DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 14, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KALLIANOS et al. (US 4,998,542).
Kallianos teaches a material comprising a combustion retarding salt (col. 4 lines 18-19, 66-68) and an amorphous solid material (col. 3 lines 32-49), wherein the material comprises from about 16 to 18% of the combustion retarding salt (col. 4 lines 22-24), which falls into the claimed range of about 15 wt% to about 90 wt%, and wherein the combustion retarding salt is an alkali metal salt, a halide salt, or an alkali metal halide salt (col. 4 lines 14-19).
Regarding claim 2, Kallianos teaches the combustion retarding salt is selected from the group consisting of sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and combinations thereof (col. 4 lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 3, Kallianos teaches the combustion retarding salt is incorporated in the amorphous solid material (col. 4 lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 4, Kallianos teaches the combustion retarding salt is applied to the amorphous solid material (col. 4 lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 5, Kallianos teaches the material comprises from about 16 to 18% of the combustion retarding salt (col. 4 lines 22-24) which falls into the claimed range of from about 15wt% to about 60 wt%.
Regarding claim 6, Kallianos teaches a consumable comprising the material (col. 4 lines 54-55).
Regarding claim 7, Kallianos teaches the consumable further comprises an aerosol-generating material (30).
Regarding claim 8, Kallianos teaches the material at least partially surrounds the aerosol-generating material (col. 4 lines 54-57).
Regarding claim 9, Kallianos teaches the consumable further comprises a wrapper (102).
Regarding claim 11, Kallianos teaches the aerosol- generating material comprises tobacco material (col. 5 line 58).
Regarding claim 14, figure 1 shows the consumable is rod shaped.
Regarding claim 17, Kallianos teaches a method for manufacturing the material the combustion retarding salt is incorporated into or added to the amorphous solid material (col. 3 line 43- col. 4 line 37).
Regarding claim 18, Kallianos teaches a solution comprising the combustion retarding salt is applied to the amorphous solid material (col. 6 lines 22-24).
Regarding claim 19, Kallianos teaches the combustion retarding salt is added during the manufacture of the amorphous solid material (col. 3 line 43- col. 4 line 37).
Regarding claim 20, Kallianos teaches a method of using of the material; the method comprising incorporating or applying a combustion retarding salt to an amorphous solid material (col. 3 line 43- col. 4 line 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KALLIANOS et al. (US 4,998,542) in view of AOUN et al. (CA 3107661).
Kallianos teaches a material comprising a combustion retarding salt (col. 4 lines 18-19, 66-68) and an amorphous solid material (col. 3 lines 32-49), wherein the material comprises from about 16 to 18% of the combustion retarding salt (col. 4 lines 22-24), which falls into the claimed range of about 15 wt% to about 90 wt%, and wherein the combustion retarding salt is an alkali metal salt, a halide salt, or an alkali metal halide salt (col. 4 lines 14-19).
Aoun teaches a material comprising calcium chloride (page 32 lines 19-20) and an amorphous solid material (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Aoun teaches that the material may be in the form of a sheet which is shredded and distributed within the aerosol-generating material (page 14 lines 21-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to shred and incorporate the material of Kallianos into the aerosol-generating material because Kallianos teaches that the material has the advantage of producing a cigarette which will cease burning if not actively smoked (col. 4 lines 66-68).
Regarding claim 12, Aoun teaches the tobacco material is cut rag tobacco (page 14 line 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use cut rag tobacco in the material of Kallianos because Kallianos does not specify the type of tobacco used in the consumable.
Regarding claim 13, Aoun teaches the consumable comprises a binder (gelling agent, abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a binder in the material of Kallianos to stabilize the film of Kallianos
Regarding claim 16, figure 5 of Aoun shows a non-combustible aerosol provision system comprising a consumable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the cigarette of Kallianos could be used in the non-combustible aerosol provision system of Aoun because figures 1-2 of Aoun show a typical cigarette used in the non-combustible aerosol provision system which is similar to the smoking article of Kallianos.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach or suggest the material is provided exclusively or in greater concentration at a location proximal to the distal end of the rod.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) January 20, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the amendments filed January 20, 2026 have overcome the previous double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741