DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section III, with respect to claim 36 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 36 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see section VI(A), with respect to claims 19 and 35 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant state that support is found in ¶ 124, 179 and 240 of the specification. A review of these paragraphs shows “a first bandwidth” but not “a first bandwidth” “for the connected mode UEs” and there is no explanation by Applicant how these paragraphs provide support for claims 19 and 35.
Applicant's arguments, see section VI(A), with respect to claim 26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant state that support is found in ¶ 143, 145, 198 and 201 of the specification. A review of these paragraphs appears to show support for multiple connected mode RS resources are quasi-colocated with a same SSB and separately RS configuration settings, but does not appear to show multiple connected mode RS resources configured by the RS configuration settings and there is no explanation by Applicant how these paragraphs provide support for claim 29.
Applicant’s arguments, see section VI(B), with respect to claims 9, 12, 16, 25, and 35 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) of claims 9, 12, 16, 25, and 35 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see section VI(C), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argues in section VI(C)(1) on pages 13-14: “claims 1, 13, 23, 28, and 33 have been amended for compact prosecution and as discussed during the interview…Laselva and Jung do not disclose the following portion of claim 1: receiving…determining…for the connected mode operation”.
In response to Applicant’s arguments above, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim amendments are not fully consistent with what was discussed in the interview and thus as shown below, Laselva teachings the above limitations.
Applicant argues in section VI(C)(1) on page 14: “Laselva is silent regarding receiving connected mode reference signal information in a connected mode and determining unconnected mode reference signal settings based on the connected mode reference signal information. Thus, Laselva does not disclose the above cited portion of claim 1…Accordingly, claim 1 is allowable for at least this reason. Claims 13, 23, 28, and 33 are allowable for analogous reasons”.
In response to Applicant’s arguments above, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the limitations in question are worded differently than what Applicant used above, Laselva teaches the receiving and determining steps of claim 1 as shown below. Claims 13, 23, 28, and 33 are rejected for analogous reasons and the rejection shown below for claims 13, 23, 28, and 33.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(C)(2) on page 14, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claims 2-4, 18, and 35 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(D) on pages 14-15, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claim 5 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(E) on page 15, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claims 6-8 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(F) on pages 15-16, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claim 9 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(G) on page 16, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claims 10-11 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(H) on page 16, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claim 12 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(I) on page 17, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claims 14-15, 24-25, 27, and 29 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(J) on page 17, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claim 16 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(K) on pages 17-18, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claims 20-22 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(L) on page 18, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claims 30-31 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(M) on pages 18-19, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claim 32 as shown below.
Applicant's arguments, in section VI(N) on page 19, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the reasoning set forth above and the rejection for claim 37 as shown below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: change “transitioning” in line 8 to “transition”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for transitioning…”, “means for determining…”, “means for monitoring…”, and “means for receiving…” in claim 23.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 19, 26, 33, and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been amended to now have “a first bandwidth” “for the connected mode UEs”. Applicant state that support is found in claim 17 and figs. 5 and 6 and the appendix. A review of claim 17, figs. 5-6, the appendix and the rest of the specification does not appear to support such amendment. Claim 35 recite similar limitations of claim 19 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 has been amended to now have “multiple connected …with a same SSB”. Applicant state that support is found in claim 17 and figs. 5 and 6 and the appendix. A review of claim 17, figs. 5-6, the appendix and the rest of the specification does not appear to support such amendment.
Regarding claim 33, the specification does not appear to support “determining…based on the RS configuration information for the connected mode operations”. Applicant state that support is found in figs. 6-7 and corresponding paragraphs. However, after a review of these paragraphs and the rest of the specification, the Examiner could not find support for the above limitation. Claim 35 fails to resolve the deficiency of claim 33 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 36, the specification does not appear to support “…based on RS SCS configuration information for the connected mode operations”. Applicant state that support is found in figs. 6-7 and corresponding paragraphs. However, after a review of these paragraphs and the rest of the specification, the Examiner could not find support for the above limitation. The closest the Examiner could find is in ¶ 179 of the published specification which recite “the RS configuration information does not include sub-carrier spacing (SCS) information”.
Claim(s) 10-16, 18-27, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear what “the RRC release message” is referring to since there is a RRC release message in each of claims 1 and 7. Claims 11-12 fails to resolve the deficiency of claim 10 and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim(s) 13, the boundaries of “receiving an RRC release message” is/are unclear because the claim(s) does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function(s). The recited function(s) does not follow from the structure recited in the claim, i.e., a memory or at least one processor, so it is unclear whether the function(s) requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the apparatus in a certain manner. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim(s). See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information. Claims 14-16, 18-22, and 36-37 fails to resolve the deficiency of claim 13 and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, it is unclear what “the RS configuration information” in line 4 is referring to since there are “RS configuration information” in claims 1 and 18.
