DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 does not present any new limitation when compared to claim 1, and in fact is broader than claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bando et al. (JP 2007/031167 A).
Note; Bondo is provided by its English translation.
Regarding claims 1-2, Bando teaches a boron nitride particles in shape of horn (nanohoron) or cone; [abstract, claims 4-6].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuwabara et al. (JP2009155176 A). Note; Kuwabara is provided by its English translation.
Regarding claim 3, Kuwabara teaches boron nitride particles (as nanofibers) wherein its diameter varies through the length of fiber, as having a wider and a narrower sides as instantly claimed; [20]. Kuwabara further teaches that a plurality of the fibers are connected to each other at the ends thus taking a radial shapes or a branched form; [21].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando et al. (JP 2007/031167 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A).
Regarding claims 5-6, Bondo does not teach the instantly claimed resin. However, the analogous art of Kim et al. teaches a boron nitride particles and method of making a resin material comprising boron nitride particles; [abstract, claims 1-5, 17]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to utilize the mixture of boron nitride particles within a resin with the motivation of having improved thermal conductivity and electrical insulation, “as an article manufactured therefrom, and a method for manufacturing the same are provided”; [claim 4], as taught by Kim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando et al. (JP 2007/031167 A), Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Otsuka et al. (US 2018/0354792 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bondo does not teach the pulverized boron nitride particles. However the analogous art of Otsuka teaches a resin comprising pulverized boron nitride particles; [153]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to use pulverized boron nitride particles with a resin with the motivation of having enhanced thermal conductivity and electrical insulation.
Claims 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara et al. (JP2009155176 A), as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A).
Regarding claims 4 and 8-9, Kuwabara does not teach the instantly claimed length of 80 micron or longer. However, the analogous art of Kim et al. teaches a boron nitride fibers with lengths of 100 to 500 microns; [33], and teaches a method (instant claim 9) of making a resin material mixed with boron nitride particles; [abstract, claims 1-5, 17, 53]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to utilize the mixture of longer boron nitride fibrous particles within a resin with the motivation of having improved thermal conductivity and electrical insulation, “as an article manufactured therefrom, and a method for manufacturing the same are provided”; [claim 4], as taught by Kim.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara et al. (JP2009155176 A), Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A), as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Otsuka et al. (US 2018/0354792 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kuwabara does not teach the pulverized boron nitride particles. However the analogous art of Otsuka teaches a resin comprising pulverized boron nitride particles; [153]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to use pulverized boron nitride particles with a resin with the motivation of having a uniformly mixed resin thus an enhanced thermal conductivity and electrical insulation.
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/03/07
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767