DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/041,049 filed on 02/08/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
3. This office action is based upon claims received on 11/25/2025 with RCE submitted 12/17/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1, 17, 18, 19 are amended.
-Claims 1-19 are pending.
-Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Priority
5. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2020/119938, filed 10/09/2020.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Claim 17 recites “comprising: means for, from a second UE” where to avoid ambiguity, utilizing parallel features recited in claim 1, 18, 19, “means for, from a second UE” in claim 17 is interpreted as “means for” receiving ”, from a second UE” with “receiving” interpreted as inadvertently missing.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for receiving, means for transmitting in claim 17.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: FIG. 2, ¶0042-¶0048; FIG. 17, ¶0112-¶0140.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 el seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Response to Remarks/Amendments
8. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 7-12, filed on 11/25/2025 (with RCE submitted 12/17/2025) with respect to REMARKS have been noted.
9. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 7-12, filed on 11/25/2025 (with RCE submitted 12/17/2025), with respect to Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot and not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to Rejections of Dependent Claims under 35 U.S.C. §103, have been considered, and are moot and not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
A. To the extent this office action relies on Fan et al. (US 20220159724 A1), i.e. “Fan” and YANG et al. (US 20220287035 A1), i.e. “Yang”, the office action respectfully contends applicant’s remarks and arguments directed to Fan and Yang as utilized to reject Claim 1 (used as an example representing parallel features in independent claims 17-19) are not persuasive.
B. Applicant in remarks presented (See page 11 (ln 12-19)) pertaining to independent claim 1 (as applicable to parallel features in independent claims 17-19), indicates:
“Fan fails to teach or suggest "transmitting, to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more side/ink transmissions are received, including one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets," as recited in claim 1 and similar features recited in claims 17-19. As such, Yang fails to cure the deficiencies of Fan.”.
C. In response item B, the office action respectfully contends that Fan and Yang as relied upon continues to teach claim features (See office action rejection of claim1) of the rejection of Claim 1 (as applicable to parallel features in independent claims 17-19) presented utilizing new grounds as rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al (US 20220311582 A1), i.e. “Ye”, in view of Fan et al. (US 20220159724 A1), i.e. “Fan”, further in view of YANG et al. (US 20220287035 A1), i.e. “Yang”. Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 1 (See office action) for the teaching of Ye, and for reference purposes the teachings of Fan and Yang as combined are presented below:
The office notes that Ye does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. note - see italicized portions): resource block (RB) sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); the one or more RB sets, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets;
Furthermore, in combination the office action presents that:
Fan which also teaches: A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE) (Fan FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0086….S403. The second terminal device communicates with the first terminal device according to the indication information of the frame signal);
Which this office action respectfully contends reads on and teaches the subject claim limitations referenced as follows: The second terminal device i.e. communicates according to the indication information of the frame signal reads on: A method for wireless communication i.e. The second terminal device i.e. communicates reads on: by a first user equipment (UE) ).
comprising: receiving, from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087… the first terminal device sends, to the second terminal device, control information that is carried in a control channel and data (DATA) that is carried in a shared channel; and may further indicate a location of a time-frequency resource for the second terminal device to send feedback information. The feedback information may be sent by using a feedback channel. The feedback channel is used to feed back a result of receiving the data by the second terminal device ; ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration; ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information … referred to as a channel occupancy time (COT). The COT includes duration from when the first terminal device and the second terminal device start transmission to when the first terminal device and the second terminal device end transmission. The first terminal device and the second terminal device may perform one or more transmission operations in one COT. Another terminal device that receives the COT duration cannot access a channel in the COT if the another terminal device learns that the L1 destination address in the indication information is not an address of the another terminal device or a group address);
Which this office action respectfully contends reads on and teaches the subject claim limitations referenced as follows: per FIG. 7 which depicts via arrows transmission of data and PSSCH per ¶0087 i.e. the first terminal device sends reads on: comprising: receiving, from a second UE, to the second terminal device, control information that is carried in a control channel and data (DATA) that is carried in a shared channel....PSSCH reads on: one or more sidelink transmissions.
on one or more sidelink sub-channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see above; ¶0090 see above; ¶0091 see above);
Which this office action respectfully contends reads on and teaches the subject claim limitations referenced as follows: per FIG. 7 PSSCH, Data depicted from first terminal device within i.e. a channel occupancy time (COT) reads on: on one or more sidelink sub- channels , where per FIG. 7 and per ¶0091 frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication where FIG. 7 depicts blocks within COT comprising at least PSSCH data from first terminal reads on: spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets.
furthermore (i.e. specific to this rejection) Fan teaches: within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0070… S401. A first terminal device sends, to a second terminal device, indication information used to indicate a signal transmission resource for the first terminal device…; ¶0072… The transmission resource is used to transmit a signal between the first terminal device and the second terminal device. …. in an unlicensed spectrum scenario, a length of signals sent consecutively by a node is limited. If a signal needs to be sent again after a sending operation is completed, LBT needs to be performed; ¶0084… S402. The first terminal device performs LBT before performing transmission with the second terminal device)
Which this office action respectfully contends reads on and teaches the subject claim limitations referenced as follows: per ¶0072 i.e. in an unlicensed spectrum scenario....LBT needs to be performed & per ¶0084 S402 LBT reads on: within an unlicensed spectrum, where per ¶0090 and ¶0091 i.e. COT for frame structure for communication depicted for COT comprising PSSCH data transmitted by first terminal in FIG.7 reads on: that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT).
The office action furthermore notes that:
while Ye in view of Fan teaches: A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions from a second UE on one or more sidelink sub-channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets of a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); and transmitting, to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to at least only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more sidelink transmissions are received.
