Response to Arguments
Regarding First Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended claims overcome previous prior art rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “initiating a timer” the prior art discloses an allotted time period. In computing, the presence of an allotted time period implies a timer, which is inseparable from a timer. It is obvious from the presence of an allotted time period that there is a timer involved whether it is explicitly disclosed or not. This has been true since the advent of computing where a clock pulse is necessary to progress a processing unit from one instruction to the next. Whether it is a global clock, an instruction clock, a process clock or some other clock, an explicitly described timer or some other method of counting ticks, the action is the same, especially given that an allotted time period is disclosed. Applicant also argues against the use of the term postponed vs the term suspended. To postpone is to cease an activity with the intent of continuing later. To suspend is to cease an activity with or without the intent of continuing later. Given applicants have the right to be their own lexicographers, the terms are interchangeable. The prior art discloses “suspending data communication on the first network to proceed with the requested communication activity on the second SIM” where the second SIM can be seen as a second network. the claim language discloses “the initiation of the first mode of operation is postponed during at least a duration of a timer” given that the first mode of operation, as claimed, involves performing measurement which would require communications, the actions of the claim and the prior art can be seen as synonymous given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Applicant also argues that prior art does not disclose a merge condition, however Bansal states that “suspending data communication on the first network to proceed with the requested communication activity on the second SIM” where the second SIM can be seen as a second network.” Which is the same action as taken in the claim language that is described as a merge condition. For at least these reasons, the rejection and rationale laid out in the advisory action is proper and thus maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-9, 21, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanka in view of Kim (US 20180270722 A1) hereafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1:
Sanka discloses:
A method for wireless communication ([Abstract] A method for performing) at a user equipment (UE), comprising: identifying a first subscription of the UE is in an active mode with a first cell; ([¶0040] mobile communication device 100 is described to be in a connected mode on the first subscription) identifying a second subscription of the UE is in an idle mode with a second cell;([¶0042] the mobile communication device 100 is in the idle mode on the second subscription) identifying a first mode of operation of the UE, wherein the first mode of operation includes using the first subscription to perform idle mode measurements for the second subscription;([¶0056] The remainder of the allotted time period may be a transmission gap on the second subscription 197 during which the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192. [¶0069] Although the sequence 500 is described with respect to the first subscription 192, a person having ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that the sequence 500 may also transpire on the second subscription 197 without departing from the scope of the present inventive concept.) determining that a first channel quality associated with a first communication link between the UE and the first cell fails to satisfy a threshold channel quality; ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) exiting the first mode of operation based at least in part on the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality, ([¶0064] In response, the mobile communication device 100 may trigger an inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurement event… device 100 may transmit a measurement report message (MRM) to the first communication network [¶0068] In response to the MRM from the mobile communication device 100, the mobile communication device 100 may receive a handover command from the first communication network ) wherein the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality comprises a failure to satisfy a channel quality-based merge condition associated with the first mode of operation; initiating a timer based at least in part on the UE exiting the first mode of operation; ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) wherein the idle mode measurements for the second subscription are performed using the second subscription during at least a duration of the timer. ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) and performing the idle mode measurements for the second subscription using the second subscription ([¶0052] As such, CM may be enabled on the second subscription 197 in order to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells and to support handovers on the second subscription 197.) based at least in part on the UE exiting the first mode of operation, ([¶0068] In response to the MRM from the mobile communication device 100, the mobile communication device 100 may receive a handover command from the first communication network 190 (520). For example, the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds.) wherein the idle mode measurements for the second subscription are performed using the second subscription during at least a duration of the timer. ([¶0042] The control unit 110 may determine whether the mobile communication device 100 is in an idle mode on the second subscription 197 (301). When the mobile communication device 100 is in the idle mode on the second subscription 197, the control unit 110 may periodically utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform idle mode operations for the second subscription 197. For example, the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to receive paging messages from the second communication network 195 according to a discontinuous reception (DRx) schedule. Thus, while the control unit 110 is not utilizing the second RF chain 150 to perform idle mode operations on the second subscription 197, the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192.[¶0056] The remainder of the allotted time period may be a transmission gap on the second subscription 197 during which the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192. )
Sanka does not disclose:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation.
Kim discloses:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation. ([¶0294] a UE merges the two eNBs as a PCell and an SCell, respectively. However, one UE may merge 3 or more cells.)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use a merge condition as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 5:
Sanka discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
based at least in part on the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality.
