DETAILED ACTION
` The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites. “the switch” in line 7. It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. This limitation render the claim unclear. For examination purpose Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module Appropriate correction is required. .
Claim 1 recites. “the switch” in line 10. It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. This limitation render the claim unclear. For examination purpose Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites. “the switch” in line 6. It is unclear which switch the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. Thus, the limitation render the claim unclear. Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 4 recites. “the switch” in line 12 It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. Thus, the limitation render the claim unclear. Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module.
Claim 5 recites. “a switch” in lines 3-4. It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. Thus, the limitation render the claim unclear. Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites. “the switch” in line 4. It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. Thus, the limitation render the claim unclear. Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites. “the switch” in line 7. It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. Thus, the limitation render the claim unclear. Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 6 recites. “the switch” in line 4. It is unclear which switch is the limitation referring to. It is unclear the limitation is referring to the switch connected to a remaining power storage module OR the switch connected to a power storage module. Thus, the limitation render the claim unclear. Examiner considered the limitation as the switch connected to the power storage module. Appropriate correction required.
.
Claim Objections
Claims 2- 4 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “an upper limit” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. For examination purpose the limitation is considered as the same as in claim 1 line 5 and should be written as "the upper limit” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites “an upper limit” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. For examination purpose the limitation is considered as the same as in claim 1 line 5 and should be written as "the upper limit” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites “a state of charge of each of the plurality of power storage modules” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. For examination purpose the limitation is considered as the same as in claim 2 line 3 and should be written as "the state of charge of each of the plurality of power storage modules”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “the connection candidate’ in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be written as " a connection candidate” the upper limit” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites. “an upper limit value” in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be written as "the third upper limit value” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “an upper limit” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. For examination purpose the limitation is considered as the same as in claim 1 line 5 and should be written as "the upper limit” Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,179,631
1. A management device that manages a plurality of power storage modules each connected in parallel to a load with a switch and includes a first state where the switch connected to a power storage module is turned on and the switch connected to a remaining power storage module is turned off and included in the plurality of power storage modules, the management device comprising a determination unit that does not permit turning on at least one of the switch connected to the remaining power storage module and turned off in the first state when the switch is turned on and an upper limit value of current or power that is allowed to be discharged to the load from all of the plurality of power storage modules is lower than a first threshold based on a maximum value of current or power required by the load in a state where the at least one of the switch is turned on
1. A management device that manages a plurality of power storage modules each connected in parallel to a load via a switch, the management device comprising a determination unit that determines, in a state where, within the plurality of power storage modules, the switch connected to each of one or more power storage modules of the plurality of power storage modules is in an on state and the switch connected to each of one or more remaining power storage modules of the plurality of power storage modules is in an off state, whether an upper limit value of current or power allowed to be supplied to the load entirely from the plurality of power storage modules after the switch of one of the one or more remaining power storage modules is turned on, is less than or equal to a prior value of the current or the power before turning on the switch of the one of the one or more remaining power storage modules, and upon determining that the upper limit value is less than or equal to the prior value, does not permit the switch of the one of the one or more remaining power storage modules in the off state to be turned on.
. The remaining elements of Claims 2 and 5-7 are meat by Claims 5-7 of '631.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, all the elements are mentioned explicitly or implicitly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 as being anticipated by Park (US 2011/0133558).
As to claims 1 and 6, Park discloses in figure 2 (see figure below),
a management device [see figure above BMS (215) and see ¶0037] that manages a plurality of power storage modules [Main battery (220a) and auxiliary battery (220b); and also see ¶0042 ] each connected in parallel to a load [load (240 and (250) ; see ¶0042] with a switch [plurality of switch circuits disclosed; see figure above and element (217) and ¶0042] and includes a first state where the switch connected to a power storage module is turned on and the switch connected to a remaining power storage module is turned off and included in the plurality of power storage modules [noted that the main switch is turned on to connect the load] , the management device comprising a determination unit that does not permit turning on at least one of the switch connected to the remaining power storage module [the auxiliary battery is in off position; and see Abstract, see ¶008 and ¶0014] and turned off in the first state when the switch is turned on and an upper limit value of current or power that is allowed to be discharged to the load from all of the plurality of power storage modules is lower than a first threshold based on a maximum value of current or power required by the load in a state where the at least one of the switch is turned on [the auxiliary battery is connected when the power demand is greater than the power supplied by the main battery; see ¶008 and ¶0014] .
