DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on October 30, 2025 has been entered. Claim 17 has been canceled in the present application. Claims 1, 6, 8, 12, and 18 have been amended in the present application. Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are pending in the present application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 8, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on pages 21-24 that Kuwano fails to teach “a third end fastened to the second end”, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Kuwano fails to teach the Z-direction extend block has a third end that is fastened to the second of the Z-direction base block since the driving body 24 and lifting driving body 23 taught by Kuwano do not touch each other. However, the term “fastened to” is interpret under BRI the same as “coupled to”, which is that additional elements may be present between two elements that are fastened to each other. Furthermore, Applicant states in [00126] that “…’fastened’ should be understood in a broad sense. For example, A is fastened to B. This may mean that… or that A is indirectly connected to B by using an intermediate medium…” In this instance, lifter 21 taught by Kuwano acts as intermediate medium between driving body 24 and lifting body 23 and therefore the third end of driving body 24 and second end of lifting body 23 are fastened to each other (see figure below). The same reasoning applies to the similar limitations of claims 12 and 18. Therefore Applicant’s argument is not
persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 22 that Kuwano fails to teach “the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second is configured to receive another of the positive or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Kuwano fails to teach “the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second is configured to receive another of the positive or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal.” However, Kuwano teaches lift driving body 23 receives voltage signals from driving circuits from control device 30 ([0050]) but is silent as to the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal. However arranging the circuit such that the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to complete the circuit and allow for proper expansion and contraction of the piezoelectric material. The same reasoning applies to the similar limitations of claims 12 and 18. Therefore Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and Examiner maintains the 103 rejection of claims 1 and 18 over Sugawara in view of Kuwano and claim 12 over Zhu in view of Kuwano.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites the limitation "… the sixth end is configured to receive another of the second positive polarity or the second negative polarity of the first electrical signal" on page 13 lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A first positive and first negative polarity are associated with the first electrical signal (claim 12 page 12 lines 3-6) while a second positive and second negative polarity are associated with the third electrical signal (claim 12 page 13 lines 1-2) so it is unclear what the second positive and second negative polarity of the first electrical signal is referring to thus rendering the limitation indefinite. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret “the first electrical signal” on page 12 line 4 as “the third electrical signal.”
Regarding claims 13-16, claims 13-16 inherit indefiniteness from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0016060, of record) in view of Kuwano (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0284098, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Sugawara teaches an ultrasonic piezoelectric motor (Figure 2, Abstract) comprising:
a frame comprising a first inner side (Figures 4 and 8 first stage 12 and second stage 13 which has an inner side, [0049]);
a carrier (Figure 5, movable part 11, [0084]) on the first inner side, moveable in a Z direction relative to the frame ([0056] movable part 11 moves in the optical axis direction which is parallel to the Z direction), and configured to receive a camera lens (Figure 2 lens part 2, [0085] movable part 11 is a lens holder) comprising an optical axis ([0043]-[0044] lens part 2 has an optical axis), wherein the Z direction is parallel to the optical axis ([0056] movable part 11 moves in the optical axis direction which is parallel to the Z direction); and
a Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 9 AF driving part 14 is disposed between first stage 12 and movable part 11, [0083]) located between the frame (first stage 12) and the carrier (movable part 11), and comprising:
Sugawara fails to teach the Z-direction piezoelectric driver comprises a Z-direction base block comprising: a first piezoelectric material; a first end fastened to the frame; and a second end; a Z-direction extend block comprising: a second piezoelectric material; a third end fastened to the second end; and a fourth end; and a Z-direction touch block fastened to the fourth end; wherein the Z-direction base block is configured to deform based on a first electrical signal to drive the Z-direction touch block to abut against the carrier or leave the carrier, and wherein the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal, wherein the Z-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a second electrical signal to drive the Z-direction touch block to move in the Z direction, and wherein the Z-direction touch block is configured to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction when the Z-direction touch block abuts against the carrier and the Z- direction extend block deforms.
However, Kuwano teaches a piezoelectric driver for a camera module (Figure 1) where the Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) comprises:
a Z-direction base block (Figure 1 lifter 21 and lift driving body 23, [0047]) comprising:
a first piezoelectric material ([0050] lifting driving body 23 is a piezoelectric material);
a first end fastened to the frame (Figure 1 first end of lift driving body 23 is disposed on base, see labeled figure below, [0047]); and
a second end (Figure 1 top of lift driving body 23, see figure below);
a Z-direction extend block (Figure 1 slide driving body 24, [0047]) comprising:
a second piezoelectric material ([0050] slide driving body 24 is a piezoelectric material)
a third end fastened to the second end (Figure 1 third end of slide driving body 24 is connected to second end of lift driving body 23 through lifter 21, see figure below); and
a fourth end (Figure 1 fourth end of slide body 24, see figure below); and
a Z-direction touch block fastened to the fourth end (Figure 1 slider 22 connected to fourth end, see figure below);
wherein the Z-direction base block (lifter 21 and lift driving body 23) is configured to deform based on a first electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) to drive the Z-direction touch block (slider 22) to abut against the carrier or leave the carrier (Figure 3A and 3C lift driving body 23 extends and contracts causing slider 22 to abut or leave the moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]), and wherein the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal ([0050] lift driving body 23 receives voltage signals from driving circuits from control device 30),
wherein the Z-direction extend block (slide driving body 24) is configured to deform based on a second electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) to drive the Z-direction touch block (slider 22) to move in the Z direction (Figure 3B and 3D slide driving body 24 deforms to move slider 22 in Z direction, [0058]-[0059]), and
wherein the Z-direction touch block (slider 22) is configured to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction when the Z-direction touch block abuts against the carrier and the Z- direction extend block deforms (Figure 3B and 3C moving member 12 moves when slide body 24 deforms and slider 22 abuts moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]).
Kuwano further teaches lift driving body 23 receives voltage signals from driving circuits from control device 30 ([0050]) but is silent as to the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal. However arranging the circuit such that the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to complete the circuit and allow for proper expansion and contraction of the piezoelectric material.
