DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 30-33, 35-38, 40-41, and 43-44 are pending and being examined.
All previous objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30-33, 35, 37 and 43-44 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (WO 2018/071362 A1) in view of Hu et al. (Evolved Cas9 variants with broad PAM compatibility and high DNA specificity, 2018, Nature, 556: 57–63), GenBank Accession No. AC217378, Jaqueth et al. (WO 2019/182884 A1, published on 9/26/2019) and Yang et al. (A gene encoding maize caffeoyl-CoA O-methyltransferase confers quantitative resistance to multiple pathogens, 2017, Nat. Genet., 49:1364-1372). This is a new rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Gao et al. teaches a corn plant comprising modified genomic loci (page 2, line 17-24; page 4, line 5-8) by moving or translocating disease resistant alleles including Ht1 and NLB18 to another site in the genome of the same plant (p. 2, line 20-24), thus target site(s) is/are not transgenic. The loci (reads on to “target site”) comprise(s) one or more modified target site(s) within the genome of the same plant (thus, does not qualify as transgenic and comprise only native corn polypeptide) comprise an endogenous polynucleotide sequence encoding Ht1 (page 2, line 28-29) and another endogenous polynucleotide sequence encoding the NLB18 (page 4, line 5-8) polypeptides. One of the NLB18 polypeptides comprising SEQ ID NO: 64 (p. 4, line 27-34) has 100% identity to the full-length sequence of the instant SEQ ID NO: 3 (data not shown), as recited in claim 32.
Both are endogenous corn polynucleotide sequences encoding the native Ht1 and NBL18 polypeptides confer enhanced disease resistance against the fungal pathogen causing northern leaf blight disease (page 1, abstract; page 2, line 3-6; page 4, line 20-24). Gao et al. also teaches methods to introduce resistant alleles of Ht1 and NLB18 to another distal site, Complex Trait Locus (CTL) 1, (Example 4, page 59, last 4 lines; page 60, line 1-6) in the same corn genome (page 1, abstract, line 4-6; page 2, line 20-22), wherein the two polynucleotide sequences encoding Ht1 and NLB18 alleles would be heterologous to the modified genomic locus, which is also non-transgenic, as recited in claim 30.
The Applicant describes, a ““genomic region” (also referred to as “genomic locus”) refers to a segment of a chromosome in the genome of a cell. In one embodiment, a genomic region includes a segment of a chromosome in the genome of a cell that is present on either side of the target site or, alternatively, also comprises a portion of the target site” (spec, p. 20, line 11-14). The Applicant defines the term “target site” to “… a polynucleotide sequence including, but not limited to, a nucleotide sequence within a chromosome, an episome, or any
10 other DNA molecule in the genome (including chromosomal, choloroplastic, mitochondrial
DNA, plasmid DNA) of a cell, at which a guide polynucleotide/Cas endonuclease complex can
recognize, bind to, and optionally nick or cleave” (spec, p. 31, line 6-12).
An ordinarily skilled artisan would have used published corn genomic sequences (available for several corn cultivars including B73) to identify potential target sites with suitable PAM site(s) for a known Cas endonuclease (e.g., Cas9 which typically recognizes NGG PAM site (Hu et al.; abstract, line 3; p.2 para 1, line 9-1) but also known to recognize other PAM sites like NNG, GAA, GAT, CAA (Hu et al.; p.4, para 2, line 7-11).
One such target site in chromosome 1 in corn cultivar B73 (GenBank Accession No. AC217378, published in 2014) is having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 20 (as recited in claim 31), as described below.
RESULT 1
LOCUS AC217378 171085 bp DNA linear HTG 13-SEP-2014
DEFINITION Zea mays cultivar B73 chromosome 1 clone ZMMBBb-290A24,
SEQUENCING IN PROGRESS ***, 9 unordered pieces.
ACCESSION AC217378
VERSION AC217378.4
KEYWORDS HTG; HTGS_PHASE1; HTGS_IMPROVED; HTGS_LIMITED_ORDER.
