DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues prior art of record does not disclose the light source being a longitudinal multimode active or passive Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW (Remarks pgs. 6-9).
Examiner agrees. None of the cited references disclose the type of laser described in claims 1, 9. References Xu, Oulianov, and Lapchuk discarded for claims 1 and 9. New references Lee US-20180076593-A1 (laser type) and Sandstrom US-20030071204-A1 (spatial shaping module) used in conjunction with primary Killi to reject amended claims 1 and 9. Byren US-5974060-A (N within range 2-10) is introduced in place of Lapchuk to reject dependent claim 6.
Regarding Lapchuk, Applicant argues the plurality of ribbons 250-1 to 250-n in create the diffraction, not the diffuser 255 (Remarks pgs. 9-10).
This argument is moot because Lapchuk is no longer relied upon to reject any of the pending claims.
Claim Interpretation
For claim 9, “substantially” is interpreted to mean “with a margin that is less than and/or greater than 10%, for example, 5%, of the respective value”, consistent with instant application specification pg. 5 lines 10-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killi (WO-2019063662-A2, machine translation “Killi_English” cited) in view of Lee (US-20180076593-A1) and Sandstrom (US-20030071204-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Killi discloses a system for generating high peak power laser pulses (fig. 1) comprising: a light source for emitting initial laser pulses (fig. 1 light source 24 emits laser pulses, lines 244-247); a fiber-based device for conveying laser pulses, comprising at least one first multimode fiber with a single core (fig. 1 fiber 4 conveys pulses, 4 comprises multimode fiber with single core, lines 290-293); a diffractive optical element and an optical system both arranged upstream of the fiber-based device (fig. 1 diffractive optical element 7 and optical system 8 arranged upstream of 4, lines 406-409), and configured to generate, from each of said initial laser pulses, a laser pulse at the input of the fiber-based device (fig. 1, 7 and 8 configured to generate laser pulse at input 10 of 4, lines 406-413), wherein the spatial intensity distribution of each of said laser pulses on an input face of said first multimode fiber comprises a low spatial frequency "top hat" type component summed with a high spatial frequency component resulting from speckle type interference (fig. 3a distribution has low spatial frequency “top hat" and high spatial frequency speckle interference, lines 302-326, 357-372).
Killi does not disclose said light source is a longitudinal multimode active or passive Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW configured to emit said first electric field.
Lee discloses a longitudinal multimode Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW configured to emit a first electric field (fig. 1 laser 12, 0033, fig. 2 shows example pulse widths and energies, all above 10 MW, e.g. lowest MW example still gives P=E/t [Wingdings font/0xE0] P = 400 mJ/8.5 ns [Wingdings font/0xE0] P = 47 MW > 10 MW, 0051-0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said light source is a longitudinal multimode active or passive Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW configured to emit said first electric field to provide sufficiently high pulse energies contemplated by Killi, especially those used for material processing (Killi lines 200-203 + 269-282), using longitudinal multimode laser would avoid certain laser mode selection requirements and simplify laser implementation and operation.
Modified Killi does not disclose a spatial shaping module, arranged upstream of the fiber-based device, configured to transform a first electric field into a second electric field formed by a sum of N components that are at least partially spatially incoherent with one another, N >2, such that the contrast of the high spatial frequency component resulting from speckle type interference is limited compared to an initial contrast defined without said spatial shaping module, wherein said first electric field comprises a plurality of N spectral components, wherein said spatial shaping module comprises at least one first diffraction grating, configured to transform said first electric field into said second electric field formed by a sum of N components, N ≥2, and wherein said N components of said second electric field are characterized by non-collinear wave vectors and result from the diffraction by said at least one first diffraction grating of said N spectral components of said first electric field.
