DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 – 6 objected to because of the following informalities: these claims recite “… a shaft body having a large diameter portion in at least a part in an axial direction thereof is used as the shaft body” and it is unclear what the term “large diameter portion” is referencing in the claims. Does the shaft body used have a small diameter portion? Is the “large diameter portion” meant to denote “a larger diameter portion” than “a smaller diameter portion” of the shaft body used? And as cab be understood from the disclosure, specification ¶ 0040 – 0044 and FIGS.7A – 7D, the shaft body can be a stepped shaft body having a larger diameter portion 51A in the intermediate portion and a smaller diameter at the end portions (see FIG. 7A) and if applicant is claiming such a shaft, then the recited limitations in the claims should be amended accordingly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11 – 14 inherit these claim objections by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 – 8, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Soshi (US 2017/0209958 A1) and hereinafter “Soshi”.
Regarding claim 1, Soshi discloses a method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object (a method for additively manufacturing a composite member 300, (0063 - 0078 and see annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10)), the additively-manufactured object comprising a rod-shaped shaft body (a cylindrical shape shaft body 100, (0062 and see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10), and a built- up portion (built-up portion 130, see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10) formed by depositing weld beads obtained by melting and solidifying a filler metal on an outer periphery of the shaft body (the additive manufacturing apparatus 30 melts filler metal powder using laser beam and welds build up layer 130 thereto on the outer periphery of shaft body 100, (0057 and see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10)), the method comprising:
a groove portion processing step of forming a groove portion by cutting the outer periphery of the shaft body (a groove portion 111 is formed by cutting onto the outer periphery cylindrical shape shaft body 100, (0062 and see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10));
a groove portion closing step of forming a first weld bead of the weld beads along the groove portion on an edge portion of the groove portion in the shaft body to close the groove portion to form a hollow portion (groove portion 111 filling step of forming first weld bead (metal layer 120) to fill the groove portion in the shaft body, (0065 - 0067 and see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10)), *Note, a cavity area 112 (hollow portion) is formed between the filled bead layers 120, please see FIGS 14 A &B)); and
a building step of building the built-up portion by depositing a second weld bead of the weld beads on the outer periphery of the shaft body (building, a built-up portion by depositing a second weld bead (metal layer) 130 on the outer periphery of the shaft body, (0076 – 0077 and see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10)).
Regarding claim 3, Soshi discloses the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 1, wherein a shaft body having a large diameter portion in at least a part in an axial direction thereof is used as the shaft body (the tubular shaft body 100 has a larger external diameter portion than its internal diameter in an axial direction thereof, see annotated FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Soshi discloses the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 3, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is formed in the large diameter portion of the shaft body (the groove portion is formed by cutting onto the larger outer diameter tubular shaft body 100, (see annotated FIG. 5)).
Regarding claim 7, Soshi discloses the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 1, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body (the groove portion 111 is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body 100, see annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 8, Soshi discloses an additively-manufactured object comprising:
a rod-shaped shaft body (cylindrical shaped shaft body 100, see annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10);
a built-up portion provided on an outer periphery of the shaft body and formed by depositing a second weld bead obtained by melting and solidifying a filler metal (a built-up portion formed by depositing a second weld bead (metal layer) 130 on the outer periphery of the shaft body, (0076 – 0077 and see annotated FIGS 5, 7 and 10)); and
a hollow portion formed along the outer periphery of the shaft body (a cavity area 112 (hollow portion) is formed along the periphery of the cylindrical shape shaft body 100, please see FIGS. 14A and 14B), wherein the hollow portion is surrounded by a groove portion formed in the outer periphery of the shaft body, and a first weld bead formed along an edge portion of the groove portion to close the groove portion (the cavity area 112 is surrounded by the groove portion 111 and first weld bead 120 on the outer periphery the cylindrical shape shaft body 100, please see FIG. 14A) .
Regarding claim 11, Soshi discloses the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 3, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body (the groove portion 111 is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body 100, see annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 13, Soshi discloses the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 5, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body (the groove portion 111 is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body 100, see annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, 9 – 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soshi in view of Islam et al. (US 5855149 A) and hereinafter “Islam”.
