Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. US 20150372740 A1 (Domestic Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Marinier et al. US 20130322376 A1 (Domestic Priority June 4, 2012), and in further view of Nobayashi et al. US 20170127048 A1 (Foreign Priority October 30, 2015).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Ko discloses a beamforming method applied to a network device (see, network comprising of nodes, sections 0053-0054), comprising: acquiring Direction of Arrival (DOA) information (see, method for configuring a codebook to form a beam of a specific angle range in an elevation angle direction for beamforming, section 0252); obtaining a first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a vertical or horizontal beamforming weight associated with direction of arrival, sections 0252-0258) in a first polarized antenna direction (see, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190; noted, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal or vertical, section 0247) according to the DOA information (see, 1D antenna structure such as a ULA or cross-polarized array configuration can support adaptive beamforming, section 0201; noted, method for configuring a codebook to form a beam of a specific angle range in an elevation angle direction for beamforming, section 0252); acquiring precoding matrix indicator information (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248); obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information calculating a phase difference$(ilayer) (see, arbitrary beam direction means that the codebook is designed to have an arbitrary phase value, section 0248) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction (see, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal beamforming (or azimuth angle direction beamforming) or vertical beamforming (or elevation angle direction beamforming), section 0247) according to the precoding (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248) index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358; noted, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190) according to the first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358) and the phase difference$(ilayer) (see, the phase is determined according to the codebook for periods, section 0248); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, the combining of a vertical beamforming weight vector/matrix and a horizontal beamforming weight vector/matrix into a weight vector/matrix for 3D beamforming, section 0383).
Ko discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information calculating a phase difference$(ilayer) (see, arbitrary beam direction means that the codebook is designed to have an arbitrary phase value, section 0248) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction (see, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal beamforming (or azimuth angle direction beamforming) or vertical beamforming (or elevation angle direction beamforming), section 0247) according to the precoding (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248) index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358; noted, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190) according to the first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358) and the phase difference$(ilayer) (see, the phase is determined according to the codebook for periods, section 0248); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, the combining of a vertical beamforming weight vector/matrix and a horizontal beamforming weight vector/matrix into a weight vector/matrix for 3D beamforming, section 0383).
However Marinier from a similar field of endeavor disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information (see, one or more precoding matrix indicators corresponding to the global precoding matrix W may include at least one combining indicator i.sub.comb, (or inter-point indicator, or inter-CSI-RS-resource indicator) which may correspond to a combining matrix W.sub.comb of dimension (RI.sub.1+RI.sub.2+ . . . +RI.sub.K).times.RI.sub.joint, and which interpretation may depend on the last reported joint rank indication RI.sub.joint and possibly set of per-point rank indications Ri.sub.k, section 0112 Marinier; noted, one or more combining indicators i.sub.comb may include at least one index to a specific combining matrix W.sub.comb according to a pre-defined mapping, section 0115 Marinier) calculating a phase difference$(ilayer) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction according to the precoding index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction according to the first beamforming weight WDOA and the phase difference$(ilayer); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight.
However Nobayashi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information calculating a phase difference$(ilayer) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction according to the precoding index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers (see, layer information Ilayer which is associated with calculating global confidence for each layer(region), sections 0063-0068 Nobayashi); obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction according to the first beamforming weight WDOA and the phase difference$(ilayer); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to method of Ko with the precoding matrix indicators of Marinier and ilayer of Nobayashi. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Ko discloses the method of claim 1, wherein acquiring DOA information comprises: acquiring location information of the network device and location information of a terminal device (see, whether the location of the antenna array is higher or lower than the location of signal transmission/reception targets shows information on the location of devices, sections 0341, 0406), respectively; and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device (see, whether the location of the antenna array is higher or lower than the location of signal transmission/reception targets changes its refraction, reflection, beam directions, etc., section 0341).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Ko discloses a network device, comprising a first memory, a first processor, and a program stored in the first memory and executable by the first processor which, when executed by the first processor, causes the first processor (fig. 21, processor 13 of the BS 10 may process information received and to be transmitted by the BS 10, and the memory 14 may store the processed information for a predetermined time, section 0431) to perform a beamforming method comprising: acquiring Direction of Arrival (DOA) information (see, method for configuring a codebook to form a beam of a specific angle range in an elevation angle direction for beamforming, section 0252); obtaining a first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a vertical or horizontal beamforming weight associated with direction of arrival, sections 0252-0258) in a first polarized antenna direction (see, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190; noted, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal or vertical, section 0247) according to the DOA information (see, 1D antenna structure such as a ULA or cross-polarized array configuration can support adaptive beamforming, section 0201; noted, method for configuring a codebook to form a beam of a specific angle range in an elevation angle direction for beamforming, section 0252); acquiring precoding matrix indicator information (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248); obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) (see, arbitrary beam direction means that the codebook is designed to have an arbitrary phase value, section 0248) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction (see, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal beamforming (or azimuth angle direction beamforming) or vertical beamforming (or elevation angle direction beamforming), section 0247) according to the precoding index value (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248), wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358; noted, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190) according to the first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358) and the phase difference $(ilayer) (see, the phase is determined according to the codebook for periods, section 0248); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, the combining of a vertical beamforming weight vector/matrix and a horizontal beamforming weight vector/matrix into a weight vector/matrix for 3D beamforming, section 0383).
