DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 20 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the claim amendment of independent claims 1, 12, and 20, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
More specifically the applicant argues the claim feature of “wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2- port transmission, it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay” from previous dependent claim 11 which is now included in independent claims 1, 12, and 20 with respect to the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom) (Of Record). For example the applicant disagrees with the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom) (Of Record) on Pg. 14 lines 16-20 and lines 21-25 which the office action cited with respect to the claim feature. However upon further review of the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom), Moderator still discloses the claim feature. For example Moderator discloses on Pg. 14, Section 6.1.6.2 lines 6-8 i.e., “When the UE is to transmit a 2-port transmission on one uplink carrier and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier, then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers”. Therefore this portion teaches at least the claim feature of wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2- port transmission, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay.
In regards to the claim limitation of “and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported” Moderator discloses on Pg. 14, Section 6.1.6.2 lines 16-20 that when the UE is under the operation state in which 2-port transmission cannot be supported in the same uplink carrier, then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2 on any of the two carriers. Therefore this portion teaches that when the UE is under the operation state in which 2-port transmission cannot be supported on the current uplink carrier on which a 2-port transmission is scheduled, then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers. Therefore such teaching in lines 16-20 of Moderator with respect to the condition of “and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported” can also be applied to the teachings in lines 6-8 of Moderator for the current uplink carrier scheduled for the 2-port transmission.
Therefore lines 6-8 and lines 16-20 on Pg. 14 of Moderator results in the claim feature in independent claims 1, 12, and 20 of “wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission…and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay”. In regards to the claim feature of it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band, the teachings of Ioffe (Of Record) discloses the claim feature of it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band according to intra-band switching (Ioffe, see Para’s [0134], [0140] i.e., intra-band switching, & [146] i.e., device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band). As previously mentioned in the office action it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wireless communications device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier from the first component carrier when it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band as disclosed in Ioffe to be performed in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the processor is configured to transmit an uplink signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay as disclosed in Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
For the reasons explained above, the prior art such as the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada, and further in view of Moderator (China Telecom) discloses the amended claim feature in claims 1, 12, and 20 of “wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2- port transmission, it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay”. Therefore amended claims 1, 12, and 20 remain rejected over the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada, and further in view of Moderator (China Telecom). The dependent claims remain rejected over the prior art based on their dependence to independent claims 1, 12, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ioffe et al. US (2020/0178261) in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380), and further in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Regarding Claim 1, Ioffe discloses a wireless communication device (see Fig. 3), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (see Fig. 2 i.e., storage circuitry 20 & Para’s [0042] & [0152]); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (see Fig. 3 i.e., processing circuity 22 & Para’s [0042] & [0152]), and cause the wireless communication device (see Fig. 3) to: determine to switch from a first component carrier of a first band to a second component carrier, (see Para’s [0140] i.e., intra-band switching to a different component carrier within the same band, [0142] i.e., band x (i.e., “first band”) includes four component carriers CCA, CCB, CCC and CCD and band Y includes two component carriers CCE and CCF, & [0143] i.e., wireless circuitry 24 may initially be placed in a state (bandwidth part configuration) that configured the wireless circuitry to transmit uplink signals using bandwidth parts in both component carriers CCA & CCB (i.e., “CCB may be a first component carrier”), [0144] i.e., Wireless circuitry 24 may then switch to a bandwidth part configuration of component carrier CCC (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”), as shown by arrow 272 (e.g., bandwidth part(s) of component carrier CCC may be activated) & [0145] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using contiguous intra-band component carriers (e.g., using carrier aggregation) to transmitting uplink signals using a non-contiguous component carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) in the same band (e.g., a non-contiguous intra-band component carrier). Wireless circuitry 24 may then switch to a bandwidth part configuration of component carrier CCD, as shown by arrow 276 & [0146] i.e., As shown by block 274, at time TC, device 10 may transmit uplink signals using the active bandwidth part of component carrier CCD (i.e., component carrier CCD may also be a “second component carrier” when switching from component carrier CCC which may be a “first component carrier”). In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
