DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 35-41, 43, 69-75, 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US# 2021/0167821 hereinafter referred to as Chen) in view of NPL “Remaining issues on multi-TRP/panel transmission” (hereinafter referred to as Lenovo).
RE Claim 1, Chen discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identifying respective transmission/reception point index values corresponding to a first transmission/reception point and a second transmission/reception point (See Chen [0126], [0134] – multi-panel WTRU determining configuration and communicating with multiple TRPs; each TRP configuration containing parameter to differentiate different TRPs (i.e. identification index)), wherein the UE is configured for transmitting at least a first transmission of an uplink signal to the first transmission/reception point using a first antenna panel and a second transmission of the uplink signal to the second transmission/reception point using a second antenna panel different from the first antenna panel (See Chen FIG 7; [0115] – WTRU comprising multiple antenna panels communicating with multiple TRPs);
determining default reference signal resources for one or more reference signals that are associated with the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules or by using pre-defined WTRU antenna panels), the default reference signal resources being based at least in part on a determination of whether reference signals are configured (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…), the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Chen [0109]-[0111], [0126], [0134]-[0135] – identification of TRP to differentiate WTRU->TRP communications), and a resource selection rule (See Chen [0109] – the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules); and
transmitting the one or more reference signals using the default reference signal resources (See Chen [0115]-[0116]).
Chen does not specifically disclose the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources.
However, Lenovo teaches of the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources (See Lenovo 2.1.1, 2.5, 2.5.1 – Proposal 7 – determining resources for pathlossReferenceRS if UE is not provided with PDCCH-SpatialRelationInfo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, wherein the default reference signal resources are default pathloss reference signal resources, as taught in Lenovo. One is motivated as such in order to improve power control and enable multiple pathlossReferenceRS for different PUCCH resources targeting different TRPs (See Lenovo 1, 2.5).
RE Claim 2, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein determining the default pathloss reference signal resources comprises:
determining that the pathloss reference signals are configured via radio resource control signaling (See Chen [0106], [0127] – configuring RS resource set using RRC);
determining that downlink control information or additional radio resource control signaling associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – multi-DCI multi-TRP) excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo which configures the multiple PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals being configured and the configuration information being excluded (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – if UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo, UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
RE Claim 3, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying pathloss reference signal identifier values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal values for the PUCCH resources associated with index = 0 and index = 1); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS), wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
RE Claim 4, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 3 above, wherein each of the pathloss reference signal identifier values comprises a lowest pathloss reference signal identifier value associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 5, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a plurality of control resource sets for monitoring for the downlink control information (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1);
identifying control resource sets from the plurality of control resource sets having control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the control resource set pool index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1), wherein the default pathloss reference signal resources comprise periodic resources that are selected based at least in part on a spatial quasi co-location relationship associated with the identified control resource sets (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 6, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the control resource sets having the control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values are in an active downlink part of a scheduling cell (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 7, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the control resource sets having the control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values are in an active downlink part of a primary cell (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell), and
wherein the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises spatial beam information on an active uplink bandwidth part of the primary cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo which configures the multiple PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS; on same serving cell).
RE Claim 9, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, wherein the downlink control information is part of a multiple downlink control information scheme for scheduling the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.2, 2.5 – proposal 7 – multi-DCI multi-TRP).
RE Claim 35, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
One or more processors (See Chen FIG 1B),
One or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See Chen FIG 1B); and
Instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
identify respective transmission/reception point index values corresponding to a first transmission/reception point and a second transmission/reception point (See Chen [0126], [0134] – multi-panel WTRU determining configuration and communicating with multiple TRPs; each TRP configuration containing parameter to differentiate different TRPs (i.e. identification index)), wherein the UE is configured for transmitting at least a first transmission of an uplink signal to the first transmission/reception point using a first antenna panel and a second transmission of the uplink signal to the second transmission/reception point using a second antenna panel different from the first antenna panel (See Chen FIG 7; [0115] – WTRU comprising multiple antenna panels communicating with multiple TRPs);
determine default reference signal resources for one or more reference signals that are associated with the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules or by using pre-defined WTRU antenna panels), the default reference signal resources being based at least in part on a determination of whether reference signals are configured (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…), the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Chen [0109]-[0111], [0126], [0134]-[0135] – identification of TRP to differentiate WTRU->TRP communications), and a resource selection rule (See Chen [0109] – the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules); and
transmit the one or more reference signals using the default reference signal resources (See Chen [0115]-[0116]).
