DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed 7/17/2026 has been received and entered into the case. Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11, 16-22 have been considered on the merits. All arguments and amendments have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: at the “determining”, there appears to be a missing word between “activation” and “analyzing” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwager et al. (J. Allergy Clin Immun., 2017, p. 1331-1338.e8, IDS).
Schwager teaches a flow cytometry-based basophil activation test (BAT) comprising obtaining a blood sample, treating the sample with a test substance, i.e. a peanut allergen, specifically peanut oleosins Ara h 14/15, adding a mixture of antibodies each labelled with a different fluorochrome, i.e., PE/Cy7 FcɛRIα, PE/CD203c, and APC CD63 and measuring the labelled sample using flow cytometry to determine basophil activation based upon antibody labelling. The CD63 positive percentage of CD203c positive cells were calculated (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test). The flow cytometric gating strategy for BAT is shown in Fig. E1 p. 1338.e2, which shows forward scatter (FSC) area vs. side scatter (SSC) area, and excluding doublets using FSC-area vs. FSC-height. The cells are assayed for FcɛRIα positive cells and further assessed for CD63 and CD203c expression. The percentage of CD63 positive basophils in the FcɛRIα positive and CD203c positive basophils is determined.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, the sample is a fluid, i.e. whole blood and the method includes lysing erythrocytes (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test).
Regarding claim 3, the method includes basophil activation induced by a test substance (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test).
Regarding claim 4, the test substance is an allergen (abstract, introduction p. 1331-1332, whole page).
Regarding claims 5, 19, and 22, the test substance is an allergen, specifically a protein including the peanut allergens, oleosins Ara h 14/15 (p. 1332, isolation and purif. Section and basophil activation test section).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the flow cytometry is conducted using two lasers, as the cytometer allows for forward and side scatter and basophil activation and the two lasers measure forward and side scatter and basophil identification and activation status. Further, the reference uses the BD LSR II flow cytometer which is a multilaser, multiparameter analysis cytometer. Additionally, regarding claim 20, the lasers are used to identify basophils according to the claimed antibodies and thus are taken to be configured for said measurements.
Regarding claim 8, the fluorochromes include PE, PE/Cy7 and APC (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test), which according to applicants’ specification (0105) are ones which have low spillover.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, the method for determining basophil activation includes a computer analysis method which includes obtaining flow cytometry data including forward and side scatter measurements, fluorescence of the mixture of antibodies including CD203c, CD63 and FcεRIα, and computing the data obtained from the cytometric method using the FCS express 5 software program and GraphPad Prism software package (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test, and see above cited claim limitation teachings).
Regarding claims 18 and 21, the method analyzes forward and side scatter data and excluding doublets (Fig. E1).
The reference first gates FcεRIα positive (FcεRIαpos) cells and then further gates those cells based upon CD63 and CD203c, thus obtaining double positive cells for FcεRIαpos and CD203c. The percentage of CD63 positive (CD63pos) basophils (which are FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos) was determined. While the FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos cells are not specifically gated, the reference is analyzing the same cell population, i.e., CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos and further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils. The use of CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos to select specifically basophils (FcεRIαpos)and those which have been activated (CD63pos and CD203cpos ) by allergens in BAT methods was known and taught by Schwager. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of obtaining and analyzing FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos cells and then further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwager et al. (J. Allergy Clin Immun., 2017, p. 1331-1338.e8, IDS) as applied to claims 1-11, 18-22 above, and further in view of Arif-Lusson et al. (J. Immunol. Methods, 481-482, p. 1-8, May 2020).
The teachings of Schwager are found above.
The above references do not teach sample processing and measurement using a flow cytometer with integrated robotic sample handling according to claim 16.
