DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levi et al. (US Patent No. 7,229,612).
In regard to claims 1-2, Levi et al. teach a composition, comprising a carbohydrate, wherein the carbohydrate is citric acid a phosphorus-containing compound, wherein the phosphorus-containing compound is potassium dihydrogen phosphate (e.g. monopotassium phosphate), wherein a mass ratio of carbon in the carbohydrate to phosphorus in the phosphorus-containing compound is in a range of 1-13.3 : 1 (e.g. 1.65 :1), wherein there is 4.68875 g C in 12.5 g citric acid : 2.8450625 g P in 12.5 g monopotassium phosphate [col. 3, lines 50-65; Example 1; Composition 1.1]. While Levi does not describe the mixed solution as a “fertilizer composition”, the preamble recitation is considered a statement of intended use and Levi is considered capable of performing the purpose or intended use of the composition as a fertilizer via application to plants.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2006/0193951).
In regard to claims 1-2, Chen et al. teach a solution composition, comprising a carbohydrate, wherein the carbohydrate is citric acid a phosphorus-containing compound, wherein the phosphorus-containing compound is phosphoric acid, wherein a mass ratio of carbon in the carbohydrate to phosphorus in the phosphorus-containing compound is in a range of 1-13.3 : 1 (e.g. 12.9 :1), wherein there is 1,227.3272 g C in 3272 g citric acid : 94.8222 g P in 400 g 75% phosphoric acid [para. 0068; Example 2; mixed acid solution]. While Chen does not describe the mixed solution as a “fertilizer composition”, the preamble recitation is considered a statement of intended use and Chen is considered capable of performing the purpose or intended use of the composition as a fertilizer via application to plants.
In regard to claims 4 and 17, Chen et al. disclose the composition of claims 1 and 2, wherein the composition further comprises water; and a mass ratio of water to the carbohydrate is in a range of 1-3: 10 (e.g. 1.2 : 10), wherein there is 300 g DI water and 100 g water in the phosphoric solution [para. 0068; Example 2; mixed acid solution].
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomko et al. (US Patent No. 4,499,110).
In regard to claims 8-9, Tomko et al. teach a composition, comprising a carbohydrate (e.g. maize starch) and a phosphorus-containing compound, wherein the phosphorus-containing compound is phosphoric acid, wherein a mass ratio of carbon in the carbohydrate to phosphorus in the phosphorus-containing compound is in a range of 1-4:1 (claim 8) or 2.45-3.66: 1 (claim 9) (e.g. 2.8 :1), wherein there is 0.88891 parts C in 2 parts maize starch : 0.316074 parts P in 1 part phosphoric acid [col. 5, lines 10-16; Example 6]. While Tomko does not describe the mixed solution as a “fertilizer composition”, the preamble recitation is considered a statement of intended use and Tomko is considered capable of performing the purpose or intended use of the composition as a fertilizer via application to plants.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imura et al. (US Patent No. 5,409,982).
In regard to claim 10, Imura et al. teach a composition (e.g. liquid material), comprising a carbohydrate (e.g. citric acid) and a phosphorus-containing compound, wherein the phosphorus-containing compound is phosphoric acid (e.g. orthophosphoric acid), wherein a mass ratio of carbon in the carbohydrate to phosphorus in the phosphorus-containing compound is in a range of 4-13.3 : 1 (e.g. 5.9 : 1) [col 18; Example 10; liquid material No. 41]. While Imura does not describe the mixed solution as a “fertilizer composition”, the preamble recitation is considered a statement of intended use and Imura is considered capable of performing the purpose or intended use of the composition as a fertilizer via application to plants.
In regard to claim 11, Imura et al. teach the composition of claim 10, wherein the mass ratio of carbon in the carbohydrate to phosphorus in the phosphorus- containing compound is 5.5:1 (e.g. wherein the aqueous solution contains, for example, 39.5% citric acid and 8.5% phosphoric acid which satisfies the relationship (g)-(j) [col 10, lines 58-64].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection of the claims based on the Hardy and Harte references, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 December 16, 2025