DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-19 are pending.
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 as it reads on VH of SEQ ID :19 and VL of SEQ ID :20 and CDRs of SEQ IDs : 1-6 in the reply filed on 02/18/26 is acknowledged.
3. Prior to setting art rejecting it is noted that the term “optionally” is interpreted as that CAR polypeptide does not comprise hinge domain and bivalent linker.
5. Claims 1-9, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application 20200108098 or US Patent Application 20180312588
US Patent Application ‘098 teaches a method of inhibiting autoreactive lymphocyte in a subject comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of genetically modified T cells expressing CAR, comprising CD83 antigen binding domain, comprising scFv. US Patent Application ‘098 teaches that CAR comprises CD83 antigen binding domain, transmembrane domain, co-stimulatory signaling domain, comprising CD28, and intracellular signaling domain, comprising CD3zeta. US Patent Application ‘098 further teaches that said cells can also expressed a second CAR comprising CD19 antigen binding domain and having transmembrane domain, co-stimulatory signaling domain and intracellular signaling domain( see entire document, Abstract and paragraphs 0004, 0008, 0013, 0016, 0076, 0080, 0084
US Patent Application ‘588 teaches a method administering to the subject an effective amount of genetically modified T cells expressing CAR, comprising CD19 antigen binding domain, comprising scFv. US Patent Application ‘588 teaches that CAR comprises CD19 antigen binding domain, transmembrane domain, co-stimulatory signaling domain, comprising CD28, and intracellular signaling domain, comprising CD3zeta. US Patent Application ‘588 further teaches that said cells can also expressed a second CAR comprising CD83 antigen binding domain and having transmembrane domain, co-stimulatory signaling domain and intracellular signaling domain( see entire document, Abstract and paragraphs 0006, 0014, 0046, 0047, 0048, 0049, 0050, 0056, 0069, 0151, 0167 in particular).
It is noted that US Patent Application ‘588 does not explicitly teaches inhibiting of autoreactive lymphocytes in a subject by administering said genetically modified T cells. However said functional properties would be an inherent properties of administered genetically modified T cells expressing CAR, because the referenced cells and instantly claimed are the same.
Thus, although the reference is silent about inhibiting autoreactive lymphocyte in a subject, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “{i}t is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable”. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The mechanism of action does not have a bearing on the patentability of the invention if the invention was already known or obvious.
Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145.
The reference teaching anticipates the claimed invention.
8. Claims 1, 10-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent Application 20200108098 or US Patent Application 20180312588 each in view of US Patent 9,562097
The teaching of Patent Application 20200108098 or US Patent Application 20180312588 have been discussed supra.
Patent Application 20200108098 or US Patent Application 20180312588 do not explicitly teaches that anti-CD83 antigen binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID NO: 19 and VL of SEQ ID N:20 and anti-CD83 antigen binding domain comprising VH CDRs of SEQ ID N:1-3 and VL CDRs of SEQ ID Nos:4-6.
US Patent’ 097 teaches an anti-CD83 antibody comprising anti-CD83 antigen binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID :30 and VL of SEQ ID: Nos: 36 and comprising anti-CD83 antigen binding domain comprising VH CDRs and VL CDRs that are 100% identical to the instantly claimed VH of SEQ ID NO: 19 and VL of SEQ ID N:20 ( see sequence alignment, attached).
US Patent’ 097 teaches that said anti-CD83 antibody can be used for treating autoimmune diseases.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute anti-CD83 antigen binding domain of CAR taught by Patent Application 20200108098 or US Patent Application 20180312588 with an anti-CD83 antibody comprising anti-CD83 antigen binding domain taught by US Patent’097 with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that both anti-CD83 antigen binding domain can be used for treating autoimmune diseases.
From the combined teaching of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The claims 1-15 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Application No. 18/719814, 18/547,748, 16/717,537, 18,478247 each in view of US Patent 9,562097 and US Patent Application 20230183313.
Claims of copending Application No. 18/719814, 18/547,748, 16/717,537, 18,478247 each recited a method comprising administering to the patient CAR-T cells , wherein CAR comprising a CD83 antigen binding domain, transmembrane domain an intracellular domain and a costimulatory domain.
US Patent’ 097 teaches an anti-CD83 antibody comprising anti-CD83 antigen binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID :30 and VL of SEQ ID: Nos: 36 and comprising anti-CD83 antigen binding domain comprising VH CDRs and VL CDRs that are 100% identical to the instantly claimed VH of SEQ ID NO: 19 and VL of SEQ ID N:20 ( see sequence alignment, attached).
US Patent’ 097 teaches that said anti-CD83 antibody can be used for treating autoimmune diseases.
US Patent Application’313 teaches a method of treating autoimmune diseases, comprising administering to the patient CAR-T cells , wherein CAR comprises CD19 antigen binding domain, a transmembrane domain, an intracellular domain and costimulatory domain ( see entire document, paragraphs 0006, 0058, in particular).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute anti-CD83 antigen binding domain of CAR taught by Patent Application 20200108098 or US Patent Application 20180312588 with an anti-CD83 antibody comprising anti-CD83 antigen binding domain taught by US Patent’097 with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that both anti-CD83 antigen binding domain can be used for treating autoimmune diseases.
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CAR comprising CD83 antigen binding domain with CAR comprising CD19 antigen binding domain in the method of treating autoimmune disease with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests CAT-T cells comprising each of said CARs have been used for treating autoimmune disease.
“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. . . [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
9. Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on 571/ 272-8149
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644