DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Bunquin et al. (WO 2020/205494 A1) in view of Lyu et al. “Stabilization of ε-iron carbide as high-temperature catalyst under realistic Fischer–Tropsch synthesis conditions” Nature Communications, pages 1-8, 2020.
Bunquin discloses a process for converting syngas comprising contacting a feed
comprising syngas with a catalyst composition in a conversion reactor under conversion
conditions to produce a conversion product mixture (e.g., ¶[0165]–[0166]).
Bunquin further discloses a catalyst composition comprising:
a support and a plurality of nanoparticles on the support (¶[0011], ¶[0040]);
nanoparticles comprising kernels (¶[0011]);
kernel particle size 4–100 nm and PSD ≤ 20% (¶[0012]);
kernels comprising oxygen and M1 selected from Mn, Fe, Co, optionally M2, M3, S, P (¶[0012]–[0014]);
molar ratios r1–r4 within the claimed ranges (¶[0013]–[0014]);
Bunquin further teaches production of C2–C5 olefins (¶[0166]), which are linear
alpha-olefins, and obtaining such products from the reaction mixture.
Bunquin does not teach kernels comprising a carbide, a nitride, or a combination thereof.
Lyu teaches that:
iron carbide phases (e.g., ε-Fe₂C, χ-Fe₅C₂) are active phases in Fischer–Tropsch synthesis, responsible for CO activation and hydrocarbon chain growth;
iron carbide nanocrystals/nanoparticles can be formed and used as catalysts;
such catalysts convert syngas (CO/H₂) to multi-carbon hydrocarbons under FT conditions;
iron precursors are carburized under syngas to form iron carbide active phases.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nanoparticle kernels of Bunquin to comprise carbide phases, because:
Lyu teaches that iron carbide is a known active phase for syngas conversion and hydrocarbon chain growth in Fischer–Tropsch synthesis;
Bunquin already employs Fe-containing nanoparticle catalysts for syngas conversion, placing both references squarely in the same field of endeavor;
Lyu further teaches that iron carbide phases form from Fe precursors under syngas/carburizing conditions, making such modification a predictable transformation of catalyst phase;
Substituting a known active phase (oxide → carbide) for the same catalytic function constitutes a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions (KSR).
Claims 2–12
Bunquin discloses the additional limitations of claims 2–12, including:
r1/r2 ranges (¶[0013]–[0014]);
oxide compositions (¶[0048]);
particle size and PSD ranges (¶[0042]);
multiple metals (¶[0045]);
morphology (¶[0042]);
process conditions (¶[0074]–[0081], ¶[0171]);
H₂ activation (¶[0075]).
Claims 13–15
Bunquin teaches production of olefins (¶[0166]), and Lyu teaches hydrocarbon chain growth and product distributions in FT synthesis.
It would have been obvious to adjust catalyst composition and reaction conditions to obtain
particular olefin distributions and selectivities, as such parameters are recognized as result-
effective variables in Fischer–Tropsch processes.
Claims 16–25
Bunquin discloses catalyst fabrication processes corresponding to claims 16–25,
including:
nanoparticle dispersions (¶[0138]–[0142]);
long-chain organic acid systems (¶[0142]–[0148]);
nanoparticle formation, separation, and redispersion (¶[0144]–[0147]);
calcination and promoter addition (¶[0140]–[0141]);
temperature ranges and solvent relationships (¶[0159]–[0161]).
Lyu teaches that iron carbide phases form via carburization of iron precursors under syngas, which is compatible with the fabrication processes of Bunquin. Thus, it would have been obvious to prepare the modified carbide-containing catalyst using the known processes of Bunquin.
Response to Arguments
The argument that Bunquin does not teach kernels comprising a carbide or a nitride is not persuasive because of the new rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771