DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action mailed on 03/25/2026 has been vacated and a new ground of rejection is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-15, 21-23, 25-26, 30-31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Crawford et al. (U. S. Pat. No. - 8,437,860).
Regarding claim 1, Crawford et al. disclose an apparatus (300) comprising: a removable cover (390, 402, 500) for an ear-worn wearable device (Figs. 3A-6), wherein the removable cover includes a communication module configured to inductively communicate with another device (col. 7, line 47 to col. 8, line 19). But Crawford et al. may not specially teach communication coil as claimed. Since Crawford et al. do suggest that the communication module may include a radio receiver, Wi-Fi receiver, Bluetooth receiver, IEEE 802.11 receiver, or another module which receives a signal (col 7, lines 47-64), and providing suitable communication coil for a communication module or providing suitable communication module, inherently including a communication coil for a hearing device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable communication coil for the communication module or providing suitable communication module, inherently including a communication coil for the removable cover of the hearing device or the apparatus taught by Crawford et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Crawford et al. further disclose the apparatus, wherein the cover includes: one or more electrical contacts (380) configured to place the communication coil in electrical communication with the ear-worn wearable device.
Regarding claim 5, Crawford et al. further disclose the apparatus, wherein the communication coil (col. 7, line 47 to col. 8, line 32) is electrically coupled to the electrical contact (380) via a trace (Fig. 4A) on a flexible printed circuit board; or wherein the communication coil is electrically coupled to the electrical contact (380) via a wire inherently.
Regarding claim 9, Crawford et al. further disclose the apparatus, wherein the cover (400, 500) has a cover profile shape; and the communication coil has a coil shape that substantially mimics the cover profile shape (Figs. 4A-6).
Regarding claims 10 and 30, Crawford et al. may not specially teach that the communication coil has a substantially circular shape as claimed. Since Crawford et al. do suggest many type communication coils (col. 7, line 47 to col. 8, line 32 in different applications), and providing suitable/commercially available communication coil, for a hearing aid is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable communication coil, such as a substantially circular shaped copper coil, for the apparatus taught by Crawford et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the apparatus.
Regarding claim 23, Crawford et al. may not specially teach that the one or more electrical contacts (380) include at least two pins electrically coupled to the communication coil as claimed. Since Crawford et al. do suggest that the electrical contacts (380) that mate with the interface electrical contacts when the control module is received by the interface, and providing suitable connecting means for electrically connecting between elements of a hearing aid is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable connecting means, such as at least two pin/socket, for connecting the removable control module to the hearing aid or the apparatus taught by Crawford et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the apparatus.
Regarding claim 33, Crawford et al. further disclose the apparatus, wherein the communication coil is configured to inductively communicate (Fig. 5) with an implanted device (an implanted hearing device user with a cell phone in a remote location).
Regarding claim 34, Crawford et al. further disclose the apparatus, wherein the communication coil is configured to transmit power or data between the implanted device and the ear-worn wearable device (col. 8, lines 6-19).
Method claims 11-15 are similar to claims 1-2, 5 and 9 except for being couched in method terminology; such methods would be inherent when the structure is shown in the references.
Systematic claims 21-22, 25-26 and 31 are similar to claims 1-2, 5, 9, and 11-15 except for being couched in systematic terminology; such system would be inherent when the structure and/or method are shown in the references.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-8, 16-20, 27, 29 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art of U.S. Patent made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691