DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the request for continued examination correspondence filed 01/27/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15, & 17-22 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/Applicant Amendments, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-15, & 17-22 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the claim amendments warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinzheng et al (WO2018040039) in view of Zhang et al (US20200107323) in further view of Wu et al (US-20210298108-A1) in further view of Yoo et al (US20090279495A1) in further view of Shih et al (US20200137760A1).
Regarding claim 22 (and method claim 1), Xinzheng a user equipment, UE, comprising:
a processor (English Translation pg. 5 paragraph 8, processor);
wireless communication hardware (English Translation pg. 5 paragraph 8, processor); and
computer-readable storage media storing instructions that make the processor (English translation pg. 16 paragraph 2; computer readable storage media and other processing devices) and the wireless communication hardware to:
determine whether an amount of uplink (UL) data to transmit to a base station is below a threshold size value (English translation, pg. 1 Abstract and claim 1, the small data is data whose data amount is less than a present data amount threshold; defines and uses the notion of “small data: as data whose amount is less than a present threshold and teaches the UE/BS logic around identifying that small data for use of a simplified/special transmission procedure); and
But Xinzheng fails to teach—
responsive to determining that the amount of UL data is below the threshold size value:
determine that the UE has a time alignment with a base station for an uplink (UL) transmission to the base station, wherein to determine that the UE has the time alignment with the base station is based on an amount of time elapsed since the UE last received a timing advance from the base station;
perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure based on a determination that a time resource for the UL transmission is available on a contention-based bandwidth part (BWP); and
transmit the UL data within a subframe of a radio frame without transmitting random access preamble within the radio frame, the subframe being within the time resource in accordance with the time alignment, while the UE is in an idle state.
However, Zhang teaches—
perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure based on a determination that a time resource for the UL transmission is available on a contention-based bandwidth part (BWP) ([0035], [0140]-[0146], [0149], [0160]-[0161], claim paragraphs 1 & 20; discloses performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) or clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure on a specified portion of a contention-based BWP to verify channel availability before initiating uplink transmission; the UE then transmits on that BWP when it determines the channel is clear); and
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng with Zhang because both references address improving the efficiency of wireless data transmission and control signaling in advance radio communication systems. Xinzheng focuses on reducing signaling overhead and transmission delay by allowing a base station to embed small data in a paging message, while Zhang teaches efficient spectrum use and transmission coordination through contention-based access (LBT) and dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management in unlicensed spectrum. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply Zhang’s BWP-based LBT and dynamic access mechanisms to Xinzheng’s small data transmission procedure to enable efficient paging and small data delivery over contention-based or shared spectrum resources, ensuring that paging-based small data transmission can coexist fairly with other radio access technologies. The combination would predictably yield improved resource utilization, reduced latency, and coexistence efficiency during small data transmission, consistent with well-known design goals in NR and NR-U systems.
But Zhang fails to teach responsive to determining that the amount of UL data is below the threshold size value: determine that the UE has a time alignment with a base station for an uplink (UL) transmission to the base station, wherein to determine that the UE has the time alignment with the base station is based on an amount of time elapsed since the UE last received a timing advance from the base station; transmit data within the time resource in accordance with the time alignment, while the UE is in an idle state.
However, Wu teaches responsive to determining that the amount of UL data is below the threshold size value:
determine that the UE has a time alignment with a base station for an uplink (UL) transmission to the base station, wherein to determine that the UE has the time alignment with the base station is based on an amount of time elapsed since the UE last received a timing advance from the base station ([0012], [0016], [0373]-[0376], [0385]-[0389], [0451]-[0458], discloses that the UE maintains UL time alignment using a TimeAlignmentTimer that runs from when the UE last received a TA command from the base station; when the timer expires, the TA becomes invalid, and the UE must reacquire timing through PRACH or DCI-based TA update; thus the UE determines it remains time-aligned based on the elapsed time since the last timing advance—matching the limitation)
However Wu fails but Yoo teaches transmit the UL data within a subframe of a radio frame without transmitting random access preamble within the radio frame, the subframe being within the time resource in accordance with the time alignment, while the UE is in an idle state ([0048]-[0049], [0052]-[0053], [0058], [0068], teaches UL data is sent on UL-SCH/PUSCH and transmission depends on maintained time-alignment).