Ye in view of Fan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. note - see italicized portions): the one or more RB sets, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets;
Furthermore in combination, the office action presents that:
Yang teaches: receiving, one or more transmissions on one or more sub- channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets of a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum occupied for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Yang FIG. 9 & ¶0076… in a U-band, an HARQ-ACK feedback operation (for convenience, HARQ-ACK will be referred to as A/N) of a UE based on a PUCCH/PUSCH transmission in the U-band in response to reception of DL data (e.g., a PDSCH) may be essential. For example, a BS may schedule a PDSCH transmission for a specific UE in a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) and indicate to the UE to transmit an A/N feedback for the PDSCH reception in the same COT period (or any gNB-initiated COT period started/occupied by a DL transmission of the BS; ¶0078… a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs. An LBT-SB may be, for example, a band of 20 MHz. The LBT-SB may include a plurality of consecutive (P)RBs, and thus may be referred to as a (P)RB set. While not shown, a guard band (GB) may be interposed between LBT-SBs. Accordingly, the BWP may be configured in the form of {LBT-SB #0 (RB set #0)+GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) + . . . +LBT-SB #(K−1) (RB set (#K−1))});
Which this office action respectfully contends reads on and teaches the subject claim limitations referenced as follows: per ¶0076 i.e. schedule a PDSCH transmission for a specific UE in a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) reads on: receiving one or more transmissions , where per ¶0078 i.e. a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs. An LBT-SB may be, for example, a band of 20 MHz. The LBT-SB may include a plurality of consecutive (P)RBs, and thus may be referred to as a (P)RB set reads on: on one or more sub- channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets . Furthermore per ¶0078 & FIG. 9 i.e. a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs, and i.e. An LBT-SB may be i.e. a band of 20 MHz with a plurality of 20 MHz SB#0-SB#(k-1) are depicted reads on: of a plurality of RB sets utilizing the P(RBs) on the individual LBT-SB sub-band sets. Furthermore where per ¶0076 and i.e. transmission for a specific UE in a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) reads on: within an unlicensed spectrum occupied for a channel occupancy time (COT).
Furthermore (i.e. Specific to this rejection) Yang teaches: and transmitting, feedback information corresponding to the one or more received transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets (Yang FIG. 9 & ¶0076…See above ;¶0078… See above; ¶0079… In the U-band situation, considering that the UE may fail in LBT for a UL transmission (e.g., an A/N PUCCH) (and thus drop the A/N PUCCH transmission), a method may be considered, in which a plurality of candidate PUCCH resources in time and/or frequency are indicated/configured (by higher-layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) and/or DCI) and a UE transmits an A/N PUCCH in a specific (one) PUCCH resource for which the UE has succeeded in LBT among the plurality of candidate PUCCH resources; FIG. 15 & ¶0130… a BWP includes a plurality of LBT-SBs (or SB-RB ranges) (hereinafter, referred to as SBs) and a GB between LBT-SBs. For example, the BWP may include {SB #0+GB #0+SB #1+GB #1+SB #2}. (P)RBs included in the SBs/GBs of the BWP may be defined/configured based on a CRB set/index);
Which this office action respectfully contends reads on and teaches the subject claim limitations referenced as follows: per FIG. 9 & ¶0076 i.e. and indicate to the UE to transmit an A/N feedback for the PDSCH reception in the same COT period reads on: and transmitting, feedback information corresponding to the one or more received transmissions, where i.e. as PDSCH and A/N PUCCH are referenced as mapped to the COT and LBT-SB P(RB)s referenced i.e. a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) and indicate to the UE to transmit an A/N feedback for the PDSCH reception in the same COT period reads on: on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, and where i.e. per FIG. 9 & ¶0078 BWP may be configured in the form of {LBT-SB #0 (RB set #0)+GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) + . . . +LBT-SB #(K−1) (RB set (#K−1))} and FIG. 15 & ¶0130 i.e. SB #0+GB #0+SB #1+GB #1+SB #2 reads on: wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets i.e. the feedback within the COT may be placed on resources within the sub-bands on the plurality of sub bands depicted. Furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0078 BWP may be configured in the form of {LBT-SB #0 (RB set #0)+GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) + . . . +LBT-SB #(K−1) (RB set (#K−1))} and where i.e. per ¶0078 a guard band (GB) may be interposed between LBT-SBs i.e. GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) reads on: including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets , i.e. and where per ¶0079 i.e. a UE transmits an A/N PUCCH in a specific (one) PUCCH resource for which the UE has succeeded in LBT among the plurality of candidate PUCCH resources associated with SB, i.e. is utilized for A/N PUCCH on which the UE has succeeded in LBT among the plurality of candidate PUCCH resources associated with SB.
D. As such, the office action respectfully contends that, Fan clearly teaches one or more sidelink sub-channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT) utilized in association other overlapping features presented in combination with Ye, where utilization of one or more sidelink sub-channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT) is well known in prior art. Additionally, the office action respectfully also contends that, Yan clearly also teaches one or more RB sets utilized in association other overlapping features in combination with Ye and Fan, e.g. one or more resource block (RB) sets of a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum occupied for a channel occupancy time (COT) as noted, where the one or more RB sets including one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets i.e. one or more guard bands interposed between the one or more RB sets is taught as being well known in prior art.
