DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination filed 1/29/2026, which entered amended claims and remarks filed 12/30/2025.
In the RCE, Applicant:
Amended claims 1, 7, 10, 16, and 21, and
Cancelled claims 6, 18, and 20.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 15, 16, 21, and 24-26 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8, Applicant recites the amended claim 1 and asserts that the prior art references do not disclose the amended limitations. On pages 8-10, Applicant recites portions of the Chitrakar reference. On pages 10-12, Applicant notes that the bits in the TIM bitmap as well as the LMB presence bitmap are set to 1 to indicate both that the AP MLD has one or more buffered frames to transmit to the STA and that the respective links have buffered frames to transmit. Applicant asserts that this differs from the amended claims because of the terms “a first value” and “a second value”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the claims does not require that the first and second values be different values. Examiner interprets the claim to mean that the (first) value given to the wake-up identification bit is independent from the (second) value given to the identifier corresponding to a link. However, these values can be the same or different. Further, Applicant’s specification supports the values used in the Chitrakar reference. For example, [0063] notes “[w]hen a link needs to be woken up, the wake-up identification bit (Wake up) may be set to "1" ("0" for other cases), the first link identifier corresponding to the link that needs to be woken up is set to "1", and the first link identifier corresponding to the link that does not need to be woken up is set to "0"”. Further, [0073] states “the first value and the second value may correspond to "1" as described above”.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1, “The method of claim 18” should be changed to “The method of claim 16”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21: the limitation “further comprises a second link set identifier” does not appear to be consistent with the original disclosure. The previous set of claims claimed the link identifier and the link set identifier in the alternative. Amended claim 21 requires the message to include both the link identifier and the link set identifier. However, the specification includes two separate tables (Table 3 and Table 4) to include separate embodiments for the doze information. As indicated in [0098], these appear to be alternative embodiments (“Different from Table 3, the doze information in Table 4 includes a fourth link set identifier corresponding to a link set… For example, Link1 and Link2 in FIG. 1 may be set as a set corresponding to the fourth link set identifier Link set 1 in Table 4, and Link3 in FIG. 1 may correspond to the fourth link set identifier Link set 2”). Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as including new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the wake-up information” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 16, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chitrakar et al (US 2023/0232276).
Regarding claim 1: Chitrakar discloses a method for communication on multiple links, performed by an access point, comprising:
determining a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises wake-up information for indicating a wake-up state of one or more links, and the wake-up information is configured to identify to wake up a corresponding link to receive a cached downlink data frame (disclosed throughout; see step 902 of Figure 9, for example, which discloses generating a frame; this frame comprises information to indicate to one or more non-AP MLDs that cached (buffered) downlink data is available and that the corresponding link should wake-up to receive the buffered data; this frame structure is illustrated further in Figure 10, which shows the link/TID/AC information 1006 for each multi-link device (MLD) that has buffered data; the link/TID/AC information indicates the wake-up state of one or more links for the corresponding MLD; as one example, consider Figure 12; as indicated in [0082], “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064])), and the wake-up information comprises a wake-up identification bit (disclosed throughout; see Figure 12, the corresponding description paragraphs, and [0064], for example; as indicated in Figure 12, for example, each of these AIDs has a bit in the TIM bitmap (top row 1200 of Figure 12); in particular, consider the information directed to a particular multi-link device (such as MLD 2 with AID 28, for example); the TIM bit corresponding to AID 28 is “set to 1 indicating that the AP MLD has one or more buffered frame to transmit to the corresponding STA and MLDs respectively” and that it “should wake up” to “retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” as indicated in [0064]; thus, this bit for MLD 2/AID 28 is interpreted as a wake-up identification bit) and respective first link identifiers corresponding to the multiple links (disclosed throughout; see also Figure 12, the corresponding description paragraphs, and [0064] and [0082], for example; continuing with MLD 2/AID 28, the wake-up information further includes three bits, corresponding to links 1-3, respectively (see the first three bits in the bottom row 1204 of Figure 12); as indicated in [0082], “[a] bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”);
in response to a downlink data frame being cached on a link in a doze state, setting the wake-up identification bit to a first value, for indicating a presence of a link that needs to be woken up (disclosed throughout; the bits in the TIM bitmap and those in the LMB are wake-up indication bits as indicated in Figure 12; if a bit corresponding to the AID for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD is set to 1, this indicates that this particular non-AP MLD has data buffered; further, the LMB is used to indicated a particular link to wakeup; see [0082], which indicates “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064]); thus, the bit identifies whether a particular link for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD should wake-up because buffered data is available);
setting an identifier corresponding to a link that needs to be woken up in the first link identifiers to a second value, for waking up the corresponding link (disclosed throughout; the bits in the TIM bitmap and those in the LMB are wake-up indication bits as indicated in Figure 12; if a bit corresponding to the AID for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD is set to 1, this indicates that this particular non-AP MLD has data buffered; further, the LMB is used to indicated a particular link to wakeup; see [0082], which indicates “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064]); thus, the bit identifies whether a particular link for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD should wake-up because buffered data is available; similarly, the link-set values are set to indicate whether or not the corresponding link-set has buffered data and should wake up; see Figure 14 and the corresponding description); and
sending the first message frame to a station, for the station waking up the corresponding link based on the wake-up information (disclosed throughout; see step 904 of Figure 9, for example).