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) (see, arbitrary beam direction means that the codebook is designed to have an arbitrary phase value, section 0248) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction (see, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal beamforming (or azimuth angle direction beamforming) or vertical beamforming (or elevation angle direction beamforming), section 0247) according to the precoding index value (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248), wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358; noted, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190) according to the first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358) and the phase difference $(ilayer) (see, the phase is determined according to the codebook for periods, section 0248); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, the combining of a vertical beamforming weight vector/matrix and a horizontal beamforming weight vector/matrix into a weight vector/matrix for 3D beamforming, section 0383).
However Marinier from a similar field of endeavor disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction according to the precoding index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers (see, one or more precoding matrix indicators corresponding to the global precoding matrix W may include at least one combining indicator i.sub.comb, (or inter-point indicator, or inter-CSI-RS-resource indicator) which may correspond to a combining matrix W.sub.comb of dimension (RI.sub.1+RI.sub.2+ . . . +RI.sub.K).times.RI.sub.joint, and which interpretation may depend on the last reported joint rank indication RI.sub.joint and possibly set of per-point rank indications Ri.sub.k, section 0112 Marinier; noted, one or more combining indicators i.sub.comb may include at least one index to a specific combining matrix W.sub.comb according to a pre-defined mapping, section 0115 Marinier); obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction according to the first beamforming weight WDOA and the phase difference $(ilayer); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight.
However Nobayashi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction according to the precoding index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers (see, layer information Ilayer which is associated with calculating global confidence for each layer(region), sections 0063-0068 Nobayashi); obtaining a second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction according to the first beamforming weight WDOA and the phase difference $(ilayer); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to method of Ko with the precoding matrix indicators of Marinier and ilayer of Nobayashi. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Ko discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing at least one program which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor (fig. 21, processor 13 of the BS 10 may process information received and to be transmitted by the BS 10, and the memory 14 may store the processed information for a predetermined time, section 0431) to perform a beamforming method comprising: acquiring Direction of Arrival (DOA) information (see, method for configuring a codebook to form a beam of a specific angle range in an elevation angle direction for beamforming, section 0252); obtaining a first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a vertical or horizontal beamforming weight associated with direction of arrival, sections 0252-0258) in a first polarized antenna direction (see, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190; noted, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal or vertical, section 0247) according to the DOA information (see, 1D antenna structure such as a ULA or cross-polarized array configuration can support adaptive beamforming, section 0201; noted, method for configuring a codebook to form a beam of a specific angle range in an elevation angle direction for beamforming, section 0252); acquiring precoding matrix indicator information (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248); obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) (see, arbitrary beam direction means that the codebook is designed to have an arbitrary phase value, section 0248) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction (see, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal beamforming (or azimuth angle direction beamforming) or vertical beamforming (or elevation angle direction beamforming), section 0247) according to the precoding index value (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248), wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight Wnno in the second polarized antenna direction (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358; noted, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190) according to the first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358) and the phase difference $(ilayer) (see, the phase is determined according to the codebook for periods, section 0248); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, the combining of a vertical beamforming weight vector/matrix and a horizontal beamforming weight vector/matrix into a weight vector/matrix for 3D beamforming, section 0383).