As noted, the office action respectfully contends that Fan and Yang in combination teach limitations of the claim 1 (i.e. used as an example to represent parallel features in claim 17-19) that Ye does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest, and furthermore, applicant's arguments and remarks appear directed against Fan and Yang references individually, and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
E. As such, in light of the remarks presented above, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s remarks and arguments as cited and directed to Fan and Yan are moot and not persuasive since Fan and YANG continue to teach and read upon Claim 1 elements (i.e. used as an example to represent parallel features in claim 17-19) for which Fan and Yang are relied upon. Furthermore, regarding the new grounds rejection of claim 1 (i.e. used as an example to represent parallel features in claim 17-19), i.e. Ye in view of Fan, further in view of YANG in combination (See office action) teaches the entirety of the claim 1 limitations.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
11. Claims 1-8, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 20220311582 A1), i.e. “Ye”, in view of Fan et al. (US 20220159724 A1), i.e. “Fan”, further in view of YANG et al. (US 20220287035 A1), i.e. “Yang”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Ye teaches: A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE)(Ye - FIG. 12 & ¶0125 a method 1200 for determining whether to use the short or long format for PSFCH [...] whether to use PSFCH format 0 or format 1 for feedback in sideband transmissions is generally performed based on evaluation of the frequency resources received from other gNBs or UEs […] a UE may receive 1202 resource pool configuration in the sideband control channel or PSCCH from received signals when decoding. […] a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal for determination of which type of feedback format to use; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 12 & ¶0125 i.e. a method 1200 i.e. whether to use PSFCH format 0 or format 1 for feedback in sideband transmissions reads on: A method for wireless communication , per ¶0125 i.e. a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal reads on: by a first user equipment (UE) ),
comprising: receiving, from a second UE (Ye – FIG. 8 & FIG. 12 & ¶0125 See above; ¶0126 […] The first stage SCI is broadcast to surrounding UEs as part of the PSCCH and may carry information related to QoS priority of data, occupied resource blocks, resource reservation interval; ¶0127 […] there are many types indications a UE may use for determining to use PSFCH Format 0 or Format 1 feedback. For example, SCI information in the payload of the control channel may be used for this purpose, and a UE may set 1204 the monitoring frequency region only of the PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources in a received signal to sense in determining which sideband feedback format and what resources in a resource pool to utilize. Thus in one embodiment, at 1206 the UE may perform sensing only on PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources of a received signal and therefore, the UE does not look at long PSFCH resources or other signal components, just the PSCCH and PSSCH resources; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0126 i.e. whether to use PSFCH format 0 or format 1 for feedback in sideband transmissions is generally performed based on evaluation of the frequency resources received from other UEs and per ¶0127 […] a UE may set 1204 the monitoring frequency region only of the PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources in a received signal to sense in determining which sideband feedback format and what resources in a resource pool to utilize. Thus in one embodiment, at 1206 the UE may perform sensing only on PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources of a received signal reads on: comprising: receiving , where per ¶0127 i.e. sidelink PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources of a received signal from i.e. the transmitter UEs from which PSCCH/PSSCH received and per ¶0126 i.e. evaluation of the frequency resources received from other UEs reads on: from a second UE ),
one or more sidelink transmissions a plurality of RB sets (Ye FIG. 8 & FIG. 12 & ¶0103 […] PSFCH format 1 resources are independently configured to PSFCH format 0 resource configuration. As can be seen, […], and those using sideband transmissions which conform to legacy PSFCH sub-slot timing, short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830; ¶0127 see above; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0127 i.e. PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources of a received signal and per ¶0103 i.e. within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830 as depicted in FIG. 8 reads on: one or more sidelink transmissions . Furthermore per FIG. 8 & ¶0103 i.e. short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830 reads on: on one or more sidelink sub-channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets , where per FIG. 8 more than one sub-channel 830 is depicted with individual PSCCH / PSSCH and PSFCH sets and other RB sets comprising PRBs 814 within pool 800 are depicted reads on: of a plurality of RB sets )
that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Ye FIG. 8 & FIG. 12 & ¶0126 see above; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0126 […] The first stage SCI is broadcast to surrounding UEs as part of the PSCCH and may carry information related to i.e. occupied resource blocks, resource reservation interval reads on: that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT) as also applied to FIG. 8 & ¶0103 i.e. those i.e. UEs i.e. using sideband transmissions which conform to legacy PSFCH sub-slot timing, short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830 );
and transmitting, to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel (Ye FIG. 8 & FIG. 12 & ¶0125 See above; ¶0126 see above; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 8 & ¶0103 i.e. those i.e. UEs i.e. using sideband transmissions which conform to legacy PSFCH sub-slot timing, short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 reads on: and transmitting, to the second UE furthermore, per ¶0126 […] The first stage SCI is broadcast to surrounding UEs as part of the PSCCH and may carry information related to i.e. occupied resource blocks, resource reservation interval which is received in Step 1202 reads on: during the COT, and per ¶0103 i.e. those i.e. UEs i.e. using sideband transmissions which conform to legacy PSFCH sub-slot timing, short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 reads on: feedback information per ¶0103 i.e. short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830 reads on: corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions per ¶0103 i.e. short PSFCH format may be configured using sub-slots 824 reads on: on a feedback channel, and per ¶0103 i.e. sub-slots 824 within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830 and per FIG. 12 & ¶0127 i.e. a UE may set 1204 the monitoring frequency region only of the PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources in a received signal to sense in determining which sideband feedback format reads on: based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel ),
wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more sidelink transmissions are received (Ye FIG. 8 & FIG. 12 & ¶0125 See above; ¶0126 see above; ¶0127 see above; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 12 & ¶0127 i.e. a UE may set 1204 the monitoring frequency region only of the PSCCH/PSSCH frequency resources in a received signal to sense in determining which sideband feedback format and per ¶0103 i.e. sub-slots 824 within PSCCH and PSSCH subchannels 830 i.e. PFSCHS within subchannel 830 reads on: wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to at least only the one or more RB sets as opposed to PSFCH format 1 PRBs 814. Furthermore where per FIG. 8 more than one sub-channel 830 is depicted with individual PSCCH / PSSCH and PSFCH sets and other RB sets comprising PRBs 814 within pool 800 are depicted reads on: of the plurality of RB sets ).
