DETAILED ACTION
The instant claims are entitled to an effective filing date of 08/20/2020.
Claims 3, 6-10, 12, 14, 16, 21-27, 29-40, 42-45, 47-48, 51, 53-54 and 57-84 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11, 13, 15, 17-20, 28, 41, 46, 49-50, 52, and 55-56 are pending and under consideration in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amendment filed on 08/24/2026 has introduced new matter into the claims.
Claim 49, as filed on 8/24/2026, recites the method of claim 1, comprising determining the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step, wherein the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step is at least about 2:1.
Applicant points to the instant specification, specifically paragraphs [0004], [0011], [0019], [0027], [0040]-[0041], [0062]-[0069], and [0071] for support, and asserts that no new matter has been added in the amendment. See the remarks p. 6 para. 2. However, the original claims and specification as filed do not provide sufficient written description of the above underlined limitations.
Claim 49 contains new matter because of the limitation that requires the act of determining the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step.
The specification as filed and the original claims do not provide support for this limitation in amended claim 49. The specification states that [i]n some embodiments, the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step is at least about 2:1. See [0019]. In some embodiments, the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step can be at least, or be at most, 1:1, or 10000:1. See [0062]. Therefore, the specification provides support for a resulting ratio of blood cells lysed to the at least one microorganism lysed, but the specification does not provide support for an active method step of determining the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step
Such limitations recited in the instant claim 49, which did not appear in the specification or original claims, as filed, introduce new concepts and violate the description requirement of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C 112. Applicant is required to provide sufficient written support for the limitations recited in the instant claims. Applicant can remove the new matter limitations from the claims to obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 11, 13, 28, 41, 46, 52 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber (US 2014/0227723).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Ingber, in example 17, teaches bacteria present in blood. See [0885]. Ingber teaches preprocessing a test sample, such as whole blood with a preprocessing reagent. See [0211]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants, cell lysing reagents and degradative enzymes, e.g. nucleases. See [0213]. Exemplary surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA). See [0223]. With respect to instant formula 1, nonoxynol-9 is an embodiment where y=9 and x=9. Furthermore, Ingber teaches a process for detecting a microbe in a test sample. As shown in Fig. 17, the process comprises preprocessing the test sample, processing the test sample, capturing the microbe, separating the microbe (i.e. isolating) and detecting the microbe. See [0207].
Ingber teaches nonoxynol-9 amongst lists of other surfactants.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to select nonoxynol-9 from the list taught by Ingber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Ingber suggests that nonoxynol-9 can be used in a preprocessing step for hemolyzing blood cells. See [0212]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Ingber teaches a finite list of surfactants to choose from.
Regarding claim 5, Ingber teaches a processing buffer that comprises about 5% (i.e. 5g/100ml) to about 15% (i.e. 15g/100ml) surfactant. See [0222]. Therefore, Ingber suggests a concentration of about 50 g/L to about 150 g/L.
Ingber does not teach a somatic cell digestion agent (SDA) at a concentration of about 0.01 g/L to about 10 g/L in a lysis buffer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to optimize the concentration Ingber’s nonoxynol-9 surfactant. A person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Ingber suggests a starting surfactant concentration range of about 50 g/L to about 150 g/L from which one of ordinary skill in the art could have optimized. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) indicates that differences in concentration or temperature generally amount to “routine optimization” and will not support patentability unless there is evidence indicating the claimed feature is critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, Ingber teaches preprocessing reagents that include degradative enzymes, e.g. nucleases. See [0213].
Claim Interpretation: instant claim 13 recites “pure” culture and/or inoculum, which is interpreted as encompassing any culture and/or inoculum from the at least one isolated microorganism from the treated sample.
Regarding claim 13, Ingber teaches capturing, separating (i.e. isolating) and detecting a microbe. See [0207]. Ingber teaches microbeads for microbe capture. See [0028]. Ingber teaches culturing a microbe bound on microbead on a microbe-compatible culture medium, e.g. plated on agar. See [0336]. Isolated microbes can be used for analyses. See [0339]. In example 5, Ingber teaches plating microbeads with bound Candida on agar plates, incubating, and then counting Candida (i.e. an analysis). See [0758].
Regarding claim 28, Ingber teaches preprocessing reagents including surfactants, anticoagulants, and salts. See [0213]. Anticoagulants include sodium citrate. See [0227].
Regarding claim 41, Ingber teaches identifying a microbe bound to a microbe-binding molecule or substrate based on a microbe signature determined by mass spectrometric analysis. See claim 238 of Ingber.