As to Claim 6 Park discloses in figure 2, the plurality of power storage modules each connected in parallel to the load with the switch [ see figure above, the batteries are connected to the load via switching elements],
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Park et al. (US 2012/0268070), hereinafter 070’.
As to Claim 2, Park discloses all of the claim limitations except, an acquisition unit that acquires at least a state of charge for each of the plurality of power storage modules; and a calculator that estimates an upper limit value of current or power allowed to be discharged from the all of the plurality of power storage modules, based on SOC-discharge upper limit characteristics that define a relationship between a state of charge of each of the plurality of power storage modules and an upper limit value of current or power allowed to be discharged from corresponding one of the plurality of power storage modules, wherein the SOC-discharge upper limit characteristics show that the upper limit value of current or power allowed to be discharged from each of the plurality of power storage modules decreases as the state of charge of corresponding one of the plurality of power storage modules decreases.
070’ discloses in figure 1, an acquisition unit [the controller (110) determines SOC of the batteries; see ¶0039 ] that acquires at least a state of charge for each of the plurality of power storage modules [SOC determination of the batteries; see also ¶0042]; and a calculator that estimates an upper limit value of current or power allowed to be discharged from the all of the plurality of power storage modules[ see ¶0043; each SOC of the battery is determined by the controller (110) and transmits to the control unit (120); see ¶0042-0073], based on SOC-discharge upper limit characteristics that define a relationship between a state of charge of each of the plurality of power storage modules and an upper limit value of current or power allowed to be discharged from corresponding one of the plurality of power storage modules, wherein the SOC-discharge upper limit characteristics show that the upper limit value of current or power allowed to be discharged from each of the plurality of power storage modules decreases as the state of charge of corresponding one of the plurality of power storage modules decreases [noted that the batteries groups based on the calculated SOC values and connected in parallel to be discharged, see ¶0044].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to consider Park’s battery SOC value to discharge and charge as taught by 070’ in order to prevent the battery damage due to deep discharge or swelling.
As to claim 7, 070’ discloses in figures 1-2, wherein the load is a motor [vehicle as a load is disclosed] of a moving body, [vehicle] and the management device notifies a controller in the moving body of an upper limit value of current or power allowed to be supplied from the all of the plurality of power storage modules to the motor [noted that the vehicle as a load is disclosed where the vehicle comprises a motor to drive the body of the vehicle].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use Park’s battery power supply with vehicle motor as taught by 0070’ in order to have high energy efficiency vehicle, and also extending the scope of the batteries for different devices.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kang et al. (US 2010/0085009), hereinafter Kang.
.As to claim 5, Park discloses in figures 1-2, wherein when power supply from the plurality of power storage modules to the load is started, a switch is turned on, the switch being connected to a power storage module with a highest open circuit voltage among the plurality of power storage modules [first the main battery , and a power storage module with a highest open circuit voltage among the power storage module connected to the switch in an off, is a connection candidate connected to the switch to be turned on next.
Kang discloses in figures 1-3, wherein when power supply from the plurality of power storage modules [plurality of cells are disclosed] to the load is started, a switch is turned on, the switch being connected to a power storage module with a highest open circuit voltage among the plurality of power storage modules, and a power storage module with a highest open circuit voltage among the power storage module connected to the switch in an off, is a connection candidate connected to the switch to be turned on next [noted that the cell with higher OCV is discharged; see . ¶0042, ¶0026, ¶0085].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or discharge Park’s battery based on OCV values as taught by Kang in order to minimize voltage/capacity deviation of the battery module.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859