DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “support means for supporting a storage container” recited in claims 14 and 15; the “charging bay, “passing lane”, “siding”; “lay-by” and “passing point” recited in claims 16 and 27; the “partitioning means” having “openings” or hatches” recited in claims 17 and 28; the “fire break means” recited in claims 18 and 29; the “two or more vertically arranged floors”, the “one or more lifts” and the “sky-lobby floor” recited in claims 19 and 30; the “maintenance area” recited in claim 21; the “mezzanine level” recited in claim 22; the “one or more workstations”, the “RFID reader”, the “scanner”, the “camera”, the “identity tag”, and the “label” of claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contain legal the phraseology “support means for supporting”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites “support means for supporting a storage container”. Is this the same “support means for supporting a storage container” recited in claim 14 from which claim 15 depends?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-16, 19, 20, 23-27, and 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lisso (US 2020/0231384). Lisso discloses a storage system comprising: at least one storage floor (level 1-level 6) including a track network, based on a grid system, the track network including a first set of track members (see Fig. 2) extending in a first direction, and a second set of track members (see Fig. 2) extending in a second direction, the second set of track members running transversely to the first set of track members in a substantially horizontal plane, wherein the track network includes access aisles (270) and storage aisles (see Fig. 2, at “b”, “d”, “f”, and “g”), wherein the storage aisles include one or more storage locations/temporary storage locations (“storage cell”) for receiving and storing storage containers (240); at least one load handling device (250) configured for operating on the track network for lifting and transporting storage containers; and wherein a storage location includes a support means (see Fig. 2, vertical rails..at “310”) for supporting a storage container. Lisso further discloses a passing lane (280); two or more vertically arranged floors (level 1-level 6), wherein floors are interconnected by one or more lifts accessible from access aisles (see paras. 0036-0037), for transferring load handling devices between floors; and wherein floors include: at least one storage floor. Lisso further discloses a control facility (180); one or more work-stations (see para. 0023), wherein each workstation includes an RFID reader (see para. 0023); wherein the control facility comprises a communications module (see para. 0023); the control facility is configured to confirm a correct storage container is being handled at each stage (see para. 0027)
Claim(s) 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Austrheim (US 12,139,336). Austrheim discloses a storage system comprising: at least one storage floor (see Fig. 14) including a track network, based on a grid system, the track network including a first set of track members (see Fig. 10) extending in a first direction, and a second set of track members (see Fig. 10) extending in a second direction, the second set of track members running transversely to the first set of track members in a substantially horizontal plane, wherein the track network includes access aisles (see Fig. 6, generally at 31 and 33, and Fig. 14, generally at 4) and storage aisles (see Fig. 6, generally at 4), wherein the storage aisles include one or more storage locations/temporary storage locations (see Fig. 10) for receiving and storing storage containers (“storage containers”); at least one load handling device (101) configured for operating on the track network for lifting and transporting storage containers; and wherein a storage location includes a support means (102) for supporting a storage container. Austrheim further discloses two or more vertically arranged floors, wherein floors are interconnected by one or more lifts (4) accessible from access aisles for transferring load handling devices between floors; and wherein floors include: at least one storage floor (see Fig. 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim (US 12,139,336) in view of Fjeldheim et al. (US 2022/0306383). Austrheim discloses a storage system comprising: at least one storage floor (see Fig. 14) including a track network, based on a grid system, the track network including a first set of track members (see Fig. 10) extending in a first direction, and a second set of track members (see Fig. 10) extending in a second direction, the second set of track members running transversely to the first set of track members in a substantially horizontal plane, wherein the track network includes access aisles (see Fig. 6, generally at 31 and 33, and Fig. 14, generally at 4) and storage aisles (see Fig. 6, generally at 4), wherein the storage aisles include one or more storage locations/temporary storage locations (see Fig. 10) for receiving and storing storage containers (“storage containers”); at least one load handling device (101) configured for operating on the track network for lifting and transporting storage containers; and wherein a storage location includes a support means (102) for supporting a storage container. Austrheim discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose partitioning means, comprising fire break means, wherein a floor of the storage system is divided by the partitioning means into chambers, and the partitioning means has openings or hatches through which load handling devices may pass. However, Fjeldheim discloses a similar storage system which includes partitioning means (6, 8), comprising fire break means (see paras. 0144-0145), wherein a floor of the storage system is divided by the partitioning means into chambers, and the partitioning means has openings (6a, 8a) or hatches through which load handling devices may pass for the purpose of containing fires. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to include partitioning means, comprising fire break means, wherein a floor of the storage system is divided by the partitioning means into chambers, and the partitioning means has openings or hatches through which load handling devices may pass, as disclosed by Fjeldheim, for the purpose of containing fires.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim (US 12,139,336) in view of Gjerdevik et al. (US 12,365,543). Austrheim discloses a storage system comprising: at least one storage floor (see Fig. 14) including a track network, based on a grid system, the track network including a first set of track members (see Fig. 10) extending in a first direction, and a second set of track members (see Fig. 10) extending in a second direction, the second set of track members running transversely to the first set of track members in a substantially horizontal plane, wherein the track network includes access aisles (see Fig. 6, generally at 31 and 33, and Fig. 14, generally at 4) and storage aisles (see Fig. 6, generally at 4), wherein the storage aisles include one or more storage locations/temporary storage locations (see Fig. 10) for receiving and storing storage containers (“storage containers”); at least one load handling device (101) configured for operating on the track network for lifting and transporting storage containers; and wherein a storage location includes a support means (102) for supporting a storage container. Austrheim further discloses two or more vertically arranged floors, wherein floors are interconnected by one or more lifts (4) accessible from access aisles for transferring load handling devices between floors; and wherein floors include: at least one storage floor (see Fig. 14). Austrheim discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose that each floor includes a maintenance area comprising a mezzanine level above at least a portion of the storage locations. However, Gjerdevik et al. discloses a similar storage system including includes a maintenance area (see col. 9, lines 65-67) comprising a mezzanine level (410) above at least a portion of the storage locations for the purpose of conducting repair on load handling devices. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to have each floor include a maintenance area comprising a mezzanine level above at least a portion of the storage locations, as disclosed by Gjerdevik, for the purpose of conducting repair on load handling devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Benedict et al. (US 8,628,289) and Kalouche (US 11,724,880) disclose storage systems including access aisles and lifts.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653