determine whether the second component carrier is included in the first band, (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0070-0071] i.e., Each wireless configuration may identify a corresponding communications schedule to be used by device 10 and base station 11 in conveying radio-frequency signals 31. The communication schedule may identify frequencies and timing to use for the transmission of uplink data…using radio-frequency signals 31, [0072] i.e., In other words, control circuitry 14 may adjust switching circuitry SW to place wireless circuitry 24 in different operating states over time, based on the communications schedule for wireless circuitry 24, [0074-0075] i.e., This may involve adjusting switching circuitry SW of Fig. 5 to switch wireless circuitry 24 between different operating states over time according to the communication schedule (e.g., to transmit and receive radio frequency signals 31 at certain frequencies at certain times), [0077-0078], [0108], [0140] i.e., When activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within the same band (e.g., when performing intra-band switching) (i.e., a determination of a different component carrier within the same band will determine whether the different component carrier is included in the same band), [0143], & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier (i.e., a determination of a second component carrier that is intra-band will determine whether the second component carrier is included in the same band (i.e., first band X) as the first component carrier in order to perform the intra-band switching))
and in a case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band (see Para’s [0070-0075], [0140], & [0146]), transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier, (see Para’s [0068] i.e., uplink data, [0115], [0117], [0145] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals (i.e., “uplink data signals”) using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
wherein the uplink data signal is transmitted from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier (see Para’s [0068] i.e., uplink data, [0115], [0117], [0145] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals (i.e., “uplink data signals”) using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
the first component carrier being different than the second component carrier (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0140] i.e., When activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within the same band (e.g., when performing intra-band switching), & [0145-0146])
While Ioffe discloses in a case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band, transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier,(see Figures 20-21 & Para’s [0140] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier), Ioffe does not disclose the claim features of transmitting the uplink signal on the second component carrier without a switching delay, and wherein the uplink signal is transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380).
Takada discloses when performing intra-band switching, a UE (see Fig. 12 & Para [0160]) is configured to transmit the uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay (see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-Switchingtime (i.e., “switching delay”)) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed while RF-retuning is being performed, & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of SRS carrier switching…In the present embodiment, for example, in the case of intra-band CA…omitting the CC switching time (i.e., intra-band CA is “without a switching delay” by omitting the CC switching time))
wherein the uplink signal is transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier (see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-switching time) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed (i.e., “gap”) while RF-retuning is performed) & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF re-tuning may not be performed (i.e., without switching delay or a gap) at the time of the SRS carrier switching (i.e., not performing RF retuning (i.e., omitting the CC switching time) in the case of intra-band CA carrier switching results in the uplink signal being transmitted on the second component carrier without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier)…in the case of intra-band CA, the period during which no signal transmission and reception is performed is determined after reducing the number of slots or omitting the CC switching time (i.e, CC switching for uplink signal transmission is without a gap by omitting the CC switching time))
(Takada suggests in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink SRS transmission when switching to different carriers, (see Para’s [0051] & [0084])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wireless communication device which is configured to transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier in the case that it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band when performing intra-band switching as disclosed in Ioffe to be transmitted without a switching delay as disclosed in the teachings of Takada who discloses a UE is configured to transmit an uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay when performing intra-band switching, which results in the uplink data signal being transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier, because the motivation lies in Takada that in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink signal transmission when switching to different carriers.