However, Shih remedies the gap left by Yoo in regards to without transmitting a random access preamble within the radio frame ([0341], [0384]-[0385], teaches the missing concepts that the UE may transmit in RRC-IDLE using dedicated preconfigured uplink resources (PUR), where the PUR is a configured time-frequency/time-domain resource, the UE must have valid TA, and the UE need not initiate RA, thereby avoiding the random access preamble).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-10, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinzheng in view of Zhang in further view of Wu, in further view of Yoo in further view of Shih in further view of Zhou et al (US20190141546) (hereinafter "Zhou").
Regarding claim 2, Xinzheng, Zhang, and Yoo and Shih fails to teach the method wherein:
the time resource starts at a first boundary of an Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, wherein the first boundary does not coincide with a second boundary of a timeslot made up of a plurality of OFDM symbols.
However, Zhou teaches the method wherein:
the time resource starts at a first boundary of an Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, wherein the first boundary does not coincide with a second boundary of a timeslot made up of a plurality of OFDM symbols ([0170], discloses a mini-slot may start at an OFDM symbol in subframe. A mini-slot may have a duration of one or more OFDM symbols—this directly supports the idea that a transmission (i.e. time resource) may begin at an arbitrary OFDM symbol boundary, rather than the start of a full timeslot—the phrase “may start at an OFDM symbol” implies flexibility in the starting point of the transmission, and it doesn’t require alignment with a slot boundary, the slot is defined as including a plurality of OFDM symbols; which means the first boundary of the time resource (mini-slot) is not necessarily aligned with the second boundary of a timeslot).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 3, Xinzheng, Zhang, and Wu fail to teach the method wherein:
the radio frame includes a fixed duration and the subframe includes a plurality of OFDM symbols
However, Zhou teaches the method wherein:
the radio frame includes a fixed duration and the subframe includes a plurality of OFDM symbols ([0170], discloses a radio frame duration is 10 msec…each 10 msec radio frame…divided into ten equally sized subframes…, subframes may consist of two or more slots…A slot may start at an OFDM symbol in a subframe…duration of one or more OFDM symbols; the radio frame has a fixed duration, subframes are part of the radio frame, transmissions (e.g. via mini-slots or regular slots) occur in subframes), subframes contain multiple OFDM symbols);
the method further comprising: not transmitting a random access preamble within the radio frame ([0405], discloses if the SCell is deactivated…[the UE] may not transmit on a RACH on the SCell…the ongoing random access procedure on the SCell, if any, may be aborted.; this discusses the conditional suppression of RACH transmissions, not transmitting a random access preamble).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 5, Xinzheng, fails to teach the method wherein determining that the time resource is available comprises:
performing a listen-before-talk(LBT) procedure.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein determining that the time resource is available comprises:
performing a listen-before-talk(LBT) procedure ([0025], [0140]-[0142], [0147], [0152]-[0154] defined CCA, NR-U, LBT/CCA context), IS/LBT on default BWP; UE activation of BWPs/LBT success examples; focuses on NR-U, explicitly defines CCA/LBT and describes UE behavior where the UE or transmitter performs LBT/CCA on a BWP or portion (A(BWP1, BWP2)) and only proceeds to use a wider BWP or transmit after successful LBT/CCA)—which is directly equal to performing a CCA procedure…” in response to a decision to send).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 6, Xinzheng, Zhang, Yoo and Shih fails to teach the method further comprising:
receiving an indication of an MCS to be used in the contention-based BWP; wherein the transmitting conforms to the MCS.
