DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed February 4th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 16-32 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 20-30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE Patent Publication No. DE 102013021841 B4, to Engel et al. (hereinafter Engel), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180098215, to Roberts et al (hereinafter Roberts), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160363662, to Tuttle et al (hereinafter Tuttle), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160363662, to Tuttle et al (hereinafter Tuttle)
Regarding claim 16, and commensurate claim 29, and 30 Engel teaches A method for identifying an object as a source of a V2X signal, ([Page 8 Paragraph 2], " Thus, a one-to-one correspondence of first operating information received in the Car2X communication via a radio channel and of second operating information provided by a sensor for detecting the environment of the motor vehicle is possible.")
the method comprising the following steps: receiving a V2X signal from a source by a receiver of a first vehicle; ([Page 10 Paragraph 1], " n the embodiment of the inventive method presented here, it is provided that each of the motor vehicles shown here, ie the self-motor vehicle 6 like the foreign motor vehicles 2 . 4 , via the antenna assigned to it 16 . 18 . 20 sends current, motor vehicle-specific, first operating information, in turn, in the context of trained as Car2X communication radio communication from antennas 16 . 18 . 20 the other motor vehicles are to receive. A first operating information comprises as operating parameters values of at least one kinematic variable of a respective motor vehicle, for example its current position and its current speed. It is provided that a current value for the position of the respective motor vehicle via a positioning system, for example. GPS, is determined. A current value of the speed of the respective motor vehicle is determined via a sensor, which is usually designed as a tachometer.”)
Engel fails to explicitly disclose, However Roberts discloses, performing a relative position estimation, (See at least paragraph [0035] “authentication of respective light communication sources is based upon angle of arrival. In this fashion, the camera may automatically authenticate with lights that are +−5 degrees elevation, relative to the camera position. For example, in a field of view captured while driving a motor vehicle, this narrowed area eliminates many overhead street lights and reflections from the field of view. Thus, in the area of view 310, the overhead lights 312A, 312B, 312C, 312D, 312E are disregarded; likewise, in the area of view 330, the light reflections 332A, 332B, 332C, 332D, 332E are disregarded.”).
using an environment sensor system of the first vehicle, with an object from the surroundings of the first vehicle being detected by way of the environment sensor system, and with a relative position between the first vehicle and the object being determined using the environment sensor system, the environment sensor system receiving environment signals from the object, and the object modulating the environment signals at least with a part of a V2X signal of the object; (See at least paragraph [0034] “the third area of view 330 may be the area that is most likely to provide modulated light data that the vehicle is interested in (such as brake system data or other vehicle-to-vehicle communication). In other examples, other elevations or areas of view may also provide modulated light data. In the scenario depicted by the stylized representation 300, lights from other motor vehicles in the field of view in front of the camera (e.g., lights 322A, 322B, 322C, 322D, 322E, 322F, 322G, 322H) convey modulated light data using the respective vehicles' rear-facing lights (tail lights), with the modulated light data indicating data such as motor vehicle speeds, system events, roadway conditions, and the like..”).
receiving the modulated environment signals by the environment sensor system of the first vehicle, (See at least paragraph [0044] [0048] “modulated light data is detected in the image data (operation 630), ”). and demodulating the received environment signals by a signal- processing unit of the first vehicle to ascertain a V2X identifier of the object; (See at least paragraph [0064] [0074] [0096] “perform a command to process the modulated light data from the authenticated source, in response to the indication to select the light emitting object as the authenticated source of the modulated light data.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0088] “decoding and interpreting content from the modulated light data obtained from the authenticated source”). Still further, (See at least paragraph [0071] “identifier is a uniform resource locator (URL), and wherein operations to obtain the supplemental data from the another data source includes access of the URL using a wireless communication network.”).
comparing the V2X identifier of the object with the V2X signal of the source, the object being identified as the source of the V2X signal when the V2X identifier of the object and the V2X signal of the source have a sufficient correlation. (See at east paragraph [0048] [0051] " Within the area of evaluation, modulated light data is detected in the image data (operation 630), and locations of the modulated light data in the image data are detected (operation 640). The processing system then operates to perform an automatic authentication of one or more locations of modulated light data (operation 650), such as may be based on an image recognition of a particular object, type of object, or the detection of a data signal (e.g., signature, command) communicated from a particular object. The modulated light data from the one or more authenticated locations is then processed (operation 660), and information obtained the modulated light data of the one or more authenticated locations is communicated to another control subsystem (operation 670). This may include the communication of relevant data to a vehicle control subsystem, or the generation of information for output on a display system.").