Kuwano further teaches the Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Z-direction piezoelectric driver taught by Sugawara by using the Z-direction piezoelectric driver taught by Kuwano in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Sugawara further teaches Z-direction drive circuit (Figures 4 and 5 terminal fittings 23A-C) electrically coupled to the Z-direction piezoelectric driver ([0058] terminal fittings 23A-C are electrically coupled to AF driving part 14), and configured to generate the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal ([0113]-[0114] resonance part 31 of AF driving part 14 has at least two resonant frequencies which are caused by different voltages and therefore electrical signals) based on an auto focus signal ([0041] auto focus function) to enable the Z-direction piezoelectric driver to perform a Z-direction drive action ([0115] AF driving part deforms based on voltage).
Sugawara fails to teach the Z-direction drive action comprises: the Z-direction base block extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to abut against the carrier; the Z-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction; the Z-direction base block contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to leave the carrier; and the Z-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to move back to an initial location.
However, Kuwano teaches the Z-direction drive action (Figures 3A-3D) comprises:
the Z-direction base block extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to abut against the carrier (Figure 3A to 3B lift driving body 23 extends, [0058]);
the Z-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction (Figure 3B to 3C slide driving body 24 extends, [0058]);
the Z-direction base block contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to leave the carrier (Figure 3C to 3D lift driving body 23 contracts, [0059]); and
the Z-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to move back to an initial location (Figure 3D to 3A slide driving body 24 contracts and slider 22 is back to its initial position, [0059]).
Kuwano further teaches the Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) and driving action (Figures 3A-3D) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by using the Z-direction drive action taught by Kuwano in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 6, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Sugawara further teaches:
a base (Figure 4 base 21), comprising a second inner side (Figure 4 base 21 has an inner side), wherein the frame is disposed on the second inner side (Figure 4 base 21 has an inner side where first stage 12 and second stage 13 are disposed) and moveable in an X direction and a Y direction relative to the base ([0052] OIS movable part 10 including first stage 12 and second stage 13 move in the X and Y direction), and wherein the X direction, the Y direction, and the Z direction are perpendicular to each other (Figure 4 X, Y, and Z directions are perpendicular to each other);
an X-direction piezoelectric driver located between the base and the frame (Figure 4 first OIS driving part 30X is located between stages 12,13 and base 21, [0068]-[0069]) and comprising:
a Y-direction piezoelectric driver located between the base and the bracket (Figure 4 second OIS driving part 30Y is located between stages 12,13 and base 21, [0068]-[0069]) and comprising:
Sugawara fails to teach the X-direction piezoelectric driver comprises an X-direction base block comprising: a fifth end fastened to the base; and a sixth end; an X-direction extend block comprising: a seventh end fastened to the sixth end; and an eighth end; and an X-direction touch block eighth end, wherein the X-direction base block is configured to deform based on a third electrical signal to drive the X-direction touch block to abut against the frame or leave the frame, wherein the X-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a fourth electrical signal to drive the X-direction touch block to move in the X direction, and wherein the X-direction touch block is configured to drive the frame to move in the X direction when the X-direction touch block abuts against the frame and the X- direction extend block deforms; and the Y-direction piezoelectric driver comprises a Y-direction base block comprising: a ninth end fastened to the base; and a tenth end; a Y-direction extend block comprising: an eleventh end fastened to the tenth end; and a twelfth end; a Y-direction touch block fastened to the twelfth end, wherein the Y-direction base block is configured to deform based on a fifth electrical signal to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the frame or leave the frame, wherein the Y-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a sixth electrical signal to drive the Y-direction touch block to move in the Y direction, and wherein the Y-direction touch block is configured to drive the frame to move in the Y direction when the Y-direction touch block abuts against the frame and the Y- direction extend block deforms.
However, Kuwano teaches the X-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) comprises an X-direction base block (Figure 1 lifter 21 and lift driving body 23, [0047]) comprising:
a fifth end fastened to the base (Figure 1 fifth end of lift driving body 23 is disposed on base, see labeled figure below, [0047]); and
a sixth end (Figure 1 sixth end of lifter 21, see figure below);
an X-direction extend block (Figure 1 slide driving body 24, [0047]) comprising:
a seventh end fastened to the sixth end (Figure 1 seventh end of slide driving body 24 is connected to sixth end of lifter 21, see figure below); and
an eighth end (Figure 1 eighth end of slide body 24, see figure below); and
an X-direction touch block eighth end (Figure 1 slider 22 connected to eighth end, see figure below),
wherein the X-direction base block (lifter 21 and lift driving body 23) is configured to deform based on a third electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) to drive the X-direction touch block to abut against the frame or leave the frame (Figure 3A and 3C lift driving body 23 extends and contracts causing slider 22 to abut or leave the moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]),
wherein the X-direction extend block (slide driving body 24) is configured to deform based on a fourth electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) to drive the X-direction touch block to move in the X direction (Figure 3B and 3D slide driving body 24 moves slider 22 in X direction, [0058]-[0059]), and
wherein the X-direction touch block (slider 22) is configured to drive the frame to move in the X direction when the X-direction touch block abuts against the frame and the X- direction extend block deforms (Figure 3B and 3C moving member 12 moves when slide body 24 deforms and slider 22 abuts moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]); and the Y-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) comprises a Y-direction base block (Figure 1 lifter 21 and lift driving body 23, [0047]) comprising:
a ninth end fastened to the base (Figure 1 ninth end of lift driving body 23 is disposed on base, see labeled figure below, [0047]); and
a tenth end (Figure 1 tenth end of lifter 21, see figure below);
a Y-direction extend block (Figure 1 slide driving body 24, [0047]) comprising:
an eleventh end fastened to the tenth end (Figure 1 eleventh end of slide driving body 24 is connected to tenth end of lifter 21, see figure below); and
a twelfth end (Figure 1 twelfth end of slide body 24, see figure below);
a Y-direction touch block fastened to the twelfth end (Figure 1 slider 22 connected to twelfth end, see figure below),
wherein the Y-direction base block (lifter 21 and lift driving body 23) is configured to deform based on a fifth electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the frame or leave the frame (Figure 3A and 3C lift driving body 23 extends and contracts causing slider 22 to abut or leave the moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]),
wherein the Y-direction extend block (slide driving body 24) is configured to deform based on a sixth electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) to drive the Y-direction touch block to move in the Y direction (Figure 3B and 3D slide driving body 24 moves in Y direction, [0058]-[0059]), and
wherein the Y-direction touch block (slider 22) is configured to drive the frame to move in the Y direction when the Y-direction touch block abuts against the frame and the Y- direction extend block deforms (Figure 3B and 3C moving member 12 moves when slide body 24 deforms and slider 22 abuts moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]).
