DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 2/21/2023. As directed by the Preliminary amendment, no claims were amended. Thus, claims 1-29 are currently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 1-5 should be labeled with the abbreviation “FIG.” (see MPEP 608.02(V)(u)(1)).
Figs. 2-5 contain improper shading (see MPEP 608.02(V)(m)).
Figs. 3-5 contain unlabeled text boxes 10, 12, 14, 31, 32, 33, 36, 38, 39, 40 which should be provided with a descriptive text label (e.g. box 38 could have the label --vacuum pump--) (see MPEP 608.02(d)(a)).
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification lacks section headings. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the coating” in line 4, and is suggested to read --the anti-pathogenic coating-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 1 recites “the substrate” in line 4, and is suggested to read --the porous substrate-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 2 recites “the coating” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the anti-pathogenic coating-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Claim 3 recites “the coating” in line 1, and is suggested to read --the anti-pathogenic coating-- in order to more clearly reference how the limitation was originally claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-29 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only, and cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 4-29 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the concentration" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Foss et al. (US 2003/0170453 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Foss in view of Brizuela (US 2021/0368890 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Foss discloses a removable filter (air filter, which can be provided for a dust mask; as the air filter was provided to the dust mask, it could also be removed) (para. [0264]; para. [0398]) comprising: a porous substrate (filter made of fibers through which air passes, and so which must be porous) (para. [0264]); and an anti-pathogenic coating provided on at least part of the porous substrate wherein the concentration of the coating varies across the substrate to provide a coating pattern (anti-microbial synthetic additives/agents are provided to the fibers; the concentration of anti-microbial agents can vary as a gradient on each individual fiber and/or regionally across the material, thereby forming patterns of anti-microbial agent in the filter material) (para. [0264]).
Alternatively, if Foss is not considered to disclose the filter is removable, Brizuela teaches an antimicrobial and antiviral face mask (Brizuela; abstract) wherein the filter is removable (HEPA filter pocket 150 for a replaceable filter, and so the filter is removable from the pocket) (Brizuela; Fig. 8; para. [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Foss filter to be removable, as taught by Brizuela, for the purpose of enabling the replacement of the filter (Brizuela; Fig. 8; para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Foss teaches wherein the coating is an antibacterial coating (anti-microbial agents can be antibacterial) (Foss; para. [0264]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss in view of Brizuela as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lau (US 2019/0217132 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Foss teaches the invention as previously claimed, but does not teach wherein the coating is an anti-viral coating.
However, Lau teaches a portable respirator (Lau; abstract) wherein the coating is an anti-viral coating (fan-shaped filter 21 is coated with activated carbon impregnated with an antivirus agent) (Lau; para. [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Foss coating to include an anti-viral coating, as taught by Lau, for the purpose of additionally providing protection from viruses (Lau; para. [0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0321695 A1 by Cendales Miguez is considered to be relevant as it discloses an antimicrobial mask with different printed coatings on either side of the mask.
US 2012/0082711 A1 by Goranov is considered to be relevant as it discloses a filter wherein the fibers can be made with varying amounts of antimicrobial agents.
US 2021/0400979 A1 by Angres et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses filter fabric which is treated via digital printing techniques.
US 2004/0265544 A1 by Di Salvo et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses embossing a pattern into a fabric article with an antibacterial coating.
US 4,790,307 by Haber et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses a mask including fibrous pads that are saturated with anti-bacterial fluid.
US 2004/0217049 A1 by Bayer et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses a filter that is pre-cut before coating.
US 2007/0199567 A1 by Kanzer is considered to be relevant as it discloses a filtering face mask with ink indicative of tampering or contact with liquid before use.
US 5,908,598 A1 by Rousseau et al. is considered to be relevant as it discloses making an air filter by using a vacuum beneath it to aid in the passage of spray.
/JACQUELINE M PINDERSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785