Additionally, Tuttle discloses, wherein the object detects a measuring signal emitted by the environment sensor system (See at least paragraph [0036] “In FIG. 1, the reader and radar circuit (19) communicates with one or more RFID tagged objects (e.g., 16A, 16B, . . . , 16C) via the antenna (18). The reader and radar circuit (19) powers the antenna (18) which sends radar signals to detect the presence, distance, direction, and/or speed of the RFID tags (e.g., 16A, 16B, . . . , 16C) and/or the objects that carry the RFID tags (not shown in FIG. 1).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0039] “one of the RFID tagged objects is instructed to be responsive to the reader and radar circuit (19) while other RFID tagged objects are silenced (or being out of range). For example, the interrogation signal from the antenna (18) is received by the tag antenna (17A) and passed to the RFID circuit (15A) for processing.”). and, in response to detecting the measuring signal, (See at least paragraph [0039] “the interrogation signal from the antenna (18) is received by the tag antenna (17A) and passed to the RFID circuit (15A) for processing. If the interrogation signal triggers a response, the RFID circuit (15A) uses its tag antenna (17A) to send to the reader and radar circuit (19) a response, such as tag identification information or other data stored in the memory of the tag (16A).”). actively transmits the environment signal back toward the environment sensor system, (See at least paragraph [0037] “the RFID tags (e.g., 16A, 16B, . . . , 16C) can be selectively silenced (e.g., being placed in a mode to reduce interrogating electromagnetic wave backscattered from the tag, or not to actively transmit any signals using its internal power source), or be instructed to produce a response (e.g., via backscattering or actively transmitting).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0039] “ne of the RFID tagged objects is instructed to be responsive to the reader and radar circuit (19) while other RFID tagged objects are silenced (or being out of range). For example, the interrogation signal from the antenna (18) is received by the tag antenna (17A) and passed to the RFID circuit (15A) for processing. If the interrogation signal triggers a response, the RFID circuit (15A) uses its tag antenna (17A) to send to the reader and radar circuit (19) a response, such as tag identification information or other data stored in the memory of the tag (16A).”). the environment signal being generated by the object. (See at least paragraph [0008] “An active tag that has an internal battery or power source, using which a separate transmission signal is generated to provide the response. The response signal is generated independent from the interrogating electromagnetic wave.”).
Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, communication systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Engel to incorporate the teachings of Roberts such that the identifier will improve the system of Engel by having the ability to recognize the object in the environment with a high accuracy due to the authentication process of Roberts.
Regarding claim 17, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 16, and Engel further discloses, wherein the object is a second vehicle. (See [Abstract],”one foreign motor vehicle (2, 4)”)
Regarding claim 18, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 16, and Engel further discloses, wherein the V2X signal of the source includes a clear V2X identifier of the source, the clear V2X identifier of the source being a V2X station ID of the source, and wherein the environment signal of the object is modulated with a clear V2X identifier of the object, the clear V2X identifier of the object being a V2X station ID of the object, and wherein, by comparing the V2X identifier of the object with the V2X identifier of the source of the V2X signal, the object is identified as the source of the V2X signal when the V2X identifiers match. (See [Page 7 Paragraph 1] “each motor vehicle comprises a sensor for identity recognition, with which a radiated second identity information is detected. This sensor is z. B. formed as a camera for detecting light in the infrared range. Since the second identity information of the motor vehicle is emitted in a frequency range which is similar to the visible light, an evaluation of the second identity information of the sensor for identity recognition can determine which motor vehicle, usually which foreign motor vehicle, detects the sensor for detecting the surroundings is, the first identity information radiates. By comparing the transmitted first identity information, with the second identity information detected by the sensor for identifying identity, it can then be decided unambiguously which first operating information to which motor vehicle, which is recognized by the at least one sensor for detecting the surroundings on the basis of the at least one second operating information, belongs.”)