Regarding claim 23, it is unclear how there is “apparatus comprising: receiving….”. This doesn’t make sense. Furthermore, the boundaries of “receiving” “RS configuration information” and “receiving an RRC release message” is/are unclear because the claim(s) does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function(s). The recited function(s) does not follow from the structure recited in the claim, i.e., the plurality of means within claim 23, so it is unclear whether the function(s) requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the apparatus in a certain manner. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim(s). See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information. Claims 24-27 fails to resolve the deficiency of claim 23 and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 18, 23, 28, 33, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230246764 by Laselva et al. (hereinafter Laselva) in view of US 20190069256 by Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 13, Laselva teaches an apparatus configured for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code (fig. 1, memory(ies) 125; ¶ 26, one or more memories 125 include computer program code 123);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory (fig. 1, processor(s) 120 coupled to memory(ies) 125),
the at least one processor configured to (¶ 26, the one or more memories 125 and the computer program code 123 may be configured to, with the one or more processors 120, cause the user equipment 110 to perform one or more of the operations as described herein):
receive, by a user equipment (UE) in a connected mode, RS configuration information for connected mode operations (fig. 3, at step 1 UE 110, operating in RRC CONNECTED, receiving, in an RRC Release, both TRS/CSI-RS configuration and an additional RSs presence indication for at least reception and storage by the UE in RRC CONNECTED. Examiner correspond the entire contents of the RRC Release to the RS configuration information);
transitioning, by the UE, to an unconnected mode responsive to receiving an RRC release message (fig. 3, UE 110 operating in RRC_INACTIVE at step 320 from RRC CONNECTED in response to UE 110 receiving RRC Release at step 1);
determine, by the UE, reference signal (RS) configuration settings for the unconnected mode based on the RS configuration information for the connected mode operations (¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity. Although not explicitly stated, since the UE performs monitoring based on received RS configuration, the UE must determine/identify the RS configuration);
monitor, by the UE, for a reference signal based on the RS configuration settings (¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity);
and receive, by the UE, a RS transmission in the unconnected mode based on the RS configuration settings (fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 85, In step 5, the serving cell 170 sends additional TRS/CSI-RS, in accordance with the configuration previously sent; ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although Laselva teachings the RS transmission, Laselva does not explicitly disclose a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs.
Jung in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs (¶ 68, if a connected mode UE is configured with a single BWP SCS which is different from a SCS of SS blocks (that may be predefined for a corresponding frequency band), SS blocks may not be transmitted on that BWP, but may be transmitted on another BWP configured with an SCS the same as the SCS of the SS block; ¶ 23, The terms “a,” “an,” and “the” also refer to “one or more”). By modifying Laselva’s teachings of the RS transmission with Jung’s teachings of a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs, the modification results in a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Jung’s above teachings. The motivation is a UE to efficiently measure reference signal(s) (Jung ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive RS configuration information indicating the RS configuration settings, wherein the RS configuration information does not include sub-carrier spacing (SCS) information for unconnected mode RS transmissions (Laselva ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity. As shown above, Laselva does not include any sort of SCS information for any unconnected mode RS transmissions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Claim 1 recite similar limitations of claim 13 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the RS transmission is a connected mode RS transmission or a dedicated unconnected mode RS transmission (Laselva fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE from serving gNB/cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Regarding claim 3, combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the unconnected mode is a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode or a RRC idle mode (Laselva fig. 3, UE 110 operating in RRC_INACTIVE at step 320).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the RS transmission is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Laselva fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Claim 23 recite similar limitations of claim 13 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 28, Laselva teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (¶ 26, one or more memories 125 include computer program code 123…the one or more memories 125 and the computer program code 123 may be configured to, with the one or more processors 120, cause the user equipment 110 to perform one or more of the operations as described herein; ):
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) in a connected mode, RS configuration information for connected mode operations (fig. 3, at step 1 UE 110, operating in RRC CONNECTED, receiving, in an RRC Release, both TRS/CSI-RS configuration and an additional RSs presence indication for at least reception and storage by the UE in RRC CONNECTED. Examiner correspond the entire contents of the RRC Release to the RS configuration information);
transitioning, by the UE, to an unconnected mode responsive to receiving an RRC release message (fig. 3, UE 110 operating in RRC_INACTIVE at step 320 from RRC CONNECTED in response to UE 110 receiving RRC Release at step 1);
determining, by the UE, reference signal (RS) configuration settings for the unconnected mode based on the RS configuration information for the connected mode operations (¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity. Although not explicitly stated, since the UE performs monitoring based on received RS configuration, the UE must determine/identify the RS configuration);
monitoring, by the UE, for a reference signal based on the RS configuration settings (¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity);
and receiving, by the UE, a RS transmission in the unconnected mode based on the RS configuration settings (fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 85, In step 5, the serving cell 170 sends additional TRS/CSI-RS, in accordance with the configuration previously sent; ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although Laselva teachings the RS transmission, Laselva does not explicitly disclose a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs.
Jung in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs (¶ 68, if a connected mode UE is configured with a single BWP SCS which is different from a SCS of SS blocks (that may be predefined for a corresponding frequency band), SS blocks may not be transmitted on that BWP, but may be transmitted on another BWP configured with an SCS the same as the SCS of the SS block; ¶ 23, The terms “a,” “an,” and “the” also refer to “one or more”). By modifying Laselva’s teachings of the RS transmission with Jung’s teachings of a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs, the modification results in a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Jung’s above teachings. The motivation is a UE to efficiently measure reference signal(s) (Jung ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 33, Laselva teaches a method of wireless communication comprising:
transmitting, by a network entity, RS configuration information for connected mode operations (fig. 3, at step 1, serving gNB/cell 170 transmitting an RRC Release containing both TRS/CSI-RS configuration and an additional RSs presence indication for at least reception and storage by the UE in RRC CONNECTED. Examiner correspond the entire contents of the RRC Release to the RS configuration information)