Kuwano further teaches the X and Y direction piezoelectric drivers (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the X and Y direction piezoelectric drivers taught by Sugawara by using the driving mechanism taught by Kuwano for both the X and Y direction piezoelectric drivers in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to arrange the driving mechanisms taught by Kuwano in order to drive movement in the X and Y directions.
Regarding claim 7, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 6. Sugawara further teaches an X-direction drive circuit (Figures 4 and 5 terminal fittings 23A-C) electrically coupled to the X-direction piezoelectric driver ([0058] terminal fittings 23A-C are electrically coupled to OIS driving part 30X) and configured to generate the third electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal ([0075]-[0076] resonance part 31 of OIS driving parts 30X has at least two resonant frequencies which are caused by different voltages and therefore electrical signals) based on a first image stabilization signal ([0041] optical image stabilization function) to enable the X-direction piezoelectric driver to perform an X-direction drive action ([0076] OIS resonance part deforms based on voltage).
a Y-direction drive circuit (Figures 4 and 5 terminal fittings 23A-C) is electrically coupled to the Y- direction piezoelectric driver ([0058] terminal fittings 23A-C are electrically coupled to OIS driving part 30Y) and configured to generate the fifth electrical signal and the sixth electrical signal ([0075]-[0076] resonance part 31 of OIS driving parts 30X has at least two resonant frequencies which are caused by different voltages and therefore electrical signals) based on a second image stabilization signal ([0041] optical image stabilization function) to drive the Y-direction piezoelectric driver to perform a Y-direction drive action ([0076] OIS resonance part deforms based on voltage).
Sugawara fails to teach the X-direction drive action comprises: the X-direction base block extends to drive the X-direction touch block to abut against the frame; the X-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the X-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the X direction; the X-direction base block contracts to drive the X-direction touch block to leave the frame; and the X-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the X-direction touch block to move back to a first initial location; and the Y-direction drive action comprises: the Y-direction base block extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the frame; the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the Y direction; the Y-direction base block contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to leave the frame; and the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to move back to a second initial location.
However, Kuwano teaches the X-direction drive (Figures 3A-3D) action comprises:
the X-direction base block extends to drive the X-direction touch block to abut against the frame (Figure 3A to 3B lift driving body 23 extends, [0058]);
the X-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the X-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the X direction (Figure 3B to 3C slide driving body 24 extends, [0058]);
the X-direction base block contracts to drive the X-direction touch block to leave the frame (Figure 3C to 3D lift driving body 23 contracts, [0059]); and
the X-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the X-direction touch block to move back to a first initial location (Figure 3D to 3A slide driving body 24 contracts and slider 22 is back to its initial position, [0059]); and
the Y-direction drive action (Figures 3A-3D) comprises:
the Y-direction base block extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the frame (Figure 3A to 3B lift driving body 23 extends, [0058]);
the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the Y direction (Figure 3B to 3C slide driving body 24 extends, [0058]);
the Y-direction base block contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to leave the frame (Figure 3C to 3D lift driving body 23 contracts, [0059]); and
the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to move back to a second initial location (Figure 3D to 3A slide driving body 24 contracts and slider 22 is back to its initial position, [0059]).
Kuwano further teaches the X and Y direction piezoelectric drivers (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) and driving action (Figures 3A-3D) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the X and Y direction piezoelectric drivers taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by using the driving action taught by Kuwano for both the X and Y direction piezoelectric drivers in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to arrange the driving mechanisms taught by Kuwano in order to drive movement in the X and Y directions.
Regarding claim 18, Sugawara teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim an electronic device comprising:
a camera system (Figure 1B rear camera OC1, [0040]) comprising:
a camera lens (Figure 2 lens part 2, [0044]) comprising an optical axis ([0043]-[0044] lens part 2 has an optical axis); and
an ultrasonic piezoelectric motor (Figure 2 driving apparatus 1, [0044]) coupled to the camera lens ([0044] driving apparatus 1 is coupled to lens part 2) and comprising:
a frame comprising a first inner side (Figures 4 and 8 first stage 12 and second stage 13 which has an inner side, [0049]);
a carrier (Figure 5, movable part 11, [0084]) on the first inner side, moveable in a Z direction relative to the frame ([0056] movable part 11 moves in the optical axis direction which is parallel to the Z direction), and configured to receive a camera lens (Figure 2 lens part 2, [0085] movable part 11 is a lens holder), wherein the Z direction is parallel to the optical axis ([0056] movable part 11 moves in the optical axis direction which is parallel to the Z direction); and
a Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 9 AF driving part 14 is disposed between first stage 12 and movable part 11, [0083]) located between the frame (first stage 12) and the carrier (movable part 11), and comprising:
Sugawara fails to teach the Z-direction piezoelectric driver comprises a Z-direction base block comprising: a first piezoelectric material; a first end fastened to the frame; and a second end; a Z-direction extend block comprising: a second piezoelectric material; a third end fastened to the second end; and a fourth end; and a Z-direction touch block fastened to the fourth end; wherein the Z-direction base block is configured to deform based on a first electrical signal applied to the first end and the second end to drive the Z-direction touch block to abut against the carrier or leave the carrier, and wherein the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal, wherein the Z-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a second electrical signal to drive the Z-direction touch block to move in the Z direction, and wherein the Z-direction touch block is configured to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction when the Z-direction touch block abuts against the carrier and the Z- direction extend block deforms.
