DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14, 16 and 18 are rejected. Claims 3, 4, 12, 13, 15, 17 and 19-22 are withdrawn.
Restriction/Election of Species
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, and further elected species of Compound 39 having the structure below in the reply filed on December 2, 2025 is acknowledged:
.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the reference compound (i.e., Compound 100) indicated in the Restriction Requirement mailed August 14, 2025 does not satisfy one of the instantly required provisos as recited in instant claim 1. See page 36 of Applicant’s Remarks dated December 2, 2025. However, this is not found persuasive as the instant claims are- regardless- both anticipated and rendered obvious by the prior art. See rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Pursuant to MPEP § 803.02, the Markush claims that read on the elected species were examined fully with respect to the elected species. Upon examination, the elected species were found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by prior art; therefore, the Markush claim and claims to the elected species will be rejected. The claim(s) and subject matter that do not read on the elected species have NOT been examined and searched and are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner. Any subject matter addressed under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. § 102 or in the nonstatutory double patenting rejection below was discovered incidental to the examination of the elected species above. Rejections addressing such subject matter is presented solely in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14, 16 and 18 read on the elected species. Claims 3, 4, 12, 13, 15, 17 and 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 2, 2025.
Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage Filing of International Application No. PCT/US21/45924, filed on August 13, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/151,600, filed on February 19, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/066,074, filed on August 14, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on February 13, 2023 and December 2, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS documents and signed copies of the 1449 forms are attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the expressions “first eluting isomer” and “second eluting isomer” on page 16 and is rejected as indefinite. Both expressions are in reference to the following chemical structure:
.
It is unclear how the scope of the claim is being limited by the expressions “first eluting isomer” and “second eluting isomer.” It is suggested that Applicant cancel these expressions and also delete one instance of the above chemical structure in the claim to overcome this issue of indefiniteness.
Claim 16 recites the expressions “First eluting isomer” and “Second eluting isomer” on page 21 and is further rejected as indefinite. Both expressions are in reference to the following chemical structure:
.
It is unclear how the scope of the claim is being limited by the expressions “First eluting isomer” and “Second eluting isomer.” It is suggested that Applicant cancel these expressions and also delete one instance of the above chemical structure in the claim to overcome this issue of indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(1 of 2) Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP20382456.0 filed on May 28, 2020.
The prior art teaches the following chemical structure on page 69:
.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 14, the above prior art structure is encompassed by variable definitions of the instantly claimed compound of Formula I, wherein A1, A3 and A4 are each independently CH; A2 is CR1, further wherein R1 is halo; R2 is C3 alkyl; Y is O; R6 is hydrogen; R7 is hydrogen; X is O; R4 is hydrogen; and R5 is heteroaryl.
Regarding instant claim 18, the prior art teaches “a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and, as active ingredient, a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of the invention.” See e.g., page 34.
(2 of 2) Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP20382456.0 filed on May 28, 2020.
The prior art teaches the following chemical structure on page 69:
.
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 14, the above prior art structure is encompassed by variable definitions of the instantly claimed compound of Formula I, wherein A1, A3 and A4 are each independently CH; A2 is CR1, further wherein R1 is halo; R2 is C3 alkyl; Y is O; R6 is hydrogen; R7 is hydrogen; X is O; R4 is hydrogen; and R5 is C4 cycloalkyl substituted with two Z1, further wherein one Z1 is C1 alkyl and the other Z1 is -OH.
Regarding instant claim 16, the above prior art structure corresponds to the first instantly recited chemical structure.
Regarding instant claim 18, the prior art teaches “a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and, as active ingredient, a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of the invention.” See e.g., page 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over EP20382456.0 filed on May 28, 2020.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The prior art teaches the following chemical structure on page 69:
.
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Regarding instant claim 16, the prior art compound does not read on Applicant’s elected species (i.e., instant Compound 39- recited as the fifth compound on page 11 of the Claims filed on December 12, 2025 and reproduced below).
.
The prior art compound structurally differs from instant Compound 39 only with respect to the attachment point of the pyrimidine moiety (i.e., instant variable R5) to the core structure.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at Applicant’s elected species (i.e., instant Compound 39) based on the prior art which teaches a positional isomer of instant Compound 39. See e.g., page 69. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2144.09 (II). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the instantly claimed compound with the expectation that the resulting compound would possess similar properties and utilities to the prior art compound.
Double Patenting
The analysis employed for an obviousness-type double patenting rejection parallels the analysis for a determination of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 14, 16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 10-12 of copending U.S. Application No. 18/837,817 (‘817). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 and 10-12 of ‘817 are drawn towards compounds encompassed by variable definitions of the instantly claimed compound of Formula I.
For instance, Compound No. 2 (structure reproduced above) as recited in claim 1 of ‘817 is encompassed by variable definitions of the instantly claimed compound of Formula I, wherein A1, A3 and A4 are each independently CH; A2 is CR1, further wherein R1 is halo; R2 is OR11, further wherein R11 is C3 cycloalkyl substituted with C1 alkyl; Y is O; R6 is hydrogen; R7 is hydrogen; X is O; R4 is hydrogen; and R5 is heteroaryl substituted with halo.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/D.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626