determining, by the network entity, reference signal (RS) configuration settings for unconnected mode UEs based on the RS configuration information for the connected mode operations (¶ 85, n step 5, the serving cell 170 sends additional TRS/CSI-RS, in accordance with the configuration previously sent (this paragraph shows that the serving cell determines configuration for the additional TRS/CSI-RS from the configuration previously sent); fig. 3, shows serving gNB/cell 170 performing step 0; ¶ 64, In step 0 (zero), the network decides to move the UE to RRC Inactive state based on e.g., data inactivity and decides to trigger the configuration/activation of additional RSs (TRS/CSI-RS reference signals belonging to the serving cell); ¶ 65, The number of RSs and the configuration to be provided to the UE can also be determined…any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity; ¶ 66, The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state; ¶ 48, The introduction of such TRS/CSI-RS provisioning for RRC Idle/Inactive UEs; ¶ 52, information provided by the UE and exchanged…related to the TRS/CSI-RS used for RRC Idle or Inactive mode UEs; ¶ 66, the additional RSs may be configured/transmitted only for UEs in an RRC Inactive Idle state; ¶ 89, the condition of multiple UEs, e.g., being present within the cell and correspondingly the TRS/CSI-RS could be provisioned to multiple UEs; ¶ 172, This allows providing, e.g., TRS/CSI-RS used for RRC Idle or Inactive state UEs efficiently, such as only whenever a UE in RRC Inactive or Idle state requires them…the TRS/CSI-RS, when activated for this purpose, can be shared by multiple UEs);
generating, by the network entity, a RS transmission for the unconnected mode UEs (fig. 3, shows serving gNB/cell 170 sending TRS/CSI-RS at step 5; ¶ 48, The introduction of such TRS/CSI-RS provisioning for RRC Idle/Inactive UEs; ¶ 52, information provided by the UE and exchanged…related to the TRS/CSI-RS used for RRC Idle or Inactive mode UEs; ¶ 66, the additional RSs may be configured/transmitted only for UEs in an RRC Inactive Idle state; ¶ 89, the condition of multiple UEs, e.g., being present within the cell and correspondingly the TRS/CSI-RS could be provisioned to multiple UEs; ¶ 172, This allows providing, e.g., TRS/CSI-RS used for RRC Idle or Inactive state UEs efficiently, such as only whenever a UE in RRC Inactive or Idle state requires them…the TRS/CSI-RS, when activated for this purpose, can be shared by multiple UEs. Although not explicitly stated, since serving gNB/cell 170 transmits the TRS/CSI-RS, serving gNB/cell 170 must generate the TRS/CSI-RS);
and transmitting, by the network entity, the RS transmission based on the RS configuration settings (fig. 3, shows serving gNB/cell 170 sending TRS/CSI-RS at step 5; ¶ 65, The number of RSs and the configuration to be provided to the UE can also be determined…any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity; ¶ 66, The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state; ¶ 85, In step 5, the serving cell 170 sends additional TRS/CSI-RS, in accordance with the configuration previously sent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although Laselva teachings the RS transmission, Laselva does not explicitly disclose a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs.
Jung in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs (¶ 68, if a connected mode UE is configured with a single BWP SCS which is different from a SCS of SS blocks (that may be predefined for a corresponding frequency band), SS blocks may not be transmitted on that BWP, but may be transmitted on another BWP configured with an SCS the same as the SCS of the SS block; ¶ 23, The terms “a,” “an,” and “the” also refer to “one or more”). By modifying Laselva’s teachings of the RS transmission with Jung’s teachings of a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of a RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs, the modification results in a first sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the RS transmission is the same as a second SCS of an active bandwidth part (BWP) of connected mode UEs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Jung’s above teachings. The motivation is a UE to efficiently measure reference signal(s) (Jung ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 36, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor configured to determine, the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes to: determine, by the UE, the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode based on RS configuration information for the connected mode operations (Laselva fig. 3, at step 1 UE 110, operating in RRC CONNECTED, receiving, in an RRC Release, both TRS/CSI-RS configuration and an additional RSs presence indication for at least reception and storage by the UE in RRC CONNECTED; ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity. Although not explicitly stated, since the UE performs monitoring based on received RS configuration, the UE must determine/identify the RS configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although Laselva teaches RS configuration information for the connected mode operations, Laselva does not explicitly disclose RS SCS configuration information for the connected mode operations.
Jung in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches RS configuration information include SCS information to have RS SCS configuration information (¶ 50, configuration parameters of a BWP may include numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing)…the BWP may contain an SS block; ¶ 66, SCS of an SS block). By modifying Laselva’s teachings of RS configuration information for the connected mode operations with Jung’s teachings of RS configuration information include SCS information to have RS SCS configuration information, the modification results in RS SCS configuration information for the connected mode operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Jung’s above teachings. The motivation is a UE to efficiently measure reference signal(s) (Jung ¶ 52).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20230084343 by Berggren et al. (hereinafter Berggren).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the RS transmission is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) (Laselva fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE), and further comprising: receiving, by the UE, a paging message based on the RS transmission (Laselva ¶ 41, before monitoring for paging in the POs, the UE has to perform tracking and downlink synchronization with the serving cell in time/frequency; ¶ 108, using by the user equipment the additional reference signals to synchronize with at least one of the one or more cells in order to be ready to monitor for a paging indication and/or a paging message in a paging occasion for the at least one cell; ¶ 120, the sending by the serving cell additional reference signals toward the user equipment is performed prior to transmission by the serving cell of a paging occasion toward the user equipment; ¶ 47, Among the many functions of TRS/CSI-RS in NR, in this context, these RSs support synchronization, time/frequency tracking for demodulation; ¶ 4, The UE has to synchronize with the cell in order to be able to receive the PO; fig. 3, shows serving gNB/cell 170 sending TRS/CSI-RS at step 5; ¶ 85, In step 5, the serving cell 170 sends additional TRS/CSI-RS, in accordance with the configuration previously sent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although the combination teaches the UE, the unconnected mode and the paging message, the combination does not explicitly disclose switching, by the UE, from the unconnected mode to a connected mode based on the paging message.
Berggren in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches switching, by the UE, from the unconnected mode to a connected mode based on the paging message (¶ 68, transition 309 from the idle mode 302 or the inactive mode 303 to the connected mode 301 includes a RACH procedure. The RACH procedure may be triggered by paging signals, e.g., a paging indicator on PDCCH and a paging message on PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Berggren’s above teachings. The motivation is providing a need for advanced techniques of re-acquiring synchronization with a communications network (Berggren ¶ 7).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20230283427 by Fu.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes: receiving a message from a network entity (Laselva fig. 3, UE 110 receiving a message containing TRS/CSI-RS config from serving gNB/cell at #1); and determining the RS configuration settings based on the message (Laselva ¶ 66, TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity. Although not explicitly stated, since the UE performs monitoring based on received RS configuration, the UE must determine/identify the received RS configuration from the received message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although the combination teaches receiving a message from a network entity and determining the RS configuration settings based on the message and the unconnected mode, the combination does not explicitly disclose receiving a broadcast message from a network entity while operating in the unconnected mode or while connected to a second network entity; and determining the RS configuration settings based on the broadcast message.