However, Kuwano teaches a piezoelectric driver for a camera module (Figure 1) where the Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) comprises:
a Z-direction base block (Figure 1 lifter 21 and lift driving body 23, [0047]) comprising:
a first piezoelectric material ([0050] lifting driving body 23 is a piezoelectric material);
a first end fastened to the frame (Figure 1 first end of lift driving body 23 is disposed on base, see labeled figure below, [0047]); and
a second end (Figure 1 top of lift driving body 23, see figure below);
a Z-direction extend block (Figure 1 slide driving body 24, [0047]) comprising:
a second piezoelectric material ([0050] slide driving body 24 is a piezoelectric material)
a third end fastened to the second end (Figure 1 third end of slide driving body 24 is connected to second end of lift driving body 23 through lifter 21, see figure below); and
a fourth end (Figure 1 fourth end of slide body 24, see figure below); and
a Z-direction touch block fastened to the fourth end (Figure 1 slider 22 connected to fourth end, see figure below);
wherein the Z-direction base block (lifter 21 and lift driving body 23) is configured to deform based on a first electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) to drive the Z-direction touch block (slider 22) to abut against the carrier or leave the carrier (Figure 3A and 3C lift driving body 23 extends and contracts causing slider 22 to abut or leave the moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]),
wherein the Z-direction extend block (slide driving body 24) is configured to deform based on a second electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) to drive the Z-direction touch block (slider 22) to move in the Z direction (Figure 3B and 3D slide driving body 24 deforms to move slider 22 in Z direction, [0058]-[0059]), and
wherein the Z-direction touch block (slider 22) is configured to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction when the Z-direction touch block abuts against the carrier and the Z- direction extend block deforms (Figure 3B and 3C moving member 12 moves when slide body 24 deforms and slider 22 abuts moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]).
Kuwano further teaches lift driving body 23 receives voltage signals from driving circuits from control device 30 ([0050]) but is silent as to the first electrical signal applied to the first end and the second end and the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal. However arranging the circuit such that the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to complete the circuit and allow for proper expansion and contraction of the piezoelectric material.
Kuwano further teaches the Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Z-direction piezoelectric driver taught by Sugawara by using the Z-direction piezoelectric driver taught by Kuwano in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 19, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 18. Sugawara further teaches Z-direction drive circuit (Figures 4 and 5 terminal fittings 23A-C) electrically coupled to the Z-direction piezoelectric driver ([0058] terminal fittings 23A-C are electrically coupled to AF driving part 14), and configured to generate the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal ([0113]-[0114] resonance part 31 of AF driving part 14 has at least two resonant frequencies which are caused by different voltages and therefore electrical signals) based on an auto focus signal ([0041] auto focus function) to enable the Z-direction piezoelectric driver to perform a Z-direction drive action ([0115] AF driving part deforms based on voltage).
Sugawara fails to teach the Z-direction drive action comprises: the Z-direction base block extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to abut against the carrier; the Z-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction; the Z-direction base block contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to leave the carrier; and the Z-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to move back to an initial location.
However, Kuwano teaches the Z-direction drive action (Figures 3A-3D) comprises:
the Z-direction base block extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to abut against the carrier (Figure 3A to 3B lift driving body 23 extends, [0058]);
the Z-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to drive the carrier to move in the Z direction (Figure 3B to 3C slide driving body 24 extends, [0058]);
the Z-direction base block contracts to drive the Z-direction touch block to leave the carrier (Figure 3C to 3D lift driving body 23 contracts, [0059]); and
the Z-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Z-direction touch block to move back to an initial location (Figure 3D to 3A slide driving body 24 contracts and slider 22 is back to its initial position, [0059]).
Kuwano further teaches the Z-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) and driving action (Figures 3A-3D) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by using the Z-direction drive action taught by Kuwano in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]).
Claims 3-5, 10-11, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0016060, of record) in view of Kuwano (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0284098, of record) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and in further view of Huang (Chinese Patent Publication CN 103176261A (machine translation) – cited by Applicant, of record).
Regarding claim 3, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Sugawara further teaches the carrier is slidably coupled to the frame ([0056] movable part 11 moves). Sugawara and Kuwano fail to teach a first magnetic member embedded in the frame; and a second magnetic member embedded in the carrier, wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are magnetically attracted to each other.
However, Huang teaches a camera driving device (Figure 1) with a first magnetic member embedded in the frame (Figure 2 magnet 16 on fixed frame 11, [0030]); and a second magnetic member embedded in the carrier (Figure 2 magnet 17 on moveable part 12, [0030]), wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are magnetically attracted to each other ([0032] magnets 16 and 17 are attracted to each other). Huang further teaches using magnets to fix the movable relative to the frame so the lens module has an initial state ([0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by adding the magnets taught by Huang in order to allow the carrier to have an initial fixed state relative to the frame (Huang [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Sugawara, Kuwano, and Huang teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 3. Sugawara further teaches at least one ball located between the carrier and the frame and configured to roll when the carrier slides relative to the frame (Figure 10 AF support part (ball) 15 between movable part 11 and first stage 12, [0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Sugawara, Kuwano, and Huang teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 4. Sugawara further teaches the frame comprises a first groove (Figure 13 ball fixing part 124 on first stage 12, [0093]), wherein an extension direction of the first groove is parallel to the Z direction (Figure 12 ball fixing part 124 is parallel to the Z direction), wherein the carrier comprises a second groove disposed opposite to the first groove (Figure 13 ball housing 113 on movable part 11, [0086]), and wherein the at least one ball is positioned to roll within the limits of the first groove and the second groove (Figure 10 AF support part (ball) 15 between movable part 11 and first stage 12, [0086]).
Regarding claim 10, Sugawara, Kuwano, and Huang teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 6. Sugawara further teaches the frame is slidably coupled to the base ([0052] OIS movable part 10 including first stage 12 and second stage 13 move in the X and Y direction relative to base 21). Sugawara and Kuwano fail to teach a first magnetic member embedded in the frame; and a second magnetic member embedded in the carrier, wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are magnetically attracted to each other.
However, Huang teaches a camera driving device (Figure 1) with a first magnetic member embedded in the base (Figure 2 magnet 16 on fixed frame 11, [0030]); and a second magnetic member embedded in the frame (Figure 2 magnet 17 on moveable part 12, [0030]), wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are magnetically attracted to each other ([0032] magnets 16 and 17 are attracted to each other). Huang further teaches using magnets to fix the movable relative to the frame so the lens module has an initial state ([0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by adding the magnets taught by Huang in order to allow the frame to have an initial fixed state relative to the base (Huang [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Sugawara, Kuwano, and Huang teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Sugawara further teaches at least one ball located between the carrier and the frame and configured to roll when the carrier slides relative to the frame (Figure 10 AF support part (ball) 15 between movable part 11 and first stage 12, [0086]).