SOURCE Zea mays
ORGANISM Zea mays
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; Liliopsida; Poales; Poaceae; PACMAD
clade; Panicoideae; Andropogonodae; Andropogoneae; Tripsacinae;
Zea.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 171085)
CONSRTM Maize Genome Consortium
TITLE Maize genome
JOURNAL Unpublished
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 171085)
AUTHORS Wilson,R.K.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (08-FEB-2008) Genome Sequencing Center, Washington
University School of Medicine, 4444 Forest Park Parkway, St. Louis,
MO 63108, USA
REFERENCE 3 (bases 1 to 171085)
CONSRTM Maize Genome Consortium
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (13-SEP-2014) NCBI, NIH, Center Drive, Bethesda, MD
20857, USA
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..171085
/organism="Zea mays"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/cultivar="B73"
/db_xref="taxon:4577"
/chromosome="1"
/clone="ZMMBBb-290A24"
Query Match 100.0%; Score 23; Length 171085; Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 23; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GACGGGGACTTAATTATGCGTGG 23
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 108197 GACGGGGACTTAATTATGCGTGG 108175
It is noted, however, that criticality, if any, of any specific target sequence(s) (SEQ ID NOs: 12-21) recited in claim 31 has not been articulated by the Applicant (See MPEP ¶ 2144).
It would have been an experimental design choice of an ordinarily skilled artisan to use any target site including the one described above that satisfies the criteria for target site selection, as discussed above.
However, Gao et al. does not describe PRR03 (SEQ ID No: 36), PRRO1 (SEQ ID No: 38), NLR01 (SEQ ID NO: 29 and SEQ ID No: 41), and NLR04 (SEQ ID No: 44). Gao et al. also does not describe any third native polypeptide that confers enhanced resistance against another, besides against the fungal pathogen caus ing northern leaf blight disease.
Yang et al. describes a native maize gene ZmCCoAOMT2 conferring resistance to both southern leaf blight and gray leaf spot (abstract, line 5-7).
Jaqueth et al. describes a corn disease (southern corn rust) resistance gene NLR01 (claim 29) comprising 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 29 and SEQ ID NO: 41 (data not shown), as recited in claims 32 and 33.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to introduce (using either homologous recombination and/or CRISPR-Cas genome editing technique) the nucleotide sequence encoding the native (corn) NLR01 disease resistance polypeptide (as described by Jaqueth et al.) and the nucleotide sequence (reads on to “at least three different native polynucleotide sequences”, as recited in claim 30) encoding the native (corn) ZmCCoAOMT2 disease resistance polypeptide conferring resistance to both southern leaf blight and gray leaf spot (as described by Yang et al.) (reads on to “at least two different plant diseases”, as also recited in claim 30) into the modified genomic locus (Complex Trait Locus, CTL) comprising multiple resistance genes/loci (which already contains the Ht1 and NLB18 disease resistance genes, as described by Gao et al.), with a realistic goal to broaden disease resistance spectrum of the corn plant. A different target site, as described by Gao et al. (page 60, line 1-6), to introduce the nucleotide sequences encoding the native (corn) NLR01 and the ZmCCoAOMT2 disease resistance polypeptides, would be a functional equivalent of the target sites listed in claim 33, and would not realistically change the outcome of the disease resistance traits of the NLR01 (SEQ ID NO: 41) and the ZmCCoAOMT2 the polypeptides.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to introduce the nucleotide sequences encoding the native (corn) NLR01 (SEQ ID NO: 41) and ZmCCoAOMT2 disease resistance polypeptides into the modified genomic locus comprising multiple disease resistance genes to broaden the disease resistance spectrum of the corn plant.
Regarding claim 35, Gao et al. describes relocating disease resistant genes (NLB18-PH26N, Ht-PH4GP, and NLB18-PH26N) to a distal and modified site in chromosome 1 (page 60, line 3-6) in a corn plant, where the polynucleotide sequences would be heterologous to the corresponding genomic locus (but not heterologous to the corn plant/genome itself). Similarly, the gene encoding the native (corn) ZmCCoAOMT2 disease resistance polypeptide conferring resistance to both southern leaf blight and gray leaf spot (as described by Yang et al.) relocating to a distal and modified site in chromosome 1 in the corn plant, where the polynucleotide sequences would be heterologous to the corresponding genomic locus (but not heterologous to the corn plant/genome itself).
Regarding claims 37, Gao et al. teaches a method breeding disease resistance maize lines (Summary at page 2, line 16-24) by introducing resistant genes conferring disease resistant traits at a single locus (example 4 at page 59-63) through homologous recombination (page 62, line 8-11) via traditional breeding. Gao et al. teaches introgressing a single genomic locus comprising multiple resistance genes/loci into elite maize lines (page 2, line 9-10 and line 17-24) through backcrossing (page 46, line 6-11).