Sanka does not disclose:
wherein exiting the first mode of operation comprises: exiting the first mode of operation based at least in part on a radio resource control protocol trigger, wherein the radio resource control protocol trigger is activated
Kim discloses:
wherein exiting the first mode of operation comprises: exiting the first mode of operation based at least in part on a radio resource control protocol trigger, wherein the radio resource control protocol trigger is activated ([¶0225] Whether to perform the cross carrier scheduling may be UE-specifically activated or deactivated and semi-statically known for each terminal through the upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use RRC signaling as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 6:
Sanka discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) is based at least in part on detecting the threshold quantity of ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds)
Sanka does not disclose:
further comprising: detecting a threshold quantity of consecutive cyclic redundancy check failures associated with a data channel of the first communication link based at least in part on a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) … consecutive cyclic redundancy check
Kim discloses:
further comprising: detecting a threshold quantity of consecutive cyclic redundancy check failures associated with a data channel of the first communication link based at least in part on a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) ([¶0297] It is assumed that the UE decodes a PDSCH according to the detected PDCCH carrying the DCI format 1A or 1C intended therefor and having CRC scrambled by an SI-RNTI or P-RNTI and a PRS is not present in a resource block (RB) in which the corresponding PDSCH is delivered.)… consecutive cyclic redundancy check ([¶0297] CRC)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use CRC checks as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 8:
Sanka discloses the limitations of parent claims
Sanka does not disclose:
wherein the first channel quality comprises a reference signal received power or a signal-to-noise ratio.
Kim discloses:
wherein the first channel quality comprises a reference signal received power or ([¶0322] a UE-specific reference signal)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use a reference signal as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 9:
Sanka in view of Kim disclose the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the first subscription is a default data subscription and the second subscription is a non-default data subscription. ([¶0032] operate in CM mode on the first subscription 192 by default. [¶0054] CM is not enabled on the second subscription)
Regarding Claim 21:
Sanka discloses:
An apparatus ([¶0004] Apparatuses ) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: ([¶0009] there is provided a non-transitory computer readable medium. In some embodiments, the non-transitory computer readable medium may have stored thereon instructions for causing one or more processors to perform operations) identify a first subscription of the UE is in an active mode with a first cell; ([¶0040] mobile communication device 100 is described to be in a connected mode on the first subscription) identify a second subscription of the UE is in an idle mode with a second cell; ([¶0042] the mobile communication device 100 is in the idle mode on the second subscription) identify a first mode of operation of the UE, wherein the first mode of operation includes using the first subscription to perform idle mode measurements for the second subscription; ([¶0056] The remainder of the allotted time period may be a transmission gap on the second subscription 197 during which the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192. [¶0069] Although the sequence 500 is described with respect to the first subscription 192, a person having ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that the sequence 500 may also transpire on the second subscription 197 without departing from the scope of the present inventive concept.) determine that a first channel quality associated with a first communication link between the UE and the first cell fails to satisfy a threshold channel quality, ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) exit the first mode of operation based at least in part on the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality, ([¶0052] As such, CM may be enabled on the second subscription 197 in order to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells and to support handovers on the second subscription 197.) wherein the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality comprises a failure to satisfy a channel quality-based merge condition associated with the first mode of operation; initiating a timer based at least in part on the UE exiting the first mode of operation; ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) and perform the idle mode measurements for the second subscription using the second subscription based at least in part on the UE exiting the first mode of operation, ([¶0068] In response to the MRM from the mobile communication device 100, the mobile communication device 100 may receive a handover command from the first communication network 190 (520). For example, the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds.) wherein the idle mode measurements for the second subscription are performed using the second subscription during at least a duration of the timer. ([¶0042] The control unit 110 may determine whether the mobile communication device 100 is in an idle mode on the second subscription 197 (301). When the mobile communication device 100 is in the idle mode on the second subscription 197, the control unit 110 may periodically utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform idle mode operations for the second subscription 197. For example, the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to receive paging messages from the second communication network 195 according to a discontinuous reception (DRx) schedule. Thus, while the control unit 110 is not utilizing the second RF chain 150 to perform idle mode operations on the second subscription 197, the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192.[¶0056] The remainder of the allotted time period may be a transmission gap on the second subscription 197 during which the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192. )
Sanka does not disclose:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation.
