DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s arguments filed on 01/23/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 10/23/2025. Claims 16, 27 and 33 have been amended. Claims 25-26 have been cancelled. Claims 16-24 and 27-34 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/ moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument: In the present case, Applicant did not amend claim 16 in the recent response of August 25, 2025. Therefore, the present rejection does not qualify as a final rejection under prong [1] of MPEP 706.07(a), noted above. Additionally, the information disclosure statement submitted on August 25, 2025 (the "IDS") did not include the fee set forth in 37 CFR §1.17(p) (i.e., no fee was required). Instead, the IDS included the statement specified in paragraph (e) of 37 CFR § 1.97. Therefore, the present rejection does not qualify as a final rejection under prong [2] of MPEP 706.07(a), noted above. In view of the foregoing, it is respectfully submitted that the final rejection of claim 16 is improper because the examiner introduced a new ground of rejection in the Office Action that was "neither [1] necessitated by applicant's amendment of the claims, nor [2] based on information submitted in an information disclosure statement filed during the period set forth in 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p)." Because the new grounds of rejections in the final Office Action do not meet the conditions of MPEP § 706.07(a), it is respectfully submitted that the noted finality of the rejections in the Office Action is improper and should be withdrawn.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and acknowledges the finality of the rejection of claim 16 being improper. The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s arguments filed on 01/23/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 10/23/2025.
Argument: As will be discussed below in detail, the proposed combination of Vasquez, Thanayankizil and Talty does not teach or suggest the limitations of control circuitry configured to "obtain a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel, to provide the request from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, and to provide a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel, " as set forth in amended claim 16 and the related limitations of amended claim 33.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant acknowledges on page 6 of the arguments/remarks that Thanayankizil teaches a vehicle capable of establishing a first communication channel and a second communication channel between the vehicle and the mobile device. Thanayankizil suggests and/or teaches "obtain a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel.” In Thanayankizil, a mobile device can initiate a service request (e.g. phone projection requests from mobile device to vehicle display, or VIS display 30 in Fig. 1, ¶23) using an already established SRWC link. The mobile device connects to the vehicle using a first SRWC link, and uses the first SRWC link to establish a second SRWC link between the vehicle and the mobile device (¶3). Method 200 shows that a mobile device sends a request (¶31) over an established SRWC link to perform a vehicle service that may require a different SRWC link, which teaches obtaining a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device, and Thanayankizil teaches that the request of step 230 may be provided via the first SRWC link (¶23), therefore the request is via the first communication channel (first SRWC link).
Thanayankizil further teaches “to provide the request from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device”. In ¶43, Thanayankizil teaches credentials and set up data associated with a second SRWC link are communicated to the vehicle using the first SRWC link, and further communications, including requests and acknowledgments pertaining to establishing the second SRWC link may occur via the first SRWC link. It shows the same physical link (first SRWC link) is used to carry communications relevant to the second wireless communication device in the vehicle or subsequent link establishment to provide specific vehicle services such as projecting to the VIS 20 for viewing on display 30 (¶26).
Lastly, Thanayankizil also teaches “and to provide a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel,”. Thanayankizil establishes communication in both directions between the two SRWC links and that responses can be sent back over the same link used to carry the initial request. For example, in ¶43, it states further set-up communications (e.g., requests and acknowledgements) pertaining to the second SRWC link may occur via the first SRWC link.
To conclude, the combination of Vasquez, which establishes two separate wireless communication devices with pairing processes, with Thanayankizil which further establishes a pattern of a mobile device sending requests for establishing connection with a vehicle through a first SRWC link, which can then be used to establish and communicate over a second SRWC link that uses a different protocol/vehicle service from the first SRWC link, with Banin which shows a second device designed to send information on its capabilities to a first device over a transmission link (Fig. 17), all suggest or teach the claim limitations "obtain a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel, to provide the request from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, and to provide a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel, " as set forth in amended claim 16 and the related limitations of amended claim 33.
Argument: The proposed combination also fails to teach or suggest the limitations of control circuitry configured to "transmit information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel", as set forth in amended claim 16 and the related limitations of amended claim 33.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the amendments made to independent claims 16 and 33, the Office no longer relies on Talty and instead introduces Banin, where in Fig. 17A and ¶1085 suggests or teaches the claim limitation stated above, where it states the interface circuit 1735 of the second communication apparatus 1730 is configured to transmit first data indicative of communication capabilities of the communication apparatus 1730 via the transmission link 1705 to the first communication apparatus 1710).
