DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (e.g. claims 52-60) drawn to the compound having the formula M-L-D; and compound I5 as species A drawn to the compound having the formula M-L-D in the reply filed on December 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
The Examiner further respectfully notes no prior art was found for the elected compound I5 nor the compounds recited within claim 68.
Therefore, the Examiner hereby modifies the elected species as discussed above where the compound having the formula M-L-D, wherein M is a mannose moiety, L is an oxime moiety, and D is dexamethasone.
The Examiner respectfully reiterates the modified elected species as discussed above reads on claims 52, 56-57, 59-60, and 68-71.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because within Figure 2 the phrase "activated macrophage" is cut-off and thus the full phrase does not appear within the figure.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 12/11/2024 and 03/12/2026 have been considered by the Examiner inasmuch as foreign documents have been submitted into the file wrapper in English.
Claim Status
The claim set filed December 24, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-51, 53-55, 58, and 61-67 are canceled. Thus, claims 52, 56-57, 59-60 and 68-71 as amended are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52, 56-57, and 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friend et al. (Published 11 November 1993, WO-9322334-A1, IDS filed 12/11/2024) in view of Hu (Published Year 2005, Prodrug "Approaches to Drug Delivery", in: Wang et al., Drug Delivery: Principles and Applications (Hoboken, New Jersey, John Wiley & Sons, Inc, 2005), pp. 125-165, PTO-892).
Regarding claims 52, 56-57, and 59-60, Friend teaches a prodrug having the following structural formula depicted as,
, see pg. 28, claim #1, lines 5-10.
Friend teaches R is a sugar moiety; R1 is H; R2 is halogen; R3 is lower alkyl; R4 is OH; R5 is OH; R6 and R9 is lower alkyl; and α is an optional double bond, see pg. 28, claim #1, lines 15-33.
Friend defines the term “lower alkyl” as encompassing alkyl groups having and including 1 carbon atom, see pg. 7, lines 19-21.
Friend teaches R is selected from the group consisting of and including α-mannose and β-mannose (e.g. a mannose moiety, required in claim 52, lines 1-2), see pg. 28, claim #3.
Friend teaches the corticosteroid is dexamethasone (e.g. dexamethasone, required in claims 59-60), see pg. 29, claim #7.
The Examiner respectfully notes the linker which links the sugar moiety taught as mannose above and the corticosteroid taught as dexamethasone above contains a -CH2-CO- moiety, as discussed above. Therefore, in view of the teachings above, the Examiner respectfully notes the limitation “where L further comprises a C1 alkyl group” required within claim 57 is met.
Although, Friend does not teach the limitation where the mannose moiety is linked to the corticosteroid with a linker that comprises an oxime moiety, required in claims 52, 56-57 and 59-60.
However, in the same field of endeavor of prodrugs, Hu teaches within Table 8.1 reversible prodrug forms for various functional groups present in biologically active substances and exemplifies a carbonyl and an oxime are reversible prodrug forms present in biologically active substances, see pg. 138, Table 8.1.
Hu teaches oximes formed from ketones with hydroxylamines are chemically reversible under acidic or basic conditions and could be used as prodrugs of compounds containing carbonyl functionality, see pg. 149, section 8.8.4.1. Schiff Bases and Oximes, paragraph 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have modified the prodrug of Friend which contains a carbonyl linking the mannose to dexamethasone by substituting said carbonyl of Friend for an oxime as taught by Hu above as within the scope of the artisan as combining prior art elements according to known compounds and methods to yield predictable results.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution as discussed above in order to create the prodrug of Friend as discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to have made the modification as discussed above, because both Friend and Hu are drawn to prodrugs; Hu explicitly teaches a carbonyl and an oxime are reversible prodrug functional groups present in biologically active substances; and wherein Hu explicitly teaches oximes are formed from ketones with hydroxyl amines as discussed above.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 68-71 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Nedelec et al. (Published 19 February 1980, US-4189477-A, PTO-892) teaches novel Δ4-pregnenes, see Col. 1, lines 20-25. Nedelec exemplifies the novel Δ4-pregnenes having the formula depicted as,
, see Col. 1, lines 25-35.
Nedelec teaches R1 is selected from the group consisting and including hydrogen; X2 is selected from the group consisting of and including -OH; R is selected from the group consisting of and including hydrogen and methyl; X1 is selected from the group consisting of a ketone or a hydroxyl; Y is selected from the group consisting of and including a halogen; Z is selected from the group consisting of and including alkoxy of 1 to 12 carbon atoms, see Col. 1, lines 25-55.
Nedelec teaches the dotted line in the A ring indicates the optional presence of a double bond in the 1(2)-position and A and B are both hydrogen, see Col. 2, lines 10-15.
The Examiner respectfully notes the teachings of Nedelec discussed above correspond to the compound as recited within claim 68, specifically wherein the drug is dexamethasone and the linker is an oxime moiety.
Although, the Examiner respectfully notes Nedelec does not teach where the alkoxy of Z is substituted with a mannose moiety as required within claim 68, which corresponds to M is a mannose moiety as recited in claim 52, lines 1-2; and thus, the teachings of Nedelec do not anticipate the compound as recited within claim 68.
Additionally, in view of the teachings of Nedelec as a whole as discussed above, it would not have been obvious to modify the C1-C12 alkoxy of Nedelec with a mannose moiety, wherein said alkoxy of Nedelec is linked to the oxime moiety specifically at the C3-position of dexamethasone as recited and required of the compounds of claim 68.
Thus, the teachings of Nedelec do not make obvious the compounds recited within claim 68. Claims 69-71 depend from the compounds of claim 68.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/JARET J CREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691