Regarding claims 43-44, Gao et al. teaches introgressing a single genomic locus comprising multiple resistance genes/loci into the genetic background of elite maize lines (page 2, line 9-10 and line 17-24) through backcrossing (page 46, line 6-11) and minimizing linkage drag from non-elite resistant donor lines (page 46, line 6-11).
Claims 38 and 40 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. in view of Hu et al., GenBank Accession No. AC217378, Jaqueth et al. and Yang et al., as applied to claims 30-33, 35, 37, and 43-44 above, and further in view of Agapito-Tenfen et al. (Effect of stacking insecticidal cry and herbicide tolerance epsps transgenes on transgenic maize proteome, 2014, BMC Plant Biol., 14:346).
Claim 38 indirectly depends from claim 30, and is drawn to a method of breeding plants comprising a locus comprising at least one heterologous polynucleotide sequence encoding an insecticidal or herbicide resistance polypeptide.
Gao et al. in view of Hu et al., GenBank Accession No. AC217378, Jaqueth et al. and Yang et al. describes a corn plant comprising a modified genomic locus, the locus comprising one or more modified target sites, wherein the one or more modified target sites comprise at least three different native polynucleotide sequences conferring enhanced disease resistance to at least two different plant diseases, wherein the polynucleotide sequences are heterologous to the modified genomic locus, as discussed above.
However, Gao et al. in view of Hu et al., GenBank Accession No. AC217378, Jaqueth et al. and Yang et al. does not describe any plant comprising a locus containing at least one heterologous polynucleotide sequence encoding an insecticidal or a herbicide resistance polypeptide.
Agapito-Tenfen et al. describes corn plants containing nucleotide sequences encoding insecticidal and herbicide tolerance (or resistance) polypeptides clustered together (page 1, abstract). The Applicant describes the terms "tolerance" and "resistance" to be used interchangeably (Spec, page 18, line 18-19).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to introduce the nucleotide sequences encoding insecticidal and herbicide tolerance/resistance polypeptides, as described by Agapito-Tenfen et al., into the same plant already containing multiple disease resistance genes (as described by Gao et al. in view of Hu et al., GenBank Accession No. AC217378, Jaqueth et al. and Yang et al.) with the realistic goal to incorporate more agronomically beneficial traits in the same corn plant, which is a commercially important crop.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to introduce the nucleotide sequences encoding insecticidal and herbicide tolerance/resistance polypeptides in the same plant with the realistic goal to incorporate more agronomically beneficial traits in the same corn plant which already contains more than one gene conferring resistance against a plant disease.
Regarding claim 40, Gao et al. describes a method to introduce resistant genes at a single locus (CTL1) through homologous recombination (page 60, line 1-6; page 62, line 8-11). The nucleotide sequences encoding insecticidal and herbicide tolerance/resistance polypeptides, as described by Agapito-Tenfen et al., would have been introgressed into the same single genomic locus (CTL1) already having multiple disease resistance genes in the corn plant, as described by Gao et al., to broaden the number agronomically beneficial traits located to a single locus in a chromosome. That would help breeding future corn varieties more efficiently and would reduce linkage drag associated with introgression, as described by Gao et al. (page 2, line 9-14). The nucleotide sequences encoding insecticidal and herbicide tolerance/resistance polypeptides would read on to “a third heterologous polynucleotide”.
Double Patenting
Claims 30-33, 35-38, 40-41 and 43-44 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 16, 30, 32-33, 35-38, 40-44 of copending Application No. US 17/404,109 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim limitations for instant claims 30-33, 35-38, 40-41, 43-44 would read on the claims 16, 30, 32-33, 35-38, 40-41 of the reference application, as described below.
Reference claim 9 recites a method of generating a disease super locus in an elite crop plant genome to increase trait introgression efficiency in the elite crop plant, the method comprising introducing a plurality of disease resistance traits at a predetermined genomic locus of the crop plant chromosome by engineering (a) insertion of two or more disease resistant genes, (b) genomic translocation of one or more disease resistant genes through targeted chromosomal engineering, (c) duplication of one or more disease resistant genes at the genomic locus by targeted genome modification, (d) modifying the genomic locus by introducing one or more insertions, (e) deletions or substitutions of nucleotides in the genome, or a combination of the foregoing.
