DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the electrical contact of the arc" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "an injector for injecting the gas in the axial direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsantrizos et al (U.S., 5,147,998) in view of Knowles et al (U.S. 5,560,779).
Regarding claim 1, Tsantrizos et al disclose a plasma reactor (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a stainless steel housing having two sections (i.e., at least one reaction chamber made of stainless steel …, Figure 1, col. 2, line 62-64);
(2) a plasma torch including
(i) gas injection holes/nozzles 64 surrounded by a vortex generating ring 62 (i.e., an injector …, an injection jacket …, Figure 1, col. 3, line 60 – col. 4, line 5);
(ii) a flange 36 for coupling other components of the plasma torch (i.e., a coupling flange, Figure 1, col. 3, line 12 -14);
(iii) a cathode 12 supported by a cathode holder 34, wherein an annular member 32 surrounding the cathode 12 is provided with a channel for cooling the same (i.e., a cathode, a cathode support, a cathode cooling surface, a cathode jacket, Figure 1, col. 2, line 61, & col. 3, line 9-36);
(iv) an anode 10 (i.e., an anode, Figure 1, col. 2 lien 60);
(v) an insulating member 38 (i.e., an insulator, Figure 1, col. 3, line 15) and
(vi) an annular insulating member 40 surrounding the anode 10 and the cathode 12 (i.e., an outer jacket, Figure 1, col. 3, line 17-20).
Tsantrizos teaches that arc is generated along the cathode/anode which may be made of thoriated tungsten (col. 3 line 44-50 & col. 4, line 10-14), but does not specifically teach the cathode being made of tungsten with 2% thoria. However, Knowles et al disclose a plasma reactor (ABSTRACT). Knowles teaches plasma arc is generated from a cathode 16 and an anode 20 in the plasma reactor, wherein the cathode may be made of 2% thoriated tungsten for high temperature operation (Figure 1, col. 3, line 1-3 & col. 4, line 8-14). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a cathode made of 2% thoriated tungsten as suggested by Knowles in order to operate the cathode in high temperature within the device of Tsantrizos.
Regarding claim 3, Tsantrizos teaches that the arc is generated along the electrodes (col. 4, line 10-15). Knowles teaches that arc is generated between the anode and the cathode (col. 3, line 1-3).
Moreover, the cited limitation is a result of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 4, Tsantrizos teaches that the section 14 of the housing is downstream of the cathode (Figure 1). Knowles teaches that a containment structure 120 is downstream of the cathode in the plasma reactor 120 (Figure 9, col. 6.line 30-35).
Regarding claim 5, Tsantrizos teaches that the gas is delivered to the vortex generating ring through tangential holes 64 along the axial direction (Figure 1, col. 3,line 60 – col. 4, line 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Tsantrizos teaches that an inert gas, such as argon or helium, may be used (col. 1 line 43). Knowles teaches that an inert gas may be uses, such as argon (col. 3,line 5-6).
Moreover, the cited limitations are material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 8, Tsantrizos teaches that the current and voltage may be varied with the configuration of the plasma reactor and other operating parameters (col. 1, line 28 – 45).
Moreover, the cited limitations are process-limiting parameters, which are related to manners of operating the device. It has been held that a manner of operating a device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsantrizos et al (U.S., 5,147,998) in view of Knowles et al (U.S. 5,560,779) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lashmore et al (PG-PUB US 2013/0039838, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 2, Tsantrizos/Knowles does not teach a catalyst in the plasma reactor. However, Lashmore et al disclose a plasma reactor (ABSTRACT). Lashmore teaches that the plasma reactor comprises a cathode 154 and an anode 152 to initiate electric arc in the plasma reactor, wherein catalyst is provided within the plasma reactor for producing carbon nanostructure in the presence of the catalyst (Figure 1D, paragraphs [0011], [0064], & [0067]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a catalyst in the chamber as suggested by the Lashmore in order to produce carbon nanostructure within the device of Tsantrizos/Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795