Chen does not specifically disclose the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources.
However, Lenovo teaches of the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources (See Lenovo 2.1.1, 2.5, 2.5.1 – Proposal 7 – determining resources for pathlossReferenceRS if UE is not provided with PDCCH-SpatialRelationInfo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, wherein the default reference signal resources are default pathloss reference signal resources, as taught in Lenovo. One is motivated as such in order to improve power control and enable multiple pathlossReferenceRS for different PUCCH resources targeting different TRPs (See Lenovo 1, 2.5).
RE Claim 36, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 35 above, wherein the instructions to determine the default pathloss reference signal resources are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine that the pathloss reference signals are configured via radio resource control signaling (See Chen [0106], [0127] – configuring RS resource set using RRC);
determine that downlink control information or additional radio resource control signaling associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – multi-DCI multi-TRP) excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo which configures the multiple PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS); and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals being configured and the configuration information being excluded (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – if UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo, UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
RE Claim 37, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 36 above, wherein the instructions to select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
identify pathloss reference signal identifier values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal values for the PUCCH resources associated with index = 0 and index = 1); and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS), wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
RE Claim 38, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 37 above, wherein each of the pathloss reference signal identifier values comprises a lowest pathloss reference signal identifier value associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 39, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 36 above, wherein the instructions to select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
identify a plurality of control resource sets for monitoring for the downlink control information (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1);
identify control resource sets from the plurality of control resource sets having control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS); and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the control resource set pool index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1), wherein the default pathloss reference signal resources comprise periodic resources that are selected based at least in part on a spatial quasi co-location relationship associated with the identified control resource sets (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 40, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 39 above, wherein the control resource sets having the control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values are in an active downlink part of a scheduling cell (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 41, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 39 above, wherein the control resource sets having the control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values are in an active downlink part of a primary cell (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell), and
wherein the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises spatial beam information on an active uplink bandwidth part of the primary cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo which configures the multiple PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS; on same serving cell).
RE Claim 43, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 36 above, wherein the downlink control information is part of a multiple downlink control information scheme for scheduling the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.2, 2.5 – proposal 7 – multi-DCI multi-TRP).
RE Claim 69, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Means for identifying respective transmission/reception point index values corresponding to a first transmission/reception point and a second transmission/reception point (See Chen [0126], [0134] – multi-panel WTRU determining configuration and communicating with multiple TRPs; each TRP configuration containing parameter to differentiate different TRPs (i.e. identification index)), wherein the UE is configured for transmitting at least a first transmission of an uplink signal to the first transmission/reception point using a first antenna panel and a second transmission of the uplink signal to the second transmission/reception point using a second antenna panel different from the first antenna panel (See Chen FIG 7; [0115] – WTRU comprising multiple antenna panels communicating with multiple TRPs);
Means for determining default reference signal resources for one or more reference signals that are associated with the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules or by using pre-defined WTRU antenna panels), the default reference signal resources being based at least in part on a determination of whether reference signals are configured (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…), the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Chen [0109]-[0111], [0126], [0134]-[0135] – identification of TRP to differentiate WTRU->TRP communications), and a resource selection rule (See Chen [0109] – the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules); and
Means for transmitting the one or more reference signals using the default reference signal resources (See Chen [0115]-[0116]).
Chen does not specifically disclose the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources.
However, Lenovo teaches of the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources (See Lenovo 2.1.1, 2.5, 2.5.1 – Proposal 7 – determining resources for pathlossReferenceRS if UE is not provided with PDCCH-SpatialRelationInfo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, wherein the default reference signal resources are default pathloss reference signal resources, as taught in Lenovo. One is motivated as such in order to improve power control and enable multiple pathlossReferenceRS for different PUCCH resources targeting different TRPs (See Lenovo 1, 2.5).
