DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6-7, 9 and 13 have been canceled.
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-12 and 14-24 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
“Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.”
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a law of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) to (1) measuring natural molecules from a subject, i.e. DNA (cell-free nucleic acid cfDNA) in samples, and (2) correlating the presence or level of the cfDNA for a disease, such as cancer or a disease state. Therefore, the natural relationship is the cfDNA biomarker(s) correlating with a “condition” as law of nature under judicial exception. (See Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., 132 S.Ct. 1289 (2012). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no extra step or procedure is recited. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because steps of obtaining samples, applying nanoparticles to sample followed by isolating and analyzing corona-associated with cfDNA are well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field and add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. For instance, the specification illustrates by Farokhzad (I) (US 20180172694; see example 8, Figures 61-64), Huo (US 20130052661; claims 1-20; section 0023 and 0012), Farokhzad (II)(US 20210072255; Figures 61-64), Ma ((WO2019209888; section 0012-0013, 0043, 0047, 0048, 0087, 0089-0095; claim 11), Lee (KR20160105139 English machine translation ; section 0010-0013) and Huang (Nanotheranostics 2017 1:80-102; at page 89-90; see Materials and Methods). These steps are recited at a high level of generality, and are necessary data gathering steps that feed into the determining step. One cannot do the determining step without getting the data. This weighs against it being significantly more.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 5, last second line, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
last second line, last second line, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claim 8, line 3-4, last second line, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claim 14, line 3, last second line, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claim 19, last second line, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5, 8, 10-12 and 14-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11, 13-14, 16-17 and 19-21 of copending Application No. 18041131 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending 131’ application directs to essentially same method of identifying cell free nucleic acid in a sample from a subject by incubating blood or serum samples with a plurality of nanoparticle to form corona biomolecule complex followed by analyzing the cell free DNA (cfDNA)(see claim 17 in 131’ application). In additional, 131’ application also uses intravenous injection of administering nanoparticles to the subject. Moreover, 131’ application also teaches applying the detection method for diagnosis a or monitoring cancer progression or treament in a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-16, 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (WO2019209888; IDS reference) in view of Mortimer (US 20210115502).
Ma teaches a method of using genomic data, e.g. profiling or signatures for evaluating a subject in a disease state (Title, Abstract, section 0044, 0057-0058). The method taught by Ma includes collecting a biological sample from the subject and contacting a plurality of nanoparticles to allow the formation of corona biomolecule complex between the targets and the nanoparticle followed by isolating and analyzing the target biomolecules (see section 0012-0013, 0043, 0047, 0048, 0087, 0089-0095). Ma teaches analyzing polynucleotide profiling from the sample for assessment of cancer diseases (section 0089-0095). Ma teaches that the target biomolecule for polynucleotide profiling can be cell free DNA (0096). Although Ma states that cfDNA can be a potential biomarker to be measured, it does not serve to anticipate the claimed invention because there would be some picking and choosing required to arrive at the claimed invention.
However cfDNA has been discovered and studied for decades, particularly in its association with the diagnosis, progression and therapy of cancers. Mortimer teaches isolating and analyzing cfDNA, e.g. methylation which has been shown as indicative of various cancers or other diseases, from blood samples of cancer patients (section 0498; 0349).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method taught by Mortimer to measure and detect cfDNA for further diagnosis of cancer because the known association with cfDNA and cancer and one ordinary skilled person in the art would have been motivated to use cfDNA as a diagnosis tool for identification of cancer with reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 2-3, Ma teaches that the administering the nanoparticles can be performed by intravenous, intradermal, or intramuscular injection (see section 0061).
As to claim 4, the contacting of biological samples with nanoparticles includes incubation to allow the adsorbing of target biomolecules to the nanoparticles.
As to claim 5, the biological samples include blood and plasma (see above).
As to claim 8, Ma teaches that the nanoparticles can be of gold, silver, platinum, palladium, superparamagnetic, or liposome and the surface of the nanoparticles can be modified with negative or positive charges (section 0013; 0192).
As to claim 12, the isolating and analyzing biomolecules procedures involve removing (washing) the unbound/undesired components from the samples (Ma, section 0050, 0057-58, 0118).
As to claim 14, 19, and 21-22, Ma teaches that the data collected from the analysis can be used for diagnosis of variety of disease, such as cancer, inflammatory disease, atherosclerosis, neurological diseases (section 0089-0095).
As to claims 15-16, the determination of biomolecules including quantitation the amount of nucleic acid in the sample (Ma, section 0044).
As to claim 18, particular portion or fragments of a nucleic acid is considered a biomarker for diagnosis purpose (section 0048, 0057). Ma teaches storing sequencing data for individual’s test results (section 0158). Moreover Mortimer also teaches different fragments of nucleic acid as biomarkers (section 0349).
As to claims 20, 23-24, Ma teaches using the biomarkers for monitoring of a treatment response to a therapy (section 0129, 0144). Using control (or reference) for comparison is also taught (Ma, section 0124, 0129, 0135, 0141, 0144, 0147). Moreover, Mortimer teaches that the level of cfDNA methylation is also indicative of the diseases (section 0054-55; 0071; 0160, 0193; 0238) and can be used for monitoring response to treatment of a disease (section 0354-0355).
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, 10-16, 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo (US20130052661) in view of Mortimer.
Huo teaches analyzing biomarkers in a biological fluid sample. Huo teaches incubating a plurality of nanoparticles (without specific probes thereon) with the sample to form corona biomolecule complex for detecting biomolecule targets, e.g. protein or nucleic acid biomarkers, associated with diseases, e.g. cancer (section 0009, 0012, 0016, 0023). However Huo does not explicitly utilize “cell-free nucleic acid” (cfDNA) for analysis.
As has been shown above that Mortimer teaches isolating and analyzing cfDNA, e.g. methylation which has been shown as indicative of various cancers or other diseases, from blood samples of cancer patients (section 0498; 0349).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method taught by Mortimer to measure and detect cDNA for further diagnosis of cancer because the known association with cfDNA and cancer and one ordinary skilled person in the art would have been motivated to use cfDNA as a diagnosis tool for identification of cancer with reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 4, the contacting of biological samples with nanoparticles includes incubation to allow the adsorbing of target biomolecules to the nanoparticles.
As to claim 5, the biological samples include blood and plasma (see above).
As to claim 8, the nanoparticles can be of gold or silver possessing a charge for absorbing biomolecules on its surface (section 0023).
As to claim 12, it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the field to remove (or wash) the unbound/undesired components from the samples.
As to claim 14, 19, and 21-22, Huo also teaches using the results for diagnosis of cancer (section 0023, 0033-0034).
As to claims 15-16, the determination of biomolecules including quantitation the amount of nucleic acid in the sample (section 0023).
Moreover, Mortimer teaches that the level of cfDNA methylation is also indicative of the diseases (section 0054-55; 0071; 0160, 0193; 0238) and can be used for monitoring response to treatment of a disease (section 0354-0355).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
CHANGHWA J. CHEU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1678
/CHANGHWA J CHEU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678