While the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada discloses it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band (see Para’s [0070-0075], [0140], & [0146]), the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay (see Pg. 14, Section 6.1.6.2 lines 6-8 i.e., “When the UE is to transmit a 2-port transmission on one uplink carrier and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier, then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers & lines 16-20 i.e., the UE is under the operation state in which 2-port transmission cannot be supported in the scheduled uplink carrier for the 2-port transmission… then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers…can also be applied to the teachings in Pg. 14, lines 6-8 of Moderator (China Telecom) for the current uplink carrier scheduled for the 2-port transmission).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more processers which are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier from the first component carrier when it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to include wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the processor is configured to transmit an uplink signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay as disclosed in Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Ioffe discloses the wireless communication device and method of claims 1 and 12, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the wireless communication device to (see Para’s [0042] & [0152]), in a case that it is determined that the second component carrier is not included in the first band (see Para’s [0140] i.e., when performing inter-band switching & [0147-0148] i.e., inter-band switching), transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after the switching delay, (see Para [0140] i.e., when activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within a different band (e.g., when performing inter-band switching as shown by arrow 250), a restriction on the schedule to accommodate radio-frequency re-tuning time, baseband re-configuration delay, synchronization delay, and system information reading delay may be incorporated into switching time 254…incorporated into switching time 254 as an optimization of the inter-band switching delay))
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Ioffe in view of Takada discloses the wireless communication device and method of claims 1 and 12, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the uplink data signal is a 2-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein an uplink signal is a 2-port transmission on a second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on a first component carrier (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation” i.e., When the UE is to transmit a 2-port transmission on one uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “first component carrier”), then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2 on any of the two carriers).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink data signal transmission on the second component carrier from the first component carrier as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to be an uplink signal that is a 2-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier as disclosed in the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Ioffe in view of Takada discloses the wireless communication device and method of claims 1 and 12, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the uplink data signal is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 2-port transmission on the first component carrier. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein the uplink signal is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 2-port transmission on the first component carrier (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation” i.e., When the UE is to transmit a 1-port transmission on one uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 2-port transmission on another uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “first component carrier”), then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2 on any of the two carriers).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink data signal transmission on the second component carrier from the first component carrier as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to be an uplink signal that is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 2-port transmission on the first component carrier as disclosed in the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, Ioffe discloses the wireless communication device and method of claims 1 and 12, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the uplink data signal is a 1- port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier when the wireless communication device is configured with switched uplink. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein the uplink signal is a 1- port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier when the wireless communication device is configured with switched uplink (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation” i.e., For the UE configured with switchedUL by the parameter uplinkTxSwitchingOption-r16, when the UE is to transmit a 1-port transmission on one uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) and if the preceding uplink transmission was a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “first component carrier”), then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2 on any of the two carriers).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink data signal transmission on the second component carrier from the first component carrier as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to be an uplink signal that is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier when the wireless communication device is configured with switched uplink as disclosed in the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Ioffe in view of Takada discloses the wireless communication device and method of claims 1 and 12, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the uplink data signal is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier when the wireless communication device is configured with dual transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein the uplink signal is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier when the wireless communication device is configured with dual transmission (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation” i.e., For the UE configured with dualUL by the parameter uplinkTxSwitchingOption-r16, when the UE is to transmit a 1-port transmission on one uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) and if the preceding uplink transmission was a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier (i.e., may be the “first component carrier”)…then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2 on any of the two carriers).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink data signal transmission on the second component carrier from the first component carrier as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to be an uplink signal that is a 1-port transmission on the second component carrier after a preceding 1-port transmission on the first component carrier when the wireless communication device is configured with dual transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claim 9, Ioffe discloses the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the first band comprises at least two component carriers (see Fig. 21 i.e., Band X comprises at least two component carriers CCA, CCB, CCC, and CCD & Para [0142]), and wherein a second band comprises at least one component carrier, (see Fig. 21 i.e., Band Y comprises at least one component carrier & Para [0142] i.e., band Y includes two component carriers CCE and CCF).
Regarding Claim 10, Ioffe discloses the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein switching between the first band and a second band comprises re-tuning a transmit chain or switching transmit chains, (see Para’s [0109], [0111-0112] i.e., bandwidth part switching time may also allow time to retune antennas 30, & [0140] i.e., when activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within a different band (e.g., when performing inter-band switching as shown by arrow 250), a restriction on the schedule to accommodate radio-frequency re-tuning time, baseband re-configuration delay, synchronization delay, and system information reading delay may be incorporated into switching time 254), but does not explicitly disclose re-tuning a transmit chain as part of the RF re-tuning. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380).