Regarding claim 46, Ingber teaches that substrates with captured microbial materials can be directly subjected to MALDI-TOF analysis without separation of the captured microbial materials from the engineered microbe-binding molecules and/or substrates. See [0187]. Ingber teaches bacteria present in blood. See [0885]. Ingber teaches detecting microbes including Staphylococcus epidermidis. See [0449]. Ingber teaches preprocessing a test sample, such as whole blood with a preprocessing reagent. See [0211]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants. See [0213]. Exemplary surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA). See [0223]. Ingber teaches that a surfactant can be dissolved in a buffer solution in any amount, e.g. ranging from about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v). See [0268]. Ingber discloses that for identification of microbe species, a microbe/microbial fragment signature library can be established. See [0192].
Ingber does not teach yielding an at least 5% higher MALDI score as compared to a comparable method employing a lysis buffer that does not comprise the SDA. However, Ingber teaches identifying microbe species and MALDI-TOF analysis.
The instant specification discloses identifying microorganisms by MALDI-TOF/MS. See [0003]. In example 1, the specification teaches identifying Staphylococcus epidermidis isolated from positive blood cultures using different lysing agents namely saponin and nonoxynol-9. The concentration of each lysing agent is 0.52% (w/w). The score for acceptance of identification is 2.0 for standard database. See [0071]. Therefore, the instant specification indicates that at least 5% higher MALDI scores for S. epidermidis identification are achieved when nonoxynol-9 is present in a concentration of 0.52% (w/w).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to recognize that Ingber’s process yields at least 5% higher MALDI score as compared to a comparable method employing a lysis buffer that does not comprise the SDA based on the disclosure in the instant specification, because Ingber suggests: lysis buffers comprising nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA) at concentrations including 0.52% (v/v) (i.e. equivalent to 0.52% w/w) [0268]; identifying bacteria [0192]; S. epidermidis [0449]; and MALDI-TOF ([0190]). As such, Ingber renders the instantly claimed method obvious, so the properties would therefore necessarily follow.
Regarding claim 52, Ingber teaches a processing or capture buffer with a pH ranging from about 6 to about 10, which overlaps with the instantly claimed requirement for the lysis buffer to be acidic (i.e. pH <7). See [0268].
Regarding claim 55, Ingber does not teach saponin or polidocanol. Therefore, Ingber meets the instantly claimed limitation.
Claims 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber (US 2014/0227723), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kircher (US 2015/0125895).
Regarding claim 15, Ingber teaches identifying a microbe bound to a microbe-binding molecule or substrate based on a microbe signature determined by mass spectrometric analysis. See claim 238 of Ingber. Ingber discloses that substrates with captured microbial material can be directly subjected to MALDI-TOF analysis without separation of the captured microbial materials. See [0187].
Ingber does not teach depositing the at least one microorganism on a surface adapted to be placed in an apparatus configured to determine the identity of the at least one microorganism by mass spectrometry; treating the deposited sample with a volatile acid solution, wherein the volume percent of the volatile acid is at least 70% of the volatile acid solution combined with the deposited sample; and placing a matrix over the treated deposited sample.
Kircher teaches MALDI-TOF/MS (i.e. mass spectrometry) identification. Specifically, Kircher teaches suspending a bacterial pellet in deionized water. A portion of the suspension is spotted (e.g. deposited) onto a MALDI-TOF/MS target plate (e.g. a surface adapted to be placed in mass spec.) for bacterial identification and allowed to air dry. Formic acid (e.g. volatile acid) of a 70% aqueous solution is overlaid onto the dried spotted sample and allowed to air dry. The dried sample is overlaid with MALDI-TOF/MS matrix solution. See [0061].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Kircher’s mass spectrometry identification process to Ingber’s captured microbial materials (i.e. at least one isolated microorganism). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kircher suggests using MALDI-TOF/MS for the rapid identification of microbial cells from positive blood culture samples (see [0013]). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Ingber discloses that the captured microbial material can be directly subjected to MALDI-TOF (see [0187]).
Regarding claim 17, Kircher teaches overlaying a dried spotted sample [containing bacteria] with formic acid (e.g. volatile acid) in a 70% aqueous solution. See [0061].
Regarding claim 18, Kircher, in example 2, teaches spotting a portion of a bacterial pellet suspension onto a MALDI-TOF/MS target plate for bacterial identification and allowed to air dry. Formic acid is overlaid onto the dried spotted sample and allowed to air dry. The sample is overlaid with a MALDI-TOF/MS matrix solution, which is prepared with 47.5% acetonitrile (e.g. organic solvent), and allowed to air dry before identification by MALDI-TOF. See [0061].
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C) states that “selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”.
