Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 6-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication WO 2019233311 to Xiao et al. (hereinafter Xiao) in view of US Publication US 2018/0220476 to Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung)
As to claims 1, 6 and 9, Xiao discloses a network distribution method, applied to a first terminal and comprising:
obtaining network distribution data of a target router sent from a second terminal (Xiao; Page 2, summery of the invention; Page 10, Step 101 discloses a user terminal obtaining a service set identifier and password of the network hotpot device and sending it to the network equipment) and;
accessing the target router according to the SSID of the target router encoded in the first encoding method and the SSID of the target router encoded in the second encoding method (Page 11; Step 104 discloses of accessing to the hotspot based on the SSID and password encoded in the different type of encoded method)
Xiao discloses the SSID and password encoded in the different type of encoded method, but fails to disclose of receiving SSID in wireless fidelity target frame. However, Jung discloses
obtaining network distribution data of a target router from a wireless fidelity (WiFi) target frame and target sequence of the target router (Jung; [0068] discloses a smart device access portion 230 acquires SSIDs of routers (=target router) that can be accessed by the IoT gateway 120 by scanning routers around the IoT gateway 120. When the SSIDs of the accessible routers are acquired, the smart device access portion 230 generates a list of accessible routers using the acquired SSIDs of the routers. In an exemplary embodiment, the smart device access portion 230 may generate a list of accessible routers by arranging SSIDs of routers in alphabetical order. [0007] discloses connect a gateway to a router in a wireless manner such as wireless fidelity (WiFi). However, to connect a gateway to a router in a wireless manner, it is necessary for the gateway to additionally have an input device or a display device for inputting or displaying a service set identification (SSID) and a password of the router [0075] discloses the router access portion 240 accesses the target router 110 in a wireless fidelity (WiFi) manner using the assigned IP band);
obtaining auxiliary information from the target frame, wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of: a string length of the target sequence, a check value of a service set identifier (SSID), and indicative information of an encoding method of the SSID (Jung; [0071]-[0072] discloses wherein the gateway terminal 120 can determine that acquired SSID of a router is in Korean or Extended Unix Code-Korean (EUC-KR) (= a encoded method) corresponding to auxiliary information wherein the auxiliary information comprises indicative information of an encoding method of the SSID. Here Jung is applied);
determining, according to the auxiliary information, the SSID of the target router encoded in a first encoding method and the SSID of the target router encoded in a second encoding method from the target (Jung; [0071]-[0072] discloses when a Korean SSID of a router acquired by the smart device access portion 230 is written in Extended Unix Code-Korean (EUC-KR) and the smart device 130 supports a Korean notation format of Unicode Transformation Format-8 (UTF-8), the smart device access portion 230 converts the acquired Korean SSID of the router into UTF-8 format and generate a list of accessible routers using the converted Korean SSID means a gateway terminal can determine first encoding method Extended Unix Code-Korean (EUC-KR) and second encoding method Unicode Transformation Format-8 (UTF-8))
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings so that the gateway terminal can provide a method that is supported by the smart device and based on the provided method, the smart device can select a target router.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Xiao-Jung discloses wherein the generating determining network distribution data of a target router, comprises:
obtaining an SSID of the target router stored in the second terminal (Xiao; pages 11-12, step 201-206);
determining whether an encoding method of the SSID of the target router stored in the second terminal is the first encoding method or not (Xiao; pages 11-12, step 201-206);; and
in the response to a determination that the encoding method of the SSID of the target router stored in the second terminal is not the first encoding method, generating the network distribution data of the target router according to the SSID of the target router encoded in the first encoding method and the SSID of the target router encoded in the second encoding method (Xiao; pages 11-12, step 201-206).
4. Claims 2-3 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication WO 2019233311 to Xiao et al. (hereinafter Xiao) in view of US Publication US 2018/0220476 to Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung) in view of CN 107797976 to Yu et al. (hereinafter Yu)
As to claims 2 and 11, Xiao-Jung discloses of sending SSID based on the first and second encoding method, but fails to disclose of sending second encoding method based on the feedback. However, Yu discloses wherein the network distribution data further comprises a password of the target router; and the accessing the target router, comprises:
sending a first access request to the target router, wherein the first access request comprises the SSID of the target router encoded in the first encoding method and the password
of the target router (Yu; Abstract, pages 3-4 step 110); and
receiving an access feedback sent from the target router, wherein the access feedback is used to indicate a successful access to the target router (Yu; Abstract, pages 3-4 step 110).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to make a decision based on the feedback
As to claims 3 and 12, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Xiao-Yu discloses wherein after the sending a first access request to the target router, the method further comprises:
receiving an error feedback sent from the router, wherein the error feedback is used to indicate that the target router fails to identify the SSID of the target router encoded in the first encoding method (Yu; Abstract, pages 3-4 step 110).;
sending a second access request to the target router, wherein the second access request comprises the SSID of the target router encoded in the second encoding method and the password of the target router (Yu; Abstract, pages 3-4 step 110).; and
receiving an access feedback sent from the target router, wherein the access feedback is used to indicate a successful access to the target router (Yu; Abstract, pages 3-4 step 110).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478