DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2023 and 05/10/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (2018/0095193, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method of manufacturing an optical element (at least Figures 7, 8A, and 8B), the method comprising: providing a substrate (302) (Figure 8A, 850, transparent substrate); providing a tool (315,335) (860, mold) comprising, on a first side (862, side), a section defining a surface structure of the optical element (864, lens-shaped recesses); aligning the tool and the substrate with respect to each other and bringing the tool and a first side of the substrate together (810, diagram), with material between the tool and the substrate (640, light-curable lens resin); positioning a transparent masking structure (318) adjacent to the substrate onto which the material has adhered (topmost layer of 850, transparent substrate, which includes apertures and 856, opaque coating; the apertures between 856, opaque coating, may be considered transparent), the masking structure comprising a masking layer (313) (856, opaque coating); emitting light (314) through the masking structure to be incident on a portion (304) of the material to cure said potion of the material (Figure 8B, 670, light), wherein the masking layer prevents light from being incident on a remaining portion (306) of the material such that the remaining portion of the material is uncured (814, diagram; [0057] teaches a remaining uncured lens resin over the opaque coating); and removing the uncured remaining portion of the material ([0057] teaches dissolving the uncured lens resin).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the masking structure is positioned below the substrate (802, diagram) such that the light is incident on a second side of the substrate, opposite the first side, before being incident on the portion (304) of the material (812, diagram, depicts 670, light, is incident on 858, side, of 850, transparent substrate, which is opposite to the surface of 850, transparent substrate, that contacts 860, mold).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said removing comprises washing the uncured remaining portion of the material away with a solvent ([0057] teaches dissolving the uncured lens resin with an appropriate solvent).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said removing comprises extracting the uncured remaining portion of the material via one or more channels (402, 404, 406) (at least [0057] teaches the uncured lens resin is considered to be lens resin deposited in or forced into 868, overflow recesses, which is then dissolved with an appropriate solvent).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the tool comprises said one or more channels (402,404) (8868, overflow recesses).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the masking layer is made of metal ([0024] teaches 126, opaque coating, is made of chromium or another metal).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the light is collimated light ([0044] teaches setting a specific distance between the mold and transparent substrate in order to maintain perfect collimation of 670, light).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the light is ultraviolet light ([0040] teaches 640, light-curable lens resin is a UV light curable resin, thus it is interpreted that 670, light is UV light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2018/0095193, of record) in view of Louh (2010/0014165).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the tool is made of a transparent material, and the masking structure is positioned above the tool such that the light passes through the tool before being incident on the portion (304) of the material. Wang and Louh are related because both teach a method of manufacturing an optical element.
Louh teaches a method wherein the tool is made of a transparent material, and the masking structure is positioned above the tool such that the light passes through the tool before being incident on the portion (304) of the material (Figure 6, [0020] teaches 20, pressing mold, passes UV light in order to solidify 18, molding material; Figure 5 depicts 60, light blocking film, positioned above 20, pressing mold).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Louh and provide wherein the tool is made of a transparent material, and the masking structure is positioned above the tool such that the light passes through the tool before being incident on the portion (304) of the material. Doing so would allow for the manufacturing of durable small lenses that are not prone to bending or cracking.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2018/0095193, of record) in view of Yamada et al. (2003/0021042).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the tool comprises a first portion (320) made of a first material (870, opaque polymer mold) and a second portion (330) made of a second material (872, rigid backer).
Wang fails to teach the said one or more channels (402) extend through both the first portion and the second portion. Wang and Yamada are related because both teach a method of manufacturing an optical element.
Yamada teaches a method wherein one or more channels (402) extend through both the first portion and the second portion (Figure 2A, 192, passage).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Yamada and provide said one or more channels (402) extend through both the first portion and the second portion. Doing so would allow for the lens material to efficiently and effectively fill into the manufacturing device prior to curing.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the tool comprises a first portion (320) made of a first material (870, opaque polymer mold) and a second portion (330) made of a second material (872, rigid backer).
Wang fails to teach the said one or more channels (404) extend through the second portion and along an interface between the first portion and the second portion of the tool. Wang and Yamada are related because both teach a method of manufacturing an optical element.
Yamada teaches a method wherein the said one or more channels (404) extend through the second portion and along an interface between the first portion and the second portion of the tool (Figure 2A, 192, passage).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Yamada and provide said one or more channels (404) extend through the second portion and along an interface between the first portion and the second portion of the tool. Doing so would allow for the lens material to efficiently and effectively fill into the manufacturing device prior to curing.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2018/0095193, of record) in view of Kintz et al. (8,189,277).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the method of claim 5, but fails to teach wherein the substrate comprises said one or more channels (406). Wnag and Kintz are related because both teach a method of manufacturing an optical element.
Kintz teaches a method wherein the substrate comprises said one or more channels (406) (at least Figure 4G, 404''', wells, are provided on 402''', substrate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kintz and provide wherein the substrate comprises said one or more channels (406). Doing so would allow for the lens material to efficiently and effectively fill into the manufacturing device prior to curing.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (2018/0095193, of record) in view of Arai (2013/0062800).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the transparent masking structure is made of glass. Wang and Arai are related because both teach a method of manufacturing an optical element.
Arai teaches a method wherein the transparent masking structure is made of glass ([0110] teaches masking 3, glass substrate, thus teaching a glass substrate for the masking structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Arai and provide wherein the transparent masking structure is made of glass. Doing so would allow for improved removal of the masking structure to produce the final optical product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yabuki (8,728,712) teaches a relevant method for manufacturing and optical element.
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872