Argument: Talty fails to disclose or suggest the control circuitry of the vehicle is configured to "transmit information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel" (emphasis added), as per claims 16 and the related limitations of claim 33.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the amendments made to independent claims 16 and 33, the Office no longer relies on Talty and instead introduces Banin, where in Fig. 17A and ¶1085 suggests or teaches the claim limitation stated above, where it states the interface circuit 1735 of the second communication apparatus 1730 is configured to transmit first data indicative of communication capabilities of the communication apparatus 1730 via the transmission link 1705 to the first communication apparatus 1710).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-24, 28, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasquez et al. (US 8,736,438 B1), Vasquez hereinafter, and Thanayankizil et al. (US 9,521,238 B1), Thanayankizil hereinafter, and further in view of Banin et al. (US 2023/0090431), Banin hereinafter.
Re. Claim 16, Vasquez teaches a vehicle comprising: (Fig. 1 – Please see 106);
a first wireless communication device configured to perform communication for a keyless access or keyless go functionality of the vehicle; (Fig. 1 & ¶6 - The functionalities of the vehicle that may be controlled using the computing device may include, but are not limited to, locking and/or unlocking one or more doors of the vehicle, opening and closing assisted doors and windows of the vehicle, activating an ignition system of the vehicle, and controlling the motor (e.g., engine) of the vehicle). ¶11 - Short-range wireless communication module 102 in computing device 100 may communicate with one or more short-range wireless communication modules 108 in vehicle 106 via short-range wireless communication, such as NFC or RFID. Examiner interprets short-range wireless communication module 108 as first wireless communication device);
a separate second wireless communication device configured to perform communication for a hands-free functionality, a media playback functionality, and/or a video projection functionality of the vehicle; and control circuitry configured to: (Fig. 1 & ¶11 - and wireless communication module 104 in computing device 100 may communicate with wireless communication module 110 in vehicle 106 via wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or WiFi Direct. Such communications between computing device 100 and vehicle 106 may enable computing device 100 to control one or more functionalities of vehicle 106. ¶19 - …including establishing a secure connection between wireless communication module 104 and wireless communication module 110 without further user intervention. Examiner interprets wireless communication module 110 as a second wireless communication device able to perform hands-free functionality (“without further user intervention”));
perform a first pairing procedure between the first wireless communication device and a mobile device to establish a first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device, (Fig. 1 & ¶53 - In some examples, the first short-range communication protocol may include near-field communication (NFC), and the second short-range communication protocol may include Bluetooth. In some examples, establishing the secure connection with the vehicle further may include receiving a Bluetooth pairing request from a Bluetooth module of the vehicle, and pairing a Bluetooth module of the computing device with the Bluetooth module of the vehicle);
perform a second pairing procedure between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device by exchanging pairing information for pairing the second wireless communication device (Fig. 1 & ¶19 - Vehicle 106 may also send a wireless communication pairing request, such as a Bluetooth pairing request or a WiFi direct pairing request, to computing device 100 as part of the signal to pair wireless communication module 110 included in vehicle 106 with wireless communication module 104 included in computing system 100. In response to receiving the wireless communication pairing request… wireless communication module 104 may pair with wireless communication module 110 so that computing device 100 may establish a secure connection with vehicle 106, including establishing a secure connection between wireless communication module 104 and wireless communication module 110 without further user intervention);
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach with the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device, wherein, in order to perform the second pairing procedure and establish a second communication channel between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device, the control circuitry is configured to: obtain a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel, provide the request from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, and provide a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel, and transmit information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches with the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device (Fig. 1-3 & ¶3 - establishing a first short range wireless communication (SRWC) link between the vehicle and the mobile device; and using the first SRWC link to establish a second SRWC link between the vehicle and the mobile device);
wherein, in order to perform the second pairing procedure and establish a second communication channel between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device, the control circuitry is configured to: obtain a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel, (Fig. 3 & Page 7, ¶31 - in other embodiments, the request (step 330) could come from the mobile device 12, and the response (step 332) could come from vehicle 16);
provide the request from the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, (Fig 2-3 & Page 7, ¶31 - In step 332, user of the mobile device 12 may desire the vehicle service offered in the request and may provide an assent or acknowledgement to vehicle 16 via the second SRWC link. Page 8, ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). In at least one implementation, the request pertains to a vehicle service that requires a SRWC link that is not currently established with vehicle 16 (e.g., with VIS 20). Continuing with the example above, the request from mobile device 14 may be a phone projection request which may use a Wi-Fi Direct link);
and provide a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel, (Fig. 2-3 & Page 7, ¶27 - For example, mobile device 12 may initiate a request for a vehicle service (in step 230) and vehicle 16 could perform the acknowledgement (in step 232). Page 8, ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). Please also see Page 9, ¶43);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teaching of Vasquez. The motivation would be because there is a need for establishing a second wireless connection when a first wireless connection previously exists (¶2, Thanayankizil).