Fu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receiving a broadcast message from a network entity while operating in an unconnected mode or while connected to a second network entity and determining RS configuration based on the broadcast message (¶ 60, When the base station sends the first parameter to the UE, it may send the first parameter to the UE by sending the system information to the UE. The system information includes the first parameter, i.e., the base station may send the system information carrying the first parameter to the UE. For example, the base station may broadcast the first parameter in the system information. Correspondingly, the UE in the RRC idle state receives the system information sent by the base station, in which the system information includes the first parameter. For example, the UE receives the first parameter sent by the base station by broadcasting the system information when the UE is in the idle state; ¶ 63, The first parameter obtained by the UE in the idle state can be used by the UE in the idle state to monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence). By modifying the combination’s teachings of receiving a message from a network entity and determining the RS configuration settings based on the message and the unconnected mode with Fu’s teachings of receiving a broadcast message from a network entity while operating in an unconnected mode or while connected to a second network entity and determining RS configuration based on the broadcast message, the modification results in receiving a broadcast message from a network entity while operating in the unconnected mode or while connected to a second network entity; and determining the RS configuration settings based on the broadcast message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Fu’s above teachings. The motivation is unnecessary PO monitoring can be avoided and the effect of energy saving of the UE can be achieved and the UE can quickly perform a downlink synchronization with the base station, to better receive the paging DCI and its corresponding PDSCH (Fu ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the RS configuration settings corresponds to a RS configuration provided to the UE in a connected mode (Laselva fig. 3, shows UE 110 receiving RRC Release while in RRC_CONNECTED; ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity),
and the method further comprising, prior to operating in the unconnected mode: receiving, by the UE, a RS configuration while in the connected mode from a network entity (Laselva fig. 3, shows UE 110 receiving RRC Release while in RRC_CONNECTED from serving gNB/cell and prior to going to RRC_INACTIVE; ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity);
and receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) release message from the network entity (Laselva fig. 3, shows UE 110 receiving RRC Release while in RRC_CONNECTED from serving gNB/cell and prior to going to RRC_INACTIVE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although the combination teaches the UE, the connected mode, and the network entity and the UE operating in the connected mode prior to operating in the unconnected mode (see above), the combination does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the UE, a RS transmission while in the connected mode from the network entity.
Fu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, by a UE, a RS transmission while in a connected mode from a network entity (¶ 64, TRS sequence and/or CSI-RS sequence sent by the base station to the UE for the channel estimation or time-frequency tracking when the UE is in the RRC connected state). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the UE, the connected mode, and the network entity with Fu’s teachings of receiving, by a UE, a RS transmission while in a connected mode from a network entity, the modification results in receiving, by the UE, a RS transmission while in the connected mode from the network entity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Fu’s above teachings. The motivation is unnecessary PO monitoring can be avoided and the effect of energy saving of the UE can be achieved and the UE can quickly perform a downlink synchronization with the base station, to better receive the paging DCI and its corresponding PDSCH (Fu ¶ 26).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the method of claim 7, wherein determining the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes: determining the RS configuration settings based on received RS settings information for the connected mode (Laselva fig. 3, shows UE 110 receiving RRC Release while in RRC_CONNECTED; ¶ 66, UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity. Although not explicitly stated, since the UE performs monitoring based on received RS configuration, the UE must determine/identify the RS configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and Fu and in further view of US 20220322231 by Sun et al. (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode (Laselva ¶ 66, The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state; ¶ 65, any of the following elements related to the TRS/CSI-RS configuration: density, number of ports, number of OFDM symbols, frequency domain allocation, and/or periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
Although the combination teaches the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode, the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode has a limited duration.
Sun in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches RS configuration settings for an unconnected mode has a limited duration (¶ 50, TRS configuration may include a TRS validity window. The TRS validity window may represent a time window; ¶ 44, TRS configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 that TRS may be configured for the UE 110 in RRC idle and/or RRC inactive state). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode with Sun’s teachings of RS configuration for an unconnected mode has a limited duration, the modification results in the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode has a limited duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Sun’s above teachings. The motivation is providing performance benefits with regard to the processing of subsequent control information (Sun ¶ 20).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and Fu and in further view of US 20230254081 by He.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the method of claim 7.
Although the combination teaches the UE, the RRC release message, and determining the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes: determining the RS configuration settings, the combination does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the UE, RS availability information in a message that is separate from the RRC release message, wherein determining the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes: determining the RS configuration settings based on the RS availability information.
He in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, by a UE, RS availability information in a message that is separate from a RRC release message and determining RS configuration settings based on the RS availability information (abstract, a terminal device receiving a public PDCCH…target information borne in the public PDCCH is used for indicating at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal and monitoring occasion information of the reference signal; ¶ 131, the resources of CSI-RS and TRS…are shared with the terminal device in the RRC-Connected state; ¶ 132, in a case where the target information is at least used for indicating the resource information of the reference signals, the target information is specifically used for indicating that one or more resources in a first reference signal resource set are resources of the reference signal, or the target information is specifically used for indicating that one or more reference signal resource sets in a reference signal resource configuration are resources of the reference signal; ¶ 140, the terminal device detects the common PDCCH in the monitoring occasion of the common PDCCH and acquires the resource information of the reference signal based on the target information carried by the common PDCCH). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the UE, the RRC release message, and determining the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes: determining the RS configuration settings with He’s teachings of receiving, by a UE, RS availability information in a message that is separate from a RRC release message and determining RS configuration settings based on the RS availability information, the modification results in receiving, by the UE, RS availability information in a message that is separate from the RRC release message, wherein determining the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode includes: determining the RS configuration settings based on the RS availability information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with He’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing system overhead and providing good backward compatibility (He ¶ 87).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the message that is separate from the RRC release message comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message (He abstract, a terminal device receiving a public PDCCH…target information borne in the public PDCCH; Laselva fig. 3, shows RRC Release).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with He’s teachings of the message that is separate from a RRC release message comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message. The motivation is reducing system overhead and providing good backward compatibility (He ¶ 87).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and Fu and He and in further view of US 20220131584 by Dalsgaard et al. (hereinafter Dalsgaard).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the method of claim 10.