Regarding claim 20, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 18. Sugawara further teaches the carrier is slidably coupled to the frame ([0056] movable part 11 moves). Sugawara and Kuwano fail to teach a first magnetic member embedded in the frame; and a second magnetic member embedded in the carrier, wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are magnetically attracted to each other.
However, Huang teaches a camera driving device (Figure 1) with a first magnetic member embedded in the frame (Figure 2 magnet 16 on fixed frame 11, [0030]); and a second magnetic member embedded in the carrier (Figure 2 magnet 17 on moveable part 12, [0030]), wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are magnetically attracted to each other ([0032] magnets 16 and 17 are attracted to each other). Huang further teaches using magnets to fix the movable relative to the frame so the lens module has an initial state ([0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by adding the magnets taught by Huang in order to allow the carrier to have an initial fixed state relative to the frame (Huang [0026]).
Regarding claim 21, Sugawara, Kuwano, and Huang teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 20. Sugawara further teaches at least one ball located between the carrier and the frame and configured to roll when the carrier slides relative to the frame (Figure 10 AF support part (ball) 15 between movable part 11 and first stage 12, [0086]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0016060, of record) and Kuwano (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0284098, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Seki (International Publication No. WO 2004/036727 A2, of record).
Regarding claim 8, Sugawara and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Sugawara further teaches:
a base (Figure 4 base 21), comprising a second inner side (Figure 4 base 21 has an inner side), wherein the frame is disposed on the second inner side (Figure 4 base 21 has an inner side where first stage 12 and second stage 13 are disposed) and moveable in an X direction and a Y direction relative to the base ([0052] OIS movable part 10 including first stage 12 and second stage 13 move in the X and Y direction), and wherein the X direction, the Y direction, and the Z direction are perpendicular to each other (Figure 4 X, Y, and Z directions are perpendicular to each other) and wherein the XY plane is perpendicular to the Z direction (Figure 4 XY plane is perpendicular to the Z direction).
Sugawara and Kuwano fail to teach an XY-direction piezoelectric driver located between the base and the frame and comprising: an XY-direction base block comprising: a fifth end fastened to the base; and a sixth end; an X-direction extend block comprising: a seventh end fastened to the sixth end; and an eighth end; a Y-direction extend block comprising: a ninth end fastened to the eighth end; and a tenth end; and an XY-direction touch block fastened to the tenth end, wherein the XY-direction base block, the X-direction extend block, the Y- direction extend block, and the XY-direction touch block are stacked, wherein the XY-direction base block is configured to deform based on a third electrical signal to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame or leave the frame, wherein the X-direction extend block is configured to deform based on an a fourth electrical signal to drive the XY-direction touch block to move in the X direction, wherein the Y-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a fifth electrical signal to drive the XY-direction touch block to move in the Y direction, wherein the XY-direction touch block is configured to abut against the frame; wherein the XY-direction touch block is configured to drive the frame to move on an XY plane when the X-direction extend block or the Y-direction extend block deforms.
However, Seki teaches a piezoelectric driving device (Figure 3) with an XY-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 3 driving element 307) located between the base and the bracket (Page 14 lines 6-10 driving element 307 is fixed at top face relative to base 112) and comprising:
an XY-direction base block (Figure 3 z-extendable piezoelectric element 303, page 13 lines 23-24) comprising:
a fifth end fastened to the base (Figure 3 top of z-extendable element 303); and
a sixth end (Figure 3 bottom of z-extendable element 303);
an X-direction extend block (Figure 3 y-shearing piezoelectric element 302, page 13 lines 22-23) comprising:
a seventh end fastened to the sixth end (Figure 3 top of y-shearing element 302 fastened to bottom of z-extendable element 303); and
an eighth end (Figure 3 bottom of y-shearing element 302);
a Y-direction extend block (Figure 3 x-shearing piezoelectric element 301, page 13 line 22) comprising:
a ninth end fastened to the eighth end (Figure 3 top of x-shearing element 301 fastened to bottom of y-shearing element 302); and
a tenth end (Figure 3 bottom of x-shearing element 301); and
an XY-direction touch block fastened to the tenth end (Figure 3 oscillator 108 fastened to the bottom of x-shearing element 301, page 14 lines 10-11),
wherein the XY-direction base block, the X-direction extend block, the Y- direction extend block, and the XY-direction touch block are stacked (Figure 3 z-extendable 303, y-shearing 302, and x-shearing 301 elements are stacked),
wherein the XY-direction base block is configured to deform based on a third electrical signal to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame or leave the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123, Page 13 line 25- page 14 17 control signal sent by z-driving circuit 104),
wherein the X-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a fourth electrical signal to drive the XY-direction touch block to move in the X direction (Figure 3 arrow 122, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 17 control signal sent by y-driving circuit 103),
wherein the Y-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a fifth electrical signal to drive the XY-direction touch block to move in the Y direction (Figure 3 arrow 121, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 17 control signal sent by x-driving circuit 102),
wherein the XY-direction touch block is configured to abut against the frame (Page 14 lines 10-13 oscillator 108 abuts table 111);
wherein the XY-direction touch block is configured to drive the frame to move on an XY plane when the X-direction extend block or the Y-direction extend block deforms (Page 13 lines 19-21 table 111 is movable in the in XY plane, Page 14 lines 10-13 oscillator 108 drive movement).
Seki further teaches the piezoelectric driving device allows movement to be conducted with extremely high resolution (Page 17 lines 1-2) with a compact mechanism (Page 2 line 27-page 3 line 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by adding the XY-direction piezoelectric driver taught by Seki in order to allow for XY movement to be conducted with high resolution with a compact mechanism (Seki Page 17 lines 1-2; Page 2 line 27-page 3 line 1).