Takada discloses re-tuning a transmit chain as part of RF re-tuning when switching SRS transmission between component carriers, (see Para [0048] i.e., when a terminal performs SRS carrier switching in order to transmit the SRS for a CC2, the terminal performs processing for retuning a transmission high-frequency circuit (i.e., “transmit chain”) from a frequency of a CC1 for uplink transmission to a frequency of the CC2 (RF retuning) for switching a transmission carrier).
(Takada suggests the terminal performs retuning of the transmission high-frequency circuit for retuning the transmission circuit to the frequency of the second component carrier for efficiently performing the SRS transmission on the second component carrier (see Para [0048])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the switching between component carriers between the first band and a second band which comprises RF re-tuning as disclosed in Ioffe to include re-tuning a transmit chain when switching between transmission carriers as disclosed in the teachings of Takada because the motivation lies in Takada that the terminal performs retuning of the transmission high-frequency circuit for retuning the transmission circuit to the frequency of the second component carrier for efficiently performing the SRS transmission on the second component carrier.
Regarding Claim 12, Ioffe discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device (see Fig. 3 i.e., device 10), comprising: determining to switch from a first component carrier of a first band to a second component carrier, (see Para’s [0140] i.e., intra-band switching to a different component carrier within the same band, [0142] i.e., band x (i.e., “first band”) includes four component carriers CCA, CCB, CCC and CCD and band Y includes two component carriers CCE and CCF, & [0143] i.e., wireless circuitry 24 may initially be placed in a state (bandwidth part configuration) that configured the wireless circuitry to transmit uplink signals using bandwidth parts in both component carriers CCA & CCB (i.e., “CCB may be a first component carrier”), [0144] i.e., Wireless circuitry 24 may then switch to a bandwidth part configuration of component carrier CCC (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”), as shown by arrow 272 (e.g., bandwidth part(s) of component carrier CCC may be activated) & [0145] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using contiguous intra-band component carriers (e.g., using carrier aggregation) to transmitting uplink signals using a non-contiguous component carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) in the same band (e.g., a non-contiguous intra-band component carrier). Wireless circuitry 24 may then switch to a bandwidth part configuration of component carrier CCD, as shown by arrow 276 & [0146] i.e., As shown by block 274, at time TC, device 10 may transmit uplink signals using the active bandwidth part of component carrier CCD (i.e., component carrier CCD may also be a “second component carrier” when switching from component carrier CCC which may be a “first component carrier”). In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
determining whether the second component carrier is included in the first band, (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0070-0071] i.e., Each wireless configuration may identify a corresponding communications schedule to be used by device 10 and base station 11 in conveying radio-frequency signals 31. The communication schedule may identify frequencies and timing to use for the transmission of uplink data…using radio-frequency signals 31, [0072] i.e., In other words, control circuitry 14 may adjust switching circuitry SW to place wireless circuitry 24 in different operating states over time, based on the communications schedule for wireless circuitry 24, [0074-0075] i.e., This may involve adjusting switching circuitry SW of Fig. 5 to switch wireless circuitry 24 between different operating states over time according to the communication schedule (e.g., to transmit and receive radio frequency signals 31 at certain frequencies at certain times), [0077-0078], [0108], [0140] i.e., When activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within the same band (e.g., when performing intra-band switching) (i.e., a determination of a different component carrier within the same band will determine whether the different component carrier is included in the same band), [0143], & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier (i.e., a determination of a second component carrier that is intra-band will determine whether the second component carrier is included in the same band (i.e., first band X) as the first component carrier in order to perform the intra-band switching))
and in a case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band (see Para’s [0070-0075], [0140], & [0146]), transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier, (see Para’s [0068] i.e., uplink data, [0115], [0117], [0145] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals (i.e., “uplink data signals”) using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
wherein the uplink data signal is transmitted from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier (see Para’s [0068] i.e., uplink data, [0115], [0117], [0145] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals (i.e., “uplink data signals”) using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
the first component carrier being different than the second component carrier (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0140] i.e., When activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within the same band (e.g., when performing intra-band switching), & [0145-0146])
While Ioffe discloses in a case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band, transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier,(see Figures 20-21 & Para’s [0140] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier), Ioffe does not disclose the claim features of transmitting the uplink signal on the second component carrier without a switching delay, and wherein the uplink signal is transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380).