Regarding claim 20, and commensurate claim 25, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 16, and Engel further discloses, wherein the environment sensor system of the first vehicle includes a radar sensor, with a radar signal being emitted as a measuring signal, using the radar sensor, into surroundings of the first vehicle, and the object including at least one active radar reflector, the active radar reflector receiving the transmitted radar signal and, in response thereto, emitting a second radar signal as the environment signal, the second radar signal being modulated with the V2X identifier of the object. (See [Page 4 paragraph 1] “The at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle is designed to detect the environment via electromagnetic waves and can be configured as a laser sensor, radar sensor, lidar sensor and / or camera. Furthermore, it is possible that the sensor for identity monitoring is also designed as the at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle. Thus, a detection of the environment as well as the identity recognition with the same sensor, eg. A camera can be performed”)
Regarding claim 21, and commensurate claim 26, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 16, and Engel further discloses, wherein the environment sensor system of the first vehicle includes a lidar sensor, with a lidar signal being emitted as a measuring signal, using the lidar sensor, into the surroundings of the first vehicle, and the object including at least one photosensor and a lidar signal transmitter, the photosensor receiving the transmitted lidar signal, and, in response thereto, a second lidar signal being transmitted as an environment signal by the lidar signal transmitter, the second lidar signal being modulated with the V2X identifier of the object. (See [Page 7 paragraph 5] “The at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle is designed to detect the environment via electromagnetic waves and can be configured as a laser sensor, radar sensor, lidar sensor and / or camera. Furthermore, it is possible that the sensor for identity monitoring is also designed as the at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle. Thus, a detection of the environment as well as the identity recognition with the same sensor, eg. A camera can be performed”)
Regarding claim 22, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 16, and further discloses, wherein the environment sensor system of the first vehicle includes a camera system, and the object transmits as the environment signal an optical signal, the optical signal being modulated with the V2X identifier of the object. (See [Page 7 paragraph 5] “The at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle is designed to detect the environment via electromagnetic waves and can be configured as a laser sensor, radar sensor, lidar sensor and / or camera. Furthermore, it is possible that the sensor for identity monitoring is also designed as the at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle. Thus, a detection of the environment as well as the identity recognition with the same sensor, eg. A camera can be performed”)
Regarding claim 23, and commensurate claim 28, Engel discloses, A device for a vehicle, the device being configured to be identified as a source of a V2X signal, (See [Page 7 paragraph 6] “With the method u. a. by the use of a so-called beaconing and thus by a signal illumination, which is here displayed by each of an actuator of a foreign motor vehicle and thus provided, a one-to-one allocation of the first operating information of a particular foreign motor vehicle, as Car2X information on the radio communication, For example. Car2X communication, are provided, to a sensory detected second operating information of the particular foreign motor vehicle possible. The radio communication between the motor vehicles involved used in the procedure, d. H. the self-motor vehicle and the at least one foreign motor vehicle is provided via electromagnetic waves.”)
Engel fails to explicitly discloses, however Roberts discloses, the device comprising: a computer configured to generate the V2X signal, the V2X signal including a clear V2X identifier; (See at least paragraph [0044] [0048] “modulated light data is detected in the image data (operation 630), ”).
a communicator configured to emit the V2X signal into surroundings of the device; (See at least paragraph [0064] [0074] [0096] “perform a command to process the modulated light data from the authenticated source, in response to the indication to select the light emitting object as the authenticated source of the modulated light data.”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0088] “decoding and interpreting content from the modulated light data obtained from the authenticated source”). Still further, (See at least paragraph [0071] “identifier is a uniform resource locator (URL), and wherein operations to obtain the supplemental data from the another data source includes access of the URL using a wireless communication network.”).
and a signal-transmitter configured to transmit an environment signal, the environment signal being modulated with the V2X identifier of the device. (See at east paragraph [0048] [0051] " Within the area of evaluation, modulated light data is detected in the image data (operation 630), and locations of the modulated light data in the image data are detected (operation 640). The processing system then operates to perform an automatic authentication of one or more locations of modulated light data (operation 650), such as may be based on an image recognition of a particular object, type of object, or the detection of a data signal (e.g., signature, command) communicated from a particular object. The modulated light data from the one or more authenticated locations is then processed (operation 660), and information obtained the modulated light data of the one or more authenticated locations is communicated to another control subsystem (operation 670). This may include the communication of relevant data to a vehicle control subsystem, or the generation of information for output on a display system.").