Regarding claim 19, Kircher teaches pre-treating a portion of each PBC (positive blood culture) sample with a choline chloride solution. After incubation with the choline chloride solution, 8 ml of each “lyse and wash” buffer is added to the sample. See [0060].
Regarding claim 20, Kircher teaches pre-treating a portion of each PBC sample with 0.5 ml of a 20% choline chloride solution. See [0060]. With respect to instant formula 2, choline chloride aligns with an embodiment in which R1, R2 and R3 are each separately methyl groups and X is a negative Cl.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber (US 2014/0227723), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Assche (Sci Rep 10, 3670 (Feb. 28, 2020))
Regarding claim 49, Ingber teaches adding preprocessing reagent to a sample for hemolyzing blood cells. See [0212]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants. See [0213]. Exemplary surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA). See [0223]. Ingber teaches that a surfactant can be dissolved in a buffer solution in any amount, e.g. ranging from about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v). See [0268].
Ingber does not teach determining the ratio of the blood cells lysed to the cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step.
Assche teaches combining selective blood cell lysis with gradient acoustic focusing (GAF) to separate bacteria from smaller lysis debris. See p. 9 para. 2. In figure 6(b), Assche teaches the central fraction (%) of Staphylococcus aureus (i.e. cells that are not lysed) compared to the debris (lysed blood cells). Also see supplementary table 10 for the specific percentages of S. aureus recovered in dilute lysate.
Ingber and Assche do not explicitly teach determining the ratio for the blood cells lysed to the cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step. However, Assche suggests comparing a blood cell lysis debris quantity to a quantity of non-lysed microorganisms.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Assche’s GAF determination technique to Ingber’s method. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Assche suggests that GAF can separate sepsis-causing bacteria from smaller objects (p. 6 para. 7). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Assche demonstrates quantifying cell lysis debris.
Ingber and Assche do not teach a ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step that is at least about 2:1.
The instant specification discloses that the final concentration of the SDA when combined with the sample is not limited so long as SDA is used at a concentration that will hemolyze at least a portion of the blood cells, while leaving at least a portion of the microorganism in the sample intact and/or viable. The final concentration of SDA when contacted with the sample can be about, at least or at most 0.001%, 5%, or a number between the values by volume. See [0043].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention that Ingber’s nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA) in necessarily results in a ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed that is at least about 2:1, based on the disclosure in the instant specification, because Ingber suggests that the surfactants including nonoxynol-9 can be dissolved in a buffer solution in any amount. Ingber also suggests that hemolysis is a result of adding a preprocessing reagent comprising a nonoxynol-9 surfactant to a sample. Ingber further suggests surfactant amounts of about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber (US 2014/0227723), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Talebpour (WO 2019/222862).
Regarding claim 50, Ingber teaches adding preprocessing reagent to a sample for hemolyzing blood cells. See [0212]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants. See [0213]. Exemplary surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA). See [0223]. Ingber teaches that a surfactant can be dissolved in a buffer solution in any amount, e.g. ranging from about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v). See [0268].
Ingber does not teach at least about 50%, at least about 60%, at least about 70%, at least about 80%, at least about 90%, at least about 95% or at least about 99% of the cells of the at least one microorganism are determined to remain intact and/or viable following the contact step
Talebpour teaches investigating microbial cell intactness via a proxy assay such as rRNA amplification. See p. 54 lines 18-19. Talebpour teaches employing rRNA amplification as a proxy for cell intactness following blood lysis and separation of microbial cells, with intactness quantified. See p. 54 lines 18-19.
The instant specification discloses that the final concentration of SDA when contacted with the sample can be about, at least or at most 0.001%, 5%, or a number between the values by volume. See [0043].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Talebpour’s microbial cell intactness determination to Ingber’s treated sample, and in the process necessarily arrive at, at least about 50% of the at least one microorganism remaining intact and/or viable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Talebpour suggests determining microbial cell intactness following blood lysis. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Ingber suggests surfactant amounts of about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v), which overlaps with the SDA concentrations that result in at least 50% of microbes remaining intact.
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modak (US 2004/0102429).
Regarding claim 56, Modak teaches mixing a formulation containing 8% nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA) with red blood cells. See [0072]. As shown in table 4, the lubricant base plus 8% nonoxynol-9 resulted in lysis. See [0073]. With respect to instant formula 1, nonoxynol-9 is an embodiment where x=9, which is an integer from 8 to 12 as instantly required, and where y=9, which is an integer from 6 to 11 as instantly required.
