DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando et al. (JP 2007/031167 A), in view of Yao et a. (CN 107673318 A).
Note; Yao is provided by its English translation.
Regarding claim 1, Bando teaches boron nitride particles in shape of horn (nano-boron) or cone wherein its diameter increases from one end to the other end; [abstract, claims 4-6].
Bando does not teach the instantly claimed particle lengths. However, the analogous art of Yao teaches a method of making thermally conductive (4, 14, 47) boron nitrate nanoparticles with diameter of 10-150 nm and length of 20-100 microns; [abstract, 0045, claim 12]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention it would have been obvious to use Yao’s longer conical boron nitrides for Bando’s dielectric and thermal conductive material with the motivation of providing a more efficient heat release (due to providing a higher surface area for thermal conduction) from electronic equipment. Furthermore, it should be noted, the given range of particle diameters (10-150 nm) and particle lengths range of 20-100 micron, it is quite reasonable to assume that some (irregular) fraction of Yao’s boron nitride particles would naturally assume a conical shape which further render the claim obvious.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando et al. (JP 2007/031167 A), Yao et a. (CN 107673318 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A).
Regarding claims 5-6, Bondo does not teach the instantly claimed resin. However, the analogous art of Kim et al. teaches boron nitride particles and method of making a resin material comprising boron nitride particles; [abstract, claims 1-5, 17]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to utilize the mixture of boron nitride particles within a resin with the motivation of having improved thermal conductivity and electrical insulation, “as an article manufactured therefrom, and a method for manufacturing the same are provided”; [claims 1, 4-5, 0053], as taught by Kim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando et al. (JP 2007/031167 A), Yao et a. (CN 107673318 A), Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A), as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Otsuka et al. (US 2018/0354792 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bondo does not teach the pulverized boron nitride particles. However, the analogous art of Otsuka teaches a resin comprising pulverized boron nitride particles; [153]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to use pulverized boron nitride particles within a resin with the motivation of having enhanced thermal conductivity and electrical insulation through uniform mixture within the resin material.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara et al. (JP2009155176 A), in view of Yao et a. (CN 107673318 A).
Regarding claim 3, Kuwabara teaches boron nitride particles (as nanofibers) wherein its diameter varies through the length of fiber, as having a wider and narrower side as instantly claimed; [20]. Kuwabara further teaches that plurality of the fibers is connected to each other at the ends thus taking radial shapes or a branched form; [21].
Kuwabara does not teach the instantly claimed particle lengths. However, the analogous art of Yao teaches a method of making thermally conductive (4, 14, 47) boron nitrate nanoparticles with diameter of 10-150 nm and length of 20-100 microns; [abstract, 0045, claim 12]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention it would have been obvious to use Yao’s longer conical boron nitrides for Kuwabara’s dielectric and thermal conductive material with the motivation of providing a more efficient heat release (due to providing a higher surface area for thermal conduction) from electronic equipment. Furthermore, it should be nonoted thathe given range of particle diameters (10-150 nm) and particle lengths range of 20-100 micron, it is quite reasonable to assume that some (irregular) fraction of Yao’s boron nitride particles would naturally assume a conical shape which further render the claim obvious.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara et al. (JP2009155176 A), Yao et a. (CN 107673318 A), as applied to claim 3 and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A).
Regarding claims 8-9, Kuwabara does not teach the instantly claimed resin. However, the analogous art of Kim et al. teaches boron nitride particles and method of making it with a resin; [abstract, claims 1-5, 17, 0054]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to utilize the Kim’s mixture of boron nitride particles within a resin with the motivation of having improved thermal conductivity and electrical insulation, (“as an article manufactured therefrom, and a method for manufacturing the same are provided”); [claims 1, 4-5, 0054], as taught by Kim.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara et al. (JP2009155176 A), Yao et a. (CN 107673318 A), Kim et al. (KR 2018/0032213 A), as applied to claim 9 & 3, and further in view of Otsuka et al. (US 2018/0354792 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kuwabara does not teach the pulverized boron nitride particles. However, the analogous art of Otsuka teaches a resin comprising pulverized boron nitride particles; [153]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to use pulverized boron nitride particles within a resin material with the motivation of having a uniformly mixed resin thus an enhanced thermal conductivity and electrical insulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 and 5-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on previous combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/08/26
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767