Although the combination teaches the RS availability information and the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode (Laselva ¶ 66, TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication; ¶ 73, the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state), the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS availability information indicates a particular RS resource from among a plurality of RS resources for the connected mode UEs, a particular RS resource set from among a plurality of RS resource sets for connected mode UEs, an expiration time for the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode, or a combination thereof.
Dalsgaard in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches RS availability information indicates an expiration time for RS configuration settings for an unconnected mode (¶ 134, NW can be configured to limit the time during which the CSI-RS configuration(s) is/are valid once the UE has entered INACTIVE state. These limits may be one of the following; ¶ 135, a fixed time; ¶ 136, a configured time (e.g. a value within the configuration that also provides the measured CSI-RS resources to UE); ¶ 137, a variable time depending on serving or other cell measurement results (e.g. serving cell measurement result being smaller than a threshold could cause the validity timer to expire or be shortened)). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS availability information and the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode with Dalsgaard’s teachings of RS availability information indicates an expiration time for RS configuration for an unconnected mode, the modification results in the RS availability information indicates a particular RS resource from among a plurality of RS resources for the connected mode UEs, a particular RS resource set from among a plurality of RS resource sets for connected mode UEs, an expiration time for the RS configuration settings for the unconnected mode, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Dalsgaard’s above teachings. The motivation is assisting a user equipment transition from a first radio resource control mode to a second radio resource control mode (Dalsgaard ¶ 19).
Claim(s) 14-15, 24-25, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20230019909 by Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Although the combination teaches the processor is further configured to and the UE in a connected mode (Laselva fig. 3), the combination does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates which RS resource is available when multiple RS resources have been configured for the UE in a connected mode.
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a processor is configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates which RS resource is available when multiple RS resources have been configured for a UE in a connected mode (¶ 362, a processor 32, configured to invoke and execute the program instructions in the memory 31, to implement steps corresponding to the terminal device or a chip in the terminal device in the communication method in FIG. 1 to FIG. 17; abstract, receiving a second message from the network device. The second message indicates an availability of at least one second reference signal; ¶ 167, if the network device indicates availability of only some reference signals in the at least one configured second reference signal by using the second message; ¶ 210, a first information bit in the second message…first information bit may indicate availability of the q+r+1 second reference signals; ¶ 306, availability of all configured second reference signals can be indicated by using a small quantity of bits; ¶ 103, reference signal may be a reference signal resource that has been configured for a terminal device in the RRC connected mode; ¶ 156, the reference signal is a CSI-RS configured for the terminal device in the RRC connected mode is used…the CSI-RS is an existing resource configured by a cell for the terminal device in the RRC connected mode; ¶ 178, the terminal device may use the reference signal configured for the terminal device in the RRC connected mode; ¶ 110, a type of the second reference signal configured by the network device for the terminal device may include: at least one of a TRS, a CSI-RS, an SSB, or a secondary synchronization signal (SSS)). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the processor is further configured to and the UE in a connected mode with Zhang’s teachings of a processor is configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates which RS resource is available when multiple RS resources have been configured for a UE in a connected mode, the modification results in the processor is further configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates which RS resource is available when multiple RS resources have been configured for the UE in a connected mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption when a terminal device in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode or help improve processing performance of the terminal device or reduce configuration signaling overheads for the RRC idle/inactive mode (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the multiple RS resources are indicated by a list of identifiers for the configured multiple RS resources (Zhang ¶ 230, network device configures four CSI-RS s as second reference signals indexed a CSI-RS 0, a CSI-RS 1, a CSI-RS 2, and a CSI-RS 3 respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s teachings of the multiple RS resources are indicated by a list of identifiers for the configured multiple RS resources. The motivation is reducing power consumption when a terminal device in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode or help improve processing performance of the terminal device or reduce configuration signaling overheads for the RRC idle/inactive mode (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 24, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 23.
Although the combination teaches the RS transmission and each unconnected mode RS resource of multiple unconnected mode RS resources configured by the RS configuration settings (Laselva ¶ 66, 73, 97, and 65), the combination does not explicitly disclose quasi-colocation information for the RS transmission is indicated by TCI state information, and wherein each unconnected mode RS resource of multiple unconnected mode RS resources configured by the RS configuration settings is quasi-colocated with one synchronization signal block (SSB).