Modak does not teach SDA present in the composition at a concentration of 0.1 w/w to 1% w/w.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to adjust the concentration of Modak’s nonoxynol-9 (SDA). A person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Modak teaches 9% w/w of nonoxynol-9, which serves as a starting point from which one could reasonably optimize. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) indicates that differences in concentration or temperature generally amount to “routine optimization” and will not support patentability unless there is evidence indicating the claimed feature is critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 08/24/2026, have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the new grounds of rejection set forth above, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Ingber, in paragraph [0223], teaches nonoxynol-9 in a long laundry list of exemplary detergents. Applicant argues that there is no explicit teaching for choosing nonoxynol-9 from the large list of surfactants provided in Ingber. Applicant asserts that nonoxynol-9 was known in the prior art as having spermicidal and anti-microbial properties. Thus, as provided in the specification, the finding that the presently recited detergent encompassing nonoxynol-9 could be used for the presently recited method was surprising. Applicant cites the instant specification [0071]. See the remarks the paragraph spanning pgs. 10-11.
This argument is not persuasive because it is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Claim 1 does not require the Somatic Cell Digestion Agent to be nonoxynol-9. Furthermore, claim 1 recites the open-ended term “comprising” in line 1. Therefore, the instant method does not exclude additional unrecited elements including unrecited surfactants and/or detergents. In paragraph [0223], Ingber teaches exemplary surfactants and detergents including nonoxynol-9. Therefore, Ingber meets the claim limitation. Furthermore, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant asserts that the method described in Ingber does not render obvious the isolation of a microbe following the contacting of a sample with the presently recited composition. The instant specification, at paragraph [0013], teaches that isolating the at least one microorganism from the treated sample comprises separating the at least one microorganism from lysed blood cells. Following this step, the sample can be analyzed for identification of the microorganism. However, Ingber describes a method using microbe-binding molecules for the isolation of microbial cells from a sample. See the remarks the paragraph spanning pgs. 12-13. Applicant asserts that figure 17 of Ingber includes the optional step of preprocessing of the sample, processing the sample, microbe capture and microbe separation. Applicant asserts that the isolation of Ingber is performed by the microbe capture and separation steps. See the remarks the paragraph spanning pgs 13-14.
This argument is not persuasive because claim 1 encompasses any mode of isolating the at least one microorganism from the treated sample to generate at least one microorganism. Therefore, Applicant’s argument that Ingber teaches using microbe-binding molecules for the isolation of microbial cells from a sample is not persuasive. Furthermore, Applicant has not pointed to a claimed structural distinction between Ingber’s microbe capture and separation steps and the instantly required isolation step.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11, 13, 15, 17-20, 28, 41, 46, 49-50, 52, and 55-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No.11225681 in view of Ingber (US 2014/0227723), Kircher (US 2015/0125895, as previously relied upon), Assche (Sci Rep 10, 3670 (Feb. 28, 2020)), Talebpour (WO 2019/222862), and Modak (US 2004/0102429).
Patent claim 1 recites a method for isolating and concentrating viable microorganisms from a positive blood culture sample comprising: mixing a portion of a positive blood culture sample with a buffer for isolating and concentrating viable microorganisms from a positive blood culture sample, the buffer consisting of: a nutrient base solution consisting of casein peptone at a concentration in the buffer of about 8 g/L to about 35 g/L, sodium chloride at a concentration in the buffer of about 2 g/L to about 10 g/L, soy peptone at a concentration in the buffer of about 1.5 g/L to about 15 g/L, and potassium phosphate at a concentration in the buffer of about 0.5 g/L to about 5 g/L and optionally at least one other nutrient; at least one non-ionic detergent consisting of saponin at a concentration in the buffer of about 0.01 g/L to about 10 g/L and polyethylene glycol p-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)-phenyl ether [i.e. Triton™ X-100] at a concentration in the buffer of 0.335 g/L; optionally, ammonium chloride; and at least one thiol consisting of L-cysteine at a concentration in the buffer of about 0.01 g/L to about 2.5 g/L and sodium thioglycolate at a concentration in the buffer of about 0.01 g/L to about 2.5 g/L, wherein the relative amounts of the nutrient base solution, the at least one non-ionic detergent, and the at least one thiol in the buffer are selected to preserve the viability of S. pneumoniae, to produce a mixture, wherein the amount of the buffer relative to the positive blood culture sample is such that blood cells in the positive blood culture sample are lysed and the viability of the microorganisms in the positive blood culture sample is preserved; optionally, incubating the mixture; centrifuging the mixture to produce a pellet [e.g. isolating at least one microorganism] and a supernatant; discarding the supernatant while retaining the pellet; resuspending the pellet with the buffer to create a resuspended pellet; centrifuging the resuspended pellet to produce a second supernatant and a second pellet; and discarding the second supernatant while retaining the second pellet containing the viable microorganisms.