Sandstrom discloses a spatial shaping/homogenizing device comprising a diffraction grating arranged in a path of a spatially coherent radiation beam, with spatial shaping module diffracting + altering incident beam and reducing spatial coherence length of beam and also speckle type interference contrast (fig. 2 shaping module 13+15+17 includes diffraction grating 13 in path of beam 11, grating 13 arranged upstream of output image surface 21, 0010-0011, 0038-0043, increased speckle without grating in fig. 1). Sandstrom also discloses diffraction angle depending upon wavelength (0052-0053). Lee’s multimode laser provides the N components (multimode ≥ 2). The grating wavelength dependence in Sandstrom means the different components from Lee’s laser will be diffracted at different angles and form N components having non-collinear wave vectors as a result of the diffraction grating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed spatial shaping module arrangement to reduce spatial coherence and consequently reduce interference between superimposed portions of laser beam, providing a more uniform intensity distribution (Sandstrom 0009-0011, 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 2, modified Killi discloses the laser pulse generation system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Killi does not disclose wherein said spatial shaping module is arranged upstream of said optical system.
Sandstrom further discloses the spatial shaping module being arranged upstream of an optical system (fig. 2, 13+15+17 arranged upstream of optical system 19, 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said spatial shaping module is arranged upstream of said optical system to provide the optical system with the already spatially shaped beam, allowing for more predictable incident beam and simpler design of the optical system.
Regarding claim 9, Killi discloses a method for generating high peak power laser pulses (fig. 1) comprising: emitting initial laser pulses by means of a light source (fig. 1 light source 24 emits initial laser pulses, lines 244-247); generating, by means of a diffractive optical element and of an optical system, from each of said initial laser pulses, a laser pulse (fig. 1 diffractive optical element 7 and optical system 8 generate laser pulse towards fiber-based device 4, lines 290-293 + 406-409), wherein the spatial intensity distribution of each of said laser pulses in a Fourier plane of the optical system comprises a low spatial frequency "top hat" type component summed with a high spatial frequency component resulting from speckle type interference (fig. 3a distribution has low spatial frequency “top hat" and high spatial frequency speckle interference, lines 302-326, 357-372); conveying said laser pulses by means of a fiber-based device comprising a multimode fiber with a single core (fig. 1 fiber 4 conveys laser pulses + has multimode fiber w/ single core, lines 290-293), wherein an input face of the multimode fiber is substantially coincident with said Fourier plane of the optical system (fig. 1 input face 10 of 4 receives beam from 8, lines 406-413).
Killi does not disclose said light source is a longitudinal multimode active or passive Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW configured to emit said first electric field.
Lee discloses a longitudinal multimode Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW configured to emit a first electric field (fig. 1 laser 12, 0033, fig. 2 shows example pulse widths and energies, all above 10 MW, e.g. lowest MW example still gives P=E/t [Wingdings font/0xE0] P = 400 mJ/8.5 ns [Wingdings font/0xE0] P = 47 MW > 10 MW, 0051-0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said light source is a longitudinal multimode active or passive Q-switched solid-state laser for emitting high peak power nanosecond pulses greater than 10 MW configured to emit said first electric field to provide sufficiently high pulse energies contemplated by Killi, especially those used for material processing (Killi lines 200-203 + 269-282), using longitudinal multimode laser would avoid certain laser mode selection requirements and simplify laser implementation and operation.
Killi, as modified, does not disclose spatially shaping said initial laser pulses by means of a spatial shaping module, arranged upstream of the fiber-based device, and configured to transform a first electric field into a second electric field formed by a sum of a plurality of N components, N >2, wherein said N components are at least partially spatially incoherent with one another, such that the contrast of the spatial high frequency component resulting from the speckle type interference on the input face of said first multimode fiber is limited compared to an initial contrast defined without said spatial shaping module.