RE Claim 70, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 69 above, wherein means for determining the default pathloss reference signal resources comprises:
Means for determining that the pathloss reference signals are configured via radio resource control signaling (See Chen [0106], [0127] – configuring RS resource set using RRC);
means for determining that downlink control information or additional radio resource control signaling associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – multi-DCI multi-TRP) excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo which configures the multiple PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS); and
means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals being configured and the configuration information being excluded (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – if UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo, UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
RE Claim 71, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 70 above, wherein means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
means for identifying pathloss reference signal identifier values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal values for the PUCCH resources associated with index = 0 and index = 1); and
means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS), wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
RE Claim 72, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 71 above, wherein each of the pathloss reference signal identifier values comprises a lowest pathloss reference signal identifier value associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 73, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 70 above, wherein means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
means for identifying a plurality of control resource sets for monitoring for the downlink control information (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1);
means for identifying control resource sets from the plurality of control resource sets having control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS); and
means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the control resource set pool index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1), wherein the default pathloss reference signal resources comprise periodic resources that are selected based at least in part on a spatial quasi co-location relationship associated with the identified control resource sets (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 74, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 73 above, wherein the control resource sets having the control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values are in an active downlink part of a scheduling cell (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 75, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 73 above, wherein the control resource sets having the control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values are in an active downlink part of a primary cell (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell), and
wherein the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises spatial beam information on an active uplink bandwidth part of the primary cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE is not provided PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo which configures the multiple PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS; on same serving cell).
RE Claim 103, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (See Chen FIG 1B) to:
identify respective transmission/reception point index values corresponding to a first transmission/reception point and a second transmission/reception point (See Chen [0126], [0134] – multi-panel WTRU determining configuration and communicating with multiple TRPs; each TRP configuration containing parameter to differentiate different TRPs (i.e. identification index)), wherein the UE is configured for transmitting at least a first transmission of an uplink signal to the first transmission/reception point using a first antenna panel and a second transmission of the uplink signal to the second transmission/reception point using a second antenna panel different from the first antenna panel (See Chen FIG 7; [0115] – WTRU comprising multiple antenna panels communicating with multiple TRPs);
determine default reference signal resources for one or more reference signals that are associated with the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules or by using pre-defined WTRU antenna panels), the default reference signal resources being based at least in part on a determination of whether reference signals are configured (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – if triggered SRS resource set(s) are not configured…), the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Chen [0109]-[0111], [0126], [0134]-[0135] – identification of TRP to differentiate WTRU->TRP communications), and a resource selection rule (See Chen [0109]-[0111] – the WTRU may transmit the triggered SRS sets by following default rules); and
transmit the one or more reference signals using the default reference signal resources (See Chen [0115]-[0116]).
Chen does not specifically disclose the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources.
However, Lenovo teaches of the default reference signal resources being default pathloss reference signal resources (See Lenovo 2.1.1, 2.5, 2.5.1 – Proposal 7 – determining resources for pathlossReferenceRS if UE is not provided with PDCCH-SpatialRelationInfo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, wherein the default reference signal resources are default pathloss reference signal resources, as taught in Lenovo. One is motivated as such in order to improve power control and enable multiple pathlossReferenceRS for different PUCCH resources targeting different TRPs (See Lenovo 1, 2.5).
Claims 8, 10, 12, 14-15, 42, 44-46, 48, 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US# 2021/0167821 hereinafter referred to as Chen) in view of NPL “Remaining issues on multi-TRP/panel transmission” (hereinafter referred to as Lenovo) and Ji et al. (US# 2023/0023719 hereinafter referred to as Ji).
RE Claim 8, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above. Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping.
However, Ji teaches of
determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields (See Ji [0477] – SRS resource indicator field in DCI) associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Ji [0440] – table 37 (pg. 40) – SRS-spatialrelationInfo is part of SRS config; [0496] when spatial relation info is not indicated (i.e. default)), wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Ji [0496], [0498] – the BS may configure a plurality of pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control within pathlossRefereneRSs IE in which case the connection relation between the pathloss RS and the TRP index may be established); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 10, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, further comprising a format of the downlink control information activating the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.5.1 – proposals 8 & 9 – DDCI format applies to multiple PUCCH resources); and
wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises uplink configured grant parameters, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values and pathloss reference signal indicator values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping.