Yet, Vasquez and Thanayankizil do not explicitly teach and transmit information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel.
However, in the analogous art, Banin explicitly teaches and transmit information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel (Fig. 17A & ¶1085 - The interface circuit 1735 of the second communication apparatus 1730 is configured to transmit first data indicative of communication capabilities of the communication apparatus 1730 via the transmission link 1705 to the first communication apparatus 1710).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Banin to the teaching of Vasquez and Thanayankizil. The motivation would be because another aspect of interest for a communication interface may be the awareness of the communication partners about the capabilities of each other (¶1083, Banin).
Re. Claim 17, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 16.
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach the pairing information is exchanged between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device via the first wireless communication device.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches the pairing information is exchanged between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device via the first wireless communication device (Fig. 1-2 & ¶43 - there has been described a communication system that includes a vehicle having wireless communication capability and at least one mobile device. The mobile device may establish a second SRWC link using a first SRWC link that is out-of-band with the first SRWC link. In at least some implementations, the credentials of the second SRWC link are communicated over the first SRWC link; further set-up communications (e.g., requests and acknowledgements) pertaining to the second SRWC link may occur via the first SRWC link).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teachings of Vasquez and Banin. The motivation would be because there is a need for establishing a second wireless connection when a first wireless connection previously exists (¶2, Thanayankizil).
Re. Claim 18, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 16.
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach the second pairing procedure is initiated without requiring a confirmation of a code sequence by a user of the mobile device or the vehicle.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches the second pairing procedure is initiated without requiring a confirmation of a code sequence by a user of the mobile device or the vehicle (Fig. 2 (Please see step 236) & ¶25 - Here, step 234 (and step 236) may occur automatically and seamlessly; e.g., without user interaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teachings of Vasquez and Banin. The motivation would be because there is a need for establishing a second wireless connection when a first wireless connection previously exists (¶2, Thanayankizil).
Re. Claims 19 and 20, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claims 18 and 16.
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach the second pairing procedure is initiated automatically by providing a prompt to the user of the mobile device or the vehicle.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches the second pairing procedure is initiated automatically by providing a prompt to the user of the mobile device or the vehicle (Fig. 2 & ¶25 - In step 234, vehicle 16 may determine whether mobile device 12 should be trusted to establish a second SRWC link prior to providing the vehicle service(s). This may include vehicle 16 validating any suitable credentials associated with mobile device 12; e.g., validating whether the credentials provided in step 218 and stored in step 220 indicate that the vehicle 16 is permitted to establish the second SRWC link … this would require the mobile device user to manually enter at least a portion of the credentials into the mobile device and send it to the vehicle (e.g., VIS 20)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teachings of Vasquez and Banin. The motivation would be because there is a need for establishing a second wireless connection when a first wireless connection previously exists (¶2, Thanayankizil).
Re. Claim 21, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 16.
Vasquez further teaches the first wireless communication device is a first Bluetooth communication device (Fig. 1 & ¶41 - These alternative short-range communication devices may operate according to Bluetooth, Ultra-Wideband radio, or other similar protocols).
Re. Claim 22, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 16.
Vasquez further teaches the first wireless communication device is a first ultra-Wideband communication device (Fig. 1 & ¶41 - These alternative short-range communication devices may operate according to Bluetooth, Ultra-Wideband radio, or other similar protocols).
Re. Claim 23, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 16.
Vasquez further teaches the second wireless communication device is a second Bluetooth communication device (Fig. 1 & ¶11 - … and wireless communication module 104 in computing device 100 may communicate with wireless communication module 110 in vehicle 106 via wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or WiFi Direct) or a communication device for communicating in a Wireless Local Area Network.
Re. Claim 24, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 23.
