (item 100; fig. 1) by a pneumatic and hydraulic flow path of a cleaning device system (flow paths defined by items 430, 440; fig. 1), wherein the cleaning device is adapted for wash cleaning of a sensor surface of the sensor (pp. [0042]; outer surface of camera sensor 300), and the valve assembly is adapted for control of selectively supplying liquid fluid (pp. [0048-0050]; the valve 100 selectively controls the supply of liquid fluid into supply channel 440 via valve member 130 which selectively opens and closes liquid fluid from flowing from liquid reservoir 270) from a liquid reservoir (item 270; pp. [0053]; fig. 1) to a liquid fluid inlet (item 110; figs. 2-4) and selectively supplying pressurized air fluid (pp. [0048-0050]; similarly, valve 100 selectively controls the supply of air into supply channel 430 via valve member 130 which selectively opens and closes pressurized air from air reservoir 250; figs. 1-4) from a pressurized air reservoir (item 250; pp. [0044]; fig. 1) to a pressurized air inlet (item 120; figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing integrated sensor and cleaning device system, as disclosed in Zhao in view of Bretagnol, to further include both a pneumatic and hydraulic flow path, a pressurized air reservoir, a liquid reservoir, and a valve assembly to selectively control the pneumatic and hydraulic flow path from the two reservoirs, as taught in Maurer Geza, in order to selectively control when cleaning liquid is jetted towards a lens surface of the optical sensor and jet out air towards the used cleaning liquid thereby, providing efficient removal and drying with the valve assembly by combining water flow, air burst, and continuous air flow (pp. [0035-0036] in Maurer Geza).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more assembly fittings are adapted to hold a multitude of sensors (as modified from Bretagnol and duplication of parts above; assembly fittings 47 are capable of holding sensors in a sealed manner, pp. [0121] in Bretagnol) , namely a multitude of sensors of the same kind (Zhao; sensors 124, 146 are two image sensors, i.e. same kind of sensors; pp. [0075]; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the placeholder is part of the housing wall (housing wall defined as top wall of carrier-wall 106; and placeholder 152 is mounted, i.e. secured, to top wall of carrier-wall 106 during use and thereby, a part of housing wall; similar to applicant’s disclosure).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the washer body is integrated with the sensor housing on the placeholder (washer body 120 is integrated, i.e. combined, together with sensor housing 100 within the placeholder 152 during use; figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a supply-connection plug (item 138; fig. 4) is integrated with the sensor housing (supply connection plug 138 is integrated, i.e. combined, with the sensor housing 100 via item 139 during use).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sensor adapter resides at the inner side of the carrier-wall (pp. [0072]; sensor adapter resides, i.e. situated at, the inner side of the carrier-wall, i.e. opposite side of placeholder; figs. 2-4) vis-à-vis the placeholder (a side of sensor adapter, modified from Bretagnol, mounted to the inner side of the carrier-wall faces a side of the placeholder 152 which mounts directly to top wall, i.e. outer side, of carrier-wall 106; fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector is placed in the housing away from the carrier wall (portion of connector, i.e. item 139, is placed in rear portion of housing, i.e. item 108 of housing, which is away from carrier-wall 106; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sensor adapter provides an adjuster (Bretagnol; item 27; pp. [0123]; fig. 2a) for tuning the monitoring position (Bretagnol; adjuster 27 allows for sensor to rotate in sensor adapter so as to ensure an optimized state; pp. [0123-0125]; figs. 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the placeholder is detachable from the sensor housing (placeholder 152 is detachable from housing via items 154, 156, 158, 160; pp. [0080]; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the placeholder is adapted to receive one washer-body (placeholder 152 is capable of receiving the at least one washer-body 120 during use; figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is optical (pp. [0132]; at least one sensor, i.e. item 124, is an infrared sensor, i.e. optical instrument used to detect infrared radiation in surrounding areas of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more assembly fittings are adapted to hold a multitude of sensors (as modified from Bretagnol and duplication of parts above, assembly fittings 47 are capable of holding rear ends of sensors, corresponding to multiple sensors 124, 126 in Zhao).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the washer body is a spray body (pp. [0107] and [0109]; wash-body 120 is a spray nozzle, i.e. spray body, configured to spray washing fluid at a spray aiming angle onto the sensors; figs. 5 and 7A-7B).