Sandstrom discloses a spatial shaping/homogenizing device comprising a diffraction grating arranged in a path of a spatially coherent radiation beam, with spatial shaping module diffracting + altering incident beam and reducing spatial coherence length of beam and also speckle type interference contrast (fig. 2 shaping module 13+15+17 includes diffraction grating 13 in path of beam 11, grating 13 arranged upstream of output image surface 21, 0010-0011, 0038-0043, increased speckle without grating in fig. 1). Sandstrom also discloses diffraction angle depending upon wavelength (0052-0053). Lee’s multimode laser provides the N components (multimode ≥ 2). The grating wavelength dependence in Sandstrom means the different components from Lee’s laser will be diffracted at different angles and form N components having non-collinear wave vectors as a result of the diffraction grating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed spatial shaping module arrangement/method to reduce spatial coherence and consequently reduce interference between superimposed portions of laser beam, providing a more uniform intensity distribution (Sandstrom 0009-0011, 0042-0043).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killi in view of Lee, Sandstrom, and Oulianov (US-20200209640-A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Killi discloses the laser pulse generation system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Killi does not disclose wherein said spatial shaping module further comprises a polarization scrambler, configured to transform a first electric field into a second electric field formed by a sum of two components along two orthogonal axes, with the two components having a variable phase shift along a given axis, with said at least one first diffraction grating being arranged upstream the polarization scrambler.
Oulianov discloses an optical system with a spatial shaping module comprising a polarization scrambler (Oulianov fig. 2a spatial shaping module 43a+b+47 comprises quartz crystal wedge depolarizer/polarization scrambler 47, Oulianov 0044, instant application specification pg. 13 lines 10-15 “quartz depolarizer”), configured to transform a first electric field into a second electric field formed by a sum of two components along two orthogonal axes (Oulianov fig. 3 linearly polarized light/first electric field enters and second electric field exits formed by a sum of orthogonal components, 0034, 0044, Oulianov fig. 3 identical to instant application fig. 3 plot 34), with the two components having a variable phase shift along a given axis (Oulianov fig. 3 variable phase shift along vertical axis), with the polarization scrambler being arranged downstream a pair of microlens arrays (47 arranged downstream microlens arrays 43a/b analogous to Sandstrom’s 15/17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a polarization scrambler in the manner required by claim 3 to improve homogeneity and help reduce speckle effect (Oulianov 0002, 0006, 0044-0046).
Regarding claim 4, modified Killi discloses the laser pulse generation system as claimed in claim 3, wherein: said variable phase shift along said axis is periodic, resulting in a periodic variation of a polarization state of the electric field at the output of the polarization scrambler (Oulianov fig. 3 periodic variation of polarization state along vertical axis at output, 0034, 0044); and the polarization scrambler is arranged such that a spatial intensity distribution of said first electric field comprises, along said axis, a dimension that is greater than a variation period of the polarization state (annotated fig. 3 Beamwidth along vertical axis larger than Period along vertical axis, 0044 “…beam having a beamwidth which spans multiple of these areas…”).
Annotated fig. 3
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killi in view of Lee, Sandstrom, and Byren (US-5974060-A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Killi discloses the laser pulse generation system as claimed in claim 1, wherein N is at least 2 (Lee “multimode” necessarily at least 2).
Modified Killi does not disclose wherein N is no greater than 10.
Byren discloses a laser system outputting 7 discrete longitudinal modes (figs. 2-4, col. 7 lines 20-67). Byren discloses a desire to have relatively few longitudinal modes and a large intermode spacing (col. 5 lines 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have N is between 2 and 10 to allow for effective phase conjugation and good speckle averaging and provide sufficient energy in each mode (Byren col. 5 lines 10-30).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Killi in view of Lee, Sandstrom, and Mossberg (US-20200200954-A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Killi discloses the laser pulse generation system as claimed in claim 1.
Modified Killi does not disclose wherein said spatial shaping module comprises at least one second grating arranged downstream said first diffraction grating.
Mossberg discloses a diffraction grating array arranged to reduce laser speckle with a second diffraction grating array arranged downstream (fig. 3 grating array 100, second grating array can be added, 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a second grating downstream the first grating to increase the multiplicity of output propagation directions among the output beams, increasing design flexibility + output angle (Mossberg 0033).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schreiber US-20190018253-A1
Kurtz US-6577429-B1.
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828