The method of reference claim 9 inherently anticipates instant claim 30, as it produces the plant of instant claim 30. The at least three disease resistant genes conferring enhanced disease resistance to at least two different diseases, recited in the reference claim 9 would include disease resistant genes from the same plant species and, thus, would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 30. Reference claim 15 also would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 30.
Reference claim 16 is dependent from reference claim 15, and is a drawn to introducing a site-specific modification at least one target site in a genomic locus in a plant cell; wherein the at least one target site comprises a target site selected from Table 2 comprising SEQ ID NO: 12, SEQ ID NO:13, SEQ ID NO: 14, SEQ ID NO: 15, SEQ ID NO: 16, SEQ ID NO: 17, SEQ ID NO: 18, SEQ ID NO: 19, SEQ ID NO: 20, and SEQ ID NO: 21. Reference SEQ ID NO: 21 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 21 of instant claim 31 (data not shown).
Reference claims 20 and 32 are drawn to polypeptide sequences having a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 11(RppK), SEQ ID NO: 8 (Ht1), (SEQ ID NOs: 3 or 5 (NLB18), SEQ ID No: 29 (NLR01), SEQ ID No: 26 (NLRO2), SEQ ID Nos: 31 (RCG1), and SEQ ID Nos: 33 (RCG1b). The SEQ ID NO: 3 in the reference claims 20 and 32 has 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 3 in the instant claim 32 (data not shown).
Reference claims 21 and 33 are drawn to a polypeptide comprising a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID No: 36 (PRRO3), SEQ ID No: 38 (PRR01), SEQ ID No: 41 NLR01), or SEQ ID No: 44 (NLRO4). The SEQ ID NO: 38 in the reference claims 21 and 33 has 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 38 in the instant claim 33 (data not shown).
Reference claim 35 is drawn to a method for obtaining a plant cell with an modified genomic locus comprising at least two polynucleotide sequences that confer enhanced disease resistance to at least one plant disease, or at least two traits resulting in resistance to at least one disease through two different modes of action, wherein said at least two polynucleotide sequences are heterologous to the corresponding genomic locus, wherein the genomic locus is located in the distal region of chromosome 1. The method of the reference claim 35 would produce a plant that would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 35.
Reference claims 16 and 36 would anticipate instant claim 36. Reference claim 16 are drawn to the at least one target site comprises a target site selected from any one of SEQ ID NO: 12, SEQ ID NO: 13, SEQ ID NO: 14, SEQ ID NO: 15, SEQ ID NO: 16, SEQ ID NO: 17, SEQ ID NO: 18, SEQ ID NO: 19, SEQ ID NO: 20, or SEQ ID NO: 21. Reference claim 36 depends from reference claim 35, and recites, “… wherein the genomic locus is located in the telomeric region.” Instant SEQ ID NO: 21 is one of the target sites in the genomic locus (CTL1), as described above, and it is in the telomeric region. The product (a plant) produced using the method of reference claim 36 would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 36.
Reference claim 37 is drawn to a method of breeding transgenic and native disease traits at a single locus in a plant comprising: a. inserting at a single locus in a plant a first heterologous polynucleotide sequence that confers enhanced disease resistance to a first plant disease, and second heterologous polynucleotide sequence that confers enhanced disease resistance to the first plant disease or to a second plant disease; b. inserting at least one heterologous polynucleotide sequence encoding an insecticidal polypeptide, agronomic trait polypeptide, or a herbicide resistance polypeptide at the single locus; c. crossing the plant with the single locus with a different plant; and d. obtaining a progeny plant comprising the single locus; and wherein the single locus allows for fewer backcrosses compared to a plant with traits at more than one locus. Reference claim 37 would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 37.
Reference claim 38 depends from reference claim 37, and is drawn to a method wherein different plant comprising a second locus comprising at least one heterologous polynucleotide sequence encoding an insecticidal or herbicide resistance polypeptide. The reference claim 38 would anticipate instant claim 38.