Additionally, Tuttle discloses, wherein the object detects a measuring signal emitted by the environment sensor system (See at least paragraph [0036] “In FIG. 1, the reader and radar circuit (19) communicates with one or more RFID tagged objects (e.g., 16A, 16B, . . . , 16C) via the antenna (18). The reader and radar circuit (19) powers the antenna (18) which sends radar signals to detect the presence, distance, direction, and/or speed of the RFID tags (e.g., 16A, 16B, . . . , 16C) and/or the objects that carry the RFID tags (not shown in FIG. 1).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0039] “one of the RFID tagged objects is instructed to be responsive to the reader and radar circuit (19) while other RFID tagged objects are silenced (or being out of range). For example, the interrogation signal from the antenna (18) is received by the tag antenna (17A) and passed to the RFID circuit (15A) for processing.”). and, in response to detecting the measuring signal, (See at least paragraph [0039] “the interrogation signal from the antenna (18) is received by the tag antenna (17A) and passed to the RFID circuit (15A) for processing. If the interrogation signal triggers a response, the RFID circuit (15A) uses its tag antenna (17A) to send to the reader and radar circuit (19) a response, such as tag identification information or other data stored in the memory of the tag (16A).”). actively transmits the environment signal back toward the environment sensor system, (See at least paragraph [0037] “the RFID tags (e.g., 16A, 16B, . . . , 16C) can be selectively silenced (e.g., being placed in a mode to reduce interrogating electromagnetic wave backscattered from the tag, or not to actively transmit any signals using its internal power source), or be instructed to produce a response (e.g., via backscattering or actively transmitting).”). Further, (See at least paragraph [0039] “ne of the RFID tagged objects is instructed to be responsive to the reader and radar circuit (19) while other RFID tagged objects are silenced (or being out of range). For example, the interrogation signal from the antenna (18) is received by the tag antenna (17A) and passed to the RFID circuit (15A) for processing. If the interrogation signal triggers a response, the RFID circuit (15A) uses its tag antenna (17A) to send to the reader and radar circuit (19) a response, such as tag identification information or other data stored in the memory of the tag (16A).”). the environment signal being generated by the object. (See at least paragraph [0008] “An active tag that has an internal battery or power source, using which a separate transmission signal is generated to provide the response. The response signal is generated independent from the interrogating electromagnetic wave.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Engel to incorporate the teachings of Roberts for the same motivation reasons in claim 16.
Regarding claim 24, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 23, and further discloses, wherein the signal-transmitting unit is configured to transmit the environment signal in response to recognizing a measuring signal coming in from outside, the device including a sensor configured to detect the measuring signal. (See [Page 4 paragraph 1] “The at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle is designed to detect the environment via electromagnetic waves and can be configured as a laser sensor, radar sensor, lidar sensor and / or camera. Furthermore, it is possible that the sensor for identity monitoring is also designed as the at least one sensor for detecting the environment of the self-motor vehicle. Thus, a detection of the environment as well as the identity recognition with the same sensor, eg. A camera can be performed”)
Regarding claim 27, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 23, and further discloses, wherein the signal-transmitting unit includes a light source, the light source configured to continuously transmit an optical signal as the environment signal, the optical signal being modulated with the V2X identifier of the device. (See [Page 7 Paragraph 8] “each road user includes the identifiable as Beacon actor identity display. An actuator designed here as signal illumination radiates the second identity information of the motor vehicle. In this case, it is provided in an embodiment that a Car2X identity as first identity information is equal to a beacon identity as second identity information. The actuator typically emits the second identity information in a frequency range of visible light electromagnetic waves. The actuator can z. B. a light emitting diode (LED), which emits the second identity information in the frequency range of infrared light. The second identity information is coded here as a bit sequence and transmitted by the actuator.”)
Claims 19 and 31-32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE Patent Publication No. DE 102013021841 B4, to Engel et al. (hereinafter Engel), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20180098215, to Roberts et al (hereinafter Roberts), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160363662, to Tuttle et al (hereinafter Tuttle), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190092360, to Green et al (hereinafter Green)
Regarding claim 19, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 16, but Engel fails to explicitly disclose, However Green discloses, wherein the relative position estimation is performed based on a time-of-flight measurement, the environment sensor system of the first vehicle emitting a measuring signal including an electromagnetic wave at a first point in time, and the environment signal of the object being transmitted in response to an arrival of the measuring signal, and the environment sensor system of the first vehicle receiving the environment signal at a second point in time, the distance between the first vehicle and the object being determined based on a time difference between the first point in time and the second point in time. (See at least paragraph [0205] “the time value T is the difference between time T1 when the sensor installed on the vehicle's leading end passes the starting point of the metasurface plate 802, and time T2, when the sensor installed on the vehicle's trailing end passes the starting point of metasurface plate 802. In some embodiments, the time value T is the difference between time T1 when the sensor installed on the vehicle's leading end passes the end point of the metasurface plate 802, and time T2, when the sensor installed on the vehicle's trailing end passes the end point of metasurface plate 802.”)
Engel as modified by Green, are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, vehicle communication systems. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Engel as modified by Roberts to incorporate the teachings of Green such that the “timing” can improve the system of Engel for communication purposes.
Regarding claim 31 and commensurate claim 32, Engel as modified by Roberts, and Tuttle discloses claim 28, and 29, but Engel fails to explicitly disclose claims 31/32, However Green discloses, wherein the vehicle is a vehicle guided in an at least partially automated fashion including a highly automated or fully automated vehicle. (See at least paragraph [0215] “Processor 1002 is configured to generate instructions for controlling an acceleration and braking system of the guideway mounted vehicle to control travel along the guideway.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Engel to incorporate the teachings of Green for the same motivation reasons in claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESAM NMN ALMADHRHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666