Takada discloses when performing intra-band switching, a UE (see Fig. 12 & Para [0160]) is configured to transmit the uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay (see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-Switchingtime (i.e., “switching delay”)) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed while RF-retuning is being performed, & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of SRS carrier switching…In the present embodiment, for example, in the case of intra-band CA…omitting the CC switching time (i.e., intra-band CA is “without a switching delay” by omitting the CC switching time))
wherein the uplink signal is transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier (see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-switching time) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed (i.e., “gap”) while RF-retuning is performed) & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF re-tuning may not be performed (i.e., without switching delay or a gap) at the time of the SRS carrier switching (i.e., not performing RF retuning (i.e., omitting the CC switching time) in the case of intra-band CA carrier switching results in the uplink signal being transmitted on the second component carrier without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier)…in the case of intra-band CA, the period during which no signal transmission and reception is performed is determined after reducing the number of slots or omitting the CC switching time (i.e, CC switching for uplink signal transmission is without a gap by omitting the CC switching time))
(Takada suggests in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink SRS transmission when switching to different carriers, (see Para’s [0051] & [0084])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wireless communication device which is configured to transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier in the case that it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band when performing intra-band switching as disclosed in Ioffe to be transmitted without a switching delay as disclosed in the teachings of Takada who discloses a UE is configured to transmit an uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay when performing intra-band switching, which results in the uplink data signal being transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier, because the motivation lies in Takada that in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink signal transmission when switching to different carriers.
While the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada discloses it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band (see Para’s [0070-0075], [0140], & [0146]), the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay (see Pg. 14, Section 6.1.6.2 lines 6-8 i.e., “When the UE is to transmit a 2-port transmission on one uplink carrier and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier, then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers & lines 16-20 i.e., the UE is under the operation state in which 2-port transmission cannot be supported in the scheduled uplink carrier for the 2-port transmission… then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers…can also be applied to the teachings in Pg. 14, lines 6-8 of Moderator (China Telecom) for the current uplink carrier scheduled for the 2-port transmission).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more processers which are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier from the first component carrier when it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to include wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the processor is configured to transmit an uplink signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay as disclosed in Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claim 20, Ioffe discloses a non-transitory tangible computer-readable medium storing computer- executable code (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0042] i.e., software code for performing operations in device 10 may be stored on storage circuitry 20 (e.g., storage circuitry 20 may include non-transitory (tangible) computer readable storage media that stores the software code & [0152]), comprising: code for causing a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processing circuitry 22 & Para’s [0042] & [0152] i.e., software code stored on storage circuitry 20 may be executed by processing circuitry 22) to determine to switch from a first component carrier of a first band to a second component carrier, (see Para’s [0140] i.e., intra-band switching to a different component carrier within the same band, [0142] i.e., band x (i.e., “first band”) includes four component carriers CCA, CCB, CCC and CCD and band Y includes two component carriers CCE and CCF, & [0143] i.e., wireless circuitry 24 may initially be placed in a state (bandwidth part configuration) that configured the wireless circuitry to transmit uplink signals using bandwidth parts in both component carriers CCA & CCB (i.e., “CCB may be a first component carrier”), [0144] i.e., Wireless circuitry 24 may then switch to a bandwidth part configuration of component carrier CCC (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”), as shown by arrow 272 (e.g., bandwidth part(s) of component carrier CCC may be activated) & [0145] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using contiguous intra-band component carriers (e.g., using carrier aggregation) to transmitting uplink signals using a non-contiguous component carrier (i.e., may be the “second component carrier”) in the same band (e.g., a non-contiguous intra-band component carrier). Wireless circuitry 24 may then switch to a bandwidth part configuration of component carrier CCD, as shown by arrow 276 & [0146] i.e., As shown by block 274, at time TC, device 10 may transmit uplink signals using the active bandwidth part of component carrier CCD (i.e., component carrier CCD may also be a “second component carrier” when switching from component carrier CCC which may be a “first component carrier”). In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