Kim discloses:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation. ([¶0294] a UE merges the two eNBs as a PCell and an SCell, respectively. However, one UE may merge 3 or more cells.)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use a merge condition as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 25:
Sanka discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the instructions ([¶0009] instructions) to exit the first mode of operation are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([¶0009] causing one or more processors to perform) to: based at least in part on the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality.
Sanka does not disclose:
exit the first mode of operation comprises: exiting the first mode of operation based at least in part on a radio resource control protocol trigger, wherein the radio resource control protocol trigger is activated
Kim discloses:
exitthe first mode of operation comprises: exiting the first mode of operation based at least in part on a radio resource control protocol trigger, wherein the radio resource control protocol trigger is activated ([¶0225] Whether to perform the cross carrier scheduling may be UE-specifically activated or deactivated and semi-statically known for each terminal through the upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use RRC signaling as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 26:
Sanka discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the instructions ([¶0009] instructions) are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([¶0009] causing one or more processors to perform) to: detect ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) is based at least in part on detecting the threshold quantity of ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds)
Sanka does not disclose:
detect a threshold quantity of consecutive cyclic redundancy check failures associated with a data channel of the first communication link based at least in part on a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) … consecutive cyclic redundancy check
Kim discloses:
detect a threshold quantity of consecutive cyclic redundancy check failures associated with a data channel of the first communication link based at least in part on a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) ([¶0297] It is assumed that the UE decodes a PDSCH according to the detected PDCCH carrying the DCI format 1A or 1C intended therefor and having CRC scrambled by an SI-RNTI or P-RNTI and a PRS is not present in a resource block (RB) in which the corresponding PDSCH is delivered.)… consecutive cyclic redundancy check ([¶0297] CRC)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use CRC checks as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Claim(s) 10, 12, 15-17, 19-20, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanka in view of Bensal as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 10:
Sanka discloses:
A method for wireless communication ([Abstract] A method for performing) at a user equipment (UE), comprising: identifying a first subscription of the UE is in an active mode with a first cell; ([¶0040] mobile communication device 100 is described to be in a connected mode on the first subscription) identifying a second subscription of the UE is in an idle mode with a second cell; ([¶0042] the mobile communication device 100 is in the idle mode on the second subscription) determining that a criteria is satisfied for entering a first mode of operation wherein the UE uses the first subscription to perform idle mode measurements for the second subscription; ([¶0056] The remainder of the allotted time period may be a transmission gap on the second subscription 197 during which the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192. [¶0069] Although the sequence 500 is described with respect to the first subscription 192, a person having ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that the sequence 500 may also transpire on the second subscription 197 without departing from the scope of the present inventive concept.) determining that a first channel quality associated with a first communication link between the UE and the first cell fails to satisfy a threshold channel quality; ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) quality, wherein the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality comprises a failure to satisfy a channel quality-based merge condition associated with the first mode of operation; initiating a timer ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) and based at least in part on the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality, ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) wherein the initiation of the first mode of operation is postponed during at least a duration of the timer. ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription)
Sanka does not disclose:
postponing initiation of the first mode of operation
Bansal discloses:
postponing initiation of the first mode of operation ([¶0076] the wireless communication device may then suspend the data communication on the first network to proceed with the requested communication activity on the second SIM. [¶0091] the data session on the first network may be suspended and the shared RF resource may be tuned to the second network for communication using the granted resource)
Sanka and Bansal are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to postpone initiation as taught by Bansal in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Sanka in view of Bansal does not disclose:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation.
Kim discloses:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation. ([¶0294] a UE merges the two eNBs as a PCell and an SCell, respectively. However, one UE may merge 3 or more cells.)
Sanka and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to use a merge condition as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 12:
Sanka in view of Bansal and further in view of Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
further comprising: identifying that the first subscription of the UE transitions to an idle mode with the first cell; and initiating a ([¶0033] The control unit 110 may determine whether the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription 197 is available (203). For example, the control unit 110 may determine whether the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription 197 may be available to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka and Kim does not disclose:
cell re-selection
Bansal discloses:
cell re-selection ([¶0037] the wireless communication device may read system information of each acquired cell to obtain parameters, such as the PLMN identity and cell selection parameters.)
Sanka and Bansal are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to incorporate cell reselection as taught by Bansal in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 15:
Sanka in view of Bansal and further in view of Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
further comprising: determining that the second subscription is capable of the first mode of operation with the first subscription using the first cell, wherein determining that the criteria is satisfied for entering the first mode of operation is based at least in part on determining that the second subscription is capable of the first mode of operation with the first subscription using the first cell. ([¶0033] The control unit 110 may determine whether the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription 197 is available (203). For example, the control unit 110 may determine whether the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription 197 may be available to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192.)