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches quasi-colocation information for a RS transmission is indicated by TCI state information, and wherein each unconnected mode RS resource of multiple unconnected mode RS resources configured by RS configuration settings is quasi-colocated with one synchronization signal block (SSB) (¶ 187, QCL relationship may be generally configured by using a TCI state; ¶ 190, configure the QCL relationship between the at least one second reference signal and the SSB; ¶ 94, network device configures more reference signals for the terminal device…terminal devices in…the RRC inactive mode; ¶ 96, network device sends reference signals; ¶ 103, the terminal device may receive, from reference signals, a reference signal that is available in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB; ¶ 130, when the terminal device is in the RRC idle/inactive mode…second reference signals configured for the terminal device; ¶ 193, when the terminal device is in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the network device may configure a QCL source reference signal of the at least one second reference signal as an SSB. When the at least one second reference signal is associated with only one QCL source reference signal, the QCL source reference signal is an SSB. When the at least one second reference signal is associated with two QCL source reference signals, at least one QCL source reference signal is an SSB). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS transmission and each unconnected mode RS resource of multiple unconnected mode RS resources configured by the RS configuration settings with Zhang’s teachings of quasi-colocation information for a RS transmission is indicated by TCI state information, and wherein each unconnected mode RS resource of multiple unconnected mode RS resources configured by RS configuration settings is quasi-colocated with one synchronization signal block (SSB), the modification results in quasi-colocation information for the RS transmission is indicated by TCI state information, and wherein each unconnected mode RS resource of multiple unconnected mode RS resources configured by the RS configuration settings is quasi-colocated with one synchronization signal block (SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption when a terminal device in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode or help improve processing performance of the terminal device or reduce configuration signaling overheads for the RRC idle/inactive mode (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 25, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein a particular RS resource quasi-colocated with one SSB has the same beam direction, beam width or both as the one SSB, and wherein the particular RS resource corresponds to the RS transmission (Zhang ¶ 203, the at least one second reference signal has a QCL relationship with the SSB… using the correspondence between the SSB and the beam/beam direction described in the foregoing content, the availability of the at least one second reference signal in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB; ¶ 7, at least one second reference signal in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB; ¶ 169, terminal device may receive the SSB and the CSI-RS in at least one beam/beam direction; Laselva fig. 3 and ¶ 73 and 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s teachings of a particular RS resource quasi-colocated with one SSB has the same beam direction, beam width or both as the one SSB, and wherein the particular RS resource corresponds to a RS transmission. The motivation is reducing power consumption when a terminal device in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode or help improve processing performance of the terminal device or reduce configuration signaling overheads for the RRC idle/inactive mode (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 27, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the multiple unconnected mode RS resources are configured for multiple SSBs, each unconnected mode RS resource corresponding to a different SSB (Zhang ¶ 227, Different second reference signals may have QCL relationships with different SSBs; ¶ 230, network device configures four CSI-RS s as second reference signals indexed a CSI-RS 0, a CSI-RS 1, a CSI-RS 2, and a CSI-RS 3 respectively. The CSI-RS 0 has a QCL relationship with the SSB 0, the CSI-RS 1 has a QCL relationship with the SSB 1, the CSI-RS 2 has a QCL relationship with the SSB 2, and the CSI-RS 3 has a QCL relationship with the SSB 3; ¶ 94, network device configures more reference signals for the terminal device…terminal devices in…the RRC inactive mode; ¶ 103, the terminal device may receive, from reference signals, a reference signal that is available in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB; ¶ 130, when the terminal device is in the RRC idle/inactive mode…second reference signals configured for the terminal device; ¶ 193, when the terminal device is in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode, the network device may configure a QCL source reference signal of the at least one second reference signal as an SSB. When the at least one second reference signal is associated with only one QCL source reference signal, the QCL source reference signal is an SSB. When the at least one second reference signal is associated with two QCL source reference signals, at least one QCL source reference signal is an SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption when a terminal device in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode or help improve processing performance of the terminal device or reduce configuration signaling overheads for the RRC idle/inactive mode (Zhang ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 29, the combination teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein multiple RS transmissions are received by the UE (Laselva ¶ 73, In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication; ¶ 97, receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration; fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE; ¶ 85, In step 5, the serving cell 170 sends additional TRS/CSI-RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Laselva’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing flexibility and power saving for performing tracking and DL synchronization in time/frequency before paging monitoring (Laselva ¶ 48).
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches each RS transmission that is quasi-colocated with the same synchronization signal block (SSB) has the same beam (¶ 276, a plurality of second reference signals have QCL relationships with a same SSB; ¶ 203, the at least one second reference signal has a QCL relationship with the SSB… using the correspondence between the SSB and the beam/beam direction described in the foregoing content, the availability of the at least one second reference signal in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB; ¶ 7, at least one second reference signal in the beam/beam direction corresponding to the at least one SSB; ¶ 169, terminal device may receive the SSB and the CSI-RS in at least one beam/beam direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption when a terminal device in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode or help improve processing performance of the terminal device or reduce configuration signaling overheads for the RRC idle/inactive mode (Zhang ¶ 5).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20230336298 by Wagner.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Although the combination teaches the processor is further configured to and when the UE enters a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle mode, the combination does not explicitly disclose the processor is further configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates an expiration time in paging cycles during which RS resource of multiple RS resources is available when the UE enters a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle mode.
Wagner in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a processor is configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates an expiration time in paging cycles during which RS resource of multiple RS resources is available when a UE enters a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle mode (¶ 8, a UE is in idle mode; ¶ 75, Although not shown in detail any of the devices or apparatus that form part of the network may include at least a processor, a storage unit and a communications interface, wherein the processor unit, storage unit, and communications interface are configured to perform the method of any aspect of the present invention; ¶ 43, UEs…waking up for paging occasions, will be in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE mode, for which TRS are not currently available. The following disclosure sets out processes to make TRS available in those RRC modes such that they can be utilised by a UE waking up for a paging occasion; ¶ 44, TRS are a UE-specific configuration of a CSI-RS and are configured via NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet with the parameter trs-Info set to true. The configuration is referred to below as TRS-ResourceSet. Each UE may be configured with multiple TRS-ResourceSets; ¶ 51, The configuration of TRS for use in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE may be communicated using higher layer (RRC) signalling, for example as part of the SIB transmission; ¶ 53, A window is therefore defined during which the base station might transmit TRS. The window is associated with a PO for which the UEs may wake up, and hence align with the period during which TRS may be useful for that PO…Only TRS occasions falling inside the TRS window are utilised by the base station, hence removing transmissions at times that are not considered useful for assisting the UEs; ¶ 56, the base station transmits TRS in one or more TRS occasions within the TRS window, and the base station does not transmit TRS in TRS occasions falling outside of that window. The TRS occasions may be defined by TRS-ResourceSets defined RRC_CONNECTED mode and shared with RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE mode; ¶ 59, a TRS window may be provided at a period of a defined number of DRX/paging cycles if no relevant UEs are paged within a defined period…TRS windows may be configured by RRC signalling). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the processor is further configured to and when the UE enters a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle mode with Wagner’s teachings of a processor is configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates an expiration time in paging cycles during which RS resource of multiple RS resources is available when a UE enters a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle mode, the modification results in the processor is further configured to: receive RS availability information, wherein the RS availability information indicates an expiration time in paging cycles during which RS resource of multiple RS resources is available when the UE enters a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wagner’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption when UEs wake up to receive paging messages (Wagner ¶ 43).