Code for causing a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processing circuitry 22 & Para’s [0042] & [0152]) to determine whether the second component carrier is included in the first band, (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0070-0071] i.e., Each wireless configuration may identify a corresponding communications schedule to be used by device 10 and base station 11 in conveying radio-frequency signals 31. The communication schedule may identify frequencies and timing to use for the transmission of uplink data…using radio-frequency signals 31, [0072] i.e., In other words, control circuitry 14 may adjust switching circuitry SW to place wireless circuitry 24 in different operating states over time, based on the communications schedule for wireless circuitry 24, [0074-0075] i.e., This may involve adjusting switching circuitry SW of Fig. 5 to switch wireless circuitry 24 between different operating states over time according to the communication schedule (e.g., to transmit and receive radio frequency signals 31 at certain frequencies at certain times), [0077-0078], [0108], [0140] i.e., When activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within the same band (e.g., when performing intra-band switching) (i.e., a determination of a different component carrier within the same band will determine whether the different component carrier is included in the same band), [0143], & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier (i.e., a determination of a second component carrier that is intra-band will determine whether the second component carrier is included in the same band (i.e., first band X) as the first component carrier in order to perform the intra-band switching))
And code for causing the processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processing circuitry 22 & Para’s [0042] & [0152]) to, in a case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band (see Para’s [0070-0075], [0140], & [0146]), transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier, (see Para’s [0068] i.e., uplink data, [0115], [0117], [0145] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals (i.e., “uplink data signals”) using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
wherein the uplink data signal is transmitted from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier (see Para’s [0068] i.e., uplink data, [0115], [0117], [0145] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals (i.e., “uplink data signals”) using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier)
the first component carrier being different than the second component carrier (see Fig. 21 & Para’s [0140] i.e., When activating an uplink bandwidth part in a different component carrier within the same band (e.g., when performing intra-band switching), & [0145-0146])
While Ioffe discloses in a case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band, transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier,(see Figures 20-21 & Para’s [0140] & [0146] i.e., In this way, device 10 may switch between transmitting uplink signals using a first component carrier to transmitting uplink signals using a second component carrier that is intra-band and contiguous with respect to the first component carrier), Ioffe does not disclose the claim features of transmitting the uplink signal on the second component carrier without a switching delay, and wherein the uplink signal is transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380).
Takada discloses when performing intra-band switching, a UE (see Fig. 12 & Para [0160]) is configured to transmit the uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay (see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-Switchingtime (i.e., “switching delay”)) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed while RF-retuning is being performed, & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of SRS carrier switching…In the present embodiment, for example, in the case of intra-band CA…omitting the CC switching time (i.e., intra-band CA is “without a switching delay” by omitting the CC switching time))
wherein the uplink signal is transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier (see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-switching time) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed (i.e., “gap”) while RF-retuning is performed) & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF re-tuning may not be performed (i.e., without switching delay or a gap) at the time of the SRS carrier switching (i.e., not performing RF retuning (i.e., omitting the CC switching time) in the case of intra-band CA carrier switching results in the uplink signal being transmitted on the second component carrier without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier)…in the case of intra-band CA, the period during which no signal transmission and reception is performed is determined after reducing the number of slots or omitting the CC switching time (i.e, CC switching for uplink signal transmission is without a gap by omitting the CC switching time))
(Takada suggests in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink SRS transmission when switching to different carriers, (see Para’s [0051] & [0084])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wireless communication device which is configured to transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier in the case that it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band when performing intra-band switching as disclosed in Ioffe to be transmitted without a switching delay as disclosed in the teachings of Takada who discloses a UE is configured to transmit an uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay when performing intra-band switching, which results in the uplink data signal being transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier, because the motivation lies in Takada that in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink signal transmission when switching to different carriers.