However, Ji teaches of
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises uplink configured grant parameters (See Ji [0465] – does not include RRC-configuredUplinkGrant), wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values and pathloss reference signal indicator values (See Ji [0496], [0498] – the BS may configure a plurality of pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control within pathlossRefereneRSs IE in which case the connection relation between the pathloss RS and the TRP index may be established); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises uplink configured grant parameters, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values and pathloss reference signal indicator values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 12, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, further comprising:
determining a format of the downlink control information activating the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.5.1 – proposals 8 & 9 – DDCI format applies to multiple PUCCH resources), wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying pathloss reference signal identifier values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal values for the PUCCH resources associated with index = 0 and index = 1); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS), wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises one or more configured grant parameters.
However, Ji teaches of determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises one or more configured grant parameters (See Ji [0465] – does not include RRC-configuredUplinkGrant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises one or more configured grant parameters, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 14, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose wherein determining the default pathloss reference signal resources comprises:
determining that the pathloss reference signals are not configured via radio resource control signaling;
determining that downlink control information excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals, the configuration information comprising sounding reference signal resource indicator fields; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals not being configured and the configuration information being excluded.
However, Ji teaches of wherein determining the default pathloss reference signal resources comprises:
determining that the pathloss reference signals are not configured via radio resource control signaling (See Ji [0465] – does not include RRC-configureduplinkgrant);
determining that downlink control information excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals (See Ji [0440] – table 37 (pg. 40) – SRS-spatialrelationInfo is part of SRS config; [0496] when spatial relation info is not indicated (i.e. default)), the configuration information comprising sounding reference signal resource indicator fields (See Ji [0477] – SRS resource indicator field in DCI); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals not being configured and the configuration information being excluded (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, wherein determining the default pathloss reference signal resources comprises:
determining that the pathloss reference signals are not configured via radio resource control signaling;
determining that downlink control information excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals, the configuration information comprising sounding reference signal resource indicator fields; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals not being configured and the configuration information being excluded, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 15, Chen, modified by Lenovo and Ji, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a plurality of control resource sets for monitoring for the downlink control information (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1), wherein the downlink control information is part of a multiple downlink control information scheme for scheduling the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.2, 2.5 – proposal 7 – multi-DCI multi-TRP);
identifying control resource sets from the plurality of control resource sets having control resource set pool index values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS), wherein the identified control resource sets are within an active downlink bandwidth part (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the control resource set pool index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and CORESETPoolIndex=1), wherein the default pathloss reference signal resources comprise periodic resources that are selected based at least in part on a spatial quasi co-location relationship associated with the identified control resource sets (See Lenovo 2.2 – default TCI state; UE obtains its QCL assumption for the scheduled PDSCH from the activated TCI state with the lowest ID applicable to PDSCH associated with the same CORESETPoolIndex as that configured for the CORESET transmitting the DL DCI in the active BWP of the scheduled cell).
RE Claim 42, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 36 above. Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identify a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values; and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping.
However, Ji teaches of
determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields (See Ji [0477] – SRS resource indicator field in DCI) associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Ji [0440] – table 37 (pg. 40) – SRS-spatialrelationInfo is part of SRS config; [0496] when spatial relation info is not indicated (i.e. default)), wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Ji [0496], [0498] – the BS may configure a plurality of pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control within pathlossRefereneRSs IE in which case the connection relation between the pathloss RS and the TRP index may be established); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 44, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 36 above, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: determine a format of the downlink control information activating the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.5.1 – proposals 8 & 9 – DDCI format applies to multiple PUCCH resources); and
wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises uplink configured grant parameters, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values and pathloss reference signal indicator values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping.