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20230283427 by Fu and in further view of US 20220255680 by Moon et al. (hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Although the combination teaches the RS transmission is a CSI-RS or a TRS (Laselva fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE), the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS transmission is a CSI-RS or a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE, wherein a starting resource block (RB) of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4, and wherein bandwidth of associated BWP of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4.
Fu in the same or similar field of endeavor a RS transmission is a CSI-RS or a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE (¶ 62, monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter includes at least one of: monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter when in the idle state; or monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter when in a connected state; ¶ 63, UE in the idle state to monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence, or can be used by the UE in the connected state to monitor the IRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence; ¶ 64, the UE, in the idle state, may monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter obtained when the UE is in the idle state, and the UE, in the connected state, may also monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter obtained when the UE is in the idle state). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS transmission is a CSI-RS or a TRS with Fu’s teachings of a RS transmission is a CSI-RS or a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE, the modification results in the RS transmission is a CSI-RS or a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Fu’s above teachings. The motivation is unnecessary PO monitoring can be avoided and the effect of energy saving of the UE can be achieved and the UE can quickly perform a downlink synchronization with the base station, to better receive the paging DCI and its corresponding PDSCH (Fu ¶ 26).
Although the combination teaches the connected mode UE, the combination does not explicitly disclose a starting resource block (RB) of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4, and wherein bandwidth of associated BWP of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4.
Moon in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a starting resource block (RB) of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of a connected mode UE is not in steps of 4, and wherein bandwidth of associated BWP of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4 (¶ 56, A terminal operating in an RRC connected state may acquire configuration information of a bandwidth part from the base station through terminal-specific higher layer signaling…the configuration information of the bandwidth part may include information indicating a position of a start PRB of the bandwidth part and information indicating the number of PRBs constituting the bandwidth part. At least one bandwidth part among bandwidth part(s) configured in the terminal may be activated). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the connected mode UE with Moon’s teachings of a starting resource block (RB) of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of a connected mode UE is not in steps of 4, and wherein bandwidth of associated BWP of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4, the modification results in a starting resource block (RB) of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4, and wherein bandwidth of associated BWP of the connected mode UE is not in steps of 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Moon’s above teachings. The motivation is providing efficient signal transmission/reception (Moon ¶ 3-4).
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Although the combination teaches the RS transmission is a CSI-RS (Laselva fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE), the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS transmission is a CSI-RS monitored by a connected mode UE, and wherein a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is less than 24 resource blocks (RBs).
Fu in the same or similar field of endeavor a RS transmission is a CSI-RS monitored by a connected mode UE (¶ 62, monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter includes at least one of: monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter when in the idle state; or monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter when in a connected state; ¶ 63, UE in the idle state to monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence, or can be used by the UE in the connected state to monitor the IRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence; ¶ 64, the UE, in the idle state, may monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter obtained when the UE is in the idle state, and the UE, in the connected state, may also monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter obtained when the UE is in the idle state). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS transmission is a CSI-RS with Fu’s teachings of a RS transmission is a CSI-RS monitored by a connected mode UE, the modification results in the RS transmission is a CSI-RS monitored by a connected mode UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Fu’s above teachings. The motivation is unnecessary PO monitoring can be avoided and the effect of energy saving of the UE can be achieved and the UE can quickly perform a downlink synchronization with the base station, to better receive the paging DCI and its corresponding PDSCH (Fu ¶ 26).
Although the combination teaches the connected mode UE, the combination does not explicitly disclose a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is less than 24 resource blocks (RBs).
Moon in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of a connected mode UE is less than 24 resource blocks (RBs) (¶ 56, A terminal operating in an RRC connected state may acquire configuration information of a bandwidth part from the base station through terminal-specific higher layer signaling…the configuration information of the bandwidth part may include information indicating a position of a start PRB of the bandwidth part and information indicating the number of PRBs constituting the bandwidth part. At least one bandwidth part among bandwidth part(s) configured in the terminal may be activated; ¶ 49, a bandwidth occupied by one RB; ¶ 50, the RB may mean a physical RB (PRB)…the RB constituting the bandwidth part may be referred to as a PRB). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the connected mode UE with Moon’s teachings of a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of a connected mode UE is less than 24 resource blocks (RBs), the modification results in a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is less than 24 resource blocks (RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Moon’s above teachings. The motivation is providing efficient signal transmission/reception (Moon ¶ 3-4).
Regarding claim 22, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Although the combination teaches the RS transmission is a TRS (Laselva fig. 3, shows at step 5, the UE 110 receiving TRS/CSI-RS while still in RRC_INACTIVE), the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS transmission is a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE, and wherein a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is less than 52 resource blocks (RBs).
Fu in the same or similar field of endeavor a RS transmission is a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE (¶ 62, monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter includes at least one of: monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter when in the idle state; or monitoring the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter when in a connected state; ¶ 63, UE in the idle state to monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence, or can be used by the UE in the connected state to monitor the IRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence; ¶ 64, the UE, in the idle state, may monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter obtained when the UE is in the idle state, and the UE, in the connected state, may also monitor the TRS sequence and/or the CSI-RS sequence based on the first parameter obtained when the UE is in the idle state). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS transmission is a TRS with Fu’s teachings of a RS transmission is a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE, the modification results in the RS transmission is a TRS monitored by a connected mode UE.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Laselva’s teachings with Fu’s above teachings. The motivation is unnecessary PO monitoring can be avoided and the effect of energy saving of the UE can be achieved and the UE can quickly perform a downlink synchronization with the base station, to better receive the paging DCI and its corresponding PDSCH (Fu ¶ 26).