Ye does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. note - see italicized portions): resource block (RB) sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); the one or more RB sets, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets;
Fan which also teaches: A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE) (Fan FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0086….S403. The second terminal device communicates with the first terminal device according to the indication information of the frame signal; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: The second terminal device i.e. communicates according to the indication information of the frame signal reads on: A method for wireless communication i.e. The second terminal device i.e. communicates reads on: by a first user equipment (UE) ),
comprising: receiving, from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087… the first terminal device sends, to the second terminal device, control information that is carried in a control channel and data (DATA) that is carried in a shared channel; and may further indicate a location of a time-frequency resource for the second terminal device to send feedback information. The feedback information may be sent by using a feedback channel. The feedback channel is used to feed back a result of receiving the data by the second terminal device ; ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration; ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information … referred to as a channel occupancy time (COT). The COT includes duration from when the first terminal device and the second terminal device start transmission to when the first terminal device and the second terminal device end transmission. The first terminal device and the second terminal device may perform one or more transmission operations in one COT. Another terminal device that receives the COT duration cannot access a channel in the COT if the another terminal device learns that the L1 destination address in the indication information is not an address of the another terminal device or a group address; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 which depicts via arrows transmission of data and PSSCH per ¶0087 i.e. the first terminal device sends reads on: comprising: receiving, from a second UE, to the second terminal device, control information that is carried in a control channel and data (DATA) that is carried in a shared channel....PSSCH reads on: one or more sidelink transmissions)
on one or more sidelink sub-channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see above; ¶0090 see above; ¶0091 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 PSSCH, Data depicted from first terminal device within i.e. a channel occupancy time (COT) reads on: on one or more sidelink sub- channels , where per FIG. 7 and per ¶0091 frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication where FIG. 7 depicts blocks within COT comprising at least PSSCH data from first terminal reads on: spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets)
furthermore (i.e. specific to this rejection) Fan teaches: within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0070… S401. A first terminal device sends, to a second terminal device, indication information used to indicate a signal transmission resource for the first terminal device…; ¶0072… The transmission resource is used to transmit a signal between the first terminal device and the second terminal device. …. in an unlicensed spectrum scenario, a length of signals sent consecutively by a node is limited. If a signal needs to be sent again after a sending operation is completed, LBT needs to be performed; ¶0084… S402. The first terminal device performs LBT before performing transmission with the second terminal device; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0072 i.e. in an unlicensed spectrum scenario....LBT needs to be performed & per ¶0084 S402 LBT reads on: within an unlicensed spectrum, where per ¶0090 and ¶0091 i.e. COT for frame structure for communication depicted for COT comprising PSSCH data transmitted by first terminal in FIG.7 reads on: that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye with teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
While Ye in view of Fan teaches: A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); and transmitting, to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more sidelink transmissions are received.
Ye in view of Fan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. note - see italicized portions): the one or more RB sets, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets;
Yang teaches: receiving, one or more transmissions on one or more sub- channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets of a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum occupied for a channel occupancy time (COT) (Yang FIG. 9 & ¶0076… in a U-band, an HARQ-ACK feedback operation (for convenience, HARQ-ACK will be referred to as A/N) of a UE based on a PUCCH/PUSCH transmission in the U-band in response to reception of DL data (e.g., a PDSCH) may be essential. For example, a BS may schedule a PDSCH transmission for a specific UE in a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) and indicate to the UE to transmit an A/N feedback for the PDSCH reception in the same COT period (or any gNB-initiated COT period started/occupied by a DL transmission of the BS; ¶0078… a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs. An LBT-SB may be, for example, a band of 20 MHz. The LBT-SB may include a plurality of consecutive (P)RBs, and thus may be referred to as a (P)RB set. While not shown, a guard band (GB) may be interposed between LBT-SBs. Accordingly, the BWP may be configured in the form of {LBT-SB #0 (RB set #0)+GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) + . . . +LBT-SB #(K−1) (RB set (#K−1))}; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0076 i.e. schedule a PDSCH transmission for a specific UE in a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) reads on: receiving one or more transmissions , where per ¶0078 i.e. a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs. An LBT-SB may be, for example, a band of 20 MHz. The LBT-SB may include a plurality of consecutive (P)RBs, and thus may be referred to as a (P)RB set reads on: on one or more sub- channels spanning one or more resource block (RB) sets . Furthermore per ¶0078 & FIG. 9 i.e. a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs, and i.e. An LBT-SB may be i.e. a band of 20 MHz with a plurality of 20 MHz SB#0-SB#(k-1) are depicted reads on: of a plurality of RB sets utilizing the P(RBs) on the individual LBT-SB sub-band sets. Furthermore where per ¶0076 and i.e. transmission for a specific UE in a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) reads on: within an unlicensed spectrum occupied for a channel occupancy time (COT));
and transmitting, feedback information corresponding to the one or more of the plurality of RB sets, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets (Yang FIG. 9 & ¶0076…See above ;¶0078… See above; ¶0079… In the U-band situation, considering that the UE may fail in LBT for a UL transmission (e.g., an A/N PUCCH) (and thus drop the A/N PUCCH transmission), a method may be considered, in which a plurality of candidate PUCCH resources in time and/or frequency are indicated/configured (by higher-layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) and/or DCI) and a UE transmits an A/N PUCCH in a specific (one) PUCCH resource for which the UE has succeeded in LBT among the plurality of candidate PUCCH resources; FIG. 15 & ¶0130… a BWP includes a plurality of LBT-SBs (or SB-RB ranges) (hereinafter, referred to as SBs) and a GB between LBT-SBs. For example, the BWP may include {SB #0+GB #0+SB #1+GB #1+SB #2}. (P)RBs included in the SBs/GBs of the BWP may be defined/configured based on a CRB set/index; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 9 & ¶0076 i.e. and indicate to the UE to transmit an A/N feedback for the PDSCH reception in the same COT period reads on: and transmitting, feedback information corresponding to the one or more , where i.e. as PDSCH and A/N PUCCH are referenced as mapped to the COT and LBT-SB P(RB)s referenced i.e. a channel occupancy time (COT) period secured by performing LBT (e.g., CCA) and indicate to the UE to transmit an A/N feedback for the PDSCH reception in the same COT period reads on: on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, and where i.e. per FIG. 9 & ¶0078 BWP may be configured in the form of {LBT-SB #0 (RB set #0)+GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) + . . . +LBT-SB #(K−1) (RB set (#K−1))} and FIG. 15 & ¶0130 i.e. SB #0+GB #0+SB #1+GB #1+SB #2 reads on: wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets i.e. the feedback within the COT may be placed on resources within the sub-bands on the plurality of sub bands depicted. Furthermore per FIG. 9 & ¶0078 BWP may be configured in the form of {LBT-SB #0 (RB set #0)+GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) + . . . +LBT-SB #(K−1) (RB set (#K−1))} and where i.e. per ¶0078 a guard band (GB) may be interposed between LBT-SBs i.e. GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) reads on: including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets , i.e. and where per ¶0079 i.e. a UE transmits an A/N PUCCH in a specific (one) PUCCH resource for which the UE has succeeded in LBT among the plurality of candidate PUCCH resources associated with SB, i.e. is utilized for A/N PUCCH on which the UE has succeeded in LBT among the plurality of candidate PUCCH resources associated with SB );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan with teachings of Yang, since Yang enables a wireless signal may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system (Yang - ¶0015).