Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-46, 48-57 and 59-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US 2022/0232659 (Provisional; Application 63/024,827) to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2020/0170069 to Shih et al. (hereinafter Shih) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2021/0058147 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)
As to claims 43, 53 and 62, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one processor (Kim; [0219]); and
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor and configured to cause the
UE (Kim; [0219]) to:
receive a first preconfigured uplink resource (PUR) configuration (Kim; [0456]-[0472]; Provisional Application; [0320]-[0321] discloses a UE receiving PUR configuration and at least one of the configuration parameters from a base station);
Kim discloses of receiving PUR configuration, but fails to explicitly disclose of receiving one or more PUR indications that correspond to one or more PUR application conditions. However, Shih discloses
receive one or more PUR indications, separate from the first PUR configuration, which correspond to one or more PUR application conditions (Shih; Fig.18; Abstract; [0829] discloses The UE could resume using the set of PUR configurations if the UE receives an indication from the NW indicating that the UE could use the set of PUR configuration means receive one or more PUR indications, separate from the first PUR configuration. First the UE receives PUR configuration, then suspend the PUR configuration and using the PUR configuration again when the UE receives an indication from network node); and
initiate an uplink transmission according to the first PUR configuration and the one or more PUR indications (Shih; Fig.18:1835; Abstract; [0829] shows and discloses of uplink transmission again using the PUR configuration when the UE receives an indication from the network node).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing data of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way
Kim-Shih discloses a UE receiving indication from a network device, but fails to discloses wherein indication is associated with non-terrestrial network. However, Zhang discloses
wherein the one or more PUR indications are associated with a non- terrestrial network (NTN) scenario (Zhang; [0004]; [0102]-[0104]; [0134]-[0140] discloses a UE receives uplink resources and uplink resource indication (i.e. TA, uplink transmission power) associated with satellite (=non- terrestrial network)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing data of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings so that UE can communicate with satellite using uplink resources and indication
As to claims 44 and 54, the rejection of claim 43 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the one or more PUR indications comprise a first PUR indication indicating retaining the PUR configuration for a first period of time (Kim; [0457]; [0461]; Provisional Application; [0320])
As to claims 45 and 55, the rejection of claim 44 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
retain the PUR configuration for the first period of time (Kim; [0457]; [0461]; Provisional Application; [0322]-[0323]; Provisional Application; [0320]),
wherein the first period of time includes N consecutive PUR occasions, and wherein the N is a positive integer (Kim; [0457]; [059]; [0461] Provisional Application; [0320] discloses number of PUR occasions).
As to claims 46 and 57, the rejection of claim 43 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the one or more PUR indications comprise a second PUR indication indicating skipping a release of the PUR configuration for a third period of time (Kim; [0457]-[0458]; Provisional Application; [0320] discloses an indication to setup or release PUR configuration parameters)
As to claims 48 and 59, the rejection of claim 43 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the one or more PUR indications comprise a fifth PUR indication indicating maintaining a timing advance (TA) for the uplink transmission between the UE and a base station (BS) (Kim; [0485]-[0486]; Provisional Application; [0322]).
As to claims 49 and 60, the rejection of claim 43 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the one or more PUR indications comprise a sixth PUR indication indicating postponing a response window for the uplink transmission for a fifth period of time (Kim; [0457]-[0463]; [0490] Provisional Application; [0320] discloses PUR configuration parameter that indicates release PUR configuration parameter and also discloses wherein PUR configuration parameter is response window means PUR configuration parameter van indicate to release or postpones a response window)
As to claims 50 and 61, the rejection of claim 49 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the fifth period of time is determined according to a TA for uplink transmission (Kim; [0485]-[0486]; Provisional Application; [0322])
As to claim 51, the rejection of claim 43 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the one or more PUR indication is included in a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or is broadcasted in a system information block (SIB) (Kim; [0456]; [0489] Provisional Application; [0319] discloses RRC message comprises PUR configuration parameters. Here Kim is applied for the 1st alternative)
As to claim 52, the rejection of claim 43 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the one or more PUR indication are included in a radio resource control (RRC) connection release command along with the first PUR configuration (Kim; [0456]; [0489]; Provisional Application; [0319] discloses RRC message comprises PUR configuration parameters)
As to claim 56, the rejection of claim 53 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses wherein the first PUR indication is associated with a retaining timer and the PUR configuration is valid for the UE till the retaining timer expires (Kim; [0465]; [0485]-[0490])
Claims 47 and 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US 2022/0232659 (Provisional; Application 63/024,827) to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2020/0170069 to Shih et al. (hereinafter Shih) ) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2021/0058147 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2020/019264 to Tun-Huai Shih et al. (hereinafter Tun)
As to claims 47 and 58, Kim-Shih-Zhang discloses a base station sending PUR configuration parameter and one or more indication, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more PUR indications comprise a third PUR indication, associated with the first PUR configuration, indicating a first area in which the first PUR configuration is valid. However, Tun discloses
wherein the one or more PUR indications comprise a third PUR indication, associated with the first PUR configuration, indicating a first area in which the first PUR configuration is valid (Tun; [0538]-[0539] discloses a UE receives an indication indicates whether a serving cell support PUR or not corresponding to indicating a first area in which the first PUR configuration is valid)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing data of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to determine the PUR validation based the cell and thus use the limited resources in an effective way
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478