DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2023, 05/02/2025 and 08/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15, 17 and 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayasagar et al. (US 2020/0048035 A1) in view of Hiltunen et al. (US 2018/0016116 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Dayasagar discloses an elevator system (e.g. Fig. 2A: 201) including an elevator car (e.g. Fig. 2A: 203) controlled by an elevator controller (e.g. Fig. 2A: 215 & [0047]) for movement between floors of a building, the elevator system comprising:
an elevator operating device (e.g. Fig. 2A: 250b) communicatively connected to the elevator controller and being arranged on one of the floors (e.g. [0047]: on each floor), the elevator operating device having a first radio device (e.g. Fig. 4: 449 & [0047]: communication module), an audio device (e.g. Fig. 2B & [0047, 0059]: speaker 254) and a touch-sensitive screen (e.g. Fig. 2B & [0047, 0059]: touch screen 252), the touch-sensitive screen adapted for inputting a destination floor desired by a passenger and for outputting travel information (e.g. [0059]: enable user to enter desired destination and receive acknowledgement from elevator controller);
an activation device (e.g. Fig. 2A-4: another 250b, 350, user device 231, 331) having an actuation device (e.g. Fig. 2B & [0047, 0059]: touch screen 252; 258; 259) accessible to the passenger and a second radio device (e.g. Fig. 4: 449 & [0047]: communication module) adapted for radio communication with the first radio device (e.g. Figs. 2A-4 & [0049]: devices 231, 331, 250, 350 may communicate with each other when proximate with one another),
Dayasagar fails to disclose, but Hiltunen teaches an activation device (e.g. Fig. 1: 34) having a second radio device adapted for radio communication with the first radio device (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0028]: ID device 40 send floor destination request to transmitter device 34 when in close proximity), the activation device being arranged within radio range of the elevator operating device (e.g. [0028]), wherein the second radio device is configured to transmit an activation radio signal when the actuation device is actuated by the passenger (e.g. sending request when in close proximity); and
wherein the elevator operating device switches from a normal operating mode to a special operating mode when the activation radio signal is received by the first radio device, generates in the special operating mode an operating instruction for a call input by the passenger (e.g. [0028]: generate special request), and switches into the normal operating mode when the call input is complete (inherently disclosed: the special request is complete when elevator arrived to pickup the user).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Dayasagar with the teachings of Hiltunen to facilitate communication of a special request transmitted from a user device to an operating device of an elevator so as to assist a disabled user to call an elevator.
Regarding claim 24, Dayasagar and Hiltunen in combination discloses a method for operating the elevator system according to Claim 14, wherein the elevator operating device communicatively connected to the elevator controller is arranged on the one floor (e.g. Dayasagar: [0047]; Hiltunen: [0026]—provided on each floor), the activation device is arranged on the one floor within radio range of the elevator operating device (e.g. Hiltunen: Fig. 1 & [0028]: ID device 40 send floor destination request to transmitter device 34 when in close proximity), and the elevator operating device is adapted to switch between the normal operating mode and the special operating mode (e.g. Hiltunen: [0028]: generate special request), the method comprising the steps of:
receiving via the elevator operating device an activation signal initiated by a passenger at the activation device (e.g. Hiltunen: Fig. 1 & [0028]: ID device 40 send floor destination request to transmitter device 34 when in close proximity, and allocation controll 20 receives the request and send the request to elevator operating device 22); activating the special operating mode of the elevator operating device after reception of the activation signal, wherein the elevator operating device switches from the normal operating mode to the special operating mode (e.g. Hiltunen: [0028]: special transportation request); executing by the elevator operating device a routine for an operating instruction, whereby during a call input at the elevator operating device the elevator operating device assists the passenger who has initiated the activation signal (e.g. Hiltunen: [0028]: special transportation request based on request form device 40); after completion of the call input by the passenger, transmitting by the elevator operating device to the elevator controller a destination call corresponding to the call input (e.g. Hiltunen: [0028]: special transportation request); communicating travel information via the elevator operating device, wherein the travel information indicates an elevator car determined by the elevator controller and allocated to the destination call (e.g. Hiltunen: [0028]: display information on display 24 of DOP 22); and deactivating the special operating mode of the elevator operating device once the communication of the travel information has finished, wherein the elevator operating device then switches from the special operating mode to the normal operating mode (inherently disclosed: the special request is complete when elevator arrived to pickup the user).
Regarding claim 15, Dayasagar discloses the elevator operating device confirms the call input to the passenger through the audio device and/or the touch-sensitive screen (e.g. [0059]: acknowledgement).
Regarding claim 17, Dayasagar discloses the elevator operating device has a housing and the activation device has a housing (e.g. Figs. 2A-4), the housing of the activation device being arranged adjacent to the housing of the elevator operating device (e.g. Figs. 2A-4 & [0049]: devices 231, 331, 250, 350 may communicate with each other when proximate with one another, i.e. implies devices may be adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 19, Dayasagar discloses the activation device has an identification device that identifies the activation device as intended for use by a passenger with a physical limitation (e.g. Fig. 2B: 258, 259).
Regarding claims 20 and 26, Dayasagar discloses the activation device includes an acoustic signal generator that generates an audible position signal (e.g. [0064]: audible announcement).
Regarding claim 21, Dayasagar discloses the touch-sensitive screen that displays input fields assigned to destination floors, detects a touch in one of the input fields, and displays travel information determined for a destination call corresponding to the detected touch (e.g. [0059]: accept destination and output acknowledgement on the display).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Dayasagar discloses the second radio device transmits the activation radio signal in accordance with a Bluetooth technology, and wherein the first radio device receives the activation radio signal in accordance with the Bluetooth technology (e.g. [0049]).
Regarding claim 23, Dayasagar discloses the elevator controller determines in the special operating mode travel information for the call input (e.g. [0064]: when assistance button 258 or 259 is manipulated) and communicates the determined travel information to the passenger by the elevator operating device (e.g. [0064-0065]: provide assists to enter desired floor destination).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayasagar et al. (US 2020/0048035 A1) in view of Hiltunen et al. (US 2018/0016116 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Simcik et al. (US 2017/0129739 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Dayasagar fails to disclose, but Simcik teaches the operating instruction is a voice instruction communicated through the audio device (e.g. [0024]: voice command).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Dayasagar with the teachings of Simcik to utilize voice command to call an elevator. The modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art since it is merely simple substitutions of one known method of calling an elevator with another.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayasagar et al. (US 2020/0048035 A1) in view of Hiltunen et al. (US 2018/0016116 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Eccleston (US 2004/0000453 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Dayasagar fails to disclose, but Eccleston teaches the elevator operating device (e.g. Fig. 1: 20) has a housing (e.g. Fig. 1: 10) and the activation device (e.g. Fig. 1: 100) has a housing (e.g. Fig. 1: 10), the housing of the activation device being arranged on the housing of the elevator operating device (e.g. Fig. 1: 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Dayasagar with the teachings of Eccleston to include a second elevator operating device designated for handicapped user on the same housing of the original elevator operating device so as to assist handicapped user to call an elevator.
Conclusion
/KAWING CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846