DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filling dated September 22, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Notice of Change of Examiner
Please note that the Examiner prosecuting this application has been changed to Examiner Rayna B. Rodriguez of Art Unit 1628. Please address all future correspondences to Examiner Rodriguez.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12, and 13 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s remarks and amendments filed September 22, 2026. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 3; and addition of new claims 12 and 13. Claims 2, 4, and 11 were previously canceled.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/072808 filed on August 17, 2021, which claims benefit of foreign priority to EP20191343.1 filed on August 17, 2020.
Withdrawn Objections and/or Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Indefinite
The rejection of claims 1, 3, and 5-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been rendered moot in view of the amendment of claims 1 and 3. Thus, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
The rejection of claims 1, 3, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been rendered moot in view of the amendment of claims 1 and 3. Thus, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 is directed to a crystalline form of 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indoxyl caprylate characterized by having a powder X-ray diffraction pattern of claim 1. Claim 12 is directed to the crystalline form of claim 1 having the peaks provided in Table 1. Claim 12 describes X-ray powder diffraction pattern peaks of the identical compound cited in claim 1. Therefore, claims 12 is directed to inherent properties of the identical compound cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 12 does not further limit the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 3 is directed to a crystalline form of 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indoxyl caprylate characterized by having a powder X-ray diffraction pattern of claim 3. Claim 13 is directed to the crystalline form of claim 3 having the peaks provided in Table 2. Claim 13 describes X-ray powder diffraction pattern peaks of the identical compound cited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is directed to inherent properties of the identical compound cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 13 does not further limit the limitations of claim 3.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (CN106986809 A, cited in the IDS filed February 14, 2023, machine translation obtained from WIPO Patentscope September 24, 2026).
Wu teaches 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate synthesis method (title); and crystallizing the crude product with ethanol-water in a refrigerator, filtering, washing with water, drying, and performing sufficient vacuum drying to obtain the desired target 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl octyl ester (page 4, 2nd paragraph). Thus, Wu teaches a crystalline form of 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate.
The prior art does not explicitly teach the disclosed composition has the claimed melting point of the instant claims. However, the above physical property depends, among other things, from the specific structure of the compound, which seems to be the same or very similar to the structure taught by the prior art (see above rejection).
The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate that will result from the teachings of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the crystalline form claimed in the instant application. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the formulation used in the instantly claimed method is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama et al (WO 2012/092181 A2, cited in the IDS filed February 14, 2023) in view of Wu et al (CN106986809 A, cited in the IDS filed February 14, 2023, machine translation obtained from WIPO Patentscope September 24, 2026).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, and 10, Moriyama teaches a method of detecting the presence or absence of a target microorganism, comprising: providing a culture device including a culture medium comprising ingredients selected to go facilitate growth of a predetermined indicator microorganism; a detection article comprising a first indicator system, the first indicator system selected to detect a target microorganism; and a sample (claim 1), wherein the first indicator system comprises a reagent to detect caprylate esterase enzyme activity (claims 8, 9, and 25), wherein the indicator is 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate (claim 26). Moriyama does not teach the 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate is in a crystalline form.
However, Wu teaches a crystalline form of 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Moriyama to utilize the crystalline form of 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success, since the cited art teach structurally similar compounds and that 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate is useful in a method of detecting an esterase.
The prior art does not explicitly teach the disclosed composition has the claimed melting point of the instant claims. However, the above physical property depends, among other things, from the specific structure of the compound, which seems to be the same or very similar to the structure taught by the prior art (see above rejection).
The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the 5-bromo-6-chloro-3-indolyl caprylate that will result from the teachings of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the crystalline form claimed in the instant application. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the formulation used in the instantly claimed method is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the method of claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, and 10 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected.
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to.
No claim is allowed.
/Rayna Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628