Regarding Claim 16:
Sanka in view of Bansal and further in view of Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein determining that the criteria is satisfied for entering the first mode of operation comprises: determining that the initiation of the first mode of operation has been triggered by a radio resource control protocol of the UE. ([¶0061] mobile communication device may receive a measurement control message (MCM) from the first communication network 190 (502). Although the sequence 500 is described with respect to the first subscription 192, a person having ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that the sequence 500 may also transpire on the second subscription 197 without departing from the scope of the present inventive concept.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Sanka in view of Bansal and further in view of Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) is based at least in part on detecting the threshold quantity of ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds)
Sanka and Bansal do not disclose:
further comprising: detecting a threshold quantity of consecutive cyclic redundancy check failures associated with a data channel of the first communication link based at least in part on a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) … consecutive cyclic redundancy check
Kim discloses:
further comprising: detecting a threshold quantity of consecutive cyclic redundancy check failures associated with a data channel of the first communication link based at least in part on a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) ([¶0297] It is assumed that the UE decodes a PDSCH according to the detected PDCCH carrying the DCI format 1A or 1C intended therefor and having CRC scrambled by an SI-RNTI or P-RNTI and a PRS is not present in a resource block (RB) in which the corresponding PDSCH is delivered.)… consecutive cyclic redundancy check ([¶0297] CRC)
Sanka, Bansal and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka and Bansal to use CRC checks as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 19:
Sanka in view of Bansal and further in view of Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka and Bansal do not disclose:
wherein the first channel quality comprises a reference signal received power or a signal-to-noise ratio.
Kim discloses:
wherein the first channel quality comprises a reference signal received power or ([¶0322] a UE-specific reference signal)
Sanka, Bansal and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka and Bansal to use a reference signal as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 20:
Sanka in view of Bansal and further in view of Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the first subscription is a default data subscription and the second subscription is a non-default data subscription. ([¶0032] operate in CM mode on the first subscription 192 by default. [¶0054] CM is not enabled on the second subscription)
Regarding Claim 27:
Sanka discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a one or more processors, memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: ([¶0009] there is provided a non-transitory computer readable medium. In some embodiments, the non-transitory computer readable medium may have stored thereon instructions for causing one or more processors to perform operations) identify a first subscription of the UE is in an active mode with a first cell; ([¶0040] mobile communication device 100 is described to be in a connected mode on the first subscription) identify a second subscription of the UE is in an idle mode with a second cell; ([¶0042] the mobile communication device 100 is in the idle mode on the second subscription) determine that a criteria is satisfied for entering a first mode of operation wherein the UE uses the first subscription to perform idle mode measurements for the second subscription; ([¶0056] The remainder of the allotted time period may be a transmission gap on the second subscription 197 during which the control unit 110 may utilize the second RF chain 150 to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192. [¶0069] Although the sequence 500 is described with respect to the first subscription 192, a person having ordinary skill in the art can appreciate that the sequence 500 may also transpire on the second subscription 197 without departing from the scope of the present inventive concept.) determine that a first channel quality associated with a first communication link between the UE and the first cell fails to satisfy a threshold channel quality; ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) quality, wherein the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality comprises a failure to satisfy a channel quality-based merge condition associated with the first mode of operation; initiate a timer ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription)based at least in part on the failure to satisfy the threshold channel quality, ([¶0064] an energy of the current serving cell on the first subscription 192 is below one or more thresholds) wherein the initiation of the first mode of operation is postponed during at least a duration of the timer. ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription)
Sanka does not disclose:
postponing initiation of the first mode of operation
Bansal discloses:
postponing initiation of the first mode of operation ([¶0076] the wireless communication device may then suspend the data communication on the first network to proceed with the requested communication activity on the second SIM.)
Sanka and Bansal are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to postpone initiation as taught by Bansal in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Sanka in view of Bansal does not disclose:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation.
Kim discloses:
merge condition associated with the first mode of operation. ([¶0294] a UE merges the two eNBs as a PCell and an SCell, respectively. However, one UE may merge 3 or more cells.)