Regarding claim 20, a vehicle (item 8; figs. 1A-1B) with the at least one sensor (pp. [0072]; at least one sensor is utilized on vehicle), wherein the at least one sensor is part of the housing integrated sensor and cleaning device of claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2017/0036647) in view of Bretagnol (US 2019/0329737), Maurer Geza (US 2020/0370665) and further in view of Keller (US 2020/0262396).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor-and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector comprises
a washer-connector (pp. [0077]; item 139) in a form of a connection fitting (item 139 is an elbow fitting, i.e. connection fitting, to inlet tube 138 of cleaning fluid; fig. 4) to connect the washer-body to the cleaning-device (washer-body 120 is connected to cleaning device, i.e. cleaning fluid, via washer-connector 139 which directly mounts to inlet tube 138 for cleaning fluid; pp. [0077]; fig. 4).
Though Zhao discloses the connector comprises sensor cables (items 128, 130; pp. [0132]; fig. 4) to connect the at least one sensor to a data of the vehicle (pp. [0132]), Zhao does not explicitly disclose the sensor connector to be in a form of an electronic interface.
However, Keller (US 2020/0262396) teaches a sensor assembly (figs. 15-16 embodiment) comprising a connector (includes items 112, 114, 117, 150, 152; fig. 16) comprising a washer-connector (item 114; fig. 16) in a form of a connection fitting to connect a washer-body (item 118; figs. 15-16) to a cleaning-device (item 119; fig. 15) and a sensor connector (items 150, 152; fig. 16) in a form of an electronic interface to connect the at least one sensor to a data of the vehicle (sensor connector includes electronic interface, i.e. items 150, to power sensor 126 and data of the vehicle from the sensor; pp. [0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the connection between the cables and the sensor (i.e. sensor connector), as disclosed in Zhao, to be in a form of an electronic interface, as taught in Keller, in order for the connector to function as intended and couple electrical wiring for power to the sensors.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2017/0036647) in view of Bretagnol (US 2019/0329737), Maurer Geza (US 2020/0370665) and further in view of Hattori (US 2012/0117745).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao as modified discloses the sensor housing as claimed in 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor housing holds a heater element.
However, Hattori (US 2012/0117745) teaches a sensor housing (embodiment of figs. 24A-25) for being assembled to a vehicle (abstract), wherein the sensor housing houses at least one sensor (item 3; figs. 24B-25) and holds a heater element (item 201; figs. 24B-25) integrated with a housing wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the sensor housing, as disclosed in Zhao, to further include a heater element integrated with a housing wall (i.e. inner side of the carrier-wall), as taught in Hattori, in order to generate heat to the lens upon decrease in ambient temperature so as to prevent the lens surface from fogging and additionally, generate heat to the washer body upon decrease in ambient temperature so as to prevent the washer fluid from freezing (Hattori; pp. [0124-0126]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2017/0036647) in view of Bretagnol (US 2019/0329737), Maurer Geza (US 2020/0370665) and further in view of Alkharabsheh (US 2021/0031732)
Regarding claim 21, Zhao as modified discloses the housing-integrated sensor- and cleaning-device as claimed in claim 16. Though Zhao discloses the multitude of sensors to be cameras (pp. [0075]), Zhao does not explicitly disclose a lighting device in conjunction with the camera.
However, Alkharabsheh (US 2021/0031732) teaches a sensor housing (item 32; fig. 2) configured for mounting to a vehicle (item 30; fig. 1), wherein the sensor housing comprises a multitude of sensors (items 42; fig. 2), wherein the multitude of sensors are image sensors such as cameras (pp. [0024]; figs. 2-4) and include a lighting device (defined as illuminator, i.e. item 64; fig. 4; pp. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multitude of camera sensors, as disclosed in Zhao, to further include a lighting device (i.e. illuminator), as taught in Alkharabsheh, in order to illuminate the environment and make the environment more easily detachable by the sensors (pp. [0024] in Alkharabsheh).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/31/2025 in regard to the previously filed claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the claim limitation “cleaning device” from claim 1 does not invoke 35 USC 112(f) and further amends the claim language from “adapted for” to “configured to.” However, the arguments and amendments of changing “adapted for” to “configured to” are not persuasive because applicant did not amend the claim to add structure, material, or acts that are sufficient to perform the claimed function; or present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation recites the sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function (please refer to MPEP 2181). Therefore, the Examiner’s interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) for “the cleaning device” has been updated.
Further, applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of a new primary reference, Zhao (US 2017/0036647), a new teaching reference, Bretagnol (US 2019/0329737), and the same teaching reference from previous Office action, Maurer Geza (US 2020/0370665).
Lastly, the previous Office action’s primary reference, Keller (US 2020/0262396), is utilized as a teaching reference for the current action, the same teaching reference from previous Office action, Hattori (US 2012/0117745), and a new teaching reference, Alkharabsheh (US 2021/0031732), are utilized for above rejection(s).
Conclusion
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723