Arif-Lusson teaches automation of sample preparation in a basophil activation test, wherein blood samples are mixed with antibodies including CD203c-PE and CD63-PB, after incubation erythrocytes are lysed and the samples are analyzed by flow cytometry. ABiomek NXP robotic platform is used for automation and both CD203c and CD63 levels are monitored for basophil reactivity in allergic and non-allergic donor blood sample (abstract, p. 3, section 2.2) and data is analyzed using a computer software program (p. 3, section 2.3). The allergens used in the samples include food, protein and peanut allergens (p. 3, section 2.1). The reference teaches that the sample automation reduced hands-on time to as little as 5 minutes and allows for very low intra-assay and inter-operator variability without impairing performance characteristics (p. 7, section 4, Discussion 1st and 2nd parag.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the clamed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings of Arif-Lusson to use a flow cytometer having an integrated robotic sample handling in the method of Schwager because the reference teaches that the use of robotic sample handling results in an improved BAT cytometric method by reducing hands-on time to as little as 5 minutes and allowing for very low intra-assay and inter-operator variability without impairing performance characteristics.
Claim(s) 1-11,17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP2037269 (IDS) to Sainte-Laudy in view of Schwager et al. (J. Allergy Clin Immun., 2017, p. 1331-1338.e8, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, EP2037269 teaches a cytometric based method for determining basophil activation in a sample obtained from a subject comprising
a. providing a sample of said subject (0012-0014);
b. treating/stimulating the sample with a test substance (0012, 0022, for example);
c. adding a mixture of antibodies each labelled with a different fluorochrome, said mixture containing the labelled antibodies anti-CD63, anti-CD203c and anti-FcεRIα, and incubating said mixture with said sample (0012-0013, 0015, 0019, 0020, for example);
d. measuring the labelled sample obtained in step b) by flow cytometric based measurement (abstract, 0001, 0009, 0012, 0013, 0016, 0098, 0108-0109, 0118, for example) ;
e. determining basophil activation based on the analysis of the measured samples and obtained data by flow cytometry-based measurement, the analysis includes measuring basophil activation expressed as changes in fluorescence intensities based on the activation markers which include CD203c, CD63 and FcεRIα (0003, 0007, 0008,0012, 0013, 0015, 0020). Using flow cytometry, the reference teaches gating basophils which are CD63 positive (0109, Fig 1, 2) and FcεRIα positive (0111-0113, 0145, 0148, Fig. 11A) and using forward and side scatter data to exclude doublets and analyze CD63 positive cells (0116-0118). The reference teaches using a mixture of antibodies including any combination of anti-FcεRIα for basophil selection, and anti-CD203c and anti-CD63, for example, for basophil activation (0020, 0084).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, the sample is a fluid, i.e. blood or purified blood (0012, 0077,for example) and the method includes lysing erythrocytes (0013, step d)).
Regarding claim 3, the method includes basophil activation induced by a test substance (0012, 0016, for example).
Regarding claim 4, the test substance is a mitogen, an antigen, an allergen, a protein or peptide, a non-proteinaceous allergen, a low molecular weight allergen or drug or a hapten (0022).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the test substance is an allergen including pharmaceuticals (0024), inhalant (0110, for example), a food allergen (0068), insect allergens (0074) and nut allergens (0074).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the flow cytometry is conducted using two lasers, i.e. an argon laser and a red laser (0116) and the two lasers measure forward and side scatter and basophil activation (0116-0118, for example). Additionally, regarding claim 20, the lasers are used to identify basophils according to the claimed antibodies and thus are taken to be configured for said measurements.
Regarding claim 8, the fluorochromes include PE and APC (0116), which according to applicants’ specification (0105) are ones which have low spillover.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, the method for determining basophil activation includes a computer analysis method which includes obtaining flow cytometry data including forward and side scatter measurements, fluorescence of the mixture of antibodies including CD203c, CD63 and FcεRIα (0003, 0007, 0008,0012, 0013, 0015, 0020), and computing the data obtained from the cytometric method (0099, 0108, 0109, 0118, 0119, for example and see above cited claim limitation teachings).
Regarding claim 17, the blood sample to be analyzed is stored at room temperature for up to 72 hours and thus, falls within applicants “up to 7 days” which is interpreted to include storage for any time less than or equal to 7 days (0124). EP269 also teaches storage between 2-8°C for up to 72 hours (0124-0126).