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) (see, arbitrary beam direction means that the codebook is designed to have an arbitrary phase value, section 0248) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction (see, antenna structure can be of a first and second domain such as horizontal beamforming (or azimuth angle direction beamforming) or vertical beamforming (or elevation angle direction beamforming), section 0247) according to the precoding index value (see, precoding codebook designed for beamforming associated with a specific precoding matrix, section 0248), wherein ilayer is the number of layers; obtaining a second beamforming weight Wnno in the second polarized antenna direction (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358; noted, polarized antenna configuration of an antenna group/array, sections 0186-0190) according to the first beamforming weight WDOA (see, a second value corresponding to a beamforming weight associated with a first value of a first indicator corresponding to a beamforming weight, section 0358) and the phase difference $(ilayer) (see, the phase is determined according to the codebook for periods, section 0248); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, the combining of a vertical beamforming weight vector/matrix and a horizontal beamforming weight vector/matrix into a weight vector/matrix for 3D beamforming, section 0383).
However Marinier from a similar field of endeavor disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction according to the precoding index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers (see, one or more precoding matrix indicators corresponding to the global precoding matrix W may include at least one combining indicator i.sub.comb, (or inter-point indicator, or inter-CSI-RS-resource indicator) which may correspond to a combining matrix W.sub.comb of dimension (RI.sub.1+RI.sub.2+ . . . +RI.sub.K).times.RI.sub.joint, and which interpretation may depend on the last reported joint rank indication RI.sub.joint and possibly set of per-point rank indications Ri.sub.k, section 0112 Marinier; noted, one or more combining indicators i.sub.comb may include at least one index to a specific combining matrix W.sub.comb according to a pre-defined mapping, section 0115 Marinier); obtaining a second beamforming weight Wnno in the second polarized antenna direction according to the first beamforming weight WDOA, and the phase difference $(ilayer); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight.
However Nobayashi from a similar field of endeavor disclose: obtaining a precoding index value according to the precoding matrix indicator information; calculating a phase difference $(ilayer) between the first polarized antenna direction and a second polarized antenna direction according to the precoding index value, wherein ilayer is the number of layers (see, layer information Ilayer which is associated with calculating global confidence for each layer(region), sections 0063-0068 Nobayashi); obtaining a second beamforming weight Wnno in the second polarized antenna direction according to the first beamforming weight WDOA, and the phase difference $(ilayer); and producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to method of Ko with the precoding matrix indicators of Marinier and ilayer of Nobayashi. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Ko discloses the network device of claim 12, wherein acquiring DOA information comprises: acquiring location information of the network device and location information of a terminal device (see, whether the location of the antenna array is higher or lower than the location of signal transmission/reception targets shows information on the location of devices, sections 0341, 0406), respectively; and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device (see, whether the location of the antenna array is higher or lower than the location of signal transmission/reception targets changes its refraction, reflection, beam directions, etc., section 0341).
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Ko discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein acquiring DOA information comprises: acquiring location information of the network device and location information of a terminal device (see, whether the location of the antenna array is higher or lower than the location of signal transmission/reception targets shows information on the location of devices, sections 0341, 0406), respectively; and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device (see, whether the location of the antenna array is higher or lower than the location of signal transmission/reception targets changes its refraction, reflection, beam directions, etc., section 0341).
Claims 3, 17, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. US 20150372740 A1 (Domestic Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Marinier et al. US 20130322376 A1 (Domestic Priority June 4, 2012), and in further view of Nobayashi et al. US 20170127048 A1 (Foreign Priority October 30, 2015), and in further view of Ferrari et al. US 20200267681 A1 (Domestic Priority February 19, 2019).
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Original), the method of claim 2, wherein: the location information of the network device comprises a longitude JA of the network device and a height Ha of the network device; the location information of the terminal device comprises a longitude JB of a terminal device, a latitude WB of the terminal device and a height H of the terminal device; and, the DOA information comprises a pitch angle a and a horizontal angle J; and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device comprises: calculating the pitch angle a according to the location information of the network device, the location information of the terminal device and a first calculation formula; and calculating the horizontal angle R according to the location information of the network device, the location information of the terminal device and a second calculation formula; wherein the first calculation formula is:
the second calculation formula is:
where R is a radius of the earth, and /AOB is an included angle formed by the network device A and the terminal device B by taking a center O of the earth as a vertex.