However, Zhou teaches receiving an indication of an MCS to be used in the contention-based BWP; wherein the transmitting conforms to the MCS ([0332]-[0334], [0414]-[0415], discussion MCS assignment in the context of DL BWP switching, CSI measurement and DCI formats for both DL and UL, including UL grants that contain MCS fields; DCI for UL scheduling includes MCS fields, and refers to robust MCS assignment after DL BWP switching; if the BWP is active and UL is scheduled or granted by the network, interpretation that a contention-based resource could be subject to such MCS assignment via UL grant).
However, Zhang remedies the gap left by Zhou in regards to contention-based BWP in value ([0025], [0140]-[0142], [0147], [0152]-[0154] defined CCA, NR-U, LBT/CCA context), IS/LBT on default BWP; UE activation of BWPs/LBT success examples; focuses on NR-U, explicitly defines CCA/LBT and describes UE behavior where the UE or transmitter performs LBT/CCA on a BWP or portion (A(BWP1, BWP2)) and only proceeds to use a wider BWP or transmit after successful LBT/CCA)—which is directly equal to performing a CCA procedure…” in response to a decision to send)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 8, Xinzheng fails to teach the method wherein:
the transmitting occurs in a first instance, the method further comprising, in a second instance:
identifying, when the UE has the time alignment with the base station, a second resource on the contention-based BWP for transmitting a second UL data, and
in response to determining that the second resource is unavailable, performing a procedure for obtaining an UL grant for transmitting the second UL data.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein:
the transmitting occurs in a first instance, the method further comprising ([0215], [0235]-[0241], discusses the timeAlignmentTimer and conditions under which the UE is considered UL time-aligned; detail LBT (listen-before-talk) procedures, which are relevant to determining resource availability; time alignment disclosed, while LBT failures and subsequent procedures like UL grants request are discussed in general, time alignment and identifying a contention-based BWP resource, determining and unavailability seeking a UL grant disclosed by extension), in a second instance:
identifying, when the UE has the time alignment with the base station, a second resource on the contention-based BWP for transmitting a second UL data ([0215], [0235]-[0241], discusses the timeAlignmentTimer and conditions under which the UE is considered UL time-aligned; detail LBT (listen-before-talk) procedures, which are relevant to determining resource availability; time alignment disclosed, while LBT failures and subsequent procedures like UL grants request are discussed in general, time alignment and identifying a contention-based BWP resource, determining and unavailability seeking a UL grant disclosed by extension), and
in response to determining that the second resource is unavailable, performing a procedure for obtaining an UL grant for transmitting the second data ([0208], [0215], [0235]-[0241], [0323], discusses the timeAlignmentTimer and conditions under which the UE is considered UL time-aligned; detail LBT (listen-before-talk) procedures, which are relevant to determining resource availability; time alignment disclosed, while LBT failures and subsequent procedures like UL grants request are discussed in general, time alignment and identifying a contention-based BWP resource, determining and unavailability seeking a UL grant disclosed by extension; time alignment within TA groups—UL timing synchronization across cells in a TA group and indicating a timing reference (from PCell) is used to synchronized UL transmissions across multiple carriers; RACH procedures as being required on a SCell during activation, discusses that UL BWP activation may be required for the RACH, implying that RACH is necessary to establish UL resources when non are currently available—this suggests a conditional behavior: if the UL BWP isn’t active or the UE lacks UL timing, RACH is performed to re-establish grant based UL access).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 9, Xinzheng, Zhang, and Wu fails to teach the method of claim 8, wherein determining that the second resource is unavailable comprises failing an LBT procedure Ntimes, N>= 1.
However, Zhou teaches teach the method of claim 8, wherein determining that the second resource is unavailable comprises failing an LBT procedure Ntimes, N>= 1 ([0239], discloses by implication that channel access maybe deferred or blocked based on LBT failures (repeated high energy detection), which effectively makes the UL resource unavailable until a successful LBT completes; by analogy, supports the idea that transmission resources may be deemed unavailable after failed LBT attempts—leading to fallback mechanisms like RACH or rescheduling, explains multiple LBT categories involving random backoff and contention windows, with variable N values used to determine access timing; the concept of repeated LBT attempts using random backoff (where N is drawn multiple times) is present; directly supports the requirements of failing an LBT procedure N times where N <= 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 10, Xinzheng, Zhang, and Wu fails the method further comprising: receiving an acknowledgement for the UL data from the base station.