Although the combination teaches the connected mode UE, the combination does not explicitly disclose a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is less than 52 resource blocks (RBs).
Moon in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of a connected mode UE is less than 52 resource blocks (RBs) (¶ 56, A terminal operating in an RRC connected state may acquire configuration information of a bandwidth part from the base station through terminal-specific higher layer signaling…the configuration information of the bandwidth part may include information indicating a position of a start PRB of the bandwidth part and information indicating the number of PRBs constituting the bandwidth part. At least one bandwidth part among bandwidth part(s) configured in the terminal may be activated; ¶ 49, a bandwidth occupied by one RB; ¶ 50, the RB may mean a physical RB (PRB)…the RB constituting the bandwidth part may be referred to as a PRB). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the connected mode UE with Moon’s teachings of a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of a connected mode UE is less than 52 resource blocks (RBs), the modification results in a bandwidth of an associated bandwidth part (BWP) of the connected mode UE is less than 52 resource blocks (RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Moon’s above teachings. The motivation is providing efficient signal transmission/reception (Moon ¶ 3-4).
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20220095268 by Oh et al. (hereinafter Oh).
Regarding claim 30, the combination teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28.
Although the combination teaches the RS configuration settings, the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS configuration settings include a periodicity setting, a power control offset setting, or both.
Oh in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches RS configuration settings include a periodicity setting, a power control offset setting, or both (¶ 412, a reference signal used in the idle/inactive mode is named an IRS. The IRS may be configured on the basis of a TRS, a CSI-RS, or a predetermined RS, or a TRS or a CSI-RS transmitted in the idle/inactive mode may be named an IRS; ¶ 426, BS may provide configuration information for the IRS for terminals in the idle mode through higher-layer signaling. The configuration information for the IRS may include various pieces of configuration information required to monitor the corresponding IRS by the terminal. For example, the following information may be included; ¶ 432, periodicityAndOffset). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS configuration settings with Oh’s teachings of RS configuration settings include a periodicity setting, a power control offset setting, or both, the modification results in the RS configuration settings include a periodicity setting, a power control offset setting, or both.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Oh’s above teachings. The motivation is effectively transmitting and receiving a reference signal in idle and inactive modes (Oh ¶ 388).
Regarding claim 31, the combination teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 30, wherein the RS configuration settings include the periodicity setting, and wherein the periodicity setting comprises a periodicityAndOffset resource (Laselva ¶ 66, TRS/CSI-RS configuration; Oh ¶ 426, BS may provide configuration information for the IRS for terminals in the idle mode through higher-layer signaling. The configuration information for the IRS may include various pieces of configuration information required to monitor the corresponding IRS by the terminal. For example, the following information may be included; ¶ 432, periodicityAndOffset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Oh’s teachings of RS configuration settings include the periodicity setting, and wherein the periodicity setting comprises a periodicityAndOffset resource. The motivation is effectively transmitting and receiving a reference signal in idle and inactive modes (Oh ¶ 388).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and Oh and in further view of US 20230142355 by Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 32, the combination teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 30.
Although the combination teaches the RS configuration settings (Laselva ¶ 66, TRS/CSI-RS configuration) and the RS transmission and a quasi-colocated synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission (Oh ¶ 375, TRS may be QCLed with an SSB) and that a SSB comprise SSS (Oh ¶ 90, An SS/PBCH block may be a physical layer channel block including…a Secondary SS (SSS)), the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS configuration settings include the power control offset setting, wherein the power control offset setting comprises a powerControlOffset resource, and wherein the powerControlOffset resource indicates a power difference between the RS transmission and associated paging PDCCH and paging PDSCH messages or a power difference between the RS transmission and a quasi-colocated synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission.
Xu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches RS configuration settings include power control offset setting, wherein the power control offset setting comprises a powerControlOffset resource, and wherein the powerControlOffset resource indicates a power difference between a RS transmission and a SSS (¶ 127, NZP-CSI-RS-Resource-IdleUE IE may comprise the following parameters…powerControlOffsetSS (i.e., a field that specifies the power difference between CSI-RS and Secondary Synchronization Signal (SS); abstract, transmitting the CSI-RS). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS configuration settings and the RS transmission and a quasi-colocated synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission and knowing that a SSB comprise SSS with Xu’s teachings of RS configuration settings include power control offset setting, wherein the power control offset setting comprises a powerControlOffset resource, and wherein the powerControlOffset resource indicates a power difference between a RS transmission and a SSS, the modification results in the RS configuration settings include the power control offset setting, wherein the power control offset setting comprises a powerControlOffset resource, and wherein the powerControlOffset resource indicates a power difference between the RS transmission and associated paging PDCCH and paging PDSCH messages or a power difference between the RS transmission and a quasi-colocated synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving paging procedures (Xu ¶ 1).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva and Jung and in further view of US 20230142355 by Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 37, the combination teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first SCS of the RS transmission is the same as the second SCS of the active BWP of the connected mode UEs (see rejection of claim 13).
Although the combination teaches the RS transmission, the combination does not explicitly disclose the RS transmission is a NZP CSI-RS.
Xu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a RS transmission is a NZP CSI-RS (¶ 117, types of CSI-RS that may be also be used for UEs in a reduced power state, such as the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE states include: the NZP CSI-RS (which could be used, if configured)). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the RS transmission with Xu’s teachings of a RS transmission is a NZP CSI-RS, the modification results in the RS transmission is a NZP CSI-RS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Xu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving paging procedures (Xu ¶ 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 26 and 35 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph and if Applicant persuasively provides support within the specification for these claims that overcome rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476