Sanka, Bansal, and Kim are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka in view of Bansal to use a merge condition as taught by Kim in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 29:
Sanka in view of Bansal discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the instructions ([¶0009] instructions) are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([¶0009] causing one or more processors to perform) to: identify that the first subscription of the UE transitions to an idle mode with the first cell; and initiating a ([¶0033] The control unit 110 may determine whether the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription 197 is available (203). For example, the control unit 110 may determine whether the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription 197 may be available to perform inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements for one or more neighbor cells on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka and Kim does not disclose:
cell re-selection
Bansal discloses:
cell re-selection ([¶0037] the wireless communication device may read system information of each acquired cell to obtain parameters, such as the PLMN identity and cell selection parameters.)
Sanka, Kim, and Bansal are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka to incorporate cell reselection as taught by Bansal in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanka in view of Jeong (US 20120224470 A1) hereafter Jeong.
Regarding Claim 3:
Sanka in view of Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
further comprising: determining, during the duration of the timer, ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) that the UE establishes a connection with a third cell using the first subscription; establishment of the connection with the third cell using the first subscription; determining whether a second channel quality associated with a second communication link between the UE and the third cell satisfies the threshold channel quality; and determining whether to re-enter the first mode of operation based at least in part on whether the second channel quality satisfies the threshold channel quality. ([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka in view of Kim does not disclose:
Terminating the timer
Jeong discloses:
Terminating the timer ([¶0039] terminates the timer)
Sanka, Kim, and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka in view of Kim to terminate the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 4:
Sanka in view of Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims.
further comprising: determining that the determining whether the first channel quality associated with the first communication link between the UE and the first cell satisfies the threshold channel quality; and determining whether to re-enter the first mode of operation based at least in part on whether the first channel quality satisfies the threshold channel quality. ([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka in view of Kim does not disclose:
Timer expires
Jeong discloses:
Timer expires ([¶0039] timer expires)
Sanka, Kim, and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka in view of Kim to terminate the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 23:
Sanka in view of Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the instructions ([¶0009] instructions) are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([¶0009] causing one or more processors to perform) to: determine, during the duration of the timer, ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription)that the UE establishes a connection with a third cell using the first subscription;([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka in view of Kim does not disclose:
Terminating the timer
Jeong discloses:
Terminating the timer ([¶0039] terminates the timer)
Sanka, Kim, and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka in view of Kim to terminate the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 24:
Sanka in view of Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the instructions ([¶0009] instructions) are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([¶0009] causing one or more processors to perform) to: determine that the([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka in view of Kim does not disclose:
Timer expires
Jeong discloses:
Timer expires ([¶0039] timer expires)
Sanka, Kim, and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka in view of Kim to terminate the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Claim(s) 13-14 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanka in view of Bensal and Kim as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Jeong.
Regarding Claim 13:
Sanka in view of Bansal and Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
further comprising: determining, during the duration of the timer, ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) that the UE establishes a connection with a third cell using the first subscription; ([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka and Bansal and Kim do not disclose:
Terminating the timer
Jeong discloses:
Terminating the timer ([¶0039] terminates the timer)
Sanka, Bansal, Kim and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka, Bansal and Kim to use Terminate the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 14:
Sanka in view of Bansal and Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
further comprising: determining that the threshold channel quality. ([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka and Bansal and Kim do not disclose:
Timer expires
Jeong discloses:
Timer expires ([¶0039] timer expires)
Sanka, Bansal and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka, Bansal, and Kim to use expire the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Regarding Claim 30:
Sanka in view of Bansal and Kim discloses the limits of parent claims.
Sanka discloses:
wherein the instructions ([¶0009] instructions) are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([¶0009] causing one or more processors to perform) to: determine, during the duration of the timer, ([¶0056] the control unit 110 may be allotted a certain period of time to utilize the second RF chain 150 associated with the second subscription) that the UE establishes a connection with a third cell using the first subscription;([¶0068] the first communication network 190 may determine, based on the inter-frequency or inter-RAT measurement reported in the MRM, that a signal strength of a neighbor cell does exceed one or more thresholds. Thus, the mobile communication device 100 may receive from the first communication network 190 a handover command to execute a handover to the inter-frequency or inter-RAT neighbor cell on the first subscription 192.)
Sanka and Bansal and Kim do not disclose:
Terminating the timer
Jeong discloses:
Terminating the timer ([¶0039] terminates the timer)
Sanka, Bansal, Kim, and Jeong are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sanka, Bansal, and Kim to use Terminate the timer as taught by Jeong in order to enhance page sharing (Instant Application [¶0005]).
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463