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein the mapping defines a separate resource pool for the feedback channel for each RB set of the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0065…In NR-V2X, a D2D resource transmission mode also uses a resource pool—based resource configuration mode similar to that in LTE-D2D. As shown in FIG. 3, in a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner. ; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as depicted in FIG. 3 PFSCH with different slot intervals defined for a resource pool and per ¶0065 i.e. uses a resource pool—based resource configuration where i.e. ). A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated reads on: wherein the mapping defines a separate resource pool for the feedback channel where per ¶0065 i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated for the resource pool depicted in FIG. 3 which is parallel per FIG. 4 (See claim 1) to the mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel reads on: for each RB set of the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Fan teaches: further comprising: receiving a physical resource indicator (PRI) from the second UE in a sidelink control information (SCI) granting the COT to the first UE (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0070 See claim 1; ¶0071… the indication information may be sidelink control information (SCI). The first terminal device may send the indication information; ¶0090 See claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0071 i.e. the indication information may be sidelink control information (SCI). The first terminal device may send the indication information comprising per ¶0090 & ¶0091 i.e. the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information reads on: further comprising: receiving a physical resource indicator (PRI), where i.e. per ¶0071 i.e. the indication information may be sidelink control information (SCI) reads on: from the second UE in a sidelink control information (SCI) , where per ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration and per ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information where per FIG. 7 PSSCH, PSFCH are mapped within the channel occupancy time (COT) reads on: granting the COT to the first UE );
and determining a resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel based on the PRI (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner reads on: and determining a resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel where per ¶0071& ¶0091 the SCI (i.e. PSCCH per ¶0065) comprising the indication information includes channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information reads on: based on the PRI ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 3,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein: the one or more sidelink sub-channels comprise a sidelink control channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG.4 Step ¶0087 communicate according to indication information where per ¶0071 SCI comprises the indication information and per ¶0091 i.e. comprising the indication information includes channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information which is depicted on FIG. 7 reads on: wherein: the one or more sidelink sub-channels comprise a sidelink control channel );
and the mapping confines the feedback channel to one or more RB sets occupied by the sidelink control channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 COT comprises indication information comprised in the SCI and PSCCH as well as maps the PSFCH at least within the sub-channel and resource block depicted reads on: and the mapping confines the feedback channel to one or more RB sets occupied by the sidelink control channel ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 3,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein: the one or more sidelink sub-channels comprise a sidelink shared channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG.4 Step ¶0087 communicate according to indication information which per ¶0087 maps PSSCH where per ¶0071 SCI comprises the indication information and per ¶0091 i.e. the indication information includes channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information which is depicted on FIG. 7 including data reads on: wherein: wherein: the one or more sidelink sub-channels comprise a sidelink shared channel utilized to carry SL data);
and the mapping confines the feedback channel to one or more RB sets occupied by the sidelink shared channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 COT comprises indication information comprised in the SCI and PSCCH and data (i.e. PSSCH) as well as maps the PSFCH at least within the sub-channel and resource blocks depicted reads on: and the mapping confines the feedback channel to one or more RB sets occupied by the sidelink control channel ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding claim 6. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 5,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein: the sidelink shared channel spans at least two RB sets of the one of more RB sets; and the PRI indicates the resource pool of one RB set of the at least two RB sets to use for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0065 See Claim 2;¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; See image that immediately follows with mapping of claims:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein the mapping (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information where per FIG. 7 PSSCH, PSFCH are mapped within the channel occupancy time (COT) reads on: wherein the mapping)
confines the feedback channel to the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration and per ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information where per FIG. 7 PSSCH, PSFCH are mapped within the channel occupancy time (COT) and i.e. the PSFCH is depicted within the COT reads on: that confines the feedback channel to at least the one or more RB sets comprising the resource blocks depicted as carrying the PSSCH, data and PSFCH etc. within the COT, where in the PSFCH is located within the COT frame structure between resources assigned and per ¶0072 i.e. in an unlicensed spectrum scenario....LBT needs to be performed & per ¶0084 S402 LBT & FIG. 7 LBT depicted reads on: of an unlicensed spectrum , where per ¶0090 and ¶0091 i.e. COT for frame structure for communication depicted for COT comprising PSSCH data transmitted by first terminal in FIG.7 reads on: occupied by the second UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 8. (Previously Presented) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Fan teaches: further comprising determining one or more resource pools for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner reads on: further comprising determining one or more resource pools for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel where per ¶0071& ¶0091 the SCI (i.e. PSCCH per ¶0065) comprising the indication information includes channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information reads on: based on the PRI ),
wherein transmitting the feedback information is based on the one or more resource pools (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: See PSFCH on FIG. 3 resource pool configuration with different slot interval for PSFCH reads on: wherein transmitting the feedback information is based on the one or more resource pools where as shown in FIG. 3, & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Fan teaches: further comprising determining a configured resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0091 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: See PSFCH on FIG. 3 resource pool configuration with different slot interval for PSFCH where as shown in FIG. 3, & per ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user i.e. PSFCH resources in the resource pool of FIG. 3 reads on: further comprising determining a configured resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel),