While the reference teaches using a mixture of antibodies including CD203c, CD63 and FcεRIα, gating using side scatter, forward scatter and fluorescence to analyze the percentage of CD63 positive basophils, the analysis examples of the reference do not specifically teach gating for basophils being double positive for CD203c and FcεRIα, excluding doublets, analyzing said double positive cells based on forward and side scatter and then further analyzing said cells for expression of CD203c versus CD63 according to claims 1 and 10, 18, 21, 22.
Schwager teaches a flow cytometry-based basophil activation test (BAT) comprising obtaining a blood sample, treating the sample with a test substance, i.e. a peanut allergen, specifically peanut oleosins Ara h 14/15, adding a mixture of antibodies each labelled with a different fluorochrome, i.e., PE/Cy7 FcɛRIα, PE/CD203c, and APC CD63 and measuring the labelled sample using flow cytometry to determine basophil activation based upon antibody labelling. The CD63 positive percentage of CD203c positive cells were calculated (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test). The flow cytometric gating strategy for BAT is shown in Fig. E1 p. 1338.e2, which shows forward scatter (FSC) area vs. side scatter (SSC) area, and excluding doublets using FSC-area vs. FSC-height. The cells are assayed for FcɛRIα positive cells and further assessed for CD63 and CD203c expression. The percentage of CD63 positive basophils in the FcɛRIα positive and CD203c positive basophils is determined.
Regarding claims 5, 19, and 22, the test substance is an allergen, specifically a protein including the peanut allergens, oleosins Ara h 14/15 (p. 1332, isolation and purif. Section and basophil activation test section).
Regarding claim 8, the fluorochromes include PE, PE/Cy7 and APC (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test), which according to applicants’ specification (0105) are ones which have low spillover.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, the method for determining basophil activation includes a computer analysis method which includes obtaining flow cytometry data including forward and side scatter measurements, fluorescence of the mixture of antibodies including CD203c, CD63 and FcεRIα, and computing the data obtained from the cytometric method using the FCS express 5 software program and GraphPad Prism software package (p. 1332, Basophil Activation test, and see above cited claim limitation teachings).
Regarding claims 18 and 21, the method analyzes forward and side scatter data and excluding doublets (Fig. E1).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the prior art references (EP’269 and Schwager) teach flow cytometric based methods and data analysis methods for determining basophil activation. The art recognizes cell surface markers and antibodies specific for said markers which are indicative of an allergic response and specific for basophils and their activation, i.e. CD63, CD203c and FcɛRIα, and gating to detect side scatter, forward scatter and fluorescence to determine the percentage of CD63 positive basophils; however Schwager’s gating method allows one to more specifically sort, gate and identify activated basophils expressing cell surface markers indicating an allergic response. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art references to achieve the claimed invention, and there would have been a reasonable expectation of successfully determining basophil activation using the combined methods of the prior art.
Further, Schwager first gates FcεRIα positive (FcεRIαpos) cells and then further gates those cells based upon CD63 and CD203c, thus obtaining double positive cells for FcεRIαpos and CD203c. The percentage of CD63 positive (CD63pos) basophils (which are FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos) was determined. While the FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos cells are not specifically gated, the reference is analyzing the same cell population, i.e., CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos and further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils. The use of CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos to select specifically basophils (FcεRIαpos)and those which have been activated (CD63pos and CD203cpos ) by allergens in BAT methods was known and taught by Schwager. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of obtaining and analyzing FcεRIαpos ,CD63pos, and CD203cpos cells and then further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP2037269 (IDS) to Sainte-Laudy in view of Schwager et al. (J. Allergy Clin Immun., 2017, p. 1331-1338.e8, IDS) as applied to claims1-11,17-22 above, and further in view of Arif-Lusson et al. (J. Immunol. Methods, 481-482, p. 1-8, May 2020).
The teachings of EP’269 and Schwager are found above.
The above references do not teach sample processing and measurement using a flow cytometer with integrated robotic sample handling according to claim 16.