Regarding claim 9, Sugawara, Kuwano, and Seki teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 8. Sugawara and Kuwano fail to teach an XY-direction drive circuit electrically coupled to the XY-direction piezoelectric driver and configured to generate the third electrical signal, the fourth electrical signal, and the fifth electrical signal based on an image stabilization signal to enable the XY-direction piezoelectric driver to perform an X-direction drive action, a Y-direction drive action, or an XY-direction drive action, wherein the X-direction drive action comprises: the XY-direction base block extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame; the X-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the X direction; the XY-direction base block contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to leave the frame; and the X-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to move back to a first initial location, wherein the Y-direction drive action comprises: the XY-direction base block extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame; the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the Y direction; the XY-direction base block contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to leave the frame; and the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to move back to a second initial location, and wherein the XY-direction drive action comprises: the XY-direction base block extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame; the X-direction extend block extends or contracts, and the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts, to drive the XY-direction touch block to drive the frame to move on the XY plane; the XY-direction base block contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to leave the frame; and the X-direction extend block contracts or extends, and the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends, to drive the XY-direction touch block to move back to a third initial location.
However, Seki teaches an XY-direction drive circuit electrically (Figure 3 position controlling circuit 101, Page 14 line 14-15) coupled to the XY-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 3 driving element 307) and configured to generate the third electrical signal (Page 14 lines 15-17 control signal sent by z-driving circuit 104), the fourth electrical signal (Page 14 lines 15-17 control signal sent by y-driving circuit 103), and the fifth electrical signal (Page 14 lines 15-17 control signal sent by x-driving circuit 102) based on an image stabilization signal to enable the XY-direction piezoelectric driver to perform an X-direction drive action, a Y-direction drive action, or an XY-direction drive action (Page 16 lines 17-27 X, Y, and XY drive actions), wherein the X-direction drive action comprises:
the XY-direction base block extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 z-extendable element 303 extends);
the X-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the X direction (Figure 3 arrow 122 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 y-shearing element 302 deforms to move table 111);
the XY-direction base block contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to leave the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3); and
the X-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to move back to a first initial location (Figure 3 arrow 122 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3),
wherein the Y-direction drive action comprises:
the XY-direction base block extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 z-extendable element 303 extends);
the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to drive the frame to move in the Y direction (Figure 3 arrow 121, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 x-shearing element 301 deforms to move table 111);
the XY-direction base block contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to leave the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3); and
the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to move back to a second initial location (Figure 3 arrow 121, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3), and
wherein the XY-direction drive action comprises:
the XY-direction base block extends to drive the XY-direction touch block to abut against the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 z-extendable element 303 extends);
the X-direction extend block extends or contracts (Figure 3 arrow 122 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 y-shearing element 302 deforms to move table 111), and the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts (Figure 3 arrow 121, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3, Page 16 lines 17-27 x-shearing element 301 deforms to move table 111), to drive the XY-direction touch block to drive the frame to move on the XY plane (Page 13 lines 19-21 table 111 is movable in the in XY plane, Page 14 lines 10-13 oscillator 108 drive movement);
the XY-direction base block contracts to drive the XY-direction touch block to leave the frame (Figure 3 arrow 123 Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3); and
the X-direction extend block contracts or extends, and the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends, to drive the XY-direction touch block to move back to a third initial location (Figure 3 arrows 121 and 122, Page 13 line 25- page 14 line 3).
Seki further teaches the piezoelectric driving device allows movement to be conducted with extremely high resolution (Page 17 lines 1-2) with a compact mechanism (Page 2 line 27-page 3 line 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Sugawara and Kuwano by adding the driving actions taught by Seki in order to allow for XY movement to be conducted with high resolution with a compact mechanism (Seki Page 17 lines 1-2; Page 2 line 27-page 3 line 1).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Chinese Patent Publication CN 111246070 A (machine translation) – cited by Applicant, of record) in view of Kuwano (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0284098, of record).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches an ultrasonic piezoelectric motor (Figure 1) comprising:
a bracket (Figure 1 housing 110) comprising:
an installation space (Figure 1 housing 110 has an installation space); and
a light-passing hole open to the installation space (Figure 1 light inlet 112, [0053]);
a carrier (Figure 1 lens group 120, [0060]) disposed in the installation space (Figure 1 lens group 120 is in housing 110) moveable in a Y direction relative to the bracket ([0060] movable in X-axis direction which is perpendicular to the optical axis, [0057]), and configured to receive a camera lens comprising an optical axis ([0035] lens group 120 has a lens with an optical axis), wherein the Y direction is perpendicular to the optical axis ([0057] X-axis direction is perpendicular to the optical axis);
a rotating frame (Figure 1 light path changing element 160) disposed in the installation space and can rotatable around the Y direction relative to the bracket (Figure 4, [0056] light path changing element 160 rotates about X-axis direction);
a reflector fastened to the rotating frame (Figure 1 light path changing element 160, [0053]) and configured to reflect a light ray from the light-passing hole to the camera lens ([0053] light path changing element 160 reflects light from light inlet 112);
a Y-direction piezoelectric driver located between the bracket and the carrier (Figure 1 anti-shake mechanism 180 between housing and lens group 120, [0060]) and the XZ direction is perpendicular to the Y direction (Figure 4 XZ direction is perpendicular to Y direction).
Zhu fails to teach a Y-direction base block comprising: a first piezoelectric material; a first end fastened to the bracket; and a second end; a Y-direction extend block comprising: a second piezoelectric material; a third end fastened to the second end; and a fourth end; and a Y-direction touch block is fastened to the fourth end, wherein the Y-direction base block is configured to deform based on a first electrical signal to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the carrier or leave the carrier, and wherein the first end is configured to receive a first positive polarity or a first negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the first positive polarity or the first negative polarity of the first electrical signal, wherein the Y-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a second electrical signal to drive the Y-direction touch block to move in the Y direction, and wherein the Y-direction touch block is configured to drive the carrier to move in the Y direction when the Y-direction touch block abuts against the carrier and the Y- direction extend block deforms; an XZ-direction piezoelectric driver located between the bracket and the rotating frame and comprising: an XZ-direction base block comprising: a third piezoelectric material; a fifth end fastened to the bracket; and a sixth end; an XZ-direction extend block comprising: a fourth piezoelectric material; a seventh end fastened to the sixth end; and an eighth end; and an XZ-direction touch block fastened to the eighth end, wherein the XZ-direction base block is configured to deform based on a third electrical signal to drive the XZ-direction touch block to abut against the rotating frame or leave the rotating frame, and wherein the fifth end is configured to receive a second positive polarity or a second negative polarity of the third electrical signal and the sixth end is configured to receive another of the second positive polarity or the second negative polarity of the first electric signal, wherein the XZ-direction extend block is configured to deform based on a fourth electrical signal to drive the XZ-direction touch block to move in an XZ direction, and wherein the XZ-direction touch block is configured to drive the rotating frame to rotate when the XZ-direction touch block abuts against the rotating frame and the XZ-direction extend block deforms.