However Ferrari from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 2, wherein: the location information of the network device comprises a longitude JA of the network device and a height Ha of the network device; the location information of the terminal device comprises a longitude JB of a terminal device (see, position information geographic therefore providing location coordinates such as latitude and longitude and may provide an altitude component such as height, section 0030 Ferrari), a latitude WB of the terminal device and a height H of the terminal device (see, position information geographic therefore providing location coordinates such as latitude and longitude and may provide an altitude component such as height, section 0030 Ferrari); and, the DOA information comprises a pitch angle a and a horizontal angle J (see, Angle of Arrival (AOA) refers to a direction of propagation of a radio-frequency wave incident on an antenna array relative to orientation of the antenna array, section 0040 Ferrari); and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device (see, the obtaining of channel measurements to determine position to transmit between network entities, section 0032 Ferrari) comprises: calculating the pitch angle a according to the location information of the network device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari), the location information of the terminal device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari) and a first calculation formula; and calculating the horizontal angle R according to the location information of the network device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari), the location information of the terminal device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari) and a second calculation formula; wherein the first calculation formula is:
the second calculation formula is:
where R is a radius of the earth, and /AOB is an included angle formed by the network device A and the terminal device B by taking a center O of the earth as a vertex (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the longitude, latitude and a height of Ferrari. The motivation would have been to support location determination for user equipments.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), the network device of claim 12, wherein the location information of the network device comprises a longitude Ja of the network device and a height Ha of the network device; the location information of the terminal device
comprises a longitude Js of the terminal device, a latitude Ws of the terminal device and a height HB of the terminal device; and the DOA information comprises a pitch angle a and a horizontal angle p; and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device comprises: calculating the pitch angle a according to the location information of the network device, the location information of the terminal device and a first calculation formula; and calculating the horizontal angle p according to the location information of the network device, the location information of the terminal device and a second calculation formula; wherein the first calculation formula is:
the second calculation formula is: where R is a radius of the earth, and /AOB is an included angle formed by the network device A and the terminal device B by taking a center O of the earth as a vertex.
However Ferrari from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the network device of claim 12, wherein the location information of the network device comprises a longitude Ja of the network device and a height Ha of the network device; the location information of the terminal device
comprises a longitude Js of the terminal device (see, position information geographic therefore providing location coordinates such as latitude and longitude and may provide an altitude component such as height, section 0030 Ferrari), a latitude Ws of the terminal device and a height HB of the terminal device (see, position information geographic therefore providing location coordinates such as latitude and longitude and may provide an altitude component such as height, section 0030 Ferrari); and the DOA information comprises a pitch angle a and a horizontal angle p (see, Angle of Arrival (AOA) refers to a direction of propagation of a radio-frequency wave incident on an antenna array relative to orientation of the antenna array, section 0040 Ferrari); and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device (see, the obtaining of channel measurements to determine position to transmit between network entities, section 0032 Ferrari) comprises: calculating the pitch angle a according to the location information of the network device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari), the location information of the terminal device and a first calculation formula; and calculating the horizontal angle p according to the location information of the network device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari), the location information of the terminal device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari) and a second calculation formula; wherein the first calculation formula is:
the second calculation formula is: where R is a radius of the earth, and /AOB is an included angle formed by the network device A and the terminal device B by taking a center O of the earth as a vertex (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the longitude, latitude and a height of Ferrari. The motivation would have been to support location determination for user equipments.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 25 (New), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, the location information of the network device comprises a longitude JA of the network device and a height HA of the network device; wherein the location information of the terminal device comprises a longitude Js of the terminal device, a latitude Ws of the terminal device and a height HB of the terminal device; and the DOA information comprises a pitch angle a and a horizontal angle p; and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device comprises: calculating the pitch angle a according to the location information of the network device, the location information of the terminal device and a first calculation formula; and calculating the horizontal angle p according to the location information of the network device, the location information of the terminal device and a second calculation formula; wherein the first calculation formula is: a= ar ccos
the second calculation formula is: p=ar csi n
;where R is a radius of the earth, and /AOB is an included angle formed by the network device A and the terminal device B by taking a center O of the earth as a vertex.