wherein the configured resource pool is confined to at least the one or more RB sets and between the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE for the COT (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. as applied to the resource pool configured for PFSCH in FIG. 3 which is depicted as within RBs per slot spacing of a sub channel similar to FIG. 7 reads on: wherein the configured resource pool, where like for FIG. 7 per ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration and per ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information where per FIG. 7 PSSCH, PSFCH are mapped within the channel occupancy time (COT) and i.e. the PSFCH is depicted within the COT reads on: is confined to at least the one or more RB sets comprising the resource blocks depicted as carrying the PSSCH, data and PSFCH etc. within the COT, where in the PSFCH is located within the COT frame structure between resources assigned reads on: and between the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE for the COT);
Fan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (See italicized portions): resource pool is confined to at least the one or more RB sets and one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum
Yang teaches: resource pool is confined to at least the one or more RB sets and one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum (Yang FIG. 9 & ¶0076… See claim 1;¶0078…See claim 1 ; ¶0079 See claim 1; FIG. 15 & ¶0130 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0078 a BWP of a cell, which includes a plurality of LBT-SBs. An LBT-SB may be, for example, a band of 20 MHz. The LBT-SB may include a plurality of consecutive (P)RBs, and thus may be referred to as a (P)RB set reads on: resource pool that confines the channel to at least the one or more RB sets and where i.e. per ¶0078 a guard band (GB) may be interposed between LBT-SBs i.e. GB #0+LBT-SB #1 (RB set #1+GB #1) reads on: and one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Yang, since Yang enables a wireless signal may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system (Yang - ¶0015).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 12,
furthermore Fan teaches: further comprising: receiving information indicating one or more available RB sets of the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0070 See claim1; ¶0071…See claim 3; ¶0090 See claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0071 i.e. the indication information may be sidelink control information (SCI). The first terminal device may send the indication information reads on: further comprising: receiving information indicating one or more available RB sets of the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT comprising per ¶0090 & ¶0091 i.e. the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information as depicted in FIG. 7 COT);
and determining, from the configured resource pool, a sub-resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel for the COT based on the information indicating the one or more available RB sets (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner reads on: and determining, from the configured resource pool, a sub-resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel for the COT based where the COT of FIG. 7 utilizes the configured resource pool of FIG. 3, where i.e. per ¶0071 i.e. the indication information may be sidelink control information (SCI). The first terminal device may send the indication information reads on: based on the information indicating the one or more available RB sets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 13,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein the information indicating one or more available RB sets of the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT is received from the second UE in sidelink control information (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: where for the COT of FIG. 7 reads on: wherein the information indicating one or more available RB sets of the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT i.e. per ¶0071 i.e. the indication information may be sidelink control information (SCI). The first terminal device may send the indication information reads on: is received from the second UE in sidelink control information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 15. (Previously Presented) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 12,
furthermore Fan teaches: further comprising: determining, from the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE for the COT, at least one RB set that includes resources allocated for a sidelink shared channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration and per ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information where per FIG. 7 PSSCH indicating COT duration, PSFCH etc. is depicted as resource blocks within the channel occupancy time (COT) and COT utilizes LBT per ¶0072 further comprising: determining, from the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE for the COT, per FIG. 7 PSSCH indicating COT duration, PSFCH etc. is depicted as resource blocks reads on: at least one RB set that include resources allocated for a sidelink shared channel within the channel occupancy time (COT) );
and determining, from the configured resource pool, a sub-resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel for the COT based, at least in part, on the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for the sidelink shared channel, wherein the sub- resource pool is confined to the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for the sidelink shared channel (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner such as applied to COT of FIG. 7 reads on: and determining, from the configured resource pool, where the COT of FIG. 7 utilizes a sub set of Resource blocks for PSFCH where the configured resource pool of FIG. 3 depicts sub resource pools for PSFCH reads on: a sub-resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel for the COT , where the COT of FIG. 7 depicts resource RBs for data (i.e. PSSCH) associated with PSFCH, where the configured resource pool for FIG. 3 depicts similar structure reads on: based, at least in part, on the at least one RB set that include resources allocated for a sidelink shared channel, and FIG. 3 depicts PSCCH PSFCH with data (i.e. PSSCH) in between (similar to FIG. 7) aligned and confined to the same channel or sub channel assignment as PSFCH reads on: wherein the sub- resource pool is confined to the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for a sidelink shared channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 16. (Previously Presented) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 12,
furthermore Fan teaches: further comprising: determining, from the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE for the COT, at least one RB set that include resources allocated for a sidelink control channel (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0090… the indication information may carry one or more of the following information: channel occupancy duration and per ¶0091… channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information where per FIG. 7 PSSCH indicating COT duration, PSFCH etc. is depicted as resource blocks within the channel occupancy time (COT) and COT utilizes LBT per ¶0072 further comprising: determining, from the one or more RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum occupied by the second UE for the COT, at least one RB set that include resources allocated for a sidelink control channel);
and determining, from the configured resource pool, a sub-resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel for the COT based, at least in part, on the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for the sidelink control channel, wherein the sub- resource pool is confined to the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for the sidelink control channel (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0091 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner reads on: and determining, from the configured resource pool, a sub-resource pool for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel for the COT where the COT of FIG. 7 utilizes the configured resource pool of FIG. 3, depicting sub resource pools for PSFCH and PSCCH reads on: based, at least in part, on the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for the sidelink control channel , and FIG. 3 depicts PSCCH aligned and confined to the same channel or sub channel assignment as PSFCH reads on: wherein the sub- resource pool is confined to the at least one RB set that includes the resources allocated for the sidelink control channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang, further with the teachings of Fan, since Fan resolves a technical problem that an existing D2D transmission resource configuration mode cannot be well applied to an unlicensed frequency band due to uncertainty of accessing a channel by using the unlicensed frequency band, and also resolves a technical problem that an existing PSFCH configuration mode cannot be applied to an unlicensed frequency band because channel contention needs to be performed before a channel is accessed for transmitting a PSFCH (Fan - ¶0089).
