Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because “the MAC CE of Guo clearly does not correspond to ‘a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource among multiple CSI- RS resources,’” and because Park allegedly fails to supply what Guo lacks. However, the combination of Guo and Park discloses a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource among multiple CSI- RS resources. Guo discloses a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (Guo, paragraph [0283], the MAC-CE activation message that activates the transmission of a set of CSI-RS resources). Park discloses a MAC CE activating a CSI-RS resource among multiple CSI-RS resources (Park, Fig. 17; paragraph [0437], a operation may be supported in which only N (N<=K) CSI-RS resources are selectively activated through L2 (e.g., by MAC CE) signaling among K CSI-RS resources which are RRC-configured; paragraphs [0519]-[0524], RRC configuration of S>=1 CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different selection from a pool of configured CSI-RS resources, and the configuration of K>=1 CSI-RS resources for each set).
Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because “Guo fails to teach that the QCL associated with one CSI-RS activated by the MAC CE is applied to a plurality of signals. Thus, Guo fails to teach ‘applies quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the CSI-RS resource [activated by the MAC CE] to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CSI-RS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS).’” However, as discussed in the paragraph above, the combination of Guo and Park discloses a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource among multiple CSI- RS resources. Guo further discloses a processor (Guo, Fig. 3, processor) that applies quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the CSI- RS resource (Guo, paragraph [0269], UE can assume a same QCL for CORESETs and PDSCH as the reference signal ID CSI-RS, UE can assume the reference signal ID is the spatial resource for all PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; paragraph [0348], for DMRS of PDSCH and PDCCH or a CSI-RS resource, TCI state indicates quasi co-location with a CSI-RS resource or a SRS resource) to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CSI-RS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Guo, paragraph [0269], UE can assume a same QCL for CORESETs and PDSCH as the reference signal ID CSI-RS, UE can assume the reference signal ID is the spatial resource for all PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; paragraph [0347], TCI state for PDCCH contains SRS resource IDs; paragraph [0348], for DMRS of PDSCH and PDCCH or a SCI-RS resource, TCI state indicates quasi co-location with a CSI-RS resource or a SRS resource).
Applicant further asserts that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to supply the missing elements without the benefit of Applicant's own disclosure as a guide. However, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2019/0297603) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0112355).
Regarding claim 10, Guo discloses a terminal (Guo, Fig. 1; paragraph [0065], gNB provides network access to UEs) comprising:
a receiver (Guo, Fig. 3, transceiver) that receives a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (Guo, paragraph [0283], the MAC-CE activation message that activates the transmission of a set of CSI-RS resources) configured by higher layer signaling (Guo, paragraph [0185], control resource set can be configured with a first spatial QCL configuration through RRC or MAC-CE; paragraph [0258], UE can be configured with a higher layer parameter reportquantity set to measure a set of CSI-RS resources and report selected CSI-RS resource indicators and L1-RSRP values; paragraph [0276], higher layer parameter NZP-CSI-RS-Resource configured for each CSI-RS resource configuration; paragraph [0283], the parameter nonFDM is configured through RRC signaling; paragraph [0284], the parameter nonFDM configured through RRC signaling, CSI triggering state can be configured in higher layer); and
a processor (Guo, Fig. 3, processor) that applies quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the CSI- RS resource (Guo, paragraph [0269], UE can assume a same QCL for CORESETs and PDSCH as the reference signal ID CSI-RS, UE can assume the reference signal ID is the spatial resource for all PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; paragraph [0348], for DMRS of PDSCH and PDCCH or a CSI-RS resource, TCI state indicates quasi co-location with a CSI-RS resource or a SRS resource) to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CSI-RS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Guo, paragraph [0269], UE can assume a same QCL for CORESETs and PDSCH as the reference signal ID CSI-RS, UE can assume the reference signal ID is the spatial resource for all PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; paragraph [0347], TCI state for PDCCH contains SRS resource IDs; paragraph [0348], for DMRS of PDSCH and PDCCH or a SCI-RS resource, TCI state indicates quasi co-location with a CSI-RS resource or a SRS resource).