Patent claim 2 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the portion of the positive blood culture sample is mixed with an equal volume of buffer to produce the mixture.
Patent claim 3 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising resuspending the second pellet in a solution and performing at least one downstream testing of the resuspended second pellet selected from the group consisting of identification of the microorganisms by mass spectrometry, phenotypic identification, antimicrobial susceptibility testing, and molecular testing.
The patent claims lack: contacting a sample comprising blood cells and at least one microorganism with a lysis buffer comprising instant formula 1 where x is 8-12 and y is 6-11, and isolating the at least one microorganism from the treated sample to generate at least one isolated microorganism (relevant to instant claim 1), wherein y is 8-10 (relevant to instant claim 2), wherein SDA is nonoxynol-9 (relevant to instant claim 3); wherein the lysis buffer comprising one or more proteinases and/or one or more nucleases (relevant to instant claim 11); further comprising preparing a plated culture and/or an inoculum from the at least one isolated microorganism and analyzing the at least one isolated microorganism from the plated pure culture and/or inoculum (relevant to instant claim 13); further comprising depositing at least one isolated microorganism on a surface to be placed in a mass spectrometry apparatus; treating the deposited sample with formic acid, wherein the volume percent is about 70% to about 90%; and placing a matrix over the treated deposited sample (relevant to instant claims 15 and 17); wherein prior to treating the deposited sample with a volatile acid solution, treating the deposited sample with an organic solvent and drying the deposited sample (relevant to instant claim 18); further comprising contacting the sample with a choline containing solution (relevant to instant claims 19-20); further comprising identifying the at least one microorganism (relevant to instant claim 41); wherein the method further comprising performing MALDI analysis of the at least one isolated microorganism, wherein the method yields an at least 5% higher MALDI score (relevant to instant claim 46); wherein the lysis buffer is acidic (relevant to instant claim 52); and it excludes, e.g. saponin and/or polidocanol (relevant to instant claim 55).
However, Ingber teaches preprocessing reagents including surfactants and degradative enzymes, e.g. nucleases. See [0213]. Surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA) and Triton™ x100. See [0223]. Ingber teaches separating the microbe (i.e. isolating) and detecting the microbe. See [0207] (relevant to instant claims 1,2, 4 and 11). Ingber teaches plating microbeads with bound Candida on agar plates, incubating, and then counting Candida (i.e. an analysis). See [0758] (relevant to instant claim 13). Kircher mass spectrometry identification where a portion of a suspension is spotted onto a MALDI-TOF/MS target plate for bacterial identification and allowed to air dry and formic acid (e.g. volatile acid) in a 70% aqueous solution is overlaid onto the dried spotted sample and allowed to air dry. The dried sample is overlaid with MALDI-TOF/MS matrix solution which is prepared with 47.5% acetonitrile (e.g. organic solvent). See [0061] (relevant to instant claims 15, and 17-18). Kircher teaches pre-treating blood cultures with choline chloride. See [0060] (relevant to instant claim 19-20). Ingber teaches MALDI-TOF analysis. See [0190]. Ingber teaches Staphylococcus epidermidis. See [0449]. Ingber teaches preprocessing whole blood with a preprocessing reagent. See [0211]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants. See [0213]. Ingber teaches that a surfactant can be dissolved, e.g. ranging from about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v). See [0268] (relevant to instant claims 46). Ingber teaches a processing buffer with a pH ranging from about 6 to about 10. See [0268] (relevant to instant claim 52). Ingber does not teach saponin, or polidocanol (relevant to instant claim 55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the nonoxynol-9 of Ingber for the polyethylene glycol p-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)-phenyl ether [i.e. Triton™ X-100] recited in patent claim 1, and to further apply the mass spectrometry identification of Kircher in order to process a sample.
The patent claims lack determining the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step, wherein the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of at least one microorganism lysed following the contact step is at least about 2:1 (relevant to instant claim 49).
Assche teaches combining selective blood cell lysis with gradient acoustic focusing (GAF) to separate bacteria from smaller lysis debris. See p. 9 para. 2. In figure 6(b), Assche teaches the central fraction (%) of Staphylococcus aureus (i.e. cells that are not lysed) compared to the debris (lysed blood cells). Also see supplementary table 10 for the specific percentages of S. aureus recovered in dilute lysate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Assche’s ratio determination to the blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1.