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) Ye teaches: A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (Ye - FIG. 12 & ¶0125 a method 1200 for determining whether to use the short or long format for PSFCH [...] whether to use PSFCH format 0 or format 1 for feedback in sideband transmissions is generally performed based on evaluation of the frequency resources received from other gNBs or UEs […] a UE may receive 1202 resource pool configuration in the sideband control channel or PSCCH from received signals when decoding. […] a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal for determination of which type of feedback format to use; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 12 & per ¶0125 i.e. a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal reads on: A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communications),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: means for (Ye FIG. 3 & ¶0061 […] wireless communication circuitry 330; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. wireless communication circuitry 330 reads on: means for receiving ), from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); and means for transmitting (Ye FIG. 3 & ¶0061 […] wireless communication circuitry 330; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. wireless communication circuitry 330 reads on: means for transmitting), to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more sidelink transmissions are received, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets,(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 18. (Currently Amended) Ye teaches: A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (Ye - FIG. 12 & ¶0125 a method 1200 for determining whether to use the short or long format for PSFCH [...] whether to use PSFCH format 0 or format 1 for feedback in sideband transmissions is generally performed based on evaluation of the frequency resources received from other gNBs or UEs […] a UE may receive 1202 resource pool configuration in the sideband control channel or PSCCH from received signals when decoding. […] a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal for determination of which type of feedback format to use; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 12 & per ¶0125 i.e. a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal reads on: A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communications),
comprising: one or more memories comprising executable instructions; a memory; and[[a]]one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor configured to cause the first UE (Ye FIG. 3 & ¶0061…processor(s) 302 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 340, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 302 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 306, read only memory (ROM) 350, NAND flash memory 310);¶0065 [..] The processor 302 of the UE device 104 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium).; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0061 i.e. memory 306, read only memory (ROM) 350, NAND flash memory 310, where per ¶0065 i.e. The processor 302 of the UE device 104 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium reads on: comprising: one or more memories comprising executable instructions; a memory; and[[a]]one or more processors coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor configured to cause the first UE ).
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 18 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
to: receive, from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); and transmit, to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more sidelink transmissions are received, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 18 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Ye teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising: the medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Ye FIG. 3, FIG. 8 , FIG. 12 & ¶0061 see claim 18; ¶0065 See claim 18; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0065 i.e. The processor 302 of the UE device 104 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising: the medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor)
of a first user equipment (UE) (Ye - FIG. 12 & ¶0125 a method 1200 for determining whether to use the short or long format for PSFCH [...] whether to use PSFCH format 0 or format 1 for feedback in sideband transmissions is generally performed based on evaluation of the frequency resources received from other gNBs or UEs […] a UE may receive 1202 resource pool configuration in the sideband control channel or PSCCH from received signals when decoding. […] a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal for determination of which type of feedback format to use; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 12 & per ¶0125 i.e. a receiving UE may monitor 1204 a received signal reads on: of a first user equipment (UE)), cause the at least one processor:
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
cause the first UE to receive, from a second UE, one or more sidelink transmissions a plurality of RB sets within an unlicensed spectrum that is occupied by the second UE for a channel occupancy time (COT); and transmit, to the second UE during the COT, feedback information corresponding to the one or more sidelink transmissions on a feedback channel based on a mapping between the one or more sidelink sub-channels and the feedback channel, wherein the mapping confines the feedback channel to only the one or more RB sets, of the plurality of RB sets, in which the one or more sidelink transmissions are received, including [[and]] one or more guard bands between the one or more RB sets (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites features that are similar and parallel to the features of Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claims 9, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Fan and Yang further in view of Deng et al. (US 20220159674 A1), i.e. “Deng”.
Regarding Claim 9. (Previously Presented) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 8,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein determining the one or more resource pools (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0091 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner reads on: wherein determining the one or more resource pools for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel includes where per ¶0071& ¶0091 the SCI (i.e. PSCCH per ¶0065) comprising the indication information includes channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information )
comprises determining a resource pool for each RB set of the one or more RB sets, at least in part on: an indication of RBs included within the resource pool (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 COT comprises indication information comprised in the SCI, and COT includes resource blocks depicted for PSCCH and data (i.e. PSSCH) separated by a gap reads on: determining a resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets as well as maps the PSCCH and data (i.e. PSSCH) and the PSFCH at least within the sub-channel and resource blocks depicted within COT of FIG. 7 reads on: occupied by the second UE for the COT based, per ¶0071 SCI provides indication of resources reads on: at least in part on: an indication of RBs included within the resource pool where a resource pool can be configured as in FIG. 3);
Ye in view of Fan and Yang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): at least in part on: an indication of a starting RB for the resource pool; and a number of RBs included within the resource pool
Deng teaches: wherein determining the one or more resource pools comprises determining a resource pool for each RB set of the one or more RB sets (Deng FIG. 6 & ¶0079 ….The configured properties for each resource pool may include one or more Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS) configurations for one or more PSCCH, PSSCH, and/or PSFCH transmissions; ¶0081 ….The configured properties for each resource pool may include a configuration enabling or disabling HARQ feedback. Alternatively, one or more physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCHs) may be present in the resource pool or in a slot; ¶0164 …A WTRU may be configured with an SL resource pool 650 that may consist of SL time and frequency resources, such as a slot and a sub-channel as shown in FIG. 6. The SL resource pool may contain PSSCH resources shown by 610, 620, 630, and 640, each of which depicts examples of sub-channels carrying PSCCH resources over a single slot… A PSCCH resource within an SL resource may be configured with any of the parameters as follows: a starting RB, which may be an index of the first RB of a PSCCH resource; a bandwidth, which may be a number of consecutive RBs of a PSCCH resource; a starting symbol, which may be an index of the first symbol of a PSCCH resource; a duration or length, which may be a number of consecutive symbols of a PSCCH resource; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 6 & ¶0164 i.e. configured with an SL resource pool 650 reads on: wherein determining the one or more resource pools comprises determining a resource pool where per ¶0164 i.e. may contain PSSCH resources shown by 610, 620, 630, and 640, each of which depicts examples of sub-channels carrying PSCCH resources over a single slot reads on: for each RB set of the one or more RB sets where per ¶0079, ¶0081 pool may be configured with associated PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH) based, at least in part on:
an indication of a starting RB for the resource pool within [[that]] the RB set (Deng FIG. 6 & ¶0164 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0164 i.e. A PSCCH resource within an SL resource may be configured with any of the parameters as follows: a starting RB, which may be an index of the first RB of a PSCCH resource reads on: an indication of a starting RB for the resource pool within [[that]] the RB set );
and a number of RBs included within the resource pool within [[that]] the RB set (Deng FIG. 6 & ¶0164 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0164 i.e. A PSCCH resource within an SL resource may be configured with any of the parameters as follows: a starting RB, which may be an index of the first RB of a PSCCH resource; a bandwidth, which may be a number of consecutive RBs of a PSCCH resource; reads on: and a number of RBs included within the resource pool within [[that]] the RB set) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang with teachings of Deng, since Deng enables a WTRU be configured with a compact PSCCH_2 SCI format, type, or size for a high-reliability TB transmission (Deng ¶0131).