Arif-Lusson teaches automation of sample preparation in a basophil activation test, wherein blood samples are mixed with antibodies including CD203c-PE and CD63-PB, after incubation erythrocytes are lysed and the samples are analyzed by flow cytometry. ABiomek NXP robotic platform is used for automation and both CD203c and CD63 levels are monitored for basophil reactivity in allergic and non-allergic donor blood sample (abstract, p. 3, section 2.2) and data is analyzed using a computer software program (p. 3, section 2.3). The allergens used in the samples include food, protein and peanut allergens (p. 3, section 2.1). The reference teaches that the sample automation reduced hands-on time to as little as 5 minutes and allows for very low intra-assay and inter-operator variability without impairing performance characteristics (p. 7, section 4, Discussion 1st and 2nd parag.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the clamed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings of Arif-Lusson to use a flow cytometer having an integrated robotic sample handling in the methods of EP’269 and Schwager because the reference teaches that the use of robotic sample handling results in an improved BAT cytometric method by reducing hands-on time to as little as 5 minutes and allowing for very low intra-assay and inter-operator variability without impairing performance characteristics.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3-6, 9, 10, 11, 16, 18, 21, 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 18, 19 of copending Application No. 19492015 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed inventions are drawn to cytometric based and computer-implemented methods for determining basophil activation wherein fluid samples are labeled with fluorescently-labelled antibodies to CD63, CD203c and FcεRIα, measuring and determining basophil activation data induced by an allergen by flow cytometry and gating using forward and side scatter data, analyzing cells positive for both CD203c and FcεRIα, and determining the percentage of CD63 positive cells. Although the reference claims include additional steps not required by the instant examined claims, the examined claims are drawn to a method comprising and thus not excluding additional method steps. Therefore, the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the Schwager reference, applicants argue that the reference does not perform a primary gating step based on the double positive CD203c and FcεRIα, rather the reference using additional antibodies to identify basophils.
The 102 rejection over Schwager is now a 103 rejection and it is the Examiners position that Schwager first gates FcεRIα positive (FcεRIαpos) cells and then further gates those cells based upon CD63 and CD203c, thus obtaining double positive cells for FcεRIαpos and CD203c. The percentage of CD63 positive (CD63pos) basophils (which are FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos) was determined. While the FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos cells are not specifically gated, the reference is analyzing the same cell population, i.e., CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos and further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils. The use of CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos to select specifically basophils (FcεRIαpos)and those which have been activated (CD63pos and CD203cpos ) by allergens in BAT methods was known and taught by Schwager. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of obtaining and analyzing FcεRIαpos ,CD63pos, and CD203cpos cells and then further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils.
Regarding the 103 over EP269, applicants argue that the reference does not teach the specifically claimed ordered gating sequence, i.e. the double positive gating, and that the reference relies heavily upon CCR3 as a marker. Applicants argue that the key point is not that these 3 markers were known MAT markers, but rather that the invention relies upon the specific sequence and application of these markers.
It should be noted that the claims to not exclude to use of additional markers beyond those claimed, for example, the claims are not drawn to a mixture “consisting of” only the claimed antibodies.
The reference teaches using a mixture of antibodies including any combination of anti-FcεRIα for basophil selection, and further anti-CD203c and anti-CD63, for example, for basophil activation (0020, 0084) and secondary reference Schwager also teaches gating FcεRIα positive (FcεRIαpos) cells and then further gates those cells based upon CD63 and CD203c. The percentage of CD63 positive (CD63pos) basophils (which are FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos) was determined. While the FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos cells are not specifically gated, the reference is analyzing the same cell population, i.e., CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos and further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils. The use of CD63pos, FcεRIαpos and CD203cpos to select specifically basophils (FcεRIαpos)and those which have been activated (CD63pos and CD203cpos ) by allergens in BAT methods was known and taught by Schwager. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of obtaining and analyzing FcεRIαpos ,CD63pos, and CD203cpos cells and then further analyzing the CD63pos percentage of CD203cpos activated basophils.
Regarding the ODP rejection, applicants argue that the reference claims are drawn to a BAT method for determining an allergy and discuss the additional steps required of the reference claims. The examined claims also include an allergen (see claims 4, 5 and 22). However the claimed invetions are drawn to cytometric-based BAT methods using the markers anti-FcεRIα ,anti-CD63, and anti-CD203c, wherein the cells are gated based upon FcεRIα and CD203c, using forward and side scatter and identifying the percentage of CD63 basophils. Therefore, the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY M GOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/MELENIE L GORDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1651