DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/24/25, applicant’s arguments in regards to Dai have been persuasive, but the current rejection does not rely on Dai.
Double Patenting
Claims 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11020883 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127) referred to as Munk 2.
As to claim 8, 11020883 recites these limitations in claim 1.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11020883 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11020883 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 11020883 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 11020883 recites these limitations in claims 1 and 3.
As to claim 14, 11020883 recites these limitations in claims 1 and 2.
As to claim 16, 11020883 recites these limitations in claims 1 and 2.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11020883 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
As to claims 12, The combination of 11766810, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Claim 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11766810 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127).
As to claim 8, 11766810 recites these limitations in claim 1.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11766810 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11766810 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 11766810 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 11766810 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 14, 11766810 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 16, 11766810 recites these limitations in claims 1 and 3.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11766810 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
As to claims 12, The combination of 11766810, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11717993 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127).
As to claim 8, 11717993 recites these limitations in claim 1 and 2.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11717993 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11717993 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk 2, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 11717993 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 11717993 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 14, 11717993 recites these limitations in claims 1 and 2.
As to claim 16, 11717993 recites these limitations in claims and 8.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11717993 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
As to claims 12, The combination of 11717993, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11839999 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127).
As to claim 8, 11839999 recites these limitations in claim 1.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11839999 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 11839999 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk 2, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 11839999 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 11839999 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 14, 11839999 recites these limitations in claims 1 and 2.
As to claim 16, 11839999 recites these limitations in claims and 3.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11839999 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
The combination of 11839999, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12134214 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127).
As to claim 8, 12134214 recites these limitations in claim 1 and 5.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12134214 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12134214 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk 2, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 12134214 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 12134214 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 14, 12134214 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 16, 12134214 recites these limitations in claims 1.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12134214 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
As to claims 12, The combination of 12134214, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12134215 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127).
As to claim 8, 12134215 recites these limitations in claim 1.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12134214 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12134214 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk 2, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 12134215 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 12134215 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 14, 12134215 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 16, 12134215 recites these limitations in claim 1.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12134215 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
The combination of 12134215, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12138830 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127),.
As to claim 8, 12138830 recites these limitations in claim 1 and 2.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12134214 and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12134214 and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk 2, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, 12138830 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 11, 12138830 recites these limitations in claims 1.
As to claim 14, 12138830 recites these limitations in claim 1.
As to claim 16, 12138830 recites these limitations in claim 1 and 10.
Claim 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12138830 in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
As to claims 12, The combination of 12138830, Munk, Munk II teach the limitations of this claim except for the multiple pressure members on a single forming element.
.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (US 2019/0070819) in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127) referred to as Munk 2.
As to claim 8, Larsson teaches a method for forming a plurality of discrete three- dimensional cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a multi-cavity forming mould system, wherein the forming mould system comprises a first mould part and a second mould part arranged for cooperating with each other during forming of the cellulose products, wherein the first mould part comprises a plurality of first forming elements and the second mould part comprises a plurality of corresponding second forming elements (exterior surface of the membrane), wherein the second forming elements are movably arranged in relation to a base structure of the second mould part (ie by the filling of the membrane), wherein each second forming element is arranged for interacting with a pressure media (the membrane and pressurizing fluid) arranged in the base structure [0076], wherein the method comprises the steps: providing the air-formed cellulose blank structure, wherein the cellulose blank structure is air-formed from cellulose fibers, and arranging the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and the second mould part [claim 1,0070, 0119, 0120, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; establishing a plurality of forming cavities for the cellulose blank structure between each first forming element and corresponding second forming element [00700119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]; and establishing a forming pressure in each forming cavity onto the cellulose blank structure during forming of the cellulose products [0119, 0120, 0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c]. The examiner notes that mold parts may comprise a plurality of cavities [0068, 0120]; multiple mold cavities/elements. This limitation is just a duplication of part which is generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04. Larsson does not explicitly state establishing the forming pressure upon movement of each second forming element in relation to the base structure through interaction from the pressure member.
Munk teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [col 1 line 10-25] wherein both the first and second molds have forming members and the 2nd mold have pressing members (in this case either springs or hydraulic means) positioned between the forming member and the 2nd mold base structure [Fig 1,2, 4, 5, col 4 line 44-col 5 line 35] and that this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses [col 2 line 28-52]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Larsson and had multiple pressure members/springs to one mold part and operate/move the forming members relative to the base of the mold, as suggested by Munk, as this this configuration allow for uniform compressive strength even when the article(s) has/have different thicknesses.
Munk 2 teaches a method of making molded articles from fibrous material [Abstract] wherein a singular molds contain numerous cavities [Fig 1] which allow for several articles to be formed simultaneously [col 3 line 25-60, col 4 line 7- 62]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Larsson and utilized multiple cavities, as suggested by Munk, in order to form multiple articles simultaneously.
As to claim 9, Larsson teaches comprising moving the first mould part and the second mould part in a direction towards each other after arranging the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and the second mould part for establishing the plurality of forming cavities for the cellulose blank structure [0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c].
As to claim 11, Larsson comprising establishing a forming pressure level of at least 1 MPa in each forming cavity through interaction from the pressure member [0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c].
As to claim 14, Larsson teaches the forming mould system comprises a heating unit, wherein the method further comprises heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100 C. to 300 C. during forming of the cellulose products [0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c].
As to claim 16, Larsson teaches further comprising establishing a forming pressure level in the range of 4-20 MPa in each forming cavity through interaction from the pressure member [0076, Fig 2a-3b, 5a-9c].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson (US 2019/0070819) in view of Munk (US 3166617) and Munk (US 3975127), as applied to claims 8, 9, 11, 14, and 16 above, and in further view of Lee Spring (Belleville Disc Spring Washers).
As to claim 12, Larsson in combination with Munk and Munk 2 teaches the pressure member comprises a plurality of spring units arranged between the base structure and the plurality of second forming elements, wherein the spring units are establishing the forming pressure in each forming cavity onto the cellulose blank structure as explained above.
The combination of Larsson, Munk, and Munk 2 do not explicitly state that there are multiple pressure units connected to a single 2nd forming element and utilizes a coil a spring as the pressure member.
Lee Spring teaches multiple types of springs including compression springs (coil/helical springs) and Belleville disc spring washers (ie disc springs) and notes that disc springs can support high loads with relatively small deflection/height compared to coil/helical springs [first paragraph]. Moreover, stacking disc springs (ie using multiple) can dynamically increase in load and deflection to tailor the springs to the application [Belleville washers in use and stacking]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Larsson by using a stack of disc springs, as suggested by Lee Spring, in order to allow for dynamic adjustment of load and deflection.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759