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach the second pairing procedure is a Bluetooth pairing procedure or wherein the second pairing procedure is a procedure for joining a Wireless Local Area Network.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches the second pairing procedure is a Bluetooth pairing procedure or wherein the second pairing procedure is a procedure for joining a Wireless Local Area Network (Fig. 1-2 & ¶3 - …and using the first SRWC link to establish a second SRWC link between the vehicle and the mobile device. ¶7 - SRWC protocols usable by the mobile device 12 include various 802.11 protocols (e.g., a Wi-Fi protocol), a Wi-Fi Direct protocol, a Bluetooth protocol, a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol… ¶12 - For this purpose, telematics unit 18 can be configured to communicate wirelessly according to one or more wireless protocols, including short range wireless communication (SRWC) such as any of the IEEE 802.11 protocols, WiMAX, ZigBee™, Wi-Fi direct, Bluetooth, or near field communication (NFC). Please also see ¶13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teachings of Vasquez and Banin. The motivation would be because the invention relates to short range wireless communication (SRWC) between a vehicle and a mobile device (¶1, Thanayankizil).
Re. Claim 28, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 23.
Vasquez further teaches the control circuitry is configured to obtain a request for pairing the mobile device with the second Bluetooth communication device from the mobile device via the communication channel, (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶7 - The computing device may further include a Bluetooth module configured to, after to sending the validation request signal by the NFC module, establish a secure connection with the vehicle over a second short-range communication protocol);
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach to provide the request to the second Bluetooth communication device, and to provide a response to the request from the second Bluetooth communication device to the mobile device via the communication channel.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches to provide the request to the second Bluetooth communication device, (Fig 2-3 & Page 7, ¶31 - In step 332, user of the mobile device 12 may desire the vehicle service offered in the request and may provide an assent or acknowledgement to vehicle 16 via the second SRWC link. Page 8, ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). In at least one implementation, the request pertains to a vehicle service that requires a SRWC link that is not currently established with vehicle 16 (e.g., with VIS 20). Continuing with the example above, the request from mobile device 14 may be a phone projection request which may use a Wi-Fi Direct link);
and to provide a response to the request from the second Bluetooth communication device to the mobile device via the communication channel (Fig. 2-3 & Page 7, ¶27 - For example, mobile device 12 may initiate a request for a vehicle service (in step 230) and vehicle 16 could perform the acknowledgement (in step 232). Page 8, ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). Please also see Page 9, ¶43);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teachings of Vasquez and Banin. The motivation would be because there is a need for establishing a second wireless connection when a first wireless connection previously exists (¶2, Thanayankizil).
Re. Claim 31, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 28.
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach the request indicates, whether the mobile device requests to use a vehicular display for displaying information provided by the mobile device.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches the request indicates, whether the mobile device requests to use a vehicular display for displaying information provided by the mobile device (Fig. 2 & ¶17 - The method enables an out-of-band SRWC connection or link to be established between mobile device 12 (or 14) and the vehicle 16—e.g., between mobile device 12 and the VIS 20 directly or between mobile device 12 and the VIS 20 indirectly (e.g., via another electronic vehicle device such as telematics unit 18). ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). In at least one implementation, the request pertains to a vehicle service that requires a SRWC link that is not currently established with vehicle 16 (e.g., with VIS 20)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teachings of Vasquez and Banin. The motivation would be because the invention relates to short range wireless communication (SRWC) between a vehicle and a mobile device (¶1, Thanayankizil).
Re. Claim 32, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 28.
Vasquez further teaches the response comprises information on a cryptographic secret provided by the second Bluetooth communication device (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶20 - Establishing the secure connection between computing device 100 and vehicle 106 may include encrypting communications between wireless communication module 104 included in computing device 100 and wireless communication module 110 included in vehicle 106 using the symmetric encryption key passed by vehicle 106 to computing device 100 … The secure connection between computing device 100 and vehicle 106 may also be established and secured using any other well-known security or cryptography techniques).
