Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-9 and 16-18 in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/10/2025.
Claims 1-9 and 16-18 are pending examination in this response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et. al. (US 20190111429 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches “A microfluidic treatment apparatus” (Title, fluidic device) “for treating a sample liquid” (Para [0066], In this state, the specimen liquid containing the sample material) “the microfluidic treatment apparatus comprising: at least one microfluidic channel system having” (Fig. 6 and Para [0128] The fluidic device 300 comprises a substrate board 209 in which flow paths and valves are formed); “at least one filtering branch” (Para [0128], flow path 220) “and a pumping branch connected in parallel with the at least one filtering branch;” (Para [0128]; shared flow path 202); “at least one filter chamber arranged in the at least one filtering branch” (Para [0145], capture unit 4A ). The recitation “and configured to accommodate a filter element;” is capability of the filter chamber. Kobayashi teaches the positively claimed structural elements of the filter chamber as claimed, such filter chamber is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein. In addition, it is further taught within (Para [0084], include a column having a filler capable of being bound to the carrier particles).
Further taught “a first channel-crossover element” (Fig. 6, T- junction between W1 and W3). The recitation “configured to fluidically couple the at least one filtering branch to a channel inlet;” is capability however taught within (para [0138], Introduction flow paths 212 and 213).
Further taught “a second channel-crossover element” (Fig. 6, junction above W4 near W2). The recitation “configured to fluidically couple the at least one filtering branch to a channel outlet;” is capability however taught within (Para [0131], discharge flow path 227).
Further taught “at least two filter valves” (Para [0145], The second circulation flow path 220 has valves W3 and W4 serving as non-shared flow path end valves). The recitation “configured to fluidically isolate the at least one filter chamber from the rest of the at least one microfluidic channel system” is capability of the filter valves however taught within Para [0145].
Further taught “and a pumping device arranged in the pumping branch” (Para [0130], pump P). The recitation “and configured to produce a fluidic flow in the at least one microfluidic channel system” is capability of the pumping device however taught within (Para [0006], In this device, a plurality of solutions are mixed in the loop-shaped flow path by injecting the plurality of solutions into the loop-shaped flow path and then operating a pump.).
Further taught “the pumping device comprising at least one pumping valve and/or at least one pumping chamber” (Para [0132], pumps valves Pa, Pb and Pc). The recitation “wherein the pumping branch is configured to be coupled fluidically to the channel inlet via a first connection of the first channel-crossover element which is different from a second connection of the first channel-crossover element for the at least one filtering branch, and the pumping branch is configured to be coupled fluidically to the channel outlet via a first connection of the second channel-crossover element which is different from a second connection of the second channel-crossover element for the at least one filtering branch.” is capability of the pumping branch however taught within (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi teaches all of claim 1 in addition to “the pumping device comprises the at least one pumping chamber; and the at least one pumping chamber includes at least two first pumping chambers arranged or connected in a row adjacent to one another.” (Para [0132] and Fig. 6, pump valves Pa, Pb, and Pc).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi teaches all of claim 1 in addition to “wherein, the pumping device comprises the at least one pumping valve and the at least one pumping chamber; and the at least one pumping chamber comprises a single pumping chamber and the at least one pumping valve comprises at least three pumping valves.” (Para [0132] and Fig. 6, pump valves Pa, Pb, and Pc).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi teaches all of claim 1 in addition to “wherein an inlet valve is arranged between the channel inlet and the first channel-crossover element, and/or an outlet valve is arranged between the channel outlet and the second channel-crossover element.” (Para [0139], Fig. 6, An introduction flow path valve 12 for opening and closing the introduction flow path is provided in the introduction flow path 213).
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi teaches all of claim 1 in addition to “wherein the first and second channel-crossover elements are T-shaped.” (Fig. 6 between W3 and W1 and between W4 and W2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et. al. (US 20190111429 A1) as applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach “wherein the at least two first pumping chambers includes three pumping chambers arranged or connected in series in the row.” which is duplication of apparatus parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the apparatus. It has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B). One would have been motivated to duplicate the apparatus for the purposes of controlling the flow and direction of flow within the device. In addition Kobayashi already reaches duplication of pumping parts within (Fig. 6, Pa, Pb, and Pc).
