DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species III, claims 1-22, in the reply filed on 9/16/25 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/14/23 and 08/05/24, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
4. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 1-3, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Allen (US 20140226935 A1) in view of Geens (WO 2020086942 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Allen (figures 1-4) discloses a telecommunications enclosure comprising a housing (20) including a dome (30) and a base (28) positioned at one end of the dome (30), at least a portion of the base (28) being detachable from a remainder of the housing (20) (figure 4 and [0031]), the dome defining a longitudinal axis (22), and the housing defining a length (see the annotation in figure 1 below) that extends along the longitudinal axis (22); and the housing defining a cross-dimension (see the annotation in figure 1 below) that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (22), the cross- dimension being measured at the cable entrance and the length of the housing (20) being longer than the cross-dimension (figure 1).
Allen does not explicitly disclose the housing including a side cable entrance defined at least in part by the base, the side cable entrance defining a cable entrance axis aligned in a reference plane that extends across the longitudinal axis.
However, Geens (figures 1-3) teaches a cable sealing device including the housing (150) including a side cable entrance (100) defined at least in part by the base (figure 3), the side cable entrance defining a cable entrance axis (A1) aligned in a reference plane that extends across the longitudinal axis (A2, figures 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Allen to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Geens) for the purpose of facilitating to route the cables into the closure (page 2, lines 15-16).
[AltContent: arrow] Length of the housing
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Cross-dimension
With respect to claim 2, Allen (figures 1-4) substantially discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except the length is at least 1.5, or 2 or 3 times as long as the cross-dimension.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Allen to form the length is at least 1.5, or 2 or 3 times as long as the cross-dimension as claimed, because the dimensions can be varied depending upon the device in a particular application.
With respect to claim 3, Allen (figures 1-4) substantially discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except the reference plane is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
However, Geens (figures 1-3) teaches a cable sealing device including the reference plane is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (page 5, lines 30-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Allen to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Geens) for the purpose of facilitating to route the cables into the closure (page 2, lines 15-16).
With respect to claim 17, Allen (figures 1-4) discloses the telecommunications enclosure, wherein a tray arrangement including a plurality of pivotal trays is covered by the dome ([0033]), wherein the tray arrangement includes a tower to which the pivotal trays are pivotally mounted ([0033]).
Allen does not disclose a fiber storage module is mounted on the tower for allowing fibers to be routed in at least one 180 degree turn before being routed to the pivotal trays.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Allen to form a fiber storage module is mounted on the tower for allowing fibers to be routed in at least one 180 degree turn before being routed to the pivotal trays as claimed, because the dimensions can be varied depending upon the device in a particular application.
With respect to claim 18, Allen (figures 1-4) substantially discloses all the limitations of claimed invention except the reference plane is angled 80-100 degrees relative to the to the longitudinal axis.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Allen to form the reference plane is angled 80-100 degrees relative to the to the longitudinal axis as claimed, because the dimensions can be varied depending upon the device in a particular application.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4-16 and 19-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose the telecommunications enclosure, wherein the housing includes a sleeve defining the side cable entrance, and wherein the sleeve includes a sleeve passage containing a cable sealing unit including cable sealing gel as recited in claim 4; wherein the housing includes a sleeve defining the side cable entrance, wherein the sleeve includes a sleeve passage containing a cable sealing arrangement, wherein the sleeve projects laterally outwardly from a main body of the housing which extends along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the sleeve is oriented such that the main body and the sleeve define an oblique angle when viewed along the longitudinal axis as recited in claim 15; wherein the reference plane is a first reference plane, wherein a second reference plane perpendicular to the first reference plane bisects the side cable entrance, wherein a plurality of pivotal fiber management trays are positioned within the dome, and wherein the second reference plane is oriented at an oblique angle with respect to pivot axes of the pivotal fiber management trays as recited in claim 16; wherein the housing includes a sleeve defining the side cable entrance, wherein the sleeve includes a sleeve passage containing a cable sealing arrangement, wherein the sleeve projects laterally outwardly from a main body of the housing which extends along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the sleeve is oriented such that the main body and the sleeve define an oblique angle in the range of 130-170 degrees when viewed along the longitudinal axis as recited in claim 19; wherein a tray arrangement including a plurality of pivotal trays is coved by the dome, wherein the tray arrangement includes a tower to which the pivotal trays are pivotally mounted, wherein a fiber storage module is non-pivotally mountable at a mounting interface on the tower, wherein the fiber storage module is configured for accommodating excess fiber length of fibers prior to the fibers being routed to the pivotal trays, and wherein the tray arrangement includes a tray expansion adapter that can be mounted at the mounting interface in place of the fiber storage module to allow at least one additional pivotal tray to be pivotally mounted at the tower as recited in claim 20 and wherein the housing includes a sleeve defining the side cable entrance, wherein the sleeve includes a sleeve passage containing a cable sealing arrangement, and wherein the cable sealing arrangement includes an actuator for pressurizing gel of the cable sealing arrangement within the sleeve as recited in claim 21.
Claims 5-14 depend from claim 4.
Claim 22 depends from claim 21.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adams et al. (US 9394442 B2) disclose a hybrid thermoplastic gel. Alston et al. (US 8861919 B2) disclose fiber optic communications systems. And Ray et al. (US 6009225 A) disclose a fiber optic splice closure.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874