The patent claims lack at least 50% cells of at least one microorganism are determined to remain intact and/or viable (relevant to instant claim 50);
Talebpour teaches investigating microbial cell intactness via a proxy assay such as rRNA amplification. See p. 54 lines 18-19.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Talebpour’s microbial intactness determination to the to the blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1.
The patent claims lack an SDA of formula 1 wherein x is 8-12 and y is 6-11 and wherein the SDA is present in the composition at a concentration of 0.1-1% w/w (relevant to instant claim 56).
However, Modak teaches mixing a formulation containing 8% nonoxynol-9 with red blood cells. See [0072] (relevant to instant claim 56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to combine the positive blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1 with the 8% nonoxynol-9 of Modak and to further adjust the w/w percentage.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11, 13, 15, 17-20, 28, 41, 46, 49-50, 52, and 55-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 8603769 in view of Ingber (US 2014/0227723), Kircher (US 2015/0125895, as previously relied upon), Assche (Sci Rep 10, 3670 (Feb. 28, 2020)), Talebpour (WO 2019/222862), and Modak (US 2004/0102429).
Patent claim 1 recites a method for isolating viable microorganism from a positive blood culture sample determined to contain at least one microorganism therein, comprising: obtaining a positive blood culture sample determined to contain at least one viable microorganism; incubating [e.g. contacting] the sample with a choline-containing solution and a lysis buffer, wherein the lysis buffer lyses blood cells in the sample; isolating the at least one viable microorganism [e.g. lysed blood cells and viable microorganisms are relevant to instant claims 49 and 50] from the remainder of the sample; optionally, preparing a plated pure culture or an inoculum from the isolated viable microorganism; and analyzing the isolated viable microorganism or optional plated pure culture or inoculum.
Patent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the choline-containing solution comprises at least one quarternary ammonium salt containing a N,N,N-trimethylethanolammonium cation selected from the group consisting of the general formula:
wherein R1, R2, and R3 independently represent one selected from the group consisting of a saturated hydrocarbon group, an unsaturated hydrocarbon group, an aromatic group, and combinations thereof; and X represents a negative charged group.
Patent claim 14 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the lysis buffer comprises at least one detergent selected from the group consisting of octyl-B-D-glucopyranoside, n-nonyl β-D-glucoside, octanoyl-N-methylglucamide, nonanoyl-N-methylglucamide, decanoyl-N-methylglucamide, n-dodecyl-β-D-maltoside, n-octyl-rac-2,3-dioxypropylsulfoxide, Triton X-100, saponin, and combinations thereof.
The patent claims lack: contacting a sample comprising blood cells and at least one microorganism with a lysis buffer comprising instant formula 1 where x is 8-12 and y is 6-11, and isolating the at least one microorganism from the treated sample to generate at least one isolated microorganism (relevant to instant claim 1), wherein y is 8-10 (relevant to instant claim 2), wherein SDA is nonoxynol-9 (relevant to instant claim 3); wherein the lysis buffer comprising one or more proteinases and/or one or more nucleases (relevant to instant claim 11); further comprising preparing a plated culture and/or an inoculum from the at least one isolated microorganism and analyzing the at least one isolated microorganism from the plated pure culture and/or inoculum (relevant to instant claim 13); further comprising depositing at least one isolated microorganism on a surface to be placed in a mass spectrometry apparatus; treating the deposited sample with formic acid, wherein the volume percent is about 70% to about 90%; and placing a matrix over the treated deposited sample (relevant to instant claims 15 and 17); wherein prior to treating the deposited sample with a volatile acid solution, treating the deposited sample with an organic solvent and drying the deposited sample (relevant to instant claim 18); further comprising identifying the at least one microorganism (relevant to instant claim 41); wherein the method yields an at least 5% higher MALDI score (relevant to instant claim 46); wherein the lysis buffer is acidic (relevant to instant claim 52); and it excludes, e.g. saponin and/or polidocanol (relevant to instant claim 55).