However, Ji teaches of
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises uplink configured grant parameters (See Ji [0465] – does not include RRC-configuredUplinkGrant), wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values and pathloss reference signal indicator values (See Ji [0496], [0498] – the BS may configure a plurality of pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control within pathlossRefereneRSs IE in which case the connection relation between the pathloss RS and the TRP index may be established); and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises uplink configured grant parameters, wherein selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
identifying a mapping between sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values and pathloss reference signal indicator values; and
selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 45, Chen, modified by Lenovo and Ji, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 44 above, wherein the downlink control information is part of a single downlink control information scheme for scheduling the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Ji [0330], [0332] – single DCI for multiple TRP communication).
RE Claim 46, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 36 above, herein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
determine a format of the downlink control information activating the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal (See Lenovo 2.5.1 – proposals 8 & 9 – DDCI format applies to multiple PUCCH resources), wherein the instructions to select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify pathloss reference signal identifier values associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 –UE obtains referenceSignal values for the PUCCH resources associated with index = 0 and index = 1); and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – UE obtains referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-Id with index 0 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS, and obtains the referenceSignal value for the PUCCH resources associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS from the pucch-PathlossReferenceRS-ID with index 1 in PUCCH-PathlossReferenceRS), wherein the selected default pathloss reference signal resources comprise resources of a serving cell (See Lenovo 2.5, 2.5.1 – where RS resource is either on a same serving cell or, if provided, on a serving cell indicated by a value of pathlossReferenceLinking).
Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises one or more configured grant parameters.
However, Ji teaches of determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises one or more configured grant parameters (See Ji [0465] – does not include RRC-configuredUplinkGrant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
determining that the configuration information excluded from the additional radio resource control signaling comprises one or more configured grant parameters, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 48, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 35 above. Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions to determine the default pathloss reference signal resources are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
determine that the pathloss reference signals are not configured via radio resource control signaling;
determine that downlink control information excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals, the configuration information comprising sounding reference signal resource indicator fields; and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals not being configured and the configuration information being excluded.
However, Ji teaches of wherein the instructions to determine the default pathloss reference signal resources are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine that the pathloss reference signals are not configured via radio resource control signaling (See Ji [0465] – does not include RRC-configureduplinkgrant);
determine that downlink control information excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals (See Ji [0440] – table 37 (pg. 40) – SRS-spatialrelationInfo is part of SRS config; [0496] when spatial relation info is not indicated (i.e. default)), the configuration information comprising sounding reference signal resource indicator fields (See Ji [0477] – SRS resource indicator field in DCI); and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals not being configured and the configuration information being excluded (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, wherein the instructions to determine the default pathloss reference signal resources are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine that the pathloss reference signals are not configured via radio resource control signaling;
determine that downlink control information excludes configuration information for transmitting the one or more pathloss reference signals, the configuration information comprising sounding reference signal resource indicator fields; and
select the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule and the respective transmission/reception point index values based at least in part on the pathloss reference signals not being configured and the configuration information being excluded, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
RE Claim 76, Chen, modified by Lenovo, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 70 above. Chen, modified by Lenovo, does not specifically disclose further comprising:
means for determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values, wherein the means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
means for identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values; and
means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping.