However, Kuwano teaches a piezoelectric driver for a camera module (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) with a Y-direction base block (Figure 1 lifter 21 and lift driving body 23, [0047]) comprising:
a first piezoelectric material ([0050] lifting driving body 23 is a piezoelectric material);
a first end fastened to the bracket (Figure 1 first end of lift driving body 23 is disposed on base, see labeled figure below, [0047]); and
a second end (Figure 1 top of lift driving body 23, see figure below);
a Y-direction extend block (Figure 1 slide driving body 24, [0047]) comprising:
a second piezoelectric material ([0050] slide driving body 24 is a piezoelectric material)
a third end fastened to the second end (Figure 1 third end of slide driving body 24 is connected to second end of lift driving body 23 through lifter 21, see figure below); and
a fourth end (Figure 1 fourth end of slide body 24, see figure below); and
a Y-direction touch block is fastened to the fourth end (Figure 1 slider 22 connected to fourth end, see figure below),
wherein the Y-direction base block (lifter 21 and lift driving body 23) is configured to deform based on a first electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the carrier or leave the carrier (Figure 3A and 3C lift driving body 23 extends and contracts causing slider 22 to abut or leave the moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]),
wherein the Y-direction extend block (slide driving body 24) is configured to deform based on a second electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) to drive the Y-direction touch block to move in the Y direction (Figure 3B and 3D slide driving body 24 moves slider 22 in Y direction, [0058]-[0059]), and
wherein the Y-direction touch block (slider 22) is configured to drive the carrier to move in the Y direction when the Y-direction touch block abuts against the carrier and the Y- direction extend block deforms (Figure 3B and 3C moving member 12 moves when slide body 24 deforms and slider 22 abuts moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]);
an XZ-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) located between the bracket and the rotating frame and comprising:
an XZ-direction base block (Figure 1 lifter 21 and lift driving body 23, [0047]) comprising:
a third piezoelectric material ([0050] lifting driving body 23 is a piezoelectric material);
a fifth end fastened to the bracket (Figure 1 fifth end of lift driving body 23 is disposed on base, see labeled figure below, [0047]); and
a sixth end (Figure 1 top of lift driving body 23, see figure below);
an XZ-direction extend block (Figure 1 slide driving body 24, [0047]) comprising:
a fourth piezoelectric material ([0050] slide driving body 24 is a piezoelectric material)
a seventh end fastened to the sixth end (Figure 1 seventh end of slide driving body 24 is connected to sixth end lift driving body 23 through lifter 21, see figure below); and
an eighth end (Figure 1 eighth end of slide body 24, see figure below); and
an XZ-direction touch block fastened to the eighth end (Figure 1 slider 22 connected to eighth end, see figure below),
wherein the XZ-direction base block (lifter 21 and lift driving body 23) is configured to deform based on a third electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) to drive the XZ-direction touch block to abut against the rotating frame or leave the rotating frame (Figure 3A and 3C lift driving body 23 extends and contracts causing slider 22 to abut or leave the moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]),
wherein the XZ-direction extend block (slide driving body 24) is configured to deform based on a fourth electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) to drive the XZ-direction touch block to move in an XZ direction (Figure 3B and 3D slide driving body 24 moves slider 22 in Y direction, [0058]-[0059]),
wherein the XZ-direction touch block (slider 22) is configured to drive the rotating frame to rotate when the XZ-direction touch block abuts against the rotating frame and the XZ-direction extend block deforms (Figure 3B and 3C moving member 12 moves when slide body 24 deforms and slider 22 abuts moving member 12, [0058]-[0059]).
Kuwano further teaches lift driving body 23 receives voltage signals from driving circuits from control device 30 ([0050]) but is silent as to the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal and the fifth end is configured to receive a second positive polarity or second negative polarity of the third electrical signal and the sixth end is configured to receive another of the second positive polarity or second negative polarity of the third electrical signal. However arranging the circuit such that the first end is configured to receive a positive polarity or a negative polarity of the first electrical signal, the second end is configured to receive another of the positive polarity or the negative polarity of the first electrical signal, the fifth end is configured to receive a second positive polarity or second negative polarity of the third electrical signal, and the sixth end is configured to receive another of the second positive polarity or second negative polarity of the third electrical signal would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to complete the circuit and allow for proper expansion and contraction of the piezoelectric materials.
Kuwano further teaches the Y and XZ piezoelectric drivers (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezoelectric driver taught by Zhu by using the piezoelectric driver taught by Kuwano in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to orientate the piezoelectric drivers to drive movement of the carrier in the Y direction and movement in the XZ direction to rotate the rotating frame.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Zhu fails to teach a Y-direction drive circuit electrically coupled to the Y-direction piezoelectric driver and configured to generate the first electrical signal and the second electrical signal based on a first image stabilization signal to enable the Y-direction piezoelectric driver to perform a Y-direction drive action, wherein the Y-direction drive action comprises: the Y-direction base block extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the carrier; the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to drive the carrier to move in the Y direction; the Y-direction base block contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to leave the carrier; and the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to move back to a first initial location; and an XZ-direction drive circuit electrically coupled to the XZ-direction piezoelectric driver and configured to generate the third electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal based on an auto focus signal and a second image stabilization signal to drive the XZ- direction piezoelectric driver to perform an XZ-direction drive action, wherein the XZ-direction drive action comprises: the XZ-direction base block extends to drive the XZ-direction touch block to abut against the rotating frame; the XZ-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the XZ-direction touch block to move in the XZ-direction and drive the rotating frame to rotate around the Y direction; the XZ-direction base block contracts to drive the XZ-direction touch block to leave the rotating frame; and the XZ-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the XZ-direction touch block to move back to a second initial location.