However, Ingber teaches preprocessing reagents including surfactants and degradative enzymes, e.g. nucleases. See [0213]. Surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA) and Triton™ x100. See [0223]. Ingber teaches separating the microbe (i.e. isolating) and detecting the microbe. See [0207] (relevant to instant claims 1,2, 4 and 11). Ingber teaches separating the microbe (i.e. isolating) and detecting the microbe. See [0207] (relevant to instant claim 12). Ingber teaches plating microbeads with bound Candida on agar plates, incubating, and then counting Candida (i.e. an analysis). See [0758] (relevant to instant claim 13). Kircher mass spectrometry identification where a portion of a suspension is spotted onto a MALDI-TOF/MS target plate for bacterial identification and allowed to air dry and formic acid (e.g. volatile acid) in a 70% aqueous solution is overlaid onto the dried spotted sample and allowed to air dry. The dried sample is overlaid with MALDI-TOF/MS matrix solution which is prepared with 47.5% acetonitrile (e.g. organic solvent). See [0061] (relevant to instant claims 15, and 17-18). Ingber teaches MALDI-TOF analysis. See [0190]. Ingber teaches Staphylococcus epidermidis. See [0449]. Ingber teaches preprocessing whole blood with a preprocessing reagent. See [0211]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants. See [0213]. Ingber teaches that a surfactant can be dissolved, e.g. ranging from about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v). See [0268] (relevant to instant claims 46). Ingber teaches a processing buffer with a pH ranging from about 6 to about 10. See [0268] (relevant to instant claim 52). Ingber does not teach saponin, or polidocanol (relevant to instant claim 55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the nonoxynol-9 of Ingber for Triton X-100 recited in patent claim 14, and to further apply the mass spectrometry identification of Kircher in order to process a sample.
The patent claims lack determining the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step, wherein the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of at least one microorganism lysed following the contact step is at least about 2:1 (relevant to instant claim 49).
Assche teaches combining selective blood cell lysis with gradient acoustic focusing (GAF) to separate bacteria from smaller lysis debris. See p. 9 para. 2. In figure 6(b), Assche teaches the central fraction (%) of Staphylococcus aureus (i.e. cells that are not lysed) compared to the debris (lysed blood cells). Also see supplementary table 10 for the specific percentages of S. aureus recovered in dilute lysate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Assche’s ratio determination to the blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1.
The patent claims lack at least 50% cells of at least one microorganism are determined to remain intact and/or viable (relevant to instant claim 50);
Talebpour teaches investigating microbial cell intactness via a proxy assay such as rRNA amplification. See p. 54 lines 18-19.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Talebpour’s microbial intactness determination to the to the blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1.
The patent claims lack an SDA of formula 1 wherein x is 8-12 and y is 6-11 and wherein the SDA is present in the composition at a concentration of 0.1-1% w/w (relevant to instant claim 56).
However, Modak teaches mixing a formulation containing 8% nonoxynol-9 with red blood cells. See [0072] (relevant to instant claim 56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to combine the positive blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1 with the 8% nonoxynol-9 of Modak, and to further adjust the w/w%.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11, 13, 15, 17-20, 28, 41, 46, 49-50, 52, and 55-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9631221 in view of Ingber (US 2014/0227723), Kircher (US 2015/0125895, as previously relied upon), Assche (Sci Rep 10, 3670 (Feb. 28, 2020)), Talebpour (WO 2019/222862), and Modak (US 2004/0102429)
Patent claim 1 recites a method for characterizing at least one microorganism in a sample for identification of microorganisms therein, the method comprising:
(a) obtaining a sample containing at least one microorganism, wherein the sample is in a suspension;
(b) depositing at least a portion of the obtained sample on a solid surface adapted to be placed in an apparatus configured to determine the identity of microorganisms by mass spectrometry;
(c) drying the deposited sample;
(d) treating the deposited and dried sample with a volatile acid solution, wherein the volume percent of the volatile acid is at least 70% of the volatile acid solution combined with the sample, and the volatile acid solution is a volatile acid in water or a volatile solution in an organic solvent;
(e) drying the treated sample;
(f) placing a matrix over the treated and dried sample; and
(g) identifying the microorganisms by a mass spectrometry.
Patent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the volatile acid solution is formic acid in water at a volume percent of about 80% when combined with the sample.
Patent claim 5 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the volatile acid solution is formic acid in water at a volume percent of about 90% when combined with the sample.
Patent claim 6 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent is selected from the group consisting of ethanol, methanol, isopropanol, acetonitrile, acetone, and ethyl acetate.
Patent claim 7 recites the method of claim 1, further comprising using a non-ionic detergent, wherein the detergent can be used during the steps selected from the group consisting of obtaining the sample, treating the sample with the volatile acid solution, and combinations thereof.
Patent claim 12 recites a method for preparing a positive blood culture sample for identification of microorganisms therein, the method comprising:
(a) obtaining a positive blood culture sample determined to contain at least one microorganism;
(b) adding a lysis buffer to the obtained sample, wherein the lysis buffer is selected to lyse the blood cells in the sample while the microorganism remains intact;
(c) concentrating the microorganisms in the sample containing lysis buffer, wherein the concentrated sample is a suspension;
(d) separating the concentrated portion of the sample in the suspension from the remainder;
(e) depositing at least a portion of the separated microbial sample in the suspension on a surface adapted to be placed in an apparatus configured to determine the identify of a microorganism by mass spectrometry;
(f) drying the deposited sample;
(g) treating the deposited and dried sample with a volatile acid solution, wherein the volume percent of the volatile acid is at least 70% of the volatile acid solution combined with the sample, and the volatile acid solution is a volatile acid in an organic solvent;
(h) drying the treated sample;
(i) placing a matrix over the treated and dried sample; and
(j) drying the sample.