While the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada discloses it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band (see Para’s [0070-0075], [0140], & [0146]), the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada does not disclose the claim features of wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay (see Pg. 14, Section 6.1.6.2 lines 6-8 i.e., “When the UE is to transmit a 2-port transmission on one uplink carrier and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier, then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers & lines 16-20 i.e., the UE is under the operation state in which 2-port transmission cannot be supported in the scheduled uplink carrier for the 2-port transmission… then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration of NTx1-Tx2, on any of the two carriers…can also be applied to the teachings in Pg. 14, lines 6-8 of Moderator (China Telecom) for the current uplink carrier scheduled for the 2-port transmission).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more processers which are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier from the first component carrier when it is determined that the second component carrier is in the first band as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to include wherein in a case that a first transmission on the first component carrier is a 1-port transmission, a second transmission scheduled for the second component carrier is a 2-port transmission, and an operation state indicates that a 2-port transmission is not supported, the processor is configured to transmit an uplink signal on the second component carrier after a scheduling delay as disclosed in Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Ioffe in view of Takada discloses the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein, in the case it is determined that the second component carrier is included in the first band (Ioffe, see Para’s [0140] & [0146]), but does not disclose the claim feature of transmit the uplink data signal on the second component carrier without the switching delay so that the uplink data signal is transmitted without the gap from transmission of the uplink data signal on the first component carrier. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380).
Takada discloses transmitting an uplink signal on a second component carrier without the switching delay so that the uplink signal is transmitted without the gap from transmission of an uplink signal on a first component carrier (In regards to the claim feature of “so that the uplink data signal is transmitted without the gap from transmission of the uplink data signal on the first component carrier”, the claim language is simply a statement of intended use and is not considered limiting to the claim (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use) (Takada, see Para’s [0051] i.e., a period (CC switching time, also called SRS-switching time) during which no signal transmission and reception is performed (i.e., “gap”) while RF-retuning is performed) & [0084] i.e., in the case of intra-band CA, the RF re-tuning may not be performed (i.e., without switching delay or a gap) at the time of the SRS carrier switching (i.e., not performing RF retuning (i.e., omitting the CC switching time) in the case of intra-band CA carrier switching results in the uplink signal being transmitted on the second component carrier without a gap from transmission of an uplink signal on the first component carrier)…in the case of intra-band CA, the period during which no signal transmission and reception is performed is determined after reducing the number of slots or omitting the CC switching time (i.e, CC switching for uplink signal transmission is without a gap by omitting the CC switching time))
(Takada suggests in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink SRS transmission when switching to different carriers, (see Para’s [0051] & [0084])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wireless communication device which is configured to transmit an uplink data signal on the second component carrier from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier when performing intra-band switching as disclosed in Ioffe to be transmitted without a switching delay as disclosed in the teachings of Takada who discloses a UE is configured to transmit an uplink signal on a second component carrier without a switching delay when performing intra-band switching, which results in the uplink data signal being transmitted without a gap from transmission of an uplink data signal on the first component carrier, because the motivation lies in Takada that in the case of intra-band CA, the RF retuning may not be performed at the time of the SRS carrier switching and the CC switching time or SRS-switchingtime may be omitted so the UE does not have to experience switching delay and interruption in its uplink signal transmission when switching to different carriers.