However, Zhou teaches the method further comprising: receiving an acknowledgement for the UL data from the base station ([0299-[0300], disclose the UE transmitting an acknowledgement (ACK/NACK), and the base station confirming switching completion based on the UE response; this refers to BWP switching ASCK/NACK different from data ACK – typical in NR that UL data transmissions on PUSCH receive ACK/NACK from the gNB).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 14, Xinzheng, Zhang, and Wu fails to teach the method wherein:
the contention-based BWP is a first contention-based BWP; and a second contention-based BWP comprises timeslots allocated by the base station for contention-based access.
However, Zhou teaches the method wherein:
the contention-based BWP is a first contention-based BWP ([0247]-[0250], [0318]-[0319] describe the configuration and activation of multiple UL BWPs, these include concepts of multiple BWP and their allocation, potentially including contention-based timeslots; disclosure the existence of multiple UL BWPs and by extension can support that some are contention-based—first and second contention based timeslots are disclosed by extension via multiple UL BWOs as contention-based); and a second contention-based BWP comprises timeslots allocated by the base station for contention-based access ([0247]-[0250], [0318]-[0319] describe the configuration and activation of multiple UL BWPs, these include concepts of multiple BWP and their allocation, potentially including contention-based timeslots; disclosure the existence of multiple UL BWPs and by extension can support that some are contention-based—first and second contention based timeslots are disclosed by extension via multiple UL BWOs as contention-based).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 20, Xinzheng, Zhang, and Wu fail to teach the method further comprising: selecting the MCS based on downlink (DL) signal measurements.
However, Zhou teaches the method further comprising: selecting the MCS based on downlink (DL) signal measurements ([0332]-[0333], states the network may assign robust MCS…based on RRM measurement reporting, and discusses use of CQI and RRM reports for MCS selection; explicitly link DL measurements (RRM, CQI) with MCS selection).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoo which teaches that UL data transmission is governed by maintained time alignment and occurs on standard UL-SCH/PUSCH UL resources with Shih, which teaches that the UE in RRC_IDLE may transmit UL data using dedicated preconfigured UL resources having configured time-domain/time-frequency resources, based on valid TA, and without initiating a random access procedure when PUR is available, in order to reduce signaling overhead, avoid unnecessary random-access latency, and enable efficient idle-state uplink timing alignment. Furthermore it would have been obvious to combine with Xinzheng, and Zhang, because both references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in 5G and NR-U system design.
Claims 11-13, 15, 17-19, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinzheng in view of Zhang in further view of Wu, in further view of Shih, in further view of Zhou in further view of Rastegardoost et al (US20200314913) (hereinafter "Rastegardoost").