Regarding claim 10: Chitrakar discloses a method for communication on multiple links, performed by a station, comprising:
receiving a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises wake-up information for indicating a wake-up state of one or more links, and the wake-up information is configured to identify to wake up a corresponding link to receive a cached downlink data frame (disclosed throughout; see step 902 of Figure 9, for example, which discloses generating a frame; this frame comprises information to indicate to one or more non-AP MLDs that cached (buffered) downlink data is available and that the corresponding link should wake-up to receive the buffered data; this frame structure is illustrated further in Figure 10, which shows the link/TID/AC information 1006 for each multi-link device (MLD) that has buffered data; the link/TID/AC information indicates the wake-up state of one or more links for the corresponding MLD; as one example, consider Figure 12; as indicated in [0082], “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064]); as indicated in step 904 of Figure 9, this message frame is transmitted to the non-AP MLD; see also Figure 2 which shows an example of multi-link devices exchanging TIM frames), and the wake-up information comprises a wake-up identification bit (disclosed throughout; see Figure 12, the corresponding description paragraphs, and [0064], for example; as indicated in Figure 12, for example, each of these AIDs has a bit in the TIM bitmap (top row 1200 of Figure 12); in particular, consider the information directed to a particular multi-link device (such as MLD 2 with AID 28, for example); the TIM bit corresponding to AID 28 is “set to 1 indicating that the AP MLD has one or more buffered frame to transmit to the corresponding STA and MLDs respectively” and that it “should wake up” to “retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” as indicated in [0064]; thus, this bit for MLD 2/AID 28 is interpreted as a wake-up identification bit) and respective first link identifiers corresponding to the multiple links (disclosed throughout; see also Figure 12, the corresponding description paragraphs, and [0064] and [0082], for example; continuing with MLD 2/AID 28, the wake-up information further includes three bits, corresponding to links 1-3, respectively (see the first three bits in the bottom row 1204 of Figure 12); as indicated in [0082], “[a] bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”), in response to a downlink data frame being cached on a link in a doze state, the wake-up identification bit is set to a first value, for indicating a presence of a link that needs to be woken up (disclosed throughout; the bits in the TIM bitmap and those in the LMB are wake-up indication bits as indicated in Figure 12; if a bit corresponding to the AID for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD is set to 1, this indicates that this particular non-AP MLD has data buffered; further, the LMB is used to indicated a particular link to wakeup; see [0082], which indicates “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064]); thus, the bit identifies whether a particular link for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD should wake-up because buffered data is available); and an identifier corresponding to a link that needs to be woken up in the first link identifiers is set to a second value, for waking up the corresponding link (disclosed throughout; the bits in the TIM bitmap and those in the LMB are wake-up indication bits as indicated in Figure 12; if a bit corresponding to the AID for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD is set to 1, this indicates that this particular non-AP MLD has data buffered; further, the LMB is used to indicated a particular link to wakeup; see [0082], which indicates “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064]); thus, the bit identifies whether a particular link for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD should wake-up because buffered data is available; similarly, the link-set values are set to indicate whether or not the corresponding link-set has buffered data and should wake up; see Figure 14 and the corresponding description); and
waking up the corresponding link based on the wake-up information (as indicated throughout, these bits in the message frame are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064])).