However Ferrari from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, the location information of the network device comprises a longitude JA of the network device and a height HA of the network device; wherein the location information of the terminal device comprises a longitude Js of the terminal device (see, position information geographic therefore providing location coordinates such as latitude and longitude and may provide an altitude component such as height, section 0030 Ferrari), a latitude Ws of the terminal device and a height HB of the terminal device (see, position information geographic therefore providing location coordinates such as latitude and longitude and may provide an altitude component such as height, section 0030 Ferrari); and the DOA information comprises a pitch angle a and a horizontal angle p (see, Angle of Arrival (AOA) refers to a direction of propagation of a radio-frequency wave incident on an antenna array relative to orientation of the antenna array, section 0040 Ferrari); and calculating the DOA information according to the location information of the network device and the location information of the terminal device (see, the obtaining of channel measurements to determine position to transmit between network entities, section 0032 Ferrari) comprises: calculating the pitch angle a according to the location information of the network device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari), the location information of the terminal device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine geometry location, section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari) and a first calculation formula; and calculating the horizontal angle p according to the location information of the network device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari), the location information of the terminal device (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari) and a second calculation formula; wherein the first calculation formula is: a= ar ccos
the second calculation formula is: p=ar csi n
;where R is a radius of the earth, and /AOB is an included angle formed by the network device A and the terminal device B by taking a center O of the earth as a vertex (see, the use of location assistance information such as Wireless Access Point (WAP) almanac information to determine angle of departure (AOD), section 0044 Ferrari; noted, a network entity may obtain information based on channel measurements (e.g. from one or more UEs), determine UE position(s), and determine and update WAP almanac information over time, section 0032 Ferrari).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the longitude, latitude and a height of Ferrari. The motivation would have been to support location determination for user equipments.
Claims 4, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. US 20150372740 A1 (Domestic Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Marinier et al. US 20130322376 A1 (Domestic Priority June 4, 2012), and in further view of Nobayashi et al. US 20170127048 A1 (Foreign Priority October 30, 2015), and in further view of Rahman et al. US 20110205930 A1 (Domestic Priority November 3, 2008).
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Previously Presented), the method of claim1, wherein obtaining a first beamforming weight in a first polarized antenna direction according to the DOA information comprises: looking up a steering vector conjugate table according to the DOA information to obtain a steering vector; and performing an operation on the steering vector to obtain the first beamforming weight.
However Rahman from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining a first beamforming weight in a first polarized antenna direction according to the DOA information comprises: looking up a steering vector conjugate table according to the DOA information (see, beamforming weights calculated by the steering vector for a given direction where the beamforming is DOS-based, section 0061 Rahman) to obtain a steering vector (see, steering vector with a given direction represented by theta, section 0061 Rahman); and performing an operation on the steering vector to obtain the first beamforming weight (see, beamforming weights calculated by the steering vector for a given direction where the beamforming is DOS-based, section 0061 Rahman).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the steering vector of Rahman. The motivation would have been to support location determination for user equipments.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 21 (New), the network device of claim 12, wherein obtaining a first beamforming weight in a first polarized antenna direction according to the DOA information comprises: looking up a steering vector conjugate table according to the DOA information to obtain a steering vector; and performing an operation on the steering vector to obtain the first beamforming weight.
However Rahman from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the network device of claim 12, wherein obtaining a first beamforming weight in a first polarized antenna direction according to the DOA information comprises: looking up a steering vector conjugate table according to the DOA information (see, beamforming weights calculated by the steering vector for a given direction where the beamforming is DOS-based, section 0061 Rahman) to obtain a steering vector (see, steering vector with a given direction represented by theta, section 0061 Rahman); and performing an operation on the steering vector to obtain the first beamforming weight (see, beamforming weights calculated by the steering vector for a given direction where the beamforming is DOS-based, section 0061 Rahman).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the steering vector of Rahman. The motivation would have been to support location determination for user equipments.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (New), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein obtaining a first beamforming weight in a first polarized antenna direction according to the DOA information comprises: looking up a steering vector conjugate table according to the DOA information to obtain a steering vector; and performing an operation on the steering vector to obtain the first beamforming weight.
However Rahman from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein obtaining a first beamforming weight in a first polarized antenna direction according to the DOA information comprises: looking up a steering vector conjugate table according to the DOA information (see, beamforming weights calculated by the steering vector for a given direction where the beamforming is DOS-based, section 0061 Rahman) to obtain a steering vector (see, steering vector with a given direction represented by theta, section 0061 Rahman); and performing an operation on the steering vector to obtain the first beamforming weight (see, beamforming weights calculated by the steering vector for a given direction where the beamforming is DOS-based, section 0061 Rahman).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the steering vector of Rahman. The motivation would have been to support location determination for user equipments.