However, Kuwano teaches a Y-direction drive circuit (Figure 2A-B, [0057]) electrically coupled to the Y-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) and configured to generate the first electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) and the second electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) based on a first image stabilization signal to enable the Y-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) to perform a Y-direction drive action (Figure 3A-D), wherein the Y-direction drive action comprises:
the Y-direction base block extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to abut against the carrier (Figure 3A to 3B lift driving body 23 extends, [0058]);
the Y-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to drive the carrier to move in the Y direction (Figure 3B to 3C slide driving body 24 extends, [0058]);
the Y-direction base block contracts to drive the Y-direction touch block to leave the carrier (Figure 3C to 3D lift driving body 23 contracts, [0059]); and
the Y-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the Y-direction touch block to move back to a first initial location (Figure 3D to 3A slide driving body 24 contracts and slider 22 is back to its initial position, [0059]); and
an XZ-direction drive circuit (Figure 2A-B, [0057]) electrically coupled to the XZ-direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) and configured to generate the third electrical signal (Figure 2A top graph, [0057]) and the fourth electrical signal (Figure 2A bottom graph, [0057]) based on an auto focus signal and a second image stabilization signal to drive the XZ- direction piezoelectric driver (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) to perform an XZ-direction drive action (Figure 3A-D), wherein the XZ-direction drive action comprises:
the XZ-direction base block extends to drive the XZ-direction touch block to abut against the rotating frame (Figure 3A to 3B lift driving body 23 extends, [0058]);
the XZ-direction extend block extends or contracts to drive the XZ-direction touch block to move in the XZ-direction and drive the rotating frame to rotate around the Y direction (Figure 3B to 3C slide driving body 24 extends, [0058]);
the XZ-direction base block contracts to drive the XZ-direction touch block to leave the rotating frame (Figure 3C to 3D lift driving body 23 contracts, [0059]); and
the XZ-direction extend block contracts or extends to drive the XZ-direction touch block to move back to a second initial location (Figure 3D to 3A slide driving body 24 contracts and slider 22 is back to its initial position, [0059]).
Kuwano further teaches the Y and XZ piezoelectric drivers (Figure 1 driving mechanism 20) and drive action (Figures 3A-D) allows for reduced abrasion from scraping between components and reduces vibration to allow for high driving precision ([0065]-[0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezoelectric driver taught by Zhu by using the piezoelectric driver and drive action taught by Kuwano in order to reduce abrasion and vibration to allow for high driving precision (Kuwano [0065]-[0066]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to orientate the piezoelectric drivers to drive movement of the carrier in the Y direction for image stabilization and movement in the XZ direction to rotate the rotating frame for image stabilization and autofocus.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Chinese Patent Publication CN 111246070 A (machine translation) – cited by Applicant, of record) in view of Kuwano (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0284098, of record) as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Bachar et al. (Internation Publication No. WO 2017/208090 A1 – hereinafter referred to as “Bachar” , of record).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Zhu and Kuwano fail to teach the rotating frame comprises: a fastening groove, wherein the reflector is mounted in the fastening groove; and a touch surface disposed opposite to the fastening groove, wherein the touch surface is a curved surface, and wherein the XZ-direction touch block is configured to touch the touch surface when abutting against the rotating frame.
However, Bachar teaches a rotating reflector for a camera module (Figure 1A) where the rotating frame (Figure 1B optical element holder 102, Page 6 line 16 ) comprises:
a fastening groove (Figure 1B optical element holder 102 has opening), wherein the reflector is mounted in the fastening groove (Page 6 lines 16-17 optical element holder 102 is molded to fit element OPFE 150); and
a touch surface disposed opposite to the fastening groove (Figure 1C grooves 102a and 102b are opposite opening of optical element holder 102),
wherein the touch surface is a curved surface (Figures 1C-D grooves 102a and b are curved, Page 6 lines 25-29).
Bachar further teaches using a curved surface to confine movement of the reflector to the rotation axis (Page 8 lines 18-21) and have better drop resistance (Page 2 lines 12-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Zhu and Kuwano by adding the curved touch surface taught by Bachar in to confine movement of the reflector to the rotation axis (Bachar Page 8 lines 18-21) and have better drop resistance (Bachar Page 2 lines 12-13) and one having ordinary skill in the art would be able to arrange the XZ-direction piezoelectric driver to touch the touch surface to actuate the reflector.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Chinese Patent Publication CN 111246070 A (machine translation) – cited by Applicant, of record) in view of Kuwano (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0284098, of record) as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Im et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0224665 – hereinafter referred to as “Im” , of record).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu and Kuwano teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 12. Zhu further teaches the carrier is further configured to slidably couple to the bracket ([0060]). Zhu and Kuwano fail to teach a first magnetic member embedded in the bracket; and a second magnetic member embedded in the carrier, wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are attracted to each other.
However, Im teaches a camera module (Figure 4) with a first magnetic member (Figure 4 yoke 1260, [0152] yoke 1260 is made of a magnetic material) embedded in the bracket ([0152] yoke 1260 is on housing 1010) and a second magnetic member (Figure 4 magnet 1241a) embedded in the carrier (Figure 4 magnet 1241a is embedded in lens holder 1220, [0132]), wherein the second magnetic member and the first magnetic member are attracted to each other ([0153] attractive force generated between yoke 1260 and magnet 1241a). Im further teaches using magnetic members to generate an attractive force to keep the carrier in contact with the guiding surface ([0153]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Zhu and Kuwano by adding the magnetic members taught by Im to the bracket and carrier in order to generate an attractive force to keep the carrier in contact with the guiding surface (Im [0153]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu, Kuwano, and Im teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 15. Zhu and Kuwano fail to teach at least one ball located between the carrier and the bracket and configured to roll when the carrier slides relative to the bracket. However Im teaches at least one ball located between the carrier and the bracket (Figure 4 ball members 1250 between lens holder 1220 and housing 1010, [0143]) and configured to roll when the carrier slides relative to the bracket ([0145] ball members 1250 roll). Im further teaches using the ball members as bearing to guide the movement of the lens holder and maintain spacing between the lens holder and housing ([0144)]. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor taught by Zhu and Kuwano by adding the ball members taught by Im between the carrier and bracket in order to guide the movement of the carrier and provide spacing between the carrier and bracket (Im [0144]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872