However, Ji teaches of
means for determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields (See Ji [0477] – SRS resource indicator field in DCI) associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Ji [0440] – table 37 (pg. 40) – SRS-spatialrelationInfo is part of SRS config; [0496] when spatial relation info is not indicated (i.e. default)), wherein the means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
means for identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values (See Ji [0496], [0498] – the BS may configure a plurality of pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control within pathlossRefereneRSs IE in which case the connection relation between the pathloss RS and the TRP index may be established); and
means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping (See Ji [0496], [0498] – selecting default pathloss RSs for PUCCH power control based on pathloss RS identifiers and mapping; The connection relation may be predefined. For example, a pathloss RS corresponding to a zeroth index may be connected to a first TRP index, and a pathloss RS corresponding to a first index may be connected to a second TRP index. Alternatively, the pathlossRS for each TRP may be implicitly indicated while there is no pathlossReferenceRSs IE configuration. For example, it may be assumed that a specific RS used for the first TRP index, for example, a QCL-typeD RS of a TCI state used in the lowest CORESET within CORESETPoolIndex=0 is a pathlossRS for the first TRP index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the TRP communication system, as disclosed in Chen, modified by Lenovo, further comprising:
means for determining that the configuration information excluded from the downlink control information comprises sounding reference signal resource indicator fields associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values, wherein the means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources in accordance with the resource selection rule comprises:
means for identifying a mapping between power control identifier values and pathloss reference signal identifier values that are associated with the respective transmission/reception point index values; and
means for selecting the default pathloss reference signal resources based at least in part on the pathloss reference signal identifier values and in accordance with the mapping, as taught in Ji. One is motivated as such in order to help reduce overhead (See Ji [0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's argument that the Chen does not specifically disclose “determining default reference signal resources for one or more reference signals that are associated with the first transmission and the second transmission of the uplink signal”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has argued that Chen describes a WTRU selecting antenna panels for transmission of triggered SRS sets but does not teach “determining default pathloss reference signal resources for one or more pathloss reference signals”. The Examiner submits that Chen does determine the antenna panels for transmission but also teaches determining the reference signal (SRS) resources for transmission. In at least Chen [0109]-[0111], Chen teaches “the TRP may explicitly (e.g., send a triggering DCI including the antenna panel ID of WTRU panels) and/or implicitly (e.g., send a triggering DCI indicating SRS resource set(s) that have high layer parameter srs-AntennaPanelID configured) request the WTRU to perform an UL TX or RX beam sweeping from a subset of the implicitly or explicitly indicated WTRU panels” ([0109]), and “then SRS resource availability may be considered. For example, if only one SRS resource in each of triggered SRS resource set may be may be used for transmission at a given time instant, then at the given time instant, the WTRU may transmit in the triggered SRS resource set(s) from the same number of WTRU panels” ([0111]) (emphasis added). That is, the WTRU not only uses signaled configuration information (i.e. DCI) to help determine the antenna panel to transmit with, but also determines the specific SRS resource/s, within the SRS resource set/s, used to transmit. Even if the WTRU is “configured with SRS resource sets via higher layer parameters”, the WTRU in Chen can still be construed as “determining” the SRS resource/s that are actually transmitted (i.e. WTRU can “determine” SRS resources based on the higher layer signaling configuring the SRS resources and signaling the configuration to the WTRU; in addition, not all SRS resource/s within the resource set are necessarily used/transmitted on (this is something the WTRU also “determines”)). Likewise, even if the resources in Chen are “explicitly configured via higher layer signaling”, this does not mean that the resources cannot be determined to be “default” resources. That is, the claim language does not define or clarify how “default” resources are obtained in the first place or how “default” resources would differ from non-default resources.
Regarding Applicant's argument that Chen does not specifically disclose “the default pathloss reference signal resources being based at least in part on…the respective transmission/reception point index values”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, the antenna panels in Chen are not equated to the claimed default pathloss reference signal resources but rather the SRS resources within the SRS resource set/s. Secondly, while Chen does discuss that certain ID information can be associated with TRP panels on the downlink, Chen teaches that ID information (i.e. index values) is associated with TRPs in general to differentiate between the TRPs (See Chen [0134]-[0135]). In addition, Chen teaches that spatial information (i.e. beam) is determined by the WTRU for both UL and DL in terms of their association with TRPs (See at least Chen [0123]-[0125]), and UL beams are paired with (i.e. same) DL beams that comprise the same TRP ID information. In other words, the resources “determined” for the UL transmission (i.e. determined reference signal resources) are determined “based on” the TRP index value (i.e. ID) since the DL beam information includes TRP identification and that information is used to determine UL beam transmission.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that it would not have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use default rules for selection of WTRU antenna panels for SRS transmission, as described in Chen, for determination of “default pathloss reference signal resources” (i.e. combining with Lenovo), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the Examiner concedes that sounding reference signals may have different usage than pathloss reference signals, the Examiner submits that none of the potential differences between the two reference signals are relied upon when making or affect the resource selection process. That is, any potential differences between the reference signals in Chen or Lenovo are not incorporated into the decision making for antenna/resource selection and the claimed antenna/resource selection process could apply to any UL reference signal antenna/resource selection process.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477