Claims 6, 22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. US 20150372740 A1 (Domestic Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Marinier et al. US 20130322376 A1 (Domestic Priority June 4, 2012), and in further view of Nobayashi et al. US 20170127048 A1 (Foreign Priority October 30, 2015), and in further view of Hu et al. US 20130257655 A1 (December 17, 2010).
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein the second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction is calculated according to a second calculation formula.
However Hu from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein the second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction is calculated according to a second calculation formula (see, second polarization direction calculated with a second formula, section 0038 Hu; noted, second beamforming weight associated with polarization direction, section 0073 Hu; noted, antenna elements associated with polarization direction, section 0070 Hu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the second formula of Hu. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22 (New), the network device of claim 12, wherein the second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction is calculated according to a second calculation formula.
However Hu from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the network device of claim 12, wherein the second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction is calculated according to a second calculation formula (see, second polarization direction calculated with a second formula, section 0038 Hu; noted, second beamforming weight associated with polarization direction, section 0073 Hu; noted, antenna elements associated with polarization direction, section 0070 Hu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the second formula of Hu. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 27 (New), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction is calculated according to a second calculation formula.
However Hu from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the second beamforming weight WDOA in the second polarized antenna direction is calculated according to a second calculation formula (see, second polarization direction calculated with a second formula, section 0038 Hu; noted, second beamforming weight associated with polarization direction, section 0073 Hu; noted, antenna elements associated with polarization direction, section 0070 Hu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the second formula of Hu. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
Claims 7- 8, 23-24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. US 20150372740 A1 (Domestic Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Marinier et al. US 20130322376 A1 (Domestic Priority June 4, 2012), and in further view of Nobayashi et al. US 20170127048 A1 (Foreign Priority October 30, 2015), and in further view of Li et al. US 20100164802 A1 (Domestic Priority December 31, 2008).
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), The method of claim 1, wherein producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight; and producing the formed beam according to the normalized combined weight.
However Li from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li); and producing the formed beam according to the normalized combined weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the normalized beamforming weights of Li. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the method of claim 7, wherein normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight by a third calculation formula to obtain the normalized combined weight; wherein the third calculation formula is:
where Wbf is the normalized combined weight, and RI is layer indicator information.
However Li from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 7, wherein normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li) comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight by a third calculation formula to obtain the normalized combined weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li); wherein the third calculation formula is:
where Wbf is the normalized combined weight, and RI is layer indicator information (see, multiple data streams can calculate MRC weights, section 0021 Li).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the normalized beamforming weights of Li. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 23 (New), the network device of claim 12, wherein producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight; and producing the formed beam according to the normalized combined weight.
However Li from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the network device of claim 12, wherein producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li); and producing the formed beam according to the normalized combined weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the normalized beamforming weights of Li. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 24 (New), the network device of claim 23, wherein normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight by a third calculation formula to obtain the normalized combined weight; wherein the third calculation formula is:
where Wbf is the normalized combined weight, and RI is layer indicator information.
However Li from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the network device of claim 23, wherein normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li) comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight by a third calculation formula to obtain the normalized combined weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li); wherein the third calculation formula is:
where Wbf is the normalized combined weight, and RI is layer indicator information (see, multiple data streams can calculate MRC weights, section 0021 Li).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the normalized beamforming weights of Li. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
The combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 28 (New), the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight; and producing the formed beam according to the normalized combined weight.
However Li from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein producing a formed beam according to the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) comprises: normalizing the first beamforming weight and the second beamforming weight to obtain a normalized combined weight (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li); and producing the formed beam according to the normalized combined weight (see, beam formed through beamforming weights, sections 0060-0061 Li) (see, beamforming weights u and v can be the normalized beamforming vectors at the receiver and transmitter, section 0061 Li; noted, beamforming weight can be combined, sections 0016-0019, 0040 Li).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify combination of Ko, Marinier, and Nobayashi with the normalized beamforming weights of Li. The motivation would have been to set up a more efficient means of beamforming.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473