Regarding claim 11, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail to teach the method of wherein the receiving of the acknowledgement occurs in a timeslot offset by a fixed interval from a timeslot that comprises the time resource.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method of wherein the receiving of the acknowledgement occurs in a timeslot offset by a fixed interval from a timeslot that comprises the time resource ([0262], discusses a PDSCH reception to a HARQ-ACK transmission timing value; a DCI detection to a PUSCH transmission timing value—suggesting timing relationships between transmission and ACK reception; and the concept of a fixed timing offset (HARQ timing) is suggested).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 12, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail the method further comprising: receiving an indication of the fixed interval from the base station.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method further comprising: receiving an indication of the fixed interval from the base station ([0262], discuses the based station semi-statically configuring timing values (e.g. PDSCH-to-HARQ-ACK) – base station provides configuration parameters related to timing offsets).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 13, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail the method wherein: the contention-based BWP is one of a plurality of contention-based BWPs which the base station supports for regular UL transmission.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method wherein: the contention-based BWP is one of a plurality of contention-based BWPs which the base station supports for regular UL transmission ([0256]-[0269], [0278], [0280], discusses multiple UL BWPs, default and configured BWPs, Switching between BWPs; contention-based nature of multiple BWPs used for regular UL transmission; further discloses that a UE may be configured with multiple UL BWPs and that initial BWP may be used for random access procedures; “contention-based” phrasing is included in the disclosure of RACH procedure is described and explicitly identified as “contention-based”, and it is performed on an initial configured UL BWP—this implies that random access is done on a configured BWP, and since RACH is a contention-based procedure, it follows by extension that the BWP used for RACH can be referred to as a contention-based BWP).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 15, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail to teach the method wherein the first contention-based BWP and the second contention-based BWP have different access schemes.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method wherein the first contention-based BWP and the second contention-based BWP have different access schemes ([0257]-[0268], [0278], [0280], , disclose multiple BWPs with different configurations, including different subcarrier spacings (e.g. 15 kHz vs. 60 kHz in BWP1/BWP3), which implies potentially different access characteristics and schemes—in a grant-free vs scheduled context; further discloses that a UE may be configured with multiple UL BWPs and that initial BWP may be used for random access procedures; “contention-based” phrasing is included in the disclosure of RACH procedure is described and explicitly identified as “contention-based”, and it is performed on an initial configured UL BWP—this implies that random access is done on a configured BWP, and since RACH is a contention-based procedure, it follows by extension that the BWP used for RACH can be referred to as a contention-based BWP).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 17, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail to teach the method, further comprising transmitting, within the time resource, an identifier of the UE.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method, further comprising transmitting, within the time resource, an identifier of the UE ([0281], refers to MSG3 in contention-based random access, which typically includes the UE identity (commonly C-RNTI), includes the UE identity in MSG3 content).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 18, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail to teach the method of claim 17, wherein the identifier is a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI).
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the identifier is a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) ([0338], [0341]-[0342], all discuss CRC scrambling of SCI with C-RNTI and usage of C-RNTI to identify the UE; MSG3 usually contains C-RNTI as part of contention resolution—role of C-RNTI in random access and DCI handling implies this identifier).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 19, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail to teach the method, further comprising: transmitting, within the time resource, an indication of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) the UE is using.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, within the time resource, an indication of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) the UE is using ([0281], [0337], [0399] discloses the MCS as part of uplink DCI formats, and discussion on random access procedure; includes MCS handling; refers to MSG3 in contention-based random access, which typically includes the UE identity (commonly C-RNTI), includes the UE identity in MSG3 content).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Regarding claim 21, Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou fail to teach the method, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a power control parameter; wherein the transmitting includes applying the power control parameter.
However, Rastegardoost teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a power control parameter; wherein the transmitting includes applying the power control parameter ([0280], [0337], references power ramping step (initial preamble power), which may involve base-station-configured power control; mentions TPC (transmit power control) for PUSCH in DCI for uplink in scheduling, application of the received parameter in transmission is implied).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine Xinzheng, Zhang, Wu, and Zhou because all the references address improving efficiency and latency in wireless data transmissions through optimized signaling and resource utilization. Xinzheng teaches embedding small data within a paging message to reduce signaling overhead and transmission time. Zhang discloses dynamic bandwidth part (BWP) management and listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures for enabling efficient and fair use of contention-based spectrum in NR-U environment. Wu teaches performing UL transmissions in RRC idle mode using preconfigured parameters and resources, thereby avoiding the delay and power consumption of transitioning to connect mode. Zhou discloses a general method, apparatus, and systems for CSI transmission with multiple BWP. Rastegardoost discloses a selection of random access procedure in a wireless system. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to integrated Zhang’s contention-based BWP access and Wu’s idle mode UL configuration into Xinzheng small data transmission framework to allow small data transmissions over preconfigured contention-based UL resources while maintaining coexistence efficiency and low signaling overhead. The combination would predictable enhance system responsiveness, power efficiency, and spectral efficiency, aligning with recognized objectives in %g and NR-U system design.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shih (US10701702B2) discloses a method and apparatus for transmission using preconfigured UL resources while in RRC idle or RRC inactive in a wireless communication system.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469