Reference claim 40 is drawn to a modified plant comprising a first heterologous polynucleotide encoding a first polypeptide that confers enhanced disease resistance to a first plant disease, and a second heterologous polynucleotide encoding a second polypeptide that confers enhanced disease resistance to a second plant disease; and a third heterologous polynucleotide encoding an insecticidal polypeptide or a herbicide resistance polypeptide; wherein the first heterologous polynucleotide, second heterologous polynucleotide, and third heterologous polynucleotide are located at a single locus in a plant. The reference claim 40 would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 40.
Reference claim 41 is drawn to a single locus comprising about 1cM, 5cM, or 10cM. The reference claim 41 would anticipate instant claim 41.
Reference claim 43 is drawn to a method of introgressing or forward breeding multiple disease resistance loci into an elite germplasm, wherein the timeframe for inserting two or more heterologous polynucleotides from different donor plants into the elite line and developing the homozygous resistant lines is shorter. Instant claim 43 would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan considering reference claim 43 because introgressing or forward breeding would produce progeny plants having the modified genomic locus in the genetic background of the elite line.
Reference claim 44 depends from reference claim 43, and is drawn to improving agronomic traits with multiple disease resistance with reduced yield drag from breeding. The reference claim 44 would make instant claim 44 obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 30, 40-41 and 43-44 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-8 and 20-21 of copending Application No. US 18/840,335 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference claim 1 is drawn to a method of generating a heterologous genomic locus in a transgenic plant or cell thereof, the method comprising, inter alia, introducing two or more intraspecies polynucleotide sequences to a predetermined locus thereby creating a heterologous genomic locus in the plant or cell thereof, wherein the introducing step does not result in integration of another transgene or a foreign polynucleotide that is not native to the plant or cell thereof and the intraspecies polynucleotides confer one or more agronomic characteristics to the plant or cell thereof. The plant in the reference claim 1 includes corn and, even though the plant is a transgenic plant, the said method does not comprise introducing any transgene of a foreign polynucleotide that is not native to the plant. The “one or more agronomic characteristics” as recited in reference claim 1 would include “ at least two different plant disease” resistance as well. Thus, the product of the said process as recited in reference claim 1 would anticipate the plant (the product of the process) of instant claim 30.
Reference claim 2 depends from reference claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “… the plant or cell thereof further comprises a first genomic locus which confers a transgenic trait, and the heterelogous genomic locus is on the same chromosome arm as the transgenic genomic locus” (last 3 lines). Reference claim 2 recites “…. the first transgenic locus comprises an insect control transgene, an herbicide tolerance transgene or transgenes conferring both insect control and herbicide tolerance traits”. The “first transgenic locus” has been present in the plant and not introduced by the method of reference claim 1, as discussed above. Thus, the product of the method of reference claim 2 would anticipate the product, a plant, which includes a corn plant, that would satisfy all the limitations of instant claim 40.
Reference claims 6, 7 and 8 recite “… the heterologous genomic locus is located within 10 cM, 5 cM and 1 cM (respectively) of the first genomic locus conferring the transgenic trait”. The product (a plant including a corn plant) produced by the methods of reference claims 6-8 would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 41 and, thus, would anticipate instant claim 41.
Reference claims 20-21 would anticipate instant claims 43-44. The product (a plant including a corn plant) produced by the methods of reference claims 20-21 would satisfy all the claim limitations of instant claim 43-44.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicants’ arguments
The argument set forth in the Applicant’s response on 08/27/2026 has been fully considered but is not found persuasive.
Regarding both U.S.C 103 (obviousness) and double patenting rejections, the Applicant argues, “Jaqueth is not prior art to the claimed invention. Jaqueth is cited for its disclosure of SEQ ID NO: 41.” (response, p.3, para 5, line 1-2; p.7, para 2, last 2 lines).
The Examiner disagrees. The effective filing date for instant claims 32 and 33 reciting “ NLR01 (SEQ ID NO: 29)” and “… NLR01 (SEQ ID NO: 41) …”, respectively, is determined to be 03/01/2021 based on provisional application 63/154.960; and not 08/18/2020 based on provisional application 63/067,090 which does not describe any NLR01 sequence consisting of instant SEQ ID NO: 41. Thus, Jaqueth et al. (published on 09/26/2019) is a prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) for the instant claims reciting “NLR01” and/or instant “SEQ ID NO: 29” and “SEQ ID NO: 41”.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
J.C.
/Jay Chatterjee/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1662