.0DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Final action is in reply to the application 18041786 amendment filed on 10/03/2025.
Claim 1 – 7 are withdrawn
Claim 8, 20 – 22 are amended
Claim 25 – 28 are new
Claims 8, 10, 16 – 24 are elected
Claims 9, 11 – 15, 18 and 19 cancelled
Claims 1 – 8, 10, 16 – 28 are pending
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/08/2025 was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to arguments
The examiner states that based upon a new grounds of rejection for the claims 8, 10 , 16, 17, 20 – 28 are rejected with updated prior art in the rejection below, thus making the applicants arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pubs 20200149248 – Ram-On et al. hereinafter as RAM-ON
Regarding Claim 21
RAM-ON discloses:
An assistance method for a construction machine, the assistance method including:
driving a working device connected to a main body and having an arm member and a distal end member connected to the arm member for performing excavation;( para. 0020 – wherein an excavator can be performing the task of digging and earth working operations, para. 0032 – an excavators arm performing site operations)
imaging the distal end member performing excavation by a drone at a predetermined altitude; ( para. 0032 – wherein a drone takes images of an excavators boom and the portion of the site. And have different images based on height of position of drone)
drone that can take images near to the unit; and ( para. 0032 – wherein a drone takes images of an excavators boom)
imaging the distal end member by using the drone and recognizing a condition of the distal end member while the drone is flying close to the distal end member.( fig. 2 movable portion of heavy machinery ( excavator), recognize condition to avoid collision of the heavy machinery with objects)
RAM-ON discloses of drone that can take images near to the unit so elevation control would necessarily occur and would include the raising and lower of the drone, It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for lowering the drone to avoid a collision with the distal end member and flying the drone close to the distal end member. As this would allow RAM-ON to allow the operator to reduce human errors and allow the ability to automate the drone operation around an excavator for safety improvement ( para. 0002)
Regarding Claim 28
RAM-ON discloses claim 21:
coordinating a heavy machinery, which cooperates with the working device based on an imaging result of the drone when adjusting a relative position between the multiple vehicles / machines. (para. 0039 – wherein the controller identifies objects and positions of objects, and machines and prevents collision and para. 0055 – where in the moving object to avoid collision and changing trajectory, para. 0032 – where in cameras located on drones are used to provide imaging results)
RAM-ON discloses of a detection system which is usable with multiple tools, of which could be combinable with multiple vehicles such as excavators and trucks. and (para. 0002 - wherein heavy machinery can include excavators and trucks) A controller for taking images with a drone ca use an excavator or a truck both useable together to lends itself to an obvious system which uses both vehicles. It would obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for RAM-OM for stopping a truck, which cooperates with the working device based on an imaging result of the drone when adjusting a relative position between the truck and the main body . As this would allow RAM-ON to automate the system and machinery to provide a safer and faster environment for heavy machinery to work together ( para. 0002)
Claim(s) 8, 10, 16 – 17, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG pubs 20200218286 – Tamasato et al. hereinafter as TAMASATO in view of US PG Pub 20200149248 – Ram-on et al. hereinafter as RAM-ON
Regarding Claim 8
TAMASATO discloses:
8. A construction machine comprising:
a main body device that travels by a traveling device; ( see figure 2. Main body and traveling device, wherein the main body is where the objects land, wherein the traveling device are the tracks that move the vehicle)
a working device connected to the main body ( see figure 2. Main body device);
a take-off and landing portion provided on the main body where a drone is capable of taking off and landing(Fig. 3 – landing and takeoff zone – 26 – two locations), the drone including an image capturing device ( para. 0017 – where in positions marks 24A or 24B can be identified by image recognition functions by cameras of the drones),
a central control device ( para. 0021 where in instruction terminal receives terrain data of the drones)
TAMASATO discloses of a central control device for connected with excavators and working device. RAM-ON discloses of a system that has a central control for autonomous vehicles such as that would prevent collision and stop vehicles if boundaries are exceeded :