Regarding claim 2, Soshi discloses the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises a cutting step of cutting the built-up portion after the building step (performing a surface machining or cutting process to the outer circumferential surface after the build-up portion 130 is formed to provide the finished tubular product 300, (0078, FIG.11 and see FIG. 13 that shows a flowchart of the process for manufacturing finished product 300)).
Soshi does not explicitly teach that the machining or cutting process to the build-up portion is to form a blade.
However, Soshi notes that the shape of the composite member to be formed by the process is not limited to the tubular shape, (0060). In fact, a composite member having a complicated shape can be formed, (0107). Further, Islam that relates to a process of additively producing a rotary cutting device having a cylindrical base and cutting ridges extending from the cylindrical base, (2:20 – 55 and please see FIGS.1 – 3), also teaches that the ridges 17 protruding from the cylindrical base 14 undergo a process of sharpening to produce a suitable shape for use of cutting (blades), (2:43 – 55, see step (d) of claims 1, 8, 10 and 15 and FIGS. 1 – 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the surface machining or cutting process on the outer circumferential surface of the build-up portion of Soshi to be a sharpening step of forming a blade in order to shape the outer circumferential surface of the build-up portion into a blade form as taught in Islam. POSITA apprised of Islam’s teachings of sharpening of an additively formed portion on a shaft into a blade form would easily and routinely be motivated to do the same with the machining or cutting process of the outer circumferential surface of the build-up portion of Soshi with a reasonable expectation of success in order to form blades on the outer circumferential surface of the build-up, as Soshi suggests the composite member is not limited to the tubular shape and a composite member having a different shape can be formed.
Regarding claim 4, Soshi in view of Islam teaches the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 2, wherein a shaft body having a large diameter portion in at least a part in an axial direction thereof is used as the shaft body (the tubular shaft body 100 has a larger external diameter portion than its internal diameter in an axial direction thereof, see Soshi’ s annotated FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Soshi in view of Islam teaches the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 4, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is formed in the large diameter portion of the shaft body (the groove portion is formed by cutting onto the larger outer diameter of the tubular shaft body 100, (see Sohi ‘s annotated FIG. 5)).
Regarding claim 9, Soshi discloses the additively-manufactured object according to claim 8.
Soshi does not explicitly teach, wherein the built-up portion has a blade formed.
However, Soshi notes that the shape of the composite member including the bult- up portion is not limited to the tubular shape, (0060). In fact, a composite member having a complicated shape can be formed, (0107). Further, Islam that relates to additively producing a rotary cutting device having a cylindrical base and cutting ridges extending from the cylindrical base, (2:20 – 55 and please see FIGS.1 – 3), also teaches that the ridges 17 additively built-up on the cylindrical base 14 undergo a process of sharpening/cutting to produce a suitable shape of cutting blade ridges, (2:43 – 55, see step (d) of claims 1, 8, 10 and 15 and FIGS. 1 – 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the outer circumferential surface of the build-up portion of Soshi to have a cutting blade formed in order to provide a blade shaped structure protruding the base as taught in Islam. POSITA apprised of Islam’s teachings of additively forming the build-up portion of shaft into a blade form would easily and routinely be motivated to do the same on the outer circumferential surface of the build-up portion of Soshi with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a composite member with blades, as Soshi suggests the composite member is not limited to the tubular shape and a composite member having a different shape can be formed.
Regarding claim 10, Soshi in view of Islam teaches the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 2, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body (the groove portion 111 is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body 100, see Soshi’ s annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 12, Soshi in view of Islam teaches the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 4, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body (the groove portion 111 is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body 100, see Soshi’ s annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 14, Soshi in view of Islam teaches the method for manufacturing an additively-manufactured object according to claim 6, wherein in the groove portion processing step, the groove portion is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body (the groove portion 111 is spirally formed with respect to the shaft body 100, see Soshi’ s annotated FIGS. 5, 7 and 10).
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761