Regarding Claim 10. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang teaches: The method of claim 8,
furthermore Fan teaches: wherein determining the one or more resource pools (Fan FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 Fig. 7 & ¶0065 See claim 2; ¶0071 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & ¶0065 a resource pool, a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource for sending a feedback channel is periodically configured for a user by using upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). i.e. A correspondence between a downlink control channel (physical sidelink control channel, PSCCH) and the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) is indicated in a non-explicit indication manner reads on: wherein determining the one or more resource pools for transmitting the feedback information on the feedback channel includes where per ¶0071& ¶0091 the SCI (i.e. PSCCH per ¶0065) comprising the indication information includes channel occupancy duration, frame structure information, and feedback channel resource indication information )
comprises determining a resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT based, at least in part on: an indication of RBs included within the resource pool (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 COT comprises indication information comprised in the SCI, and COT includes resource blocks depicted for PSCCH and data (i.e. PSSCH) as well as maps the PSFCH at least within the sub-channel and resource blocks depicted within COT of FIG. 7 reads on: determining a resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT based, at least in part on: an indication of RBs included within the resource pool where a resource pool can be configured as in FIG. 3),
Ye in view of Fan and Yang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note see italicized portions): at least in part on: an indication of a starting RB for the resource pool; and a number of RBs included within the resource pool.
Deng teaches: wherein determining the one or more resource pools comprises determining a resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE for the COT (Deng FIG. 6 & ¶0079 See claim 9; ¶0081 See claim 9; ¶0164 See claim 9; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 6 & ¶0164 i.e. configured with an SL resource pool 650 where per ¶0081 each resource pool may include a configuration enabling or disabling HARQ feedback, one or more physical sidelink feedback channels (PSFCHs) may be present in the resource pool reads on: wherein determining the one or more resource pools comprises determining a resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE where per ¶0164 i.e. may contain PSSCH resources shown by 610, 620, 630, and 640, each of which depicts examples of sub-channels carrying PSCCH resources over a single slot where per ¶0079, ¶0081 pool may be configured with associated PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH i.e. the one or more RB sets occupied by the second UE, and per ¶0164 i.e. SL resource pool may contain PSSCH resources shown by 610, 620, 630, and 640 and i.e. an SL resource may be configured with any of the parameters as follows: a bandwidth, which may be a number of consecutive RBs of a PSCCH resource, a duration or length, which may be a number of consecutive symbols of a PSCCH resource reads on: for the COT ) based, at least in part on:
an indication of a starting RB for the resource pool (Deng FIG. 6 & ¶0164 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0164 i.e. A PSCCH resource within an SL resource may be configured with any of the parameters as follows: a starting RB, which may be an index of the first RB of a PSCCH resource reads on: an indication of a starting RB for the resource pool within that RB set );
and a number of RBs included within the resource pool (Deng FIG. 6 & ¶0164 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0164 i.e. A PSCCH resource within an SL resource may be configured with any of the parameters as follows: a starting RB, which may be an index of the first RB of a PSCCH resource; a bandwidth, which may be a number of consecutive RBs of a PSCCH resource; reads on: and a number of RBs included within the resource pool within that RB set) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang with teachings of Deng, since Deng enables a WTRU be configured with a compact PSCCH_2 SCI format, type, or size for a high-reliability TB transmission (Deng ¶0131).
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) Ye in view of Fan and Yang and Deng teaches: The method of claim 10,
furthermore Fan teaches: determining the resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets (Fan - FIG. 3 FIG. 4 & FIG. 7 & ¶0071 See claim 3; ¶0087 see claim 1; ¶0090 see claim 1; ¶0091 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 7 COT comprises indication information comprised in the SCI, and COT includes resource blocks depicted for PSCCH and data (i.e. PSSCH) as well as maps the PSFCH at least within the sub-channel and resource blocks depicted within COT of FIG. 7 reads on: determining a resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets);
Fan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest: wherein determining further comprises removing RBs within the one or more guard bands from the RBs included within the resource pool;
furthermore Yang teaches: wherein determining the resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets further comprises removing RBs within the one or more guard bands from the RBs included within the resource pool (Yang – FIG. 15 ¶0135… RBs corresponding to the intersection of {interlace #1, SB #1} may be determined as the PUSCH resource. GBs (e.g., GB #0 and GB #1) adjacent to SB #1 are not used as the PUSCH transmission resource; FIG. 16 & ¶0144… GBs (e.g., GB #0, #1, and #2) adjacent to SB #0 and SB #2 are not used as the PUSCH transmission resource; ¶0145… GBS (i.e., GB #0 and GB #1) adjacent to SB #0/#2/#3 but not interposed between SB #2 and SB #3 are not used as the PUSCH transmission resource; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 shows SB#0-SB#3 with GBS (i.e., GB #0 and GB #1) interposed between SB #0 - SB #3 reads on: wherein determining the resource pool spanning the one or more RB sets , where i.e. FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 and per ¶0135, ¶0144, and i.e. ¶0145 i.e. GBS (i.e., GB #0 and GB #1) adjacent to SB #0/#2/#3 but not interposed between SB #2 and SB #3 are not used as the PUSCH transmission resource reads on: further comprises removing RBs within the one or more guard bands from the RBs included within the resource pool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye in view of Fan and Yang and Deng, further with the teachings of Yang, since Yang enables a wireless signal may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system (Yang - ¶0015).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
01/06/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414