stops a truck, which cooperates with the working device, based on an imaging result by the image capturing device of the drone when adjusting a relative position between the main body and the truck. (para. 0039 – wherein the controller identifies objects and positions of objects, and machines and prevents collision and para. 0055 – where in the moving object to avoid collision and changing trajectory, para. 0032 – where in cameras located on drones are used to provide imaging results --- RAM-ON discloses of a detection system which is usable with multiple tools, of which could be combinable with multiple vehicles such as excavators and trucks. and (para. 0002 - wherein heavy machinery can include excavators and trucks) A controller for taking images with a drone ca use an excavator or a truck both useable together to lends itself to an obvious system which uses both vehicles.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention such that TAMASATO’s ability to avoid collision with a drone, for the ability to change trajectory in order avoid a collision of objects or vehicles as taught by RAM-ON. This would allow TAMASATO to avoiding collision with other objects, building or people in the site, and a need for automated an autonomous system that avoids and corrects a path of new trajectory ( para. 0022)
Regarding Claim 10
TAMASATO / RAM-ON discloses:
TAMASATO discloses:
10. The construction machine according to claim 8, wherein a part of a power supply unit that supplies power to the unmanned flying object is provided in the take-off and landing portion. (para. 0017 - As illustrated in FIGS. 4 and 5, each of the holding sections 26 includes a round bar-shaped base 26A that is long in a vertical direction, and a disk-shaped upper end 26B coaxially mounted on an upper end of the base 26A. As schematically illustrated in FIG. 6, a power transmission device 28 for charging the drone 14 is mounted on the upper end 26B. The power transmission device 28 may use a wireless system or a wired system. As the wireless system, for example, an electromagnetic induction system, a magnetic field resonance system, or the like may be used.para. 0018. Each of the drones 14 includes a holding mechanism 38, a camera 40, rotors 42, and a leg section 44, for example, as well as the high-precision GNSS receiver 12. In the first embodiment, each of the GNSS receivers 12 is included in a respective one of the drones 14)
Regarding Claim 16
TAMASATO / RAM-ON discloses claim 10:
TAMASATO discloses:
16. The construction machine system according to claim 10, wherein a visual recognition mark is provided on the take-off and landing portion, ( para. 0017 – As schematically illustrated in FIG. 6, a power transmission device 28 for charging the drone 14 is mounted on the upper
end 26B. The power transmission device 28 may use a wireless system or a wired system. As the wireless system, for example, an electromagnetic induction system, a magnetic field resonance system, or the like may be used.) is provided in the visual recognition mark.( visual mark 16)
Regarding Claim 17
TAMASATO / RAM-ON discloses claim 8:
TAMASATO discloses:
The construction machine system according to claim 8, wherein the central control device causes to transmit an image data captured by the image capturing device to the central control device. ( para. 0021 where in the instruction terminal 36 receives terrain data and para. 0022 wherein the drones 14 has camera 40 that transmit to instruction terminal 36)
Regarding Claim 25
TAMASATO / RAM-ON discloses claim 8:
TAMASATO discloses:
25. The construction machine system according to claim 8, wherein the central control device causes the drone to capture images of the working device at different altitudes. ( para. 0022- wherein the drone recognizes images , drone fly at heights higher than the highest section of the working machine)
Claim(s) 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG pubs 20200218286 – Tamasato et al. hereinafter as TAMASATO in view of US PG Pub 20200149248 – Ram-on et al. hereinafter as RAM-ON in further view of CA22988095 – Yamasaki et al. hereinafter as YAMASAKI
Regarding Claim 26
TAMASATO / RAM-ON discloses claim 8:
TAMASATO discloses of collision avoidance using a drone with excavators and other heavy machinery. RAM/ON discloses the central control device determines tracking of object based on imaging results of the drone.( para. 0023 – processing data i.e. images / video from a drone, At least one camera may capture images or may film a stream of images (e.g., a video). And para. 0020 – where in heavy machinery can execute tasks such as loading and unloading and transporting tasks) YAMASAKI discloses of an autonomous operation that includes:
wherein the working device dumps an excavation object into the truck , and determines whether the truck is full with the excavation object( see figure 1 and para. 0016 – wherein an excavator and truck load an unload excavation objects)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for TAMASATO / RAM-ON’s operation that includes capturing images from a drone of operations of the vehicles that can complete execute and complete tasks and include tasks such as wherein the working device dumps an excavation object into the truck , and the central control device determines whether the truck is full with the excavation object as taught by YAMASAKI. This would allow TAMASATO / RAM-ON to provide autonomous operations to include the operation of heavy machinery to improve overall safety and efficiency.
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pubs 20200149248 – Ram-On et al. hereinafter as RAM-ON
Regarding Claim 24
RAM-ON discloses claim 21:
The assistance method according to claim 21, wherein the distal end member is one of a
bucket, a breaker, a fork, or a ripper. ( para. 0024 – discloses of an excavator)
RAM-ON does not explicitly disclose a “bucket”. However, RAM-ON does disclose a “excavator” para. 0024. Examiner takes Official notice that excavator is known to use buckets for ground engaging operations. Therefore it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention that “RAM-ON” for an excavator to contain a bucket scooping up earth to move material.