Claims 3-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et. al. (US 20190111429 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in view of Stern et. al. (US 20150258544 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 2 but does not teach “wherein the at least one pumping chamber further includes a second pumping chamber configured to be separated from the at least two first pumping chambers by the at least one pumping valve.”. However, Stern teaches (Para [0093] and Fig. 1, valving and pumping schemes of a microfluidic device. Flow is controlled by valves 1100, which valves permit or cut-off flow as described above). It would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kobayashi by having the at least one pumping chamber further includes a second pumping chamber configured to be separated from the at least two first pumping chambers by the at least one pumping valve, since Stern teaches a valve and pump system and flow controlled based on valves being and they can cut off flow. In addition it would have been a matter of an obvious engineering choice, as it allows control of flow into different chambers allowing for different chambers to act as different storage or reaction chambers due to the isolation.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 3 as above in addition Kobayashi teaches “wherein each of the at least two first pumping chambers and the second pumping chamber have respective volumes that are substantially the same size.” (Para [0132] and Fig. 6, pump valves Pa, Pb, and Pc).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 2. The recitation “wherein at least two of the at least two first pumping chambers are configured to be temperature- controlled independently of one another.” is capability of the at least two first pumping chambers however taught within (Para [0108], Referring to FIG. 13, reactions occupying one or two pump volumes can be rapidly thermocycled between two temperatures for multiple-step nucleic acid amplification (e.g., two-step PCR) by holding, for example, temperature zone one ("Temp Zone 1) at an annealing temperature (e.g., approximately 65.degree. C.); holding temperature zone three ("Temp Zone 3") at a denaturation temperature (e.g., approximately 95.degree. C.); and transferring the reaction between P1 or P2 (or both) and P5 and P6 (or both).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi XYZ to incorporate the teachings of Stern wherein the at least two of the at least two first pumping chambers are configured to be temperature- controlled independently of one another. Doing so would provide for a device with extreme flexibility and increase accuracy and speed for reactions.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 2 but does not teach “wherein: the at least two first pumping chambers are arranged in series and are configured to be independently temperature controlled.” However already taught above in claims 4 and 5 see Paras (Para [0132 Para [0108]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 2 but does not teach “further comprising: a channel system expansion module configured to be fluidically coupled to the pumping branch, the channel system expansion module comprising at least one upstream arrangement chamber configured for upstream arrangement of reagents and/or at least one evaluation chamber having evaluation cavities configured for evaluating sample constituents of the sample liquid.”
Stern teaches “further comprising: a channel system expansion module” and “the channel system expansion module comprising at least one upstream arrangement chamber” (Paras [0070], [0144], claims 6, 7, and Fig. 15) The present disclosure provides microfluidic devices that may be employed for use in biological sample preparation and/or analysis. Systems of the present disclosure may be used upstream of a biological and/or chemical sensing system, such as a sensor chip as described elsewhere herein. As a compliment or alternative to semi-permanently closed valves, dry reagents can be used in which enzyme solutions are lyophilized/freeze-dried in reagent reservoirs. The end-user then rehydrates the enzymes by adding water (or TE or ethanol wash solutions). Rehydration can be promoted by reciprocal pumping of added water into and out of reservoirs by high volume pump array (e.g., P7 array shown in FIG. 15). Therefore the microfluidic device systems teach to the channel system expansion module and the part of the disclosure that teaches to upstream chemical sensing system teaches to the upstream arrangement chamber.
The recitations channel system expansion module “configured to be fluidically coupled to the pumping branch” and the upstream arrangement chamber “configured for upstream arrangement of reagents and/or at least one evaluation chamber having evaluation cavities configured for evaluating sample constituents of the sample liquid.” are capability of the channel system expansion module and the upstream arrangement chamber. Modified Kobayashi discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the channel system expansion module and the upstream arrangement chamber as claimed, such channel system expansion module and the upstream arrangement chamber are said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein. In addition, the capability of the upstream arrangement chamber is taught within the upstream chemical sensing as a chemical sensing is able to evaluate the sample constituents.
Regarding claim 7, “modified Kobayashi teaches all of claim 6. The recitation “wherein: the at least one upstream arrangement chamber is configured to be fluidically coupled to the pumping branch by a channel connecting element that is closed with an upstream arrangement valve; and the at least one evaluation chamber is configured to be fluidically coupled to the pumping branch by a further channel connecting element that is closed with an evaluation valve.” is capability of the upstream arrangement chamber and the evaluation chamber. Modified Kobayashi discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the upstream arrangement chamber and the evaluation chamber as claimed, such the upstream arrangement chamber and the evaluation chamber are said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Conclusion
/V.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798