The combination of Ioffe in view of Takada does not disclose the claim feature of the uplink data signal on the second component carrier is associated with a different number of ports than the uplink data signal on the first component carrier. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses an uplink signal on a second component carrier is associated with a different number of ports than an uplink signal on a first component carrier (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation” lines 1-8 i.e., When the UE is to transmit a 2-port transmission (i.e., “different number of ports”) on one uplink carrier (i.e., “second component carrier”) and if the preceding uplink transmission is a 1-port transmission on another uplink carrier (i.e., “first component carrier”), then the UE is not expected to transmit for the duration NTX1-TX2 on any of the two carriers).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers, (see Pg. 14 Section 6.1.6.2 “Uplink switching for Carrier Aggregation”)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the uplink data signal transmitted on the second component carrier without the gap from transmission of the uplink data signal on the first component carrier as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada to be associated with a different number of ports than the uplink data signal on the first component carrier based on the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom) who discloses an uplink signal on a second component carrier is associated with a different number of ports than an uplink signal on a first component carrier, because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for supporting different antenna port configurations for uplink transmission for the UE when switching between different carriers.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ioffe et al. US (2020/0178261) in view of Takada et al. US (2022/0329380) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, further in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402, and further in view of Jung et al. US (2021/0051632).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Ioffe in view of Takada discloses the wireless communication device and method of claims 1 and 12, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein in a case that the wireless communication device is configured with a supplementary uplink, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the supplementary uplink after the switching delay if the supplementary uplink is in a different band from a preceding transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Moderator (China Telecom) “[102-e-LS-TXSwitching-01] Email discussion/approval on maintenance of uplink Tx switching thread #1”, 3GPP Draft; R1-2007402.
Moderator (China Telecom) discloses wherein in a case that the wireless communication device is configured with a supplementary uplink (see Pg.’s 14-15, Section 6.1.6.3 i.e., “Uplink switching for Supplementary Uplink” i.e., higher layer parameter supplementary uplink), the processor is configured to transmit the supplementary uplink after a switching delay if the supplementary uplink is in a different band from a preceding transmission (see Pg.’s 14-15, Section 6.1.6.3 i.e., “Uplink switching for Supplementary Uplink” i.e., If the UE is to transmit any uplink channel (i.e., any uplink channel may include supplementary uplink) or signal on a different uplink (i.e., “different band”) from the preceding transmission occasion based on DCI…then the UE assumes that an uplink switching is triggered in a duration of switching gap NTx1-Tx2…During the switching gap NTx1-Tx2, the UE is not expected to transmit on any of the two uplinks).
(Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for configuring supplementary uplink channel for the UE (see Pg.’s 14-15, Section 6.1.6.3)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the one or more processors which are further configured to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the uplink signal as disclosed in Ioffe to be performed wherein in a case that the wireless communication device is configured with a supplementary uplink, the processors are further configured to transmit the supplementary uplink after a switching delay if the supplementary uplink is in a different band from a preceding transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Moderator (China Telecom), because the motivation lies in Moderator (China Telecom) that the UE indicates a capability for supporting uplink switching for a band combination to the network for satisfying the UE uplink switching capability for the band combination and for configuring supplementary uplink channel for the UE.
While Moderator (China Telecom) suggests the supplementary uplink is in a different band from the preceding transmission (see Pg.’s 14-15, Section 6.1.6.3 i.e., If the UE is to transmit any uplink channel or signal on a different uplink (i.e., “different band”) from the preceding transmission occasion), the combination of Ioffe in view Takada, and further in view of Moderator (China Telecom) does not explicitly disclose the supplementary uplink is in a different band from the preceding transmission. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Jung et al. US (2021/0051632).
Jung discloses the normal uplink and the supplementary uplink may operate in different frequency bands (see Para [0222]).
(Jung suggests the base station configures a max number of MIMO layers differently for the normal uplink and the supplementary uplink of the terminal for satisfying the received UE capability and achieving MIMO performance using the supplementary uplink (see Para [0222])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the supplementary uplink channel which is on a different uplink from the preceding transmission as disclosed in Ioffe in view of Takada, and further in view of Moderator (China Telecom) to be in a different band from the preceding transmission based on the teachings of Jung who discloses the normal uplink and the supplementary uplink may operate in different frequency bands, because the motivation lies in Jung that the base station configures a max number of MIMO layers differently for the normal uplink and the supplementary uplink of the terminal for satisfying the received UE capability and achieving MIMO performance using the supplementary uplink.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoon et al. US (2021/0007083)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461