Claim(s) 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US PG pubs 20200218286 – Tamasato et al. hereinafter as TAMASATO in view of US PG Pub 20200149248 – Ram-on et al. hereinafter as RAM-ON in view of US PG Pub 20100183416 – Ishii et al. hereinafter as ISHII
Regarding Claim 20
TAMASATO / RAM-ON discloses claim 8:
TAMASATO does not disclose:
wherein working device comprises a first working device connected to the main body and a second working device connected to the main body.
TAMASATO does disclose of a single working device, ISHII disclose of more than one working device:
wherein working device comprises a first working device connected to the main body and a second working device connected to the main body.(fig. 1 double working device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute a single working device mechanism of TOMASATO for a double working device that includes a first working device and a second working device connected to the main body by ISHII. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known work device mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of more capable working device excavator (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). Additionally, Examiner notes that ISHII discloses of having two working arms that allows users to perform some functions that would just otherwise not be possible with only one working arm (ISHII – para. 0002)
Claim(s) 22 – 23, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pubs 20200149248 – Ram-On et al. hereinafter as RAM-ON in view of US PG pubs 20200218286 – Tamasato et al. hereinafter as TAMASATO
Regarding Claim 22
RAM-ON discloses claim 21:
RAM-ON discloses of utilizing drone for taking images of site operations for an autonomous heavy machinery operation, however does not explicitly disclose of the drone takes off from a take-off and landing portion on the main body and flies toward the distal end member.
TAMASATO discloses:
wherein the drone takes off from a take-off and landing portion on the main body and flies toward the distal end member. ( see figure 3, - take-off and landing zones – 16 with QR codes)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute the body of the working machine of RAM-ON for a body of the machine that includes a takeoff and landing portion for a drone on the main body of a working machine by TOMASATO. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known work device mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of recharging and docking a drone (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). Additionally, Examiner notes that TOMASATO discloses that the operation system includes a drone having a GNSS receiver, and a working machine having a take-off and landing port and is configured so that positional information on the working machine is acquired by the GNSS receiver of the drone to be placed on the take-off and landing port. (TOMASATO – para. 0005)
Regarding Claim 23
RAM-ON / TAMASATO discloses claim 22:
RAM-ON discloses:
The assistance method according to claim 22, wherein an image data of the distal end member captured by the drone ( para. 0032 – discloses of a camera on drone capturing excavator distal end of excavator boom. ) is transmitted to a device different from the drone. (para. 0026 - device different from drone would be data that takes images from drone i.e. cloud)
Regarding Claim 27
RAM-ON discloses claim 21:
RAM-ON discloses utilizing drone for taking images of site operations for an autonomous heavy machinery operation, however does not explicitly disclose of the drone takes off from a take-off and landing portion on the main body and flies toward the distal end member.
TAMASATO discloses:
27. The assistance method according to claim 21, wherein the main body is provided with a take-off and landing portion on which the drone takes off and lands, and the predetermined altitude is higher than the take-off and landing portion. ( see figure 3, - take-off and landing zones – 16 with QR codes, para. 0022 - the drones 14 recognize images of the position marks 24Aand 24B of the take-off and landing ports 16 of the working machine 18 by means of the cameras 40 whose photographing directions are oriented directly downward, while flying above a position that has been acquired by the low-precision GNSS receiver 34 and at which the working machine 18 is predicted to exist, and above a region around the position. In this case, the drones 14 fly at heights higher than the highest section of the working machine 18. The positions and heights of the drones 14 are acquired by the high-precision GNSS receivers 12 of the drones 14. The height of the highest section of the working machine 18 is recognized in advance based on a design value of the working machine 18, the terrain data, and the like. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute the body of the working machine of RAM-ON for a body of the machine that includes a takeoff and landing portion for a drone on the main body of a working machine by TOMASATO. Doing so merely constitutes the substitution of one known work device mechanism for another to produce the predictable result of recharging and docking a drone (MPEP 2143, subsection I, B). Additionally, Examiner notes that TOMASATO discloses that the operation system includes a drone having a GNSS receiver, and a working machine having a take-off and landing port and is configured so that positional information on the working machine is acquired by the GNSS receiver of the drone to be placed on the take-off and landing port. (TOMASATO – para. 0005)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AU2017201028 – Vandapel – controlling operations of a machine
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671