The patent claims do not recite: contacting a sample comprising blood cells and at least one microorganism with a lysis buffer comprising instant formula 1 where x is 8-12 and y is 6-11, and isolating the at least one microorganism from the treated sample to generate at least one isolated microorganism (relevant to instant claim 1), wherein y is 8-10 (relevant to instant claim 2), wherein SDA is nonoxynol-9 (relevant to instant claim 3); wherein the lysis buffer comprising one or more proteinases and/or one or more nucleases (relevant to instant claim 11); further comprising preparing a plated culture and/or an inoculum from the at least one isolated microorganism and analyzing the at least one isolated microorganism from the plated pure culture and/or inoculum (relevant to instant claim 13); further comprising contacting the sample with a choline containing solution (relevant to instant claims 19-20); further comprising identifying the at least one microorganism (relevant to instant claim 41); wherein the method yields an at least 5% higher MALDI score (relevant to instant claim 46); wherein the lysis buffer is acidic (relevant to instant claim 52); and it excludes, e.g. saponin and/or polidocanol (relevant to instant claim 55).
However, Ingber teaches preprocessing reagents including surfactants and degradative enzymes, e.g. nucleases. See [0213]. Surfactants include nonoxynol-9 (i.e. SDA) and Triton™ x100. See [0223]. Ingber teaches separating the microbe (i.e. isolating) and detecting the microbe. See [0207] (relevant to instant claims 1,2, 4 and 11). Ingber teaches plating microbeads with bound Candida on agar plates, incubating, and then counting Candida (i.e. an analysis). See [0758] (relevant to instant claim 13). Kircher teaches pre-treating blood cultures with choline chloride. See [0060] (relevant to instant claim 19-20). Ingber teaches MALDI-TOF analysis. See [0190]. Ingber teaches Staphylococcus epidermidis. See [0449]. Ingber teaches preprocessing whole blood with a preprocessing reagent. See [0211]. The preprocessing reagents include surfactants. See [0213]. Ingber teaches that a surfactant can be dissolved, e.g. ranging from about 0.001% (v/v) to about 5% (v/v). See [0268] (relevant to instant claims 46, and 49-50). Ingber teaches a processing buffer with a pH ranging from about 6 to about 10. See [0268] (relevant to instant claim 52). Ingber does not teach saponin, or polidocanol (relevant to instant claim 55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply method recited in patent claim 1 to test sample preprocessed with nonoxynol-9 comprising at least one microbe of Ingber, and to further adjust the concentration based on Kircher’s suggestion that doing so may affect the MALDI score in order to process a sample.
The patent claims do not recite determining the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of the at least one microorganism lysed following the contacting step, wherein the ratio of blood cells lysed to cells of at least one microorganism lysed following the contact step is at least about 2:1 (relevant to instant claim 49).
Assche teaches combining selective blood cell lysis with gradient acoustic focusing (GAF) to separate bacteria from smaller lysis debris. See p. 9 para. 2. In figure 6(b), Assche teaches the central fraction (%) of Staphylococcus aureus (i.e. cells that are not lysed) compared to the debris (lysed blood cells). Also see supplementary table 10 for the specific percentages of S. aureus recovered in dilute lysate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Assche’s ratio determination to the blood culture sample recited in patent claim 12.
The patent claims do not recite at least 50% cells of at least one microorganism are determined to remain intact and/or viable (relevant to instant claim 50);
Talebpour teaches investigating microbial cell intactness via a proxy assay such as rRNA amplification. See p. 54 lines 18-19.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to apply Talebpour’s microbial intactness determination to the to the blood culture sample recited in patent claim 12.
The patent claims do not recite an SDA of formula 1 wherein x is 8-12 and y is 6-11 and wherein the SDA is present in the composition at a concentration of 0.1-1% w/w (relevant to instant claim 56).
However, Modak teaches mixing a formulation containing 8% nonoxynol-9 with red blood cells. See [0072] (relevant to instant claim 56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to combine the positive blood culture sample recited in patent claim 1 with the 8% nonoxynol-9 of Modak and to further adjust the w/w%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting Rejections have been fully considered but they do not apply to the new grounds for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/K.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1657