Guo does not explicitly disclose a MAC CE activating a CSI-RS resource among multiple CSI-RS resources.
Park discloses a MAC CE activating a CSI-RS resource among multiple CSI-RS resources (Park, Fig. 17; paragraph [0437], a operation may be supported in which only N (N<=K) CSI-RS resources are selectively activated through L2 (e.g., by MAC CE) signaling among K CSI-RS resources which are RRC-configured; paragraphs [0519]-[0524], RRC configuration of S>=1 CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different selection from a pool of configured CSI-RS resources, and the configuration of K>=1 CSI-RS resources for each set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Park into the system of Guo in order to improve the efficiency of beam management (Park; [0068]).
Claim 12 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Guo discloses a base station Guo, Fig. 1; paragraph [0065], gNB provides network access to UEs) comprising:
a transmitter (Guo, Fig. 3, transceiver) that transmits a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) activating a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (Guo, paragraph [0283], the MAC-CE activation message that activates the transmission of a set of CSI-RS resources) configured by higher layer signaling (Guo, paragraph [0185], control resource set can be configured with a first spatial QCL configuration through RRC or MAC-CE; paragraph [0258], UE can be configured with a higher layer parameter reportquantity set to measure a set of CSI-RS resources and report selected CSI-RS resource indicators and L1-RSRP values; paragraph [0283], the parameter nonFDM is configured through RRC signaling; paragraph [0284], the parameter nonFDM configured through RRC signaling, CSI triggering state can be configured in higher layer); and
a processor (Guo, Fig. 3, processor) that applies quasi co-location (QCL) associated with the CSI- RS resource (Guo, paragraph [0269], UE can assume a same QCL for CORESETs and PDSCH as the reference signal ID CSI-RS, UE can assume the reference signal ID is the spatial resource for all PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; paragraph [0348], for DMRS of PDSCH and PDCCH or a SCI-RS resource, TCI state indicates quasi co-location with a CSI-RS resource or a SRS resource) to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a CSI-RS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Guo, paragraph [0269], UE can assume a same QCL for CORESETs and PDSCH as the reference signal ID CSI-RS, UE can assume the reference signal ID is the spatial resource for all PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions; paragraph [0347], TCI state for PDCCH contains SRS resource IDs; paragraph [0348], for DMRS of PDSCH and PDCCH or a SCI-RS resource, TCI state indicates quasi co-location with a CSI-RS resource or a SRS resource).
Guo does not explicitly disclose a MAC CE activating a CSI-RS resource among multiple CSI-RS resources.
Park discloses a MAC CE activating a CSI-RS resource among multiple CSI-RS resources (Park, Fig. 17; paragraph [0437], a operation may be supported in which only N (N<=K) CSI-RS resources are selectively activated through L2 (e.g., by MAC CE) signaling among K CSI-RS resources which are RRC-configured; paragraphs [0519]-[0524], RRC configuration of S>=1 CSI-RS resource sets, each corresponding to a different selection from a pool of configured CSI-RS resources, and the configuration of K>=1 CSI-RS resources for each set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Park into the system of Guo in order to improve the efficiency of beam management (Park; [0068]).
Claim 14 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 13.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (US 20220312338) discloses a power control parameter for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), based on reception of a medium access control control element (MAC CE); and a transmitting section that transmits the PUSCH by using transmission power based on the power control parameter.
Kang et al. (US 20200067584) discloses at least one CSI-RS resource set, where each CSI-RS resource set includes K≥1 CSI-RS resources (some parameters of K CSI-RS resources may be the same. For example, port number, time domain behavior, density and periodicity). For Semi-persistent CSI-RS, upon activation, CSI-RS measurement starts (on specific periodicity), and upon deactivation, the CSI-RS measurement is discontinued.
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413