Re. Claim 33, Vasquez teaches a method for pairing a mobile device with a first and a second wireless communication device of a vehicle, (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶47 - FIG. 3 illustrates a flowchart illustrating a method to use an example computing device, such as computing device 100 of FIG. 1, as a smart vehicle key for an example vehicle, such as vehicle 106 of FIG. 1. The method may include sending, from a computing device to a vehicle via a first short-range communication protocol (e.g., near field communication), a validation request signal (300). ¶48 - The method may further include, after to sending the validation request signal, establishing, by the computing device, a secure connection with the vehicle over a second short-range communication protocol (e.g., Bluetooth) (302));
the first wireless communication device being configured to perform communication for a keyless access or keyless go functionality of the vehicle, (Fig. 1 & ¶6 - The functionalities of the vehicle that may be controlled using the computing device may include, but are not limited to, locking and/or unlocking one or more doors of the vehicle, opening and closing assisted doors and windows of the vehicle, activating an ignition system of the vehicle, and controlling the motor (e.g., engine) of the vehicle). ¶11 - Short-range wireless communication module 102 in computing device 100 may communicate with one or more short-range wireless communication modules 108 in vehicle 106 via short-range wireless communication, such as NFC or RFID. Examiner interprets short-range wireless communication module 108 as first wireless communication device);
the second wireless communication device being configured to perform communication for a hands-free functionality, a media playback functionality or a video projection functionality of the vehicle, the method comprising: (Fig. 1 & ¶11 - and wireless communication module 104 in computing device 100 may communicate with wireless communication module 110 in vehicle 106 via wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or WiFi Direct. Such communications between computing device 100 and vehicle 106 may enable computing device 100 to control one or more functionalities of vehicle 106. ¶19 - …including establishing a secure connection between wireless communication module 104 and wireless communication module 110 without further user intervention. Examiner interprets wireless communication module 110 as a second wireless communication device able to perform hands-free functionality (“without further user intervention”));
performing a first pairing procedure between the first wireless communication device and a mobile device to establish a first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device to enable the mobile device to perform a keyless access or keyless go function of the vehicle; (Fig. 1 & ¶6 - The functionalities of the vehicle that may be controlled using the computing device may include, but are not limited to, locking and/or unlocking one or more doors of the vehicle, opening and closing assisted doors and windows of the vehicle, activating an ignition system of the vehicle, and controlling the motor (e.g., engine) of the vehicle. ¶53 - In some examples, the first short-range communication protocol may include near-field communication (NFC), and the second short-range communication protocol may include Bluetooth. In some examples, establishing the secure connection with the vehicle further may include receiving a Bluetooth pairing request from a Bluetooth module of the vehicle, and pairing a Bluetooth module of the computing device with the Bluetooth module of the vehicle);
and performing a second pairing procedure between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device by exchanging pairing information for pairing the second wireless communication device and the mobile device (Fig. 1 & ¶19 - Vehicle 106 may also send a wireless communication pairing request, such as a Bluetooth pairing request or a WiFi direct pairing request, to computing device 100 as part of the signal to pair wireless communication module 110 included in vehicle 106 with wireless communication module 104 included in computing system 100. In response to receiving the wireless communication pairing request… wireless communication module 104 may pair with wireless communication module 110 so that computing device 100 may establish a secure connection with vehicle 106, including establishing a secure connection between wireless communication module 104 and wireless communication module 110 without further user intervention);
Yet, Vasquez does not explicitly teach with the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device, wherein the second pairing procedure establishes a second communication channel between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device and includes: obtaining a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel, providing the request to the second wireless communication device, providing a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel, and transmitting information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device.
However, in the analogous art, Thanayankizil explicitly teaches with the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device, (Fig. 1-3 & ¶3 - establishing a first short range wireless communication (SRWC) link between the vehicle and the mobile device; and using the first SRWC link to establish a second SRWC link between the vehicle and the mobile device);
wherein the second pairing procedure establishes a second communication channel between the second wireless communication device and the mobile device and includes: obtaining a request for pairing the mobile device with the second wireless communication device from the mobile device via the first communication channel, (Fig. 3 & Page 7, ¶31 - in other embodiments, the request (step 330) could come from the mobile device 12, and the response (step 332) could come from vehicle 16);
providing the request to the second wireless communication device, (Fig 2-3 & Page 7, ¶31 - In step 332, user of the mobile device 12 may desire the vehicle service offered in the request and may provide an assent or acknowledgement to vehicle 16 via the second SRWC link. Page 8, ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). In at least one implementation, the request pertains to a vehicle service that requires a SRWC link that is not currently established with vehicle 16 (e.g., with VIS 20). Continuing with the example above, the request from mobile device 14 may be a phone projection request which may use a Wi-Fi Direct link);
providing a response to the request from the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel, (Fig. 2-3 & Page 7, ¶27 - For example, mobile device 12 may initiate a request for a vehicle service (in step 230) and vehicle 16 could perform the acknowledgement (in step 232). Page 8, ¶36 - In step 330′, mobile device 14 requests a vehicle service of vehicle 16, and in step 332′, vehicle 16 acknowledges or accepts the request (e.g., via the first SRWC link). Please also see Page 9, ¶43);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thanayankizil to the teaching of Vasquez. The motivation would be because there is a need for establishing a second wireless connection when a first wireless connection previously exists (¶2, Thanayankizil).