Regarding claim 16: Liu discloses a method for communication on multiple links, performed by a station, comprising:
determining a message frame, wherein the message frame comprises doze information for indicating a doze state of one or more links (see [0097], for example, which indicates that “STA 726b can enter a normal power saving mode (e.g., a lossless power saving mode) by transmitting a frame 739 with the PM field set to 1”; clearly, the frame 739 comprises doze information indicating a doze state (the PM field set to 1)), and the doze information comprises a power management identifier (see [0097]; the PM field is a power management identifier); and respective first link identifiers corresponding to the one or more links (disclosed throughout; as indicated in Figure 13 and [0132], the header of the frame includes one or more source addresses; further, as indicated in [0064], each STA in a non-AP MLD has an associated MAC address and as indicated in [0063], each STA is associated with a particular link of the non-AP MLD; therefore, the source addresses in the frame are reasonably interpreted as link identifiers for the doze state information);
setting the power management identifier to a first value, for indicating a need to enter a power saving mode (see [0097]; the PM field is set to a first value (1) to indicate that the STA 726b is entering a power save mode);
setting an identifier corresponding to a link that needs to doze in the first link identifiers to a second value, for indicating the corresponding link in a power saving mode (disclosed throughout; the identifier of the corresponding AP and associated link is set in the frame as discussed above; see Figures 7 and 13 and [0097] as well as [0063], [0064], and [0132] as described above);
sending the message frame to notify an access point (AP) of the doze state of the one or more links (as indicated in Figure 7, the STA sends the message).
Regarding claim 24: Chitrakar discloses a communication device, comprising:
a processor (see the circuitry 814 of Figure 8, which includes a controller 806, for example); and
a memory storing computer programs executable by the processor (see [0069] and [0141], which indicates that the controller uses software to execute tasks; clearly, the software is stored on a memory within or accessible by the controller; see also the “storage” discussed in [0069], which can be provided on an “appropriate circuit board and/or in chipsets”),
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above, which explains how the method of claim 1 is disclosed in the prior art).
Regarding claim 25: Chitrakar discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer programs stored that, when executed by a processor (see the circuitry 814 of Figure 8, which includes a controller 806, for example; see also [0069] and [0141], which indicates that the controller uses software to execute tasks; clearly, the software is stored on a memory within or accessible by the controller; see also the “storage” discussed in [0069], which can be provided on an “appropriate circuit board and/or in chipsets”) , cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above, which explains how the method of claim 1 is disclosed in the prior art).
Regarding claim 26: Chitrakar discloses a communication device, comprising:
a processor (see the circuitry 814 of Figure 8, which includes a controller 806, for example); and
a memory storing computer programs executable by the processor (see [0069] and [0141], which indicates that the controller uses software to execute tasks; clearly, the software is stored on a memory within or accessible by the controller; see also the “storage” discussed in [0069], which can be provided on an “appropriate circuit board and/or in chipsets”), wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above, which explains how the method of claim 10 is disclosed in the prior art).
Regarding claim 4: Chitrakar discloses the limitation wherein the wake-up information comprises a second link set identifier corresponding to a link set (disclosed throughout; consider Figure 14 and the corresponding description, for example; as indicated in [0091], the information in the generated frame (the link/TID/AC information) includes link-set information; as illustrated in Figure 14, a link-set bitmap is included, which as indicated in [0092], includes a bit corresponding to each link-set, the value indicating the wake-up state for that particular link-set for the MLD).
Regarding claim 7: Chitrakar discloses the limitation wherein the method further comprises: setting an identifier corresponding to a link that needs to be woken up in the second link set identifier to the second value, for waking up the corresponding link. (disclosed throughout; the bits in the TIM bitmap and those in the LMB are wake-up indication bits as indicated in Figure 12; if a bit corresponding to the AID for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD is set to 1, this indicates that this particular non-AP MLD has data buffered; further, the LMB is used to indicated a particular link to wakeup; see [0082], which indicates “a bit in a LMB corresponding to a MLD is set to 1 to indicate that the BUs are available in the corresponding link”; as indicated throughout, these bits are “used by the respective non-AP MLDs to determine which link(s) they should wake up to retrieve the buffered MPDUs from the AP MLD” (see [0064]); thus, the bit identifies whether a particular link for a particular non-AP (STA) MLD should wake-up because buffered data is available; similarly, the link-set values are set to indicate whether or not the corresponding link-set has buffered data and should wake up; see Figure 14 and the corresponding description).
Regarding claim 9: Chitrakar discloses the limitation that the first message frame comprises at least one of a data frame or a management frame (disclosed throughout; see Figure 10, for example, which discloses that the frame is a beacon frame/TIM frame, which is a management frame).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar et al (US 2023/0232276) in view of Kim et al (US 2023/0224814).
Regarding claim 5: Chitrakar discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chitrakar is silent regarding the limitations of claim 5 that the wake-up information is carried in a media access control (MAC) frame header portion of the first message frame. However, Kim discloses a similar system which also transmits an indication of whether a link is to wake-up to receive a cached/buffered data frame. For example, consider [0189], which discloses “When AP MLD transmits a DL frame to a non-STR non-AP MLD, the AP MLD may include an indication indicating the presence or absence of buffer data of other STAs (that is, another link) of the same non-AP MLD in the DL frame (for example, DL data or DL BA, etc.) and may transmit it. Based on the indication, the STA of the non-AP MLD may maintain or change the power state of its own link. … when the STA of the non-AP MLD is in the doze state, if the non-AP MLD (that is, another STA of the non-AP MLD including the STA) receives a DL frame from the AP MLD, and the indication indicates that there is buffer data for the STA, the STA may transition to the awake state”. Further, as indicated throughout, this indication of whether or not the second link has downlink data buffered can be indicated in a MAC header (see [0215] and [0326], for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chitrakar to include the wake-up information in a MAC header as suggested by Kim. The rationale for doing so would have been to minimize the amount of decoding required to determine the wake-up state of the additional links.
Regarding claim 8: Chitrakar discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Chitrakar is silent regarding the limitations of claim 5 of receiving a second message frame on a link that is woken up; and sending the cached downlink data frame over the link that is woken up in response to the second message frame. However, Kim discloses a similar system which also transmits an indication of whether a link is to wake-up to receive a cached/buffered data frame. For example, consider [0189], which discloses “When AP MLD transmits a DL frame to a non-STR non-AP MLD, the AP MLD may include an indication indicating the presence or absence of buffer data of other STAs (that is, another link) of the same non-AP MLD in the DL frame (for example, DL data or DL BA, etc.) and may transmit it. Based on the indication, the STA of the non-AP MLD may maintain or change the power state of its own link. … when the STA of the non-AP MLD is in the doze state, if the non-AP MLD (that is, another STA of the non-AP MLD including the STA) receives a DL frame from the AP MLD, and the indication indicates that there is buffer data for the STA, the STA may transition to the awake state”. Further, Kim discloses in [0333], that after receiving the “awake information”, STA 2 of the non-AP MLD “may transmit a frame for notifying the AP 2 that it has awakened according to the UL TX timing for ACK of STA 1 (for example, PS-Poll or QoS null frames)”. As indicated later in [0333], “After confirming that STA 2 has awakened, AP 2 may start transmitting DL data to STA 2 during DL 3 frame transmission of AP 1”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chitrakar to send a message notifying the access point that the link is awake and in response sending the buffered data frame to the non-AP MLD on the awake link/STA. The rationale for doing so would have been to improve the reliability of the system and avoid unnecessary waste of resources by only sending the buffered data after confirmation that the link is awake.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrakar et al (US 2023/0232276) in view of Liu et al (US 2025/081097).
Regarding claim 15: Chitrakar discloses the limitations of parent claim 10 as indicated above. Chitrakar is silent regarding the limitations of claim 15 of sending a second message frame, wherein the second message frame comprises doze information for indicating a doze state of one or more links. However, Liu discloses sending a message frame comprising doze information for indicating a doze state of one or more links. See [0097], for example, which indicates that “STA 726b can enter a normal power saving mode (e.g., a lossless power saving mode) by transmitting a frame 739 with the PM field set to 1”. Clearly, the frame 739 comprises doze information indicating a doze state (the PM field set to 1)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Chitrakar to use a message for sending a doze state of a link from a non-AP MLD as suggested by Liu . The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the system to remain updated when the non-AP MLD STA enters a power save mode by informing the access point of the state change as suggested by Liu.
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2025/081097) in view of Chitrakar et al (US 2023/0232276).
Regarding claim 21: Liu discloses the limitations of parent claim 16 as indicate above. Liu is silent regarding the limitation that the doze information comprises a second link set identifier corresponding to a link set and the method further comprises: setting an identifier corresponding to a link that needs to doze in the second link set identifier to a second value, for indicating the corresponding link in a power saving mode. However, Chitrakar discloses a similar system for power saving in multi-link devices. Chitrakar further discloses using link-set identifiers to identify sets of links to which power saving information applies. For example, consider Figure 14 and the corresponding description. As indicated in [0091], the information in the generated frame (the link/TID/AC information) includes link-set information. As illustrated in Figure 14, a link-set bitmap is included, which as indicated in [0092], includes a bit corresponding to each link-set, the value indicating the wake-up state for that particular link-set for the MLD. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu to utilize link set identifiers to indicate links in power save messaging as suggested by Chitrakar. The rationale for doing so would have been to reduce the amount of signaling required to indicate link-related information by grouping links into sets that are configured similarly as suggested by Chitrakar.
Conclusion
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 February 5, 2026