Yet, Vasquez and Thanayankizil do not explicitly teach and transmitting information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device.
However, in the analogous art, Banin explicitly teaches and transmitting information on one or more capabilities of the second wireless communication device to the mobile device via the first communication channel between the first wireless communication device and the mobile device (Fig. 17A & ¶1085 - The interface circuit 1735 of the second communication apparatus 1730 is configured to transmit first data indicative of communication capabilities of the communication apparatus 1730 via the transmission link 1705 to the first communication apparatus 1710).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Banin to the teaching of Vasquez and Thanayankizil. The motivation would be because another aspect of interest for a communication interface may be the awareness of the communication partners about the capabilities of each other (¶1083, Banin).
Re. Claim 34, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 33.
Vasquez further teaches a computer program having a program code for performing the method of claim 33, when the computer program is executed on a computer, a processor, or a programmable hardware component (Fig. 1-3 & ¶54 - The techniques described in this disclosure may be implemented, at least in part, in hardware, software, firmware, or any combination thereof. For example, various aspects of the described techniques may be implemented within one or more processors, including one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), or any other equivalent integrated or discrete logic circuitry, as well as any combinations of such components. Please also see ¶56).
Claims 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin, and further in view of Talty et al. (US 2011/0210830), Talty hereinafter.
Re. Claim 27, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 16.
Yet, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin do not explicitly teach the request comprises one or more capabilities of the mobile device.
However, in the analogous art, Talty explicitly teaches the request comprises one or more capabilities of the mobile device (Fig. 7 & ¶0023 - Many Bluetooth enabled devices now include Near Field Communication (NFC) reader/writer capabilities. ¶0025 - In order for a driver to pair an electronic device 14, such as a mobile phone, to the vehicle, the driver must pass the device 14 within about two centimeters of the NFC tag 12. This allows the device 14, if it has NFC reader/writer capability, to read the vehicle's Bluetooth encryption key from the tag 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Talty to the teachings of Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication between consumer electronics devices and, more particularly, to the use of Near Field Communication tags for simplifying the process of pairing, or establishing secure communications between, two or more consumer electronics devices--including in-vehicle systems (¶0002, Talty).
Re. Claim 29, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin teach Claim 28.
Yet, Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin do not explicitly teach the request comprises one or more capabilities of the mobile device.
However, in the analogous art, Talty explicitly teaches the request comprises one or more capabilities of the mobile device (Fig. 7 & ¶0023 - Many Bluetooth enabled devices now include Near Field Communication (NFC) reader/writer capabilities. ¶0025 - In order for a driver to pair an electronic device 14, such as a mobile phone, to the vehicle, the driver must pass the device 14 within about two centimeters of the NFC tag 12. This allows the device 14, if it has NFC reader/writer capability, to read the vehicle's Bluetooth encryption key from the tag 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Talty to the teachings of Vasquez and Thanayankizil and Banin. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication between consumer electronics devices and, more particularly, to the use of Near Field Communication tags for simplifying the process of pairing, or establishing secure communications between, two or more consumer electronics devices--including in-vehicle systems (¶0002, Talty).
Re. Claim 30, Vasquez and Thanayankizil Banin and Talty teach Claim 29.
Vasquez further teaches the response comprises information on a cryptographic secret provided by the second Bluetooth communication device (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶20 - Establishing the secure connection between computing device 100 and vehicle 106 may include encrypting communications between wireless communication module 104 included in computing device 100 and wireless communication module 110 included in vehicle 106 using the symmetric encryption key passed by vehicle 106 to computing device 100 … The secure connection between computing device 100 and vehicle 106 may also be established and secured using any other well-known security or cryptography techniques).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ricci et al. (US 2025/0174116) – Please see